Customer Reviews for

Against All Odds

Average Rating 4
( 434 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 440 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book and would recommend it to just about everyone- of all ages and experiences. I thought it had a lot to offer, wand while I'm not usually into the religiously-themed novels, they can be moving if done right, in a way that makes you feel something trully significant through the characters, and this one does that.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense and romance

    I love that this book spotlighted something I had never thought of before - the Hostage Rescue Team division of the FBI. The HRT is responsible for rescuing people that have been kidnapped or taken hostage - or in this case - been threatened. <BR/><BR/>Monica is in danger through no fault of her own, but her estranged dad deals with terrorists and they don't like him. Since he doesn't take threats to himself seriously they decide to threaten his daughter. By pulling some strings he gets the HRT involved to proactively protect his daughter, but what if she doesn't love that idea? Well, she doesn't but finally relents. Even with her cooperation can Evan and his partner actually protect Monica? <BR/><BR/>This is a great start to a new series that even Dee Henderson compares to Dee Henderson!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best romantic suspenses I've ever read

    I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. For some reason, I feel that romantic suspense in Christian fiction, while enjoyable, is usually pretty weak compared with general fiction. I think the reason lies with the stories tending to focus more on the relationship and then throw in a kidnapping or two. Also the romance part is usually very rushed and not really convincing. This book however went off in a totally different direction.

    This story was jam packed with suspense. In fact, I felt that this was a big highlight of the book, the fact that it focused more on the suspense than the romance. There were some really tense situations throughout the book and times where I wanted to flip to the end to find out if these people made it out alive. This book however expertly blends the two together but gives an added kick to the suspense level which is greatly appreciated. The romance bit though is done very well and was realistic. I thought the chemistry between Coop and Monica was great and it made their relationship seem genuine. While the book focuses on Middle Eastern terrorists, there is nothing here that could be considered prejudiced or stereotyping. I really felt that I was reading something straight out of the news. The details were very realistic and the story dares to show the fear and terror that comes from being held as a hostage.

    There's a endorsement on the cover from Dee Henderson, who is the all time leader in Christian romantic suspense, that says this book is better than hers. I totally agree with her. I really think this is probably THE best Christian romantic suspense book I have ever read and I am going to be looking forward to reading more books from this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great mix of fatih, fact, fiction and the FBI

    Fans of Dee Henderson's Uncommon Heroes and/or O'Malley series will love "Against All Odds", book # 1 of the Heroes of Quantico Series by Irene Hannon. Fast paced, romantic suspense, centered around the FBI, with a plot that hits close to home with a terrorist twist. Highly recommended reading. I've already read book #2 - An Eye for an Eye and I am anxiously awaiting the relese of book #3 "In Harms Way" in February.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    Do not miss this book!

    This was a great book! I was initially hesitant but at the time it was a free NookBook. I enjoy David Baldacci books so I thought - "sure why not?" Boy am I glad I did! The suspense tied in with faith in God was amazing. I'm delighted I've found an author who can write to keep me on the edge of my seat but keep in mind the importance of God in any relationship and profession. I have since bought the other books and can't wait to dig into them. You won't put this down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great start of a new series by Irene Hannon.

    I absolutely loved this story. Coop (FBI agent) and his partner are assigned to protect Monica, the daughter of a diplomat in this thriller by Irene Hannon. This first book of the new Quantico series deals with danger from terrorists, a young woman's refusal to accept help from her estranged father and romance.

    If you liked Dee Henderson's O'Malley series, you'll like this story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling Plot

    Do you know of anyone who has trouble relating to a family member? Most of us have or have had problems in this area. Monica, one of the characters in this tale, won't even take her father's phone calls! Communication and the lack of it is one of the themes in this suspense-driven novel. As Monica says, "As important as it is for people to talk the walk, it's just as important to learn to listen with the heart as well as the ears." Sometimes people communicate by doing, rather than by talking.<BR/><BR/>Another theme is forgiveness, and the damage involved when a person refuses to forgive. Another character states, "Forgiveness is hard, honey. But it's what God calls us to. Besides, as some wise person once said, holding a grudge is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die. It hurts you a lot more than it hurts them."<BR/><BR/>I can't say much about the compelling plot because I don't want to ruin it for you. Romance, terrorism, Middle East, Afghanistan, FBI, kidnapping, hostage rescue team, diplomat, murder, relationships, women in distress, safe house, and bombs are all included in this Christian Fiction. This will keep any reader's attention.<BR/><BR/>I do not agree with the theology that has one person asking God for forgiveness for someone else. Other than that, it is an exciting book to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Highly recommend!

