Customer Reviews for

Again the Magic

Average Rating 4.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Film-Worthy Romance

    When Aline and McKenna's feelings are discovered by her father, he threatens McKenna's very existence if Aline ever sees him again. In order to protect him, Aline convinces McKenna that she does not love him, hoping he will never return to Stony Cross. After he leaves, Aline descends into a depression that is followed by a terrible accident that leaves Aline with scars on her legs. Twelve years later, McKenna returns to Stony Cross from America, where he became one of the nouveaux riches, to take his revenge on Aline for all the pain and heartache he caused her. Aline realizing his intentions decides to ride it out until he goes back to New York. This plan fails however when both McKenna and Aline start to fall for each other again. But Aline can never be with him, for she is not only a spinster, but also damaged.
    I don't think I've ever cried, or even teared up while reading a romance novel, before reading Again the Magic. Here we have two characters who are obviously in love with each other, but refuse to acknowledge it, and instead spend almost 400 pages fighting it. The book begins with Aline and McKenna in their late teens, already in love. Life is good. Well, except for the fact that Aline is the daughter of the cold and malevolent Lord Westcliff, and that McKenna is only a footman. After years of resenting, no that is not strong enough, hating is a better word; after spending years hating Aline, he starts to unwind when he realizes that Aline never married or slept with anyone. This sends his plan to "break her" out the window. Aline on the other hand, doesn't mind McKenna's efforts at hurting her. In fact, she welcomes them because they allow her to feel after years of being numb. This entire book had me screaming "Just say it!" It was like McKenna and Aline decided to be stubborn and thick-headed at the exact same time. And this is what created the tension throughout the novel. All of these scenes led up to an amazing tear-filled ending that any fan of romance will LOVE.
    This novel deals mostly with Aline and McKenna's story but it also includes Livia, Aline's sister, and Mr. Shaw's, McKenna's business partner, story. This one was also cute. Of course, not as much drama as the main love story, but still a bit dramatic.
    For a historical romance, this was fantastic. It is an emotional, film-worthy story that will have you rushing to the bookstore wanting more of this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    One of the best books I have ever read!

    Lisa Kleypas is by far one of the best historical romance authors I have ever had the pleasure of reading. This book in particular, was so very poignant in that true love will survive no matter how far away one goes or how long they're gone, the characters and the plot were extremely well written.
    I actually read this book twice and I literally sobbed and sobbed, both times. I don't usually cry when I read historical romance novels but this one in particular was so utterly beautiful and well written. I just couldn't help myself. I fully intend to read it many more times and I'll make sure I keep a box of Kleenex by my side when I do!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    YAY Kleypas!

    This was another re-read before my vacation. I think that this is my favorite Lisa Kleypas book. I love books that start out when the main characters are children and then meet again as adults. This book kept me interested and I liked all of the supporting characters as well. A+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Would highly recommend this book

    Lisa Kleypas does it again. Lady Aline Marsden as a child falls in love with an orphaned servant John McKenna who works at her fathers estate. When the father learns of her attachment to McKenna he sends him away. The twists and turns in this book prevent you from putting it down. I love this book. JM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Pleasantly Surprised

    This is the first book I read from this author, and I was very happy that I did. The characters were both well rounded, and the story line kept me interested the whole time. Many parts were poignant. Will read other books from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    Beautiful story

    This story introduces a few of the characters of the Wallflower series. The forbidden love of Lady Aline Marsden and the stable hand, John McKenna, is beautifully told. I felt the pain the of these two people and the trial they go through when McKenna returns to England as a wealthy man. Once again Lisa Kleypas presents all characters with depth and flaws of real people. When Aline turns down McKenna's proposal I thought the dialogue has heart wrenching, particularly for McKenna. Again the Magic is one of my favorites by Lisa Kleypas. A story to be read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Again the magic

    I think this is one of the most beautiful love stories that I have read this year. Oh, my God I cried for Aline and Mckenna. This story made me want to believe in love again. Sometimes life makes us so jaded and then "Again the magic" reminds you of all the beauty that love can be. Thank you Lisa Kleypas for making me revisit a time of magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    One of my favorites from Lisa! I cried and was so emotionally at

    One of my favorites from Lisa! I cried and was so emotionally attached to this beautiful story. read it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    One of my favs

    One of my favorites from LK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Highly recommended historical romance!!!

    An extremely heart wrenching story that I’ve read three times and still love! Aline is a self-sacrificing heroine who endured a tragic accident that leaves her feeling less than adequate to be with the man she loves, while John is a self-made man who believed he could seek revenge against his first love. This is a book about an enduring love and second chances. Absolutely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    FANTASTIC!

    i have read all of lisa kleypas' books and this is my favorite. the story line has your heart clenching and the characters are so lovable. i would recommend all of her books especially the hathaway series. she is a very special and talented author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    Beautiful Love Story

    I loved this book! I couldn't put it down for 1 minute. Great romance! Loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    LOVED this story!

