Customer Reviews for

Against All Enemies: Inside America's War on Terror

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    Absolutely amazing

    Stock full of an exorbitant amount of insider insights, from a bi-partisan mentality, I might add. Anyone who would recommend you not reading this book is clearly trying to salvage the blind faith of their brutal fraternity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Deeply Inside the Government's Response to 9/11

    No one provides Richard Clarke's insight into how we functioned on 9/11.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    An Eye Opener

    Whether you are a Democrat or Republican, this is a must read for any American that wishes to have an opinion on our country's handling of terrorism. A lifelong Republican, Richard Clarke gives his first-hand account of our country's handling of terrorism. Serving 5 presidents Clarke reveals why he believes Clinton did the best job trying to prevent more terror; and why G.W. Bush's invasion of Iraq has set America back a generation for ending global terror.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    this is a great read for anyone that wants to know ( politically

    this is a great read for anyone that wants to know ( politically) about
    911 --- this was my first read after the horro --- clarke is well
    qualified with a blow right to the gut ( he doesn't play around). clear
    cut read without the BS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    NOT a Bedtime Story

    It is 1990. Bush 41 is President. Mikhail Gorbachev is Premier of the Soviet Union. A group of Islamic fundamentalists have just defeated the world's No. 2 superpower in a ten-year war in Afghanistan. A year later, the Soviet Union collapses. The same Islamic fundamentalists figure they can accomplish the same thing with the No. =1= superpower.

    In a hair-raising 300 pages that read like a Tom Clancy novel, but which in fact are the pages of =history= book, 30-year National Security Council veteran and National Coordinator for Security and Counterterrorism for Presidents Clinton and Bush 43, Richard Clarke, details why - and shows us =how= - Osama bin Laden and the rest are doing so.

    Published in 2004, =Against All Enemies: Inside America's War on Terror= is the single most compelling and disturbing spellbinder I have encountered since Morris and Denton's =The Money and The Power=. While the implications of the latter book are =very= disturbing; the implications of the former are downright horrifying.

    Clarke is no ideologue. He is a can-do pragmatist. He ran the entire United States government from the command center in a nearly empty White House for 30 hours on September 11 and 12, 2001. He is no blamer. His orientation is simply, "Here's what happened; and here's what resulted from it, for better or for worse." Republican and Democratic administrations, the CIA, the FBI, the Departments of Defense and State are all praised and blamed equally.

    The reader - if he can put the book down every now and again to get some sleep - will almost surely come away with a detailed grasp of the entire epic that has transpired since the Shah of Iran was deposed by the Ayatollah Ruholla Khomeini in 1979. Worse, that reader will come away realizing that the vision Clarke laid out in 2003 and 2004 is almost exactly what the Islamic fundamentalists have managed to accomplish.

    The Middle East is =not= Vietnam redux. It is much, =much= worse.

    The reader may also come away with a bad case of anxiety. This is not a work of fiction. And it is not for the squeamish. Read it at your own risk. But for your sake as an informed voter, do =read= it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Eye opening

    The attack on 9/11 was decades in the making. It was the result of opportunities taken and opportunities missed, both on the parts of the terrorists and of our foreign policies. This was an excellent 30- year look into national security.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    Against All Enemies

    Absolutly enlightening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Continuity is Key.........,

    Either fight or scuttle. <BR/>It is not (and should not be) `Business as usual' anymore. <BR/><BR/>Those who advocate resignation in the face of the different facets of ` international threats - disguised as promotion of science and technology' tend to exaggerate. <BR/>If you give up as The World Power (bound to play an important role) you will, in that case, be abdicating your responsibilities. <BR/>Then you will lack a sense of measure and will lose to some demented and screaming `gangsters' labelling themselves as `leaders'. <BR/>Panic can give way to submissive fatalism as happened to you in many countries in the Middle East and even in Somalia and Kenya wherefrom unfortunate events sounded like a work of fiction but indeed they led to real-life drama in which there were `many heroes'. <BR/>It was your fault to let the gathering clouds coming from small countries to herald worldwide storms that overtook (because they misinterpreted) your delay in taking immediate action. <BR/>Now you are acting differently. <BR/>But, would countries in Asia learn the lesson and take heed that America is now more serious than before; at least you've wiped-out the sense of defeatism. <BR/><BR/>Perhaps the scenario of deliberations between your two main `rival' parties should be tightly knit to become acceptable to the world ears so that future course of action can `pass' without qualms. <BR/><BR/>Continuity is Key....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    RICHARD CLARK IS A HERO FOR SPEAKING OUT

