BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Against All Enemies: Inside America's War on Terror

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    BOOK THAT WILL BRING BUSH ADMINISTRATION DOWN

    Sad but true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    Excellent

    Wealth of information. Althought the author admits that the writing is influenced by events as he saw them, it's easy to identify the facts from his opinions and you can't argue with the facts he presents. Highly recommend this book as an indication of why it is so important to pay attention to the people we elect to run our country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    Newly educated U.S. Citizen

    I loved this book, it was not only easy to read but highy educational. This is not only about politics but one of great courage. It took a real person to write this story. Kudos to Richard Clarke for being the one to educate and let America know what is going on with the war on terror. Our president's take an oath to defend us aganist all enemies both foreign and domestic, the current President is one of our fiercest domestic enemies, time to vote him out of office.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Fine expose of Bush's failings in the war against Al Qa'ida

    Richard Clarke has 30 years¿ experience in security and was the US National Coordinator for Security and Counterterrorism from 1998 until he resigned in March 2003. Many of his colleagues have also resigned, sickened by the Bush administration¿s failure to focus on getting Al Qa¿ida. On 25 January 2001, Clarke proposed `urgently¿ a plan to eliminate Al Qa¿ida, but the Bush government took no notice because it was fixated on Iraq. Clarke consistently pointed out to them that there had been no Iraqi-sponsored terrorism against the USA since 1993. (Last September, Bush at last admitted that there was `no evidence that Iraq was involved in the September 11 attacks¿.) Clarke¿s first Cabinet-level meeting on terrorism was on 4 September 2002, just seven days before the attacks on the USA; he first briefed the President on terrorism on the day of the attack. The day after, Clarke went to the White House expecting ¿ to go back to a round of meetings examining what the next attacks could be, what our vulnerabilities were, what we could do about them in the short term. Instead, I walked into a series of discussions about Iraq. At first I was incredulous that we were talking about something other than getting al Qaeda. Then I realized with almost a sharp physical pain that Rumsfeld and Wolfowitz were going to try to take advantage of this national tragedy to promote their agenda about Iraq. Since the beginning of the administration, indeed well before, they had been pressing for a war with Iraq.¿ He writes, ¿Many thought that the Bush administration was doing a good job of fighting terrorism when, actually, the administration had squandered the opportunity to eliminate al Qaeda and instead strengthened our enemies by going off on a completely unnecessary tangent, the invasion of Iraq. A new al Qaeda has emerged and is growing stronger, in part because of our own actions and inactions. It is in many ways a tougher opponent than the original threat we faced before September 11 and we are not doing what is necessary to make America safer from that threat.¿ The war in Afghanistan should have been a rapid search-and-destroy mission by US troops on the ground against the terrorists. Instead, bin Laden, his deputy Ayman Zawahiri and Mullah Omar, the Taliban¿s leader, all escaped. The Taliban was not eliminated; they are rebuilding their forces. Attacking Iraq made us all less secure and strengthened the radical Islamic terrorist movement. There were far more terrorist attacks in the thirty months since 9/11 than in the thirty months before it: there have been jihadist atrocities in Russia, Tunisia, Pakistan, Indonesia, Morocco, Turkey and other countries. The US Army War College¿s Strategic Studies Institute concluded that the attack on Iraq was `a strategic error of the first magnitude¿. Clarke concludes, ¿Nothing America could have done would have provided al Qaeda and its new generation of cloned groups a better recruitment device than our unprovoked invasion of an oil-rich Arab country.¿ Bush and Blair attacked the wrong target when they attacked Iraq not Al Qa¿ida. Similarly now, the `left¿, the Labour Party and the Conservative Party, are all attacking the wrong target when they downplay the terrorist threat and tell us that the BNP is the greatest threat to us. But the BNP, whatever else it does, does not blow up large numbers of workers across the world. Al Qa¿ida is an immediate and serious threat to Britain and other countries. Its supporters run websites recruiting jihadists in Britain for training; they solicit money from British fundamentalists for terrorist front groups, and they are organising cells in Britain. Clarke¿s fascinating and revealing book alerts us to real dangers, which Bush and Blair are making worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    There never was and is any link between terrorism and Iraq

    We all knew right from the beginning that there never was any connection between terrorism and Iraq. Even today Bushies talk of Iraq and terrorism in the same breath drilling into the minds of naive Americans justification for war. Richard Clark's book provides an insight into the Bush obsession with Iraq at the cost of safeguards against real terrorists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    at last the truth

    Very good book. It sickens me when i still hear people defending Bush after the Iraqi War fiasco! They all knew the eminent threat of al queda and the pending attacks of 9/11. Wake up America!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Great Book

    Although I don't agree w/ Clarke for slamming Bush more than Clinton in the pre 9/11, I absolute agree w/ him that the war in Iraq was a war of choice and, as a result, more terrorrists were created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2004

    Funny 'Readers'

    Good book. Makes perfect sense. I'm an independant voter, but I think this book helped persuade me this year to vote for anyone but Bush. It strikes me very funny to read these '1 star' reviews by these neo-conservatives who more than likely didn't even read the book and are just trying to bring the rating average down. Then they recommend their 'How Al Gore Lost the Election' and 'Losing Bin Laden' ultra-conservative handbooks. Funny, funny people. Anyway, back to the subject, this book is a very interesting, believable, and easy read. Reads like a Clancy novel. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Inconsistent

