BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Against Medical Advice

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Received an advanced copy...

I joined the James Patterson Community and was the 1000th member to join. I actually got the book sent to me in the mail yesterday and I read it very quickly, could not put it down as is always the case with his books. This is his first non-fiction book and it did not l...
I joined the James Patterson Community and was the 1000th member to join. I actually got the book sent to me in the mail yesterday and I read it very quickly, could not put it down as is always the case with his books. This is his first non-fiction book and it did not let me down. You feel a connection with the main character as soon as you start reading. James Patterson has a future in the non-fiction field. I suggest you run out in October and pick up your copy!

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Please Review After Reading the Book

I respect the fact that you might think James Patterson is the best thing to be marketed since sliced bread, but PLEASE stop reviewing books that you haven't read yet. If you want to sing the praises of the author, create a book club or join one about that author, but ...
I respect the fact that you might think James Patterson is the best thing to be marketed since sliced bread, but PLEASE stop reviewing books that you haven't read yet. If you want to sing the praises of the author, create a book club or join one about that author, but please stop posting reviews before books come out, or posts that just talk about the writer, instead of the WRITING. Please pay no attention to the rating attached to this comment. I haven't read the book, but I felt I had to say something about these posts. The only way to post is to add a rating. If anyone has read this book, I'd love to hear whether you enjoyed it or not.

posted by shadohweaver215 on October 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Shocking, yet inspiring

    This is a disturbing yet truly inspiring story of how determination and devoted parents can help to overcome a devastating disease and incompetant medical treatment for their son. A must read for parents and educators of special needs children.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Against Medical Advice

    This book is narrated by the main character Cory, the reader then sees the world through the eyes of a person with Tourettes syndrome. At the tender age of five Cory begins to experience uncontrollable ticks, compulsions and odd urges. This book brings out the emotional and physical pain of doing actions that hurt others; Cory loses his childhood innocence to battle disease that is beginning to become invincible. <BR/> Cory gains OCD and Tourettes enhance the symptoms of OCD, his family attempt to help their child by getting help from doctors. However no matter whom they would go to nothing helps, in all actuality the prescriptions tend to enhance or create new problems.<BR/> After a near death event the Friedman family takes their son off of the prescriptions and medication suggested by the Doctors and professionals. However Cory still remains in torture in his own body. Along with his constant pain and suffering, Cory still tries to attend school and retain a somewhat normal childhood. The school also tries to embrace Cory and help him, but with his extreme OCD and Tourettes Cory has a very difficult time with making friends and behaving like everyone else.<BR/> When attending school became near impossible and Cory's drinking habits would steadily increase, Cory's parents send him to a wilderness camp in the snow tipped mountains. it was a camp that was designed to stop teens from their addictions, they way that would happen would be that because it is a wilderness camp everyone must work together to survive. Through this harsh and primitive way of living, Cory learns how to work through his Tourettes and OCD. Cory, although in agonizing and freezing pain, is able to find a somewhat relaxing part within himself-past the Tourettes and OCD.<BR/> Later on in the story Cory goes back to his old High school, but is faced with the probability of repeating his junior year. Through the fighting efforts of his mother and his own will, Cory manages to move on.<BR/> Cory's battle for control over his own life is inspiring and at times depressing his longing for the freedom he found on the mountain wilderness camp. The theme of nature and family are major the major themes of this novel. <BR/> The theme of nature against society is a large and constantly seen within the pages. While stranded in snow-covered mountains Cory learns how to live in peace with himself and how to work through most of his ticking and compulsions. Although the care and loving helping hand of his family was always appreciated, Cory was able to handle his internal problems when he knew- that in the mountains- he would have to take care of himself.<BR/> The theme of family is also an important theme to recognize. Cory constantly mentions how he hates hurting them, when his ticking gets so out of control that he becomes violent. Cory describes how he is able to gain his determination by watching his parents fight to find a cure. Family is important because they love and care for one another, and that is precisely how the Friedman family are to their son.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    To i need advice

    Observe. See her reaction to everything you do and say. If you think she likes you ask her out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Pyrostripe

    How can I crack my parents' Wi-Fi password? I have to use my school's Wi-Fi.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Quick and Enlightening

    This was a very quick read, as I finished it in about two days. The reader gets a first-hand view of the struggles associated with chronic illness. What makes this story especially compelling is that the nature of the illness is oft misunderstood in popular society, leading to embarassment and confusion atop the mounting physical stresses of the illness.
    In a diary-like format, the author recalls pertinent events as this story unfolds to deliver hope to the reader as the illness is overcome... not cured, but overcome.
    I would recommend this read to anyone who would like a better understanding of the challenges faced by those who have been met with misfortune in their health and well-being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Astounding

    This book may not be rated the highest but it does address a medical condition which isn't understood by the general public and sheds a light on same.

    Feel everyone should be aware of this illness as many people judge and don't consider the problem inherent in same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Very good but sad

    Watching this boys struggle was hard at times and the hopfullness of the family was heartbreaking, but book was very touching and insprational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fiction-lover loves the non-fiction here

    This was a totally absorbing book for me. Maybe partly intriguing b/c I"m a teacher? I felt for the family here and was inspired by the honesty and commitment throughout the book. I read this one with the vigor with which I read A Child Called It. I'm taking this one in to my classroom for the students' perusal--I think they will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Read it!

    Good book. A true story makes it even better. What a life he had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    Heartbreaking but inspiring

    I picked up this book on the recommendation of radio show host Glenn Beck. He kept saying what a wonderful and inspiring book this is. I agree with him. Although I found myself crying at several spots in this book, I found it to be a great example of courage. The love of this family for one another was amazing. I especially was touched by the letters Cory would write to his family. When he called his mother an angel it broke my heart every time! Read this book, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    WHETHER TO CRY...

    Against Madical Advice is a compelling book about not only a boy, but a families struggle with overwhelming OCD, Tourette's syndrome, and anxiety disorder of the highest sort. This book really puts things into prospective for anyone going through a hard time in their life, it shows you how much people in the world have to struggle with, and things that to us seem funny, or no big deal, are some people's worst nightmares, and even some peoples worst realities.Please read this book, and get a clue about things that you would normally judge without a second thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2