    Mr. Clark gave his all and caveat's to try to alert the people that should no better about the pending doom. I just finished reading The Looming Tower subtitle 'Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9-11' Written by Lawrence Wright. According to his fine research there was two very vocal people in the country in 1998 who were screaming about the threat of terrorist. Richard Clark and John O'Neill, former FBI Agent who died at the World Trade Center. They were acutely aware of the pending danger and Alqaeda and Osma Bin Laden. President Clinton did what he could but the subsequent administration closed the door on any pending threats. That threat is worst today then it was before we went into Iraq. We could have won this war if we had stayed in Afganistan, but this little cabal of civilians thought they knew best and as a consequence, were in dire trouble. Just today I heard three General's testify before the Senate Judiciary Committee, it was ugly, they all have been or have been involved with the Iraq Theater. And yet, the people of this country are not being told the truth and as Richard Clark so predicted, we are in harms way. This did not have to be and as the General's so pointed out, Rumsfeld has to go. And now we have Bob Woodward's book, State of Denial. I fear many Americans' have their head in the sand and we need to move forward and save not only this country, but our Democracy. Thank you Richard Clark for being one of the first to bring this to our attention and your courage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Richard Clarke writes a phenomenal book, that depicts President Bush and his faction's thrist for war in Iraq.

    Richard Clarke writes a extraordinary book. It stupefies the reader, by explaining how Bush and his cronies perceived the 9/11 attack. How Bush and his faction wanted to connect the attacks on the World Trade Center with Iraq, detailing how this administration pushed for a war in Iraq. Furthermore, he writes of the mendacities by the entire Bush administration for their plan to invade and occupy a foreign country under the guise of democracy. Clark also illuminates his discussions with President Bush how Bush was completely uninterested in the truth he wanted only associations to Iraq, so there could be an invasion. Moreover, he writes that Bush and his faction looked for ways to manipulate or lie about the facts to justify a war and an invasion to the American people and more important Congress. In addition, Clarke had information that he tried to give to Bush almost a year in advance, but this was to no avail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    Take notice

    It is the responsibility of every American to pay attention to elected officials. When people like Richard Clarke, who has devoted his career to national security issues, feels strong enough about the direction the Bush administration has taken to speak out, people need to pay attention. Read this book but don't stop there. Read all you can on this administration and the big picture will become clearer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2004

    Inside Story From Counterterrorism Professional

    Clarke does excellent job of a concise and readable history of rise of terrorism from the 80s to now. He analyzes every president since Reagan on their actons that effected terrorism. He focuses on Clinton and Bush II. This is not an attack book on Bush II. He criticizes Clinton as well and most of the book is about Clinton's counter-terrorism efforts. I thought it was very telling his description of Clinton with his drive to understand issues staying up to 2 or 3 AM with Bush in bed by 10pm looking for the bumper sticker solution. Also very telling about his consideration of airplane attack for 96 Olympics. Another good lesson was Clinton's difficulty in getting Dept of Defense or CIA to get bin Ladin. He could not make the beaucracy move. For those of you who are rational analtical people who are not blindly partisan this is a must read prior to November.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    BOOK THAT WILL BRING BUSH ADMINISTRATION DOWN

    Sad but true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    Excellent

    Wealth of information. Althought the author admits that the writing is influenced by events as he saw them, it's easy to identify the facts from his opinions and you can't argue with the facts he presents. Highly recommend this book as an indication of why it is so important to pay attention to the people we elect to run our country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    Newly educated U.S. Citizen

    I loved this book, it was not only easy to read but highy educational. This is not only about politics but one of great courage. It took a real person to write this story. Kudos to Richard Clarke for being the one to educate and let America know what is going on with the war on terror. Our president's take an oath to defend us aganist all enemies both foreign and domestic, the current President is one of our fiercest domestic enemies, time to vote him out of office.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Fine expose of Bush's failings in the war against Al Qa'ida

