Customer Reviews for

Against All Enemies: Inside America's War on Terror

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Before you vote, READ THIS BOOK !!!

    Being a Democrat and having attended the Inauguration in 2001 (for business only) I saw a brief glimpse of what this administration is doing. If we as a nation are to really undertstand what our leaders do in the guise of 'National Security', READ THIS BOOK so that we do not make the same mistake again. Another 4 years of this could be even more costly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    Perfect Book

    Hello. I saw the presentation of the book in the comedy show 'Daily Show' on Comedy central. Im 17 years old, and i live in Portugal, just for you to know that the American politics has nothing to do with me, directacly, of course, and i loved the book, it is easy reading and fun, even for a 17 years old person. It speaks about very interesting things that have interest to every single person on the world. I truely recommend the reading of this book to everyone. Im sorry for my English, it sure is not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    Partisanship and egos have no place when it comes to America's safety

    That is the conclusion I reached after reading this book. The Bush Campaign's attempts to discredit Clarke only showed the desperate lengths to which they'll go to discredit someone. That is what is wrong with our government. Too many people get into positions of power and want to rule their roost and will never admit to having made a mistake. People like Richard Clarke are above that and perform their work as a duty and with a passion like no other. Others, like John O'Neill, become kicked aside and pushed away when their passion for doing and following what they think is right runs counter to the goals of egomaniacs in power. John O'Neill's death is the epitome of irony. Richard Clarke, in this book, reveals the hypocricy in our government and shows how egos and partisanship are working to damage this great nation from within.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    Why the attacks on Mr. Clarke's credibility?

    I read this book with an open mind and watched Mr. Clarke's testimony before the (-11 Commission with great interest. Mr. Clarke has given like he says in the preface, a first person view of his 30 plus years in public service. Mr. Clarke is certainly an expert on terrorism; if he was not, why was he retained by the Bush II White House? Those readers, reviewers, or government officials (mostly from the Bush administration) who argue Mr. Clarke created controversy just to sell books, I would argue that it is the administration's barrage of attacks against Mr. Clarke that has made his book the #1 best seller! Those who argue he wrote the book because he was bitter about his demotion , or puting forth his own political agenda miss a point. Mr. Clarke doesn't expect you to agree with everything he writes and does not claim he has all the answers. He saw the problems that come from being at the forefront of government decision making about national security issues under four presidents from 1987-2003. When he gives impressions about what he thinks others did or said, and how those actions or words affected the war on terrorism, tghe reader must remember that he has some expertise; he was the leading expert in two administrations on the terrorist threat to America. Mr. Clarke never states he has all the correct answers; he presents his arguments and impressions, and asks the reader to think critically and come to their own conclusions. I for one thoroughly enjoyed the bllok. IT DID MAKE ME THINK as all good books should!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    The man that brought down a president!

    Richard Clarke amazes me with the steely eyed insight into single mindedness of the this administration. Bush has been the teflon president. Nothing ever stuck and most americans have been to apathetic to politics to care. I have been outraged since the beginning of Bush's term on his 'my way or the highway' attitude and his overly simplified look of the world in black and white. Well finally the seeds of his demise are coming to fruition. He doesn't do what is best for the economy, education, medicare, environment, foreign affairs, and now terrorists. This book is a must read and Richard Clarke will bring down the president.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    Against All Enemies: Inside America's War on Terror

