Customer Reviews for

Against Medical Advice: One Family's Struggle with an Agonizing Medical Mystery

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Received an advanced copy...

I joined the James Patterson Community and was the 1000th member to join. I actually got the book sent to me in the mail yesterday and I read it very quickly, could not put it down as is always the case with his books. This is his first non-fiction book and it did not l...
I joined the James Patterson Community and was the 1000th member to join. I actually got the book sent to me in the mail yesterday and I read it very quickly, could not put it down as is always the case with his books. This is his first non-fiction book and it did not let me down. You feel a connection with the main character as soon as you start reading. James Patterson has a future in the non-fiction field. I suggest you run out in October and pick up your copy!

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Please Review After Reading the Book

I respect the fact that you might think James Patterson is the best thing to be marketed since sliced bread, but PLEASE stop reviewing books that you haven't read yet. If you want to sing the praises of the author, create a book club or join one about that author, but ...
I respect the fact that you might think James Patterson is the best thing to be marketed since sliced bread, but PLEASE stop reviewing books that you haven't read yet. If you want to sing the praises of the author, create a book club or join one about that author, but please stop posting reviews before books come out, or posts that just talk about the writer, instead of the WRITING. Please pay no attention to the rating attached to this comment. I haven't read the book, but I felt I had to say something about these posts. The only way to post is to add a rating. If anyone has read this book, I'd love to hear whether you enjoyed it or not.

posted by shadohweaver215 on October 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Received an advanced copy...

    I joined the James Patterson Community and was the 1000th member to join. I actually got the book sent to me in the mail yesterday and I read it very quickly, could not put it down as is always the case with his books. This is his first non-fiction book and it did not let me down. You feel a connection with the main character as soon as you start reading. James Patterson has a future in the non-fiction field. I suggest you run out in October and pick up your copy!

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    Tourette Syndrome is real

    Cory Friedman is a young man who has suffered from Tourette Syndrome since he was 5 years old. Hal Friedman (Cory's father) and James Patterson have collaborated on this book to bring us the most real, compelling and inspiring retelling of Cory's life and how he struggled every day (every minute) with a debilitating diagnosis. As a mother of 3 children, all of whom have Tourette Syndrome, I can authoritatively say that there was no fictionalization to this story. The events, misery and anguish that Cory and his parents went through are very real, and I'm certain that the feelings that came across were not amplified in any way, in fact sometimes, I thought maybe they were downplayed a little. I admire Cory for his stamina, resiliency and his determination. My children have already gained strength from Cory's experience as I have told them about his life and struggles. <BR/><BR/>I recommend this book to everyone, especially if someone in your life has been touched by Tourette Syndrome.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    Please Review After Reading the Book

    I respect the fact that you might think James Patterson is the best thing to be marketed since sliced bread, but PLEASE stop reviewing books that you haven't read yet. If you want to sing the praises of the author, create a book club or join one about that author, but please stop posting reviews before books come out, or posts that just talk about the writer, instead of the WRITING. Please pay no attention to the rating attached to this comment. I haven't read the book, but I felt I had to say something about these posts. The only way to post is to add a rating. If anyone has read this book, I'd love to hear whether you enjoyed it or not.

    5 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    I read this book in one sitting┬┐

    James Patterson, Hal Friedman<BR/>ISBN: 9780316024754<BR/>Little, Brown & Co., 2008<BR/>Reviewed by Debra Gaynor for ReviewYourBook.com, 11/08<BR/>5 Star<BR/>I read this book in one sitting¿<BR/>James Patterson and Hal Friedman share the story of Cory Friedman¿s life with Tourette¿s Syndrome. Cory was misdiagnosis and given the wrong medication repeatedly. He spent his life twitching and jerking, making involuntary motions and uttering involuntary words. He developed uncontrollable fears and obsessive habits. ¿I never know if it¿s the medicine itself, the combination of medicines, the doses, or the usual ups and downs that happen with Tourettes.¿ <BR/>I do not think anyone can begin to understand the hell the Friedman¿s, especially Cory, have lived through. My heart aches for them and rejoices for them. Cory, you are a remarkable young man with a remarkable family.<BR/>Against Medical Advice grabbed my attention and would not let go. I read this book in one sitting. The story is told from Cory¿s point of view. I think family photographs would have added to this book; however, I can also understand that the family might have considered that intrusive. I highly recommend this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    Very good