    I love lisa kleypas, shes does romance better than anyone else! I just finished this book, and loved every minute of it. It was so touching and romantic. The only thing that kinda irritated me at times was how cowardly the main charector Aline was at times. But in general I did like her, I just wished she was alittle braver at times. Definitely read this book, it was an extremely touching love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this story!!

    This is a beautiful love story. Ms Kleypas never fails to write a dynamic love story and keep you turning pages. I hate to put her books down. I wake up in the middle of the night to read one of her books because I want to know what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    Mom enjoyed this book!

    My mom and I love romance stories, and she especially likes Victoria Alexander, Stephanie Laurens, and this author, whom she would highly reccommend! She read the book quickly, and told me that she enjoyed it! I hope I get to read it soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ANOTHER SPELLBINDING LIAISON

    It's been 12 years, and Aline is determined to put the past behind her, having no choice but to dispense the only person who will ever have complete possession over her heart.

    John McKenna, a poor stable boy who worked for her family's estate. Aline and McKenna have been familiar with each other since early childhood. Developing a love that transcends the test of time. When her love affair with McKenna is discovered by her miserable bastard of a father, Lord Westcliff. She has to break McKenna's heart, by casting him aside as what high society views him as, nothing more than a piece of scum attached to the bottom of their shoe. To spare him from suffering the unspeakable wrath of her father.

    It's not until her brother, Marcus, the only Lord Westcliff alive, has decided to invite some Americans to visit Stony Cross Park, the family's estate he now owns. To discuss some future business prospects. Aline discovers there's a man within the group of Americans who seems familiar to her, something within his eyes, she believes it might be McKenna, but is not sure. Aline enlists her younger sister, Livia, who is always in the shadows, being wrecked by her own scandal, and never ventures out when Marcus has company, until now. Since either of them aren't sure. Aline decides to visit her & McKenna's secret location, where they have indulged in their private escapades, near the riverbank; and is encountered by the revelation that this man is her beloved from the past.

    McKenna has come back with one purpose on his mind, revenge. He wants Aline to suffer. He is fueled and consumed with nothing but hatred, anger, and obsession to implement punishment with her body, mind, & soul, for what she has done to him. But Aline is already prepared to receive McKenna's wrath full force, and has developed a plan when he's completed. However, will she be able to see it head on, and once again cast McKenna away. Will Aline & McKenna indulge in the surrendering hunger that cannot be extinguished with two Continents dividing them?

    Lisa Kleypas has brought another enthralled fable for which every TRUE romantic enjoys most, a FORBIDDEN LOVE AFFAIR. What is LOVE if there is no challenges to bring forth to the uncontrollable animalistic fury & passion one possesses for the other at any cost. It's intriguing how Kleypas has combined two separate & different love stories into one novel, Aline and McKenna, & Livia and Gideon Shaw. Never losing track of the key elements that make this novel SIZZLE. Lisa Kleypas has become one of my favorite authors. Every single novel has captured my heart; my breath and lungs tremble with every sensual passionate love scene between all the characters involved; and all day & night my mind is on the fable until the very end. Using the life lessons I've learned in every novel, and implementing it into my own life. Thank You Mrs. Kleypas, Thank You...
    DESERVES WELL BEYOND THE 5 STAR RATINGS!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    Emily Bronte watch out!

    Ok, so maybe lisa kleypas is no bronte but boy did the characters in this book remind me of heathcliff and cathy only with a happy ending!!perhaps there is room for improvement in her writing but for sheer entertainment i couldn't put it down!! the only bad part about it was it had to end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    romantic, exciting, and alot more

    lisa kleypas is an excelent writer and this being my second book i find she leaves me craving more. in this book aline marsden and john mackena fall madley and passionatly in love as teenagers onlt to be torn apart by alines evil father. fearing what her father might do to mackena if they try to remain together she pushes him away letting him believe she never loved him. 12 years later aline is still in love wiht him and when he returns a changed man seekin revenge on his first love she finds herself giving in to the memories and the temptation of one night in his arms. but as they get closer aline contains a secret she fears will only set her up for another heart break so once again she pushes away but can mackenas love prove to her that there relationship is worth fighting for? or will there romantic, bitter past, and a horrible secret render them forever apart read this book and find that if u truly love someone u should be willing to risk it all b

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    One of the Best by Lisa Kleypas

    I love Lisa Kleypas she is my fave author. This book got me hooked on her books. I have read all her books even the stuff they don't print because of this one story. Must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5