    As the sitting White House National Coordinator for Security, Infrastructure Protection, and Counter-Terrorism on the President's National Security Council for more than eight years during both the Clinton and Bush administrations, former intelligence analyst Richard Clarke sat in the literal catbird¿s seat to observe as well as participate in the national security apparatus in action. As a consequence, his new book detailing the specifics of the government¿s progress on the war on terror both before and since the advent of 911 is provocative reading indeed. The portrait he paints so convincingly is that of a Bush administration populated by political ideologues and characterized by shooting from the hip at targets of opportunity. Thus, no one within the new administration wanted to believe in the frightening evidence of a mounting Al Qaeda threat in the weeks and months before September 11, 2001, despite the persistent warnings of advisors like himself. Instead, they seemed preoccupied, as former Treasury secretary Paul O¿Neil suggested in his recent book, with regime change in Saddam Hussein¿s Iraq. Astonishingly, the morning after 911 Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld suggested attacking Iraq in the total absence of any evidence linking Saddam Hussein¿s regime to the attack on New York City or Washington, since Iraq represents a target-rich environment, as opposed to Afghanistan, which has so few. President Bush himself cornered Clarke and attempted to pressure him into finding a link between Hussein and the attack on the World Trade Center on 911 attack. To Mr. Clarke, the Bush administration was intent from that time on to use 911 as a convenient excuse to attack Iraq, something they seem to have desired to do from the very outset of the administration. Indeed, Clarke¿s impression of the modus operandi of the so-called ¿Vulcans¿ such as Paul Wolfowitz, Condi Rice, and Donald Rumsfeld is one of a previously set ideological agenda, of having a predetermined objective to attack and conquer Iraq, and then attempting to use the events of 911 as justification to proceed toward that objective. Indeed, the available public record suggests as much, with not only Mr. Bush, but also Mr. Cheney and Ms. Rice, as well as Mr. Rumsfeld trotting out a garden variety of ostensible rationales for invading Iraq in the post-911 time frame, all the way from the original ¿Axis Of Evil¿ comment in the 2002 State of The Union speech to the spurious linking of Saddam with Al Qaeda to the use of nerve gas against the populace some dozen years before to failure to comply with United nations resolutions since the 1991 attack by the international coalition that deliberately stopped short of regime change due to fear of destabilizing the region. Mr. Clarke has more than enough criticism to go around, and both Mr. Clinton and Mr. Bush find themselves seriously criticized and called to task for their lack of appropriate action, given what Mr. Clarke feels was the clear and present danger the evidence he offered indicated. So this book is no simple hatchet job against the Bush administration, as it casts aspersions on both sides of the political fence in terms of ascribing blame for our present set of circumstances regarding lapses in national security. Yet he reserves special scorn for the current administration, given its self-serving and somewhat cynical use of the 911 events to turn the political landscape upside down. What Clark describes as being tantamount to treason is the fashion in which President Bush has politicized the situation for short-term political benefit without taking serious and meaningful action to actually meaningfully combat the set of threats themselves. Most surprising to Clark is the way in which the Bush administration has done so little to accomplish relatively inexpensive and yet quite effective action against the terrorist threat, such as strengthening the infrastructure or beefing up border security, w

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    View from a registered Republican

    Speaking as a fellow registered Republican, like Clark, this book was extremely enlightening. It made it clear why 9/11 type terrorism was prevented under the Reagan, Bush 1, and Clinton administrations, and how the severely incompetent Bush 2 administration effectively caused 9/11. There will always be Bin Ladin¿s in the world trying to harm us. Once we kill Bin Ladin, more terrorists will spring up to take his place. We can not stop the existence of terrorists, but we can take action, as Reagan, Bush 1 and Clinton did, to stop them from harming us. The real cause of 9/11 was the incompetence of the Bush 2 administration. Read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    Finally Current Events Make Sense

    This is an excellent book. Someone like me who is interested in the details of government received a first-hand knowledge of how the system works. The Bush Administration will now try to hang Mr. Clark out to dry, but it is well worth the read to make your own decisions. I think the book is even-handed in its comments about both Democrat and Republican presidents. The bottom line I received from this book is al Quaeda is a threat, past threat, now a threat and more than ever a threat to our future. We have annoyed them more than ever with our invasion into Iraq. Also, Iraq does not equal al Quaeda.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    AMAZING! INCREDIBLE!

    The smoking gun! The beginning of the end of the Bush Empire!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    It's about time!