    Intriguing story line and characters. Very well written and tough to put down! A suspenseful romance without the gratuitous language so it is enjoyable to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    First read from Ms. Hannon for me...

    and I was not disappointed. In fact, I read the next 2 books in the series. I really loved the suspense, romance and above all the faith in God. I like that she explored emerging faith as well as strong established faith in the characters. I also enjoyed learning about the HRT unit - what an incredible bunch of guys! They have the same skills as mercenaries but work within the law (my description, not hers). And not to spoil anything for the reader, but not everything ends in a fairytale way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Page turner from start to finish

    Aside from this being a romantic-suspense novel it also tackles relationships and how our past affects our present and possibly our future and even our faith in God. The hero and heroine in the story have had strained relationships with their fathers that affected them in more ways than one and I loved that the author used this as a jumping point for them to understand each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    LOVED this!

    This was a great story! As a military brat, I can relate to these characters and loved the fact that religion was presented in a positive light. I will be buying the other two in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Great read

    This is how books should be written. I couldn't put it down. Best of all it told a story without explicit sex and vulgar language. Will look for more books by Irene Hannon!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    I loved this book!

    Against All Odds is full of suspense and action with a good love story thrown in to make it even better. I could not put it down. As soon as I finished it I began to look for more Irene Hannon books. If you like Dee Henderson's books, you will enjoy the Heroes of Quantico series by Hannon. The characters do turn to God for help and comfort, but the storyline is never "preachy" or too religious.

    I haven't had a lot of luck with the free books for my Nook, but this one is an exception. In fact, it caused me to purchase another Hannon book, "In Harm's Way." I loved it, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Very interesting

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    David Callahan is Kabul to negotiate the release of 3 Americans

    David Callahan is Kabul to negotiate the release of 3 Americans being held hostage by radical factions in Afghanistan. He has made a career of handling the tough problems with no regard to his personal safety or the cost to his personal life. Now he is facing a new problem – he is not the one being threatened – his daughter Monica is the one being threatened.
    Evan Cooper, “Coop”, is called in to protect Monica, along with his partner on this Hostage Rescue Team assignment Mark Sanders. The problem with that is that Monica doesn’t want their protection. At first she refuses to believe that she is in danger and that she really needs to follow the advice of these men.
    Tariq al-Hashemi is responsible for the kidnapping of the hostages in Afghanistan. He hates the Americans and their involvement in his country. He is willing to do anything to exact his revenge on those he feels owe him. He is ruthless and lacking of a conscience. He demands absolute obedience from his subordinates.
    His nephew Nouri oversees his attempt on the life of David Callahan’s daughter Monica. Nouri uses all the tools available to see his uncle’s plan against Monica to succeed. His skills and plans make it seem as though he has eyes inside the loop that is charged with the protection of Monica.
    Coop and the rest of the FBI HRT scramble to protect Monica from an unknown assailant who seems to know all of their secrets. Agents put their lives on the line to get the job done. The strain takes its toll on them all as the attacks continue and escalate until the final showdown.
    David Callahan and Monica both face the ultimate test as the crisis reaches its climax.
    This is a riveting story of intrigue played out on an international stage. I highly recommend it for anyone who likes suspense and international locations. Irene Hannon delivers another wonderfully crafted story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the first book in the Heroes of Quantico series.   The s

    This is the first book in the Heroes of Quantico series.   The store is very action packed with a believable romance, terrorism, FBI, kidnapping, hostage rescue team, diplomat, murder and bombs.  I highly recommend all the books in her series..
    You can see my full review at More Than a Review dot com where I rate the level of sex, violence, language and drug/alcohol use in books.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED!

    Similar to a Dee Henderson novel, and I loved her series of books! Good faith based, romance, thriller! Pick it up and you'll be done in no time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    A dragging book

    I have a hard time picking up my nook...just because, I need to finish this book...

    Well, I've never not finished this book nor do I go to the end...
    I don't even want to know what happens...It is boring, seems endless, same thing over and over...Drags terribly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Y

    Just finished it. It was a good read, even though it was a little slow at the beginning. Now I want to read the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    This was a Great Suspense/Romance. I love that it is clean and s

    This was a Great Suspense/Romance. I love that it is clean and still keeps you turning pages. It is full of action and good character development. You even get some of the terrorist's perspective. It had everything that makes a good story for me. It is a Christian book that is not too preachy, mostly just lives it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 440 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22