    This was something that once I started reading I couldn't put it down. Great read and very informative as well. It also helped me understand what some of the students today are facing in elementary schools. I am going to have my daughter read this, as a former classmate of hers was recently diagnosed with Tourettes. I think it will be a great insight for her about how another person feels.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    I read this book in one sitting (a first for me). Well written,

    I read this book in one sitting (a first for me). Well written, with great insight into the disease and what it is like to live with it. Definitely worth your time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Shocking, yet inspiring

    This is a disturbing yet truly inspiring story of how determination and devoted parents can help to overcome a devastating disease and incompetant medical treatment for their son. A must read for parents and educators of special needs children.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Against Medical Advice

    This book is narrated by the main character Cory, the reader then sees the world through the eyes of a person with Tourettes syndrome. At the tender age of five Cory begins to experience uncontrollable ticks, compulsions and odd urges. This book brings out the emotional and physical pain of doing actions that hurt others; Cory loses his childhood innocence to battle disease that is beginning to become invincible. <BR/> Cory gains OCD and Tourettes enhance the symptoms of OCD, his family attempt to help their child by getting help from doctors. However no matter whom they would go to nothing helps, in all actuality the prescriptions tend to enhance or create new problems.<BR/> After a near death event the Friedman family takes their son off of the prescriptions and medication suggested by the Doctors and professionals. However Cory still remains in torture in his own body. Along with his constant pain and suffering, Cory still tries to attend school and retain a somewhat normal childhood. The school also tries to embrace Cory and help him, but with his extreme OCD and Tourettes Cory has a very difficult time with making friends and behaving like everyone else.<BR/> When attending school became near impossible and Cory's drinking habits would steadily increase, Cory's parents send him to a wilderness camp in the snow tipped mountains. it was a camp that was designed to stop teens from their addictions, they way that would happen would be that because it is a wilderness camp everyone must work together to survive. Through this harsh and primitive way of living, Cory learns how to work through his Tourettes and OCD. Cory, although in agonizing and freezing pain, is able to find a somewhat relaxing part within himself-past the Tourettes and OCD.<BR/> Later on in the story Cory goes back to his old High school, but is faced with the probability of repeating his junior year. Through the fighting efforts of his mother and his own will, Cory manages to move on.<BR/> Cory's battle for control over his own life is inspiring and at times depressing his longing for the freedom he found on the mountain wilderness camp. The theme of nature and family are major the major themes of this novel. <BR/> The theme of nature against society is a large and constantly seen within the pages. While stranded in snow-covered mountains Cory learns how to live in peace with himself and how to work through most of his ticking and compulsions. Although the care and loving helping hand of his family was always appreciated, Cory was able to handle his internal problems when he knew- that in the mountains- he would have to take care of himself.<BR/> The theme of family is also an important theme to recognize. Cory constantly mentions how he hates hurting them, when his ticking gets so out of control that he becomes violent. Cory describes how he is able to gain his determination by watching his parents fight to find a cure. Family is important because they love and care for one another, and that is precisely how the Friedman family are to their son.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Cory has a strength few of us will ever possess

    This story will pull at your heartstrings. Told from Cory's point of view, it allows you to see his pain and agony from the inside. I'm sure the story would have been just as good had it been told from Hal's point of view, writing it this way, gives us readers that little bit more. Before reading this story, I hadn't a clue what it must be like to live with an illness like this, and it will definitely open my eyes to the struggles many people with Tourette's and other similar disorders deal with on a daily basis.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling

    This is a very touching story of trying to make it in a world where different is not always accepted. I experienced some of the same response from people. Patterson and Friedman did an excellent job writing what life can feel like when a person is not like the others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    bravo

    I have read all of James Patterson books & I feel that he is the most entertaining author that I have read.I really enjoyed the winged children they were the best.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    I need advice again

    Thanks so much for your help!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    To Brooke

    Thanks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    James Patterson fan!

    I have read a majority of James Patterson's books and I can personally say that he is on of the best authors that I have ever read I have a feeling that this book is going to be just as good as all the rest.

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Huh

    I don't get it. Tick his neck? I've never even heard of this disease.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    To i neeeeeeeed help

    Thats easy go to your friends say are u friend whith me or my brother that might help

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Jared

    You still there

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Jared to all

    Go to gazz res 3 for advice and res 6 for chat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    I need Advice

    Do i do when my gitlfriend who asked me out dosent hang around me alot?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    To need advice

    My suggestion, just see how things play out. If you want to tell if he likes you, see if he tries to fix his appearance around you or while speaking to you. But itherwse figuring out if someone like you is straightforward. But sorry u cant be much help on the other thing. - Tear <br> :'(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9