    It's about time someone from within the Bush White House came forward and told the truth instead of the spin. Thank you, Clarke!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Bush's, the First Traitorous President

    Richard Clarkes description of the Bush White House during our darkest days truly shows that George W Bush is the most arrogant yet imcompetent president ever to inhabit the White House. It brings to the light of day the agenda Bush had from the moment his election was assured. Bush's agenda was never to make America a better place, but to take down Saddam Hussein at ANY cost. His arrogance has cost the lives of almost 600 soldiers so far, and that number will only rise as long as George Bush remains in power. God bless Richard Clarke for having the courage to come forward and reveal the corruption that has taken over our country in the last 3 1/2 years. I can only hope he has a 'safe place' to go after this, because he will be the most hated man in this country and the Bush cabal will not let him get away unscathed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    reads like a Clancy novel

    This book is not your average political slam. It is a very easy read and I actually read it in only 2 sittings. Clarke paints a clear picture of a very dangerous Administration. First O'Neill, now Clarke; how many high level Republican cabinet members is it gonna take to spill their guts on their boss before every American sees this Adminstration for what it really is? I mean, even Nixon didn't have this many turncoats bailing on him. This amount of whistleblowing is unheard of, and yet, undoubtedly, there will be a large portion of this country who will continue to put their collective heads in the sand and follow this President like the good, ignorant sheep they are. I swear, if Bush wins this next election with all he's gotten away with, I'm giving up on these people and moving to Europe or something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2004

    Against All Enemies: Inside America's War on Terror

    As the sitting White House National Coordinator for Security, Infrastructure Protection, and Counter-terrorism on the President's National Security Council for more than eight years during both the Clinton and Bush administrations, former intelligence analyst Richard Clarke sat in the literal catbird¿s seat to observe as well as participate in the national security apparatus in action. As a consequence, his new book detailing the specifics of the government¿s progress on the war on terror since the advent of 911 is provocative reading indeed. The portrait he paints so convincingly is that of a Bush administration populated by political ideologues and characterized by shooting from the hip at targets of opportunity. Thus, no one wanted to believe in the frightening evidence of a mounting Al Qaeda threat in the weeks and months before September 11, 2001, despite the persistent warnings of advisors like himself. Moreover, the morning after 911 Donald Rumsfeld suggested attacking Iraq in the total absence of any evidence linking Saddam Hussein¿s regime to the attack on New York City or Washington, since Iraq represents a target-rich environment, as opposed to Afghanistan, which has so few. In Mr. Clarke¿s estimation, the Bush administration was intent from that time on to use 911 as an excuse to attack Iraq. Indeed, Clarke¿s impression of the modus operandi of the so-called ¿Vulcans¿ such as Paul Wolfowitz, Condi Rice, and Donald Rumsfeld is one of a previously set ideological agenda, of having a predetermined objective to attack and conquer Iraq, and then attempting to use the events of 911 as justification to proceed toward that objective. Indeed, the available public record suggests as much, with not only Mr. Bush, but also Mr. Cheney and Ms. Rice, as well as Mr. Rumsfeld trotting out a garden variety of ostensible rationales for invading Iraq in the post-911 time frame, all the way from the original ¿Axis Of Evil¿ comment in the 2002 State of The Union speech to the spurious linking of Saddam with Al Qaeda to the use of nerve gas against the populace some dozen years before to failure to comply with United nations resolutions since the 1991 attack by the international coalition that deliberately stopped short of regime change due to fear of destabilizing the region. Mr. Clarke has more than enough criticism to go around, and both Mr. Clinton and Mr. Bush find themselves seriously criticized and called to task for their lack of appropriate action, given what Mr. Clarke feels was the clear and present danger the evidence he offered indicated. So this book is no simple attack against the Bush administration, as it casts aspersions on both sides of the political fence in terms of ascribing blame for our present set of circumstances regarding lapses in national security. Yet he reserves special scorn for the current administration, given its self-serving and somewhat cynical use of the 911 events to turn the political landscape upside down. What Clark describes as being tantamount to treason is the fashion in which President Bush has politicized the situation for short-term political benefit without taking serious and meaningful action to actually meaningfully combat the set of threats themselves. Most surprising to Clark is the way in which the Bush administration has done so little to accomplish relatively inexpensive and yet quite effective action against the terrorist threat, such as strengthening the infrastructure or beefing up border security, while hugely increasing the administrative manpower and salaries of personnel within agencies such as Homeland Security, which do little to actually counteract terror threats. Like many observers, Clarke believes the war in Iraq is at best a distraction from the real threat, robbing the country of valuable resources with which we could much more effectively protect ourselves and extend the reach of American power to combat terrorism. Meanwhile, he views the growth of terror

