Customer Reviews for

Against All Odds: My Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Chuck Norris is my Idol

this story is so good i had no idea the under lying story of his life. i always thought that Chuck Norris was amazing but after reading this book i can truly say how amazing he is.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

What shyness?

I got this book expecting to read more about his 'debilitating shyness'. How very disappointed I was to find it was only covered in about 1 page. He came out of it naturally as a young kid.

posted by Anonymous on December 18, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    Chuck Norris is my Idol

    this story is so good i had no idea the under lying story of his life. i always thought that Chuck Norris was amazing but after reading this book i can truly say how amazing he is.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Chuck Norris for president.

    I used to joke about him running for president but after reading this book, he is just what this country needs; good family man, god fearing, knows what it means to earn what you have who trys to use his head.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    awesome book

    i really enjoyed this book and recommend it. a must read for every chuck norris fan. very moving and inspirational i wasnt able to put it down once i started reading!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Great person! Very inspirational!

    I bought the book for my Dad who enjoys not only Chuck Norris's tv shows and movies but also his other books.
    Before giving it to him i skimmed the book. It has pictures of him and his family and friends. He writes it in a way that is very relatable. If you enjoy success stories and want to hear it from a humble and understanding person, than you should get this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    Amazing grace...

    Chuck Norris' life cuts some deeper than publicity about him over the years has augured. And the depths plumbed drop all the way down to amazing grace. As an introduction to the man, the work is excellent, revealing a transparent personality of intelligence, integrity, circumspection, and humor. Continual surprises fill the chapters with astounding realities Mr. Norris has traversed throughout his incredible journey. His modesty does not allow for a flamboyant retelling of these adventures, but even so, the bare bones of the tale render a perfect outline for an action movie. In fact, one can't help but sense being in the presence of a man personified in early films as the 'strong silent type.' Did Mr. Norris not already hold the copyright to this biography, someone would steal it. A story told seemingly too good to be true, 'Against All Odds' nevertheless is not only the real stuff, but whets the reader's appetite for greater in-depth examinations. TL Farley, author, When Now Becomes Too Late

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's a Chuck-tatorship, and we just live in it.

    Chuck Norris doesn't read books, he just stares them down until they give him the information he wants. There is no theory of evolution, just a series on animals that Chuck Norris allows to live. Chuck Norris is the only person who can slam a revolving door. Behind Chucks Norris' beard lies another fist. Chuck Norris' tears can cure cancer; too bad he never cries. Chuck Norris was the 4th wise man and gave Jesus the gift of beard. The other jealous wise men omitted him from the bible. All three died of roundhouse kick incidents shortly thereafter. Buy this book!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    ROUNDHOUSE KICK!

    WATCHAAAAAA!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Poooooop

    Chuck norris woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Chuck Norris

    Chuck Norris ask Bruce lee once to teach him martial arts

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Excellent read of a powerful story.

    I've always liked Chuck Norris and now I know why. This easy reading autobiography flows like an action adventure and gives you the story behind this fascinating man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Don't call him Chuck!

    Great book! Would have liked more info on how he trains, and more insider stories about movies and TV shows. Never knew his given name is Carlos. Overall interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Really good book

    Want to hear a Chuck Norris jjoke
    Chuck Norris destryed the pedriodic table of elements becauee the only element he understood was the element of surprise

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great book

    Shows a great love for my main man up stairs GOD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    'A man for all seasons'

    This book shows he is the man for all seasons meaning he can go through anything and still come out a decent man in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Highly recommended; check it out!

    I had no idea that religion has always been such a major part of the life of Chuck Norris. This is a great American success story. Enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Chuck Norris

    Roundhousekick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    HOLY SH**

    THIS WAS WROTE BY CHUCK NORRIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I knew he was a strong man, but was fascinated to find out he is

    I knew he was a strong man, but was fascinated to find out he is a man of strong faith. Very highly recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Chuck norris

    CHUCK NORRIS IS AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Excellent

    Awesome story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2