    Clark is such a inconsistent person. I had alot of respect for him until the marketing blitz for his new book. All of his TV appearences beg the question what is he really selling the truth or a hyped up story to sell books. The book is a bit long and seems to be inconsistent to his prior statements on capital hill. I think this book is profit focused attempt to make money not to tell any truth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Clarke

    An intelligent book written by an intelligent man, but the book is obviously biased towards his own political views which are bordering on paranoia and unsubstantiated attacks on the Bush administration. Interesting but not the scandal the media is trying to create presently.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Total Hype

    Book is nothing more than a political statement. Facts are limited. Applies causation to corellation. More emphasis should be placed upon a course of action (or inaction) that began much earlier. I am disappointed that this book didn't live up to the hype.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    america

    excellent synopsis of nixon part deux. this president is the most divisive narrow minded ideologue. if the bush administration is telling the truth they should declassify all the prewar info between clarke and rice. not just selected snippets. editting can do wonders

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    CHANGING THE WIND IN DC

    Outstanding book. must read before election!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Before you vote, READ THIS BOOK !!!

    Being a Democrat and having attended the Inauguration in 2001 (for business only) I saw a brief glimpse of what this administration is doing. If we as a nation are to really undertstand what our leaders do in the guise of 'National Security', READ THIS BOOK so that we do not make the same mistake again. Another 4 years of this could be even more costly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    Perfect Book

    Hello. I saw the presentation of the book in the comedy show 'Daily Show' on Comedy central. Im 17 years old, and i live in Portugal, just for you to know that the American politics has nothing to do with me, directacly, of course, and i loved the book, it is easy reading and fun, even for a 17 years old person. It speaks about very interesting things that have interest to every single person on the world. I truely recommend the reading of this book to everyone. Im sorry for my English, it sure is not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    A must read for all Americans

    George W. Bush failed in his private business adventures, yet he tries to adapt the corporation style to the White House. Closed door meetings where 'lower level' managers who know what is going on and have much to add, aren't invited. When the White House brought the dogs out at the publication of this book, I knew it was dangerously close to the truth and a must read. It simply validated Paul O'Neill's message in his book. People like Richard Clarke, who made us safe are leaving the service of our country. Thanks Richard Clarke!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    Partisanship and egos have no place when it comes to America's safety

    That is the conclusion I reached after reading this book. The Bush Campaign's attempts to discredit Clarke only showed the desperate lengths to which they'll go to discredit someone. That is what is wrong with our government. Too many people get into positions of power and want to rule their roost and will never admit to having made a mistake. People like Richard Clarke are above that and perform their work as a duty and with a passion like no other. Others, like John O'Neill, become kicked aside and pushed away when their passion for doing and following what they think is right runs counter to the goals of egomaniacs in power. John O'Neill's death is the epitome of irony. Richard Clarke, in this book, reveals the hypocricy in our government and shows how egos and partisanship are working to damage this great nation from within.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Great, but not the whole story

    This is a terrific book which discusses the arrogance and mind-set of Bush and his advisors as regards terrorism and the response to 9/11. There is one blank spot in the discussion however: Clarke states that 'If we could achieve a Middle East peace much of the popular support for al Qaeda and much of the hatred for America would evaporate overnight.' After that statement, there is nothing further of substance mentioned about the Israeli/Palestinian conflict. I find this to be incredibly strange in a book which purports to analyze the causes and our response to terrorism, and yet refuses to discuss the factor it cites as the main cause of terrorism. He discusses how we should approach other countries in the area, such as Iran, Saudi Arabia and Pakistan, but not Israel. Why not discuss Israel and how America could force a resolution if it really wanted to, and thus reduce terrorism? I get the feeling he is afraid to give recommendations on this issue, perhaps because he was afraid the book wouldn't be published if he did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    Why the attacks on Mr. Clarke's credibility?

    I read this book with an open mind and watched Mr. Clarke's testimony before the (-11 Commission with great interest. Mr. Clarke has given like he says in the preface, a first person view of his 30 plus years in public service. Mr. Clarke is certainly an expert on terrorism; if he was not, why was he retained by the Bush II White House? Those readers, reviewers, or government officials (mostly from the Bush administration) who argue Mr. Clarke created controversy just to sell books, I would argue that it is the administration's barrage of attacks against Mr. Clarke that has made his book the #1 best seller! Those who argue he wrote the book because he was bitter about his demotion , or puting forth his own political agenda miss a point. Mr. Clarke doesn't expect you to agree with everything he writes and does not claim he has all the answers. He saw the problems that come from being at the forefront of government decision making about national security issues under four presidents from 1987-2003. When he gives impressions about what he thinks others did or said, and how those actions or words affected the war on terrorism, tghe reader must remember that he has some expertise; he was the leading expert in two administrations on the terrorist threat to America. Mr. Clarke never states he has all the correct answers; he presents his arguments and impressions, and asks the reader to think critically and come to their own conclusions. I for one thoroughly enjoyed the bllok. IT DID MAKE ME THINK as all good books should!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    The man that brought down a president!

    Richard Clarke amazes me with the steely eyed insight into single mindedness of the this administration. Bush has been the teflon president. Nothing ever stuck and most americans have been to apathetic to politics to care. I have been outraged since the beginning of Bush's term on his 'my way or the highway' attitude and his overly simplified look of the world in black and white. Well finally the seeds of his demise are coming to fruition. He doesn't do what is best for the economy, education, medicare, environment, foreign affairs, and now terrorists. This book is a must read and Richard Clarke will bring down the president.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4