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    A patriotic duty well performed

    A great book. It tells the real cause why we are fighting in Iraq. It's time that this admisnistrtion come clean to the American people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Book doesn't contradict 9/11 Hearing

    I have faithfully watched Clarke's entire testimony at the 9/11 Hearing and found him to be an extremely credible witness. Anyone who has read his book and watched him on the hearing will no doubt find that there were no contradictions to his story. The book is well written and very insight on how the administration failed us. If you missed his testimony, you can read the transcript on various news website and make your own judgment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    And its well written too!

    If you have any interest in hearing the truth behind the current administration's lies READ THIS BOOK. You'll have a better idea of just how incredibly misguided this White House is, and what it is costing. I could hardly put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Some Clear Truths Emerge

    The important point of this book is not whether Clinton or Bush was more to blame for failing to prevent 9/11. It seems clear that neither administration would have been able to muster the political will from Congress, the American public, or foreign allies, that would have allowed an invasion of Afghanistan or other military measures sufficient to so disrupt Al Qaeda that the attack might have been prevented. What is so important, and so very clear from the book, is that: 1. The Bush Administration was actually less concerned, and devoted substantially less resources and attention, to combating Al Qaeda, than the Clinton Administration. While Clinton's efforts to fight Al Qaeda were not sufficient to prevent 9/11, Bush further diminished the government's efforts. 2. The Bush Administration made a catastrophic mistake in launching an unnecessary and counterproductive war against Iraq while failing to complete the job in Afghanistan or otherwise focus sufficiently on Al Qaeda after 9/11. Prior to 9/11, neither administrations did what would have been necessary to prevent the attacks, and neither would have had the political support to do so. After 9/11 however, the Bush administration did have the political support, both domestically and internationally, to do whatever was reasonably necessary, but squandered that support on the wrong war at the wrong time in the wrong place, for reasons that were preconceived prior to 9/11. These truths are so clear that they are beyond reasonable refutation, which is doubtless why the Bush administration has undertaken personal attacks on Mr. Clarke rather than any refutation of his book on its merits. With the domestic economic policies of the administration so obviously a failure, there is no rationale for the Bush administration except its supposed wisdom and skill in fighting terrorism. This book demolishes that rationale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    Not a surprise move by bush to team to attack, that's always been there main strategy

    this book will only confirm what most Americans believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    Confirmed My Suspicions About Bush and Iraq

    I believe this to be an honest and well written book which confirmed my suspicions as to our reasoning for rushing into a war with Iraq. Whether for revenge, oil, or for 'legacy-building', there wasn't enough evidence to support Bush's decision-making process to attack Iraq. It also confirmed my opinion of Condeliza Rice as a presidential advisor put in place to be a 'yes-man'. She gets an 'A' for political double-speak and an 'F' for knowledge and results with regard to national security issues. Unfortunately for us, the war with Iraq has served to further alienate the US from the rest of the world and from its allies. Even worse, our 'crusade' appears to have strengthened the Islamic extremist movement against us. And what about the 600-plus American soldiers killed, families destroyed, and billions of dollars wasted that could have been spent fighting the real war on terrorism? My vote has ALWAYS been based on trust... trust that my vote is for strong and honest leadership. And although I've never voted for a Democrat in any election, I see that changing this year... Sincerely, K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    a patriot who dares to speak out

    The book is truly reflective our times, not only in terms of content (addresses one of the major issues of the day), but also in terms of the reaction the book inspires (the reviews on it are as politically polarized as is this country). I will add to the fray one question to ponder: Would a person with a credible history and a long and arguably successful career commit political/social suicide, as Clarke surely has in writing this book, for personal profit? And if he did it for 'politics,' isn¿t that what election year is all about? Each of us to stand up for what we believe is the best for the US, to debate the issues with our fellow citizens, to make informed decisions, and then to show up and vote on election day? Being ¿political¿ in this sense is a commendation rather than an accusation. Accusing people of being 'unpatriotic' because they dare to disagree - in print or otherwise - seems, well . . . seems downright unpatriotic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3