    Richard Clarke has 30 years¿ experience in security and was the US National Coordinator for Security and Counterterrorism from 1998 until he resigned in March 2003. Many of his colleagues have also resigned, sickened by the Bush administration¿s failure to focus on getting Al Qa¿ida. On 25 January 2001, Clarke proposed `urgently¿ a plan to eliminate Al Qa¿ida, but the Bush government took no notice because it was fixated on Iraq. Clarke consistently pointed out to them that there had been no Iraqi-sponsored terrorism against the USA since 1993. (Last September, Bush at last admitted that there was `no evidence that Iraq was involved in the September 11 attacks¿.) Clarke¿s first Cabinet-level meeting on terrorism was on 4 September 2002, just seven days before the attacks on the USA; he first briefed the President on terrorism on the day of the attack. The day after, Clarke went to the White House expecting ¿ to go back to a round of meetings examining what the next attacks could be, what our vulnerabilities were, what we could do about them in the short term. Instead, I walked into a series of discussions about Iraq. At first I was incredulous that we were talking about something other than getting al Qaeda. Then I realized with almost a sharp physical pain that Rumsfeld and Wolfowitz were going to try to take advantage of this national tragedy to promote their agenda about Iraq. Since the beginning of the administration, indeed well before, they had been pressing for a war with Iraq.¿ He writes, ¿Many thought that the Bush administration was doing a good job of fighting terrorism when, actually, the administration had squandered the opportunity to eliminate al Qaeda and instead strengthened our enemies by going off on a completely unnecessary tangent, the invasion of Iraq. A new al Qaeda has emerged and is growing stronger, in part because of our own actions and inactions. It is in many ways a tougher opponent than the original threat we faced before September 11 and we are not doing what is necessary to make America safer from that threat.¿ The war in Afghanistan should have been a rapid search-and-destroy mission by US troops on the ground against the terrorists. Instead, bin Laden, his deputy Ayman Zawahiri and Mullah Omar, the Taliban¿s leader, all escaped. The Taliban was not eliminated; they are rebuilding their forces. Attacking Iraq made us all less secure and strengthened the radical Islamic terrorist movement. There were far more terrorist attacks in the thirty months since 9/11 than in the thirty months before it: there have been jihadist atrocities in Russia, Tunisia, Pakistan, Indonesia, Morocco, Turkey and other countries. The US Army War College¿s Strategic Studies Institute concluded that the attack on Iraq was `a strategic error of the first magnitude¿. Clarke concludes, ¿Nothing America could have done would have provided al Qaeda and its new generation of cloned groups a better recruitment device than our unprovoked invasion of an oil-rich Arab country.¿ Bush and Blair attacked the wrong target when they attacked Iraq not Al Qa¿ida. Similarly now, the `left¿, the Labour Party and the Conservative Party, are all attacking the wrong target when they downplay the terrorist threat and tell us that the BNP is the greatest threat to us. But the BNP, whatever else it does, does not blow up large numbers of workers across the world. Al Qa¿ida is an immediate and serious threat to Britain and other countries. Its supporters run websites recruiting jihadists in Britain for training; they solicit money from British fundamentalists for terrorist front groups, and they are organising cells in Britain. Clarke¿s fascinating and revealing book alerts us to real dangers, which Bush and Blair are making worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    at last the truth

    Very good book. It sickens me when i still hear people defending Bush after the Iraqi War fiasco! They all knew the eminent threat of al queda and the pending attacks of 9/11. Wake up America!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Great Book

    Although I don't agree w/ Clarke for slamming Bush more than Clinton in the pre 9/11, I absolute agree w/ him that the war in Iraq was a war of choice and, as a result, more terrorrists were created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2004

    Funny 'Readers'

    Good book. Makes perfect sense. I'm an independant voter, but I think this book helped persuade me this year to vote for anyone but Bush. It strikes me very funny to read these '1 star' reviews by these neo-conservatives who more than likely didn't even read the book and are just trying to bring the rating average down. Then they recommend their 'How Al Gore Lost the Election' and 'Losing Bin Laden' ultra-conservative handbooks. Funny, funny people. Anyway, back to the subject, this book is a very interesting, believable, and easy read. Reads like a Clancy novel. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    america

    excellent synopsis of nixon part deux. this president is the most divisive narrow minded ideologue. if the bush administration is telling the truth they should declassify all the prewar info between clarke and rice. not just selected snippets. editting can do wonders

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3