Customer Reviews for

Against All Enemies: Inside America's War on Terror

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    Is Clarke Credible? Richard Miniter Thought So.

    In AAE's, Richard Clarke paints a portrait of the GW Bus Administration as being so preoccupied with Saddam Hussein that they ignored the threat posed by Al Qaeda, until 9/11 forced them to finally sit up and take notice. If you question Clarke's credibility, consider this: Clarke was one of the main sources in conservative author Richard Miniter's own book, Losing Bin Laden. Miniter NEVER Questoned Clarke's Crediblity in LBL-Not Once. Consider also that, while the Bush Adminstration made a lot of GENERAL criticisms of Clarke, not a single participant has personally denied the SPECIFICS of his recollections of the events in question. Consider finally that Clarke served in the administrations of three Presidents, both Republican and Democrat. Whether or not Clarke's memory is 100% accurate on every detail-which he himself admits it may not be-his many years of public service has earned him the right to tell his story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    Mixed review

    I gave it a 4 star rating because I think that the book well illustrates the level of incompetence that our elected officials can show in the spirit of competition between departments. It also illustrates the level of naivete' the government and the rest of us felt and seem to be feeling again with repsect to our vulnerabilities and thoughts that we are invincible as a nation. However, it seemed the author was often tooting his own horn. It almost read like it was written by a certain national cyndicated talk radio personality that claims to be 'all knowing'. This author comes from the left, rather than the right wing. Its political, obviously biased towards the previous administration, and at times self agrandizing, but I think the author's indignation is, at times, righteous. It must have been extremely frustrating to deal with the weak commitment and half &^%ed attempts to address terrorism that, if properly dealt with, could have prevented 3500 dead on 9-11.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    I Learned A Lot

    Clarke has written an excellent chronological history of our terrorist efforts. Learned a great deal about behind the scenes preparation & reaction to terrorist events. Must reading for anyone who wants to understand how the United States reacts to terrorism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    We have met the enemy and they are us!

    This is a very well told story of Richard Clarke's experiences working in Washington D. C. during four presidencies (Reagan, Bush, Clinton, Bush). Except for having to wade through all the acronyms (and I often had to go back and remind myself what they stood for), Richard Clarke tells of his experiences, thoughts, frustrations, and finally, disillusionment with Washington bureaucrats and the apparent lack of priority and understanding that 'terrorism in America' is present. And this was long before 911. Richard Clarke pulls no punches. I couldn't put it down. It was like reading a suspense novel -- except it actually happened and is continuing to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    wonderful and fun!!!

    I just loved this book. I feel like I just understand so much more and it was an easy book to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    There never was and is any link between terrorism and Iraq

    We all knew right from the beginning that there never was any connection between terrorism and Iraq. Even today Bushies talk of Iraq and terrorism in the same breath drilling into the minds of naive Americans justification for war. Richard Clark's book provides an insight into the Bush obsession with Iraq at the cost of safeguards against real terrorists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    A must read for all Americans

    George W. Bush failed in his private business adventures, yet he tries to adapt the corporation style to the White House. Closed door meetings where 'lower level' managers who know what is going on and have much to add, aren't invited. When the White House brought the dogs out at the publication of this book, I knew it was dangerously close to the truth and a must read. It simply validated Paul O'Neill's message in his book. People like Richard Clarke, who made us safe are leaving the service of our country. Thanks Richard Clarke!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Great, but not the whole story

    This is a terrific book which discusses the arrogance and mind-set of Bush and his advisors as regards terrorism and the response to 9/11. There is one blank spot in the discussion however: Clarke states that 'If we could achieve a Middle East peace much of the popular support for al Qaeda and much of the hatred for America would evaporate overnight.' After that statement, there is nothing further of substance mentioned about the Israeli/Palestinian conflict. I find this to be incredibly strange in a book which purports to analyze the causes and our response to terrorism, and yet refuses to discuss the factor it cites as the main cause of terrorism. He discusses how we should approach other countries in the area, such as Iran, Saudi Arabia and Pakistan, but not Israel. Why not discuss Israel and how America could force a resolution if it really wanted to, and thus reduce terrorism? I get the feeling he is afraid to give recommendations on this issue, perhaps because he was afraid the book wouldn't be published if he did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    One man's opinion that isn't always non-bias!

    Suddenly, former intelligence analyst Richard Clarke who spent eight years on the White House National Coordinator for Security, Infrastructure Protection, and Counter-terrorism on the President's National Security Council finds himself in an unique position of pointing how both a Republican and Democrat administration has failed to protect the country. He witnessed how the Clinton administration and Bush administration really just felt as if nothing was really capable of penetrating the imaginative security of the USA borders. Each had other issues at hand and viewed Al-Qaeda as a bunch of rebel rousers that could only perform acts of terrorist in the Middle East. Saddam Hussein was a proven target and an easy sale to the national public. Bin Laden, at the time, was nothing more than a footnote from the mountains of Afghanistan with little threat against the USA other than bombing embassies in African nations. True to character, this book points out how Mr. Rumsfeld wanted nothing more than to launch an attack against Iraq on 12 Sept, 2001. This ideological agenda of his was hammered into the American public through Mr. Bush and Mr. Cheney as they started out blasting the ¿Axis of Evil¿ accusations in the State of the Union speech in 2002. Their bases of such was Saddam¿s use of nerve gas against his own population years earlier which demonstrated his cold-heartedness, and thus, his ability to be in cahoots with Al Qaeda. Add a dose of noncompliance of UN resolutions and you had a sure terrorist on your hand. That logic was the selling point of preparing the war drums. The only thing that I really find hard to follow is how Mr. Clarke is able to provide us a simple, relatively inexpensive national security though means such as increasing the border patrol personnel and strengthening the infrastructure. If only fighting terrorist were so simple, the world would have conquered terrorism years ago. To indicate that the Bush administration has been overall unsuccessful in the fight against terrorism is not entirely true. All the foiled attempts that fade quickly from the spotlight are soon forgotten while 911 is constantly thrown in your face in the book. Overall, the book offers us a clear view that neither political party is truly committed to national security and use events for their own benefits. Much more than fighting terrorism, this books silently is yelling that we need to seriously reform our political parties. I recommend it as good reading, but remember that this is an opinionated document and shouldn¿t be taken as the gospel for everything it says.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1