Customer Reviews for

Against the Wall

Average Rating 4
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fast and funny - a good read! The only caveat I have is the prof

Fast and funny - a good read! The only caveat I have is the profanity - not that I have anything against profanity, but none of my fellow teachers dare curse like the ones in this book, even in private, for fear of what might pop out of our mouths in the classroom - or ...
Fast and funny - a good read! The only caveat I have is the profanity - not that I have anything against profanity, but none of my fellow teachers dare curse like the ones in this book, even in private, for fear of what might pop out of our mouths in the classroom - or worse, in conference!

posted by 6000040 on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Glad I did not buy this.

I was very dissapointed in this book. Good story line, but too many F words. Sex was way over the top. I am not a prude, but way over done. Leaves nothing to the imagination. If all her writing is like this, will not read her books.

posted by 10768172 on September 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Fast and funny - a good read! The only caveat I have is the prof

    Fast and funny - a good read! The only caveat I have is the profanity - not that I have anything against profanity, but none of my fellow teachers dare curse like the ones in this book, even in private, for fear of what might pop out of our mouths in the classroom - or worse, in conference!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    I'm a huge huge huge fan of Julie Prestsater's writing. Her YA D

    I'm a huge huge huge fan of Julie Prestsater's writing. Her YA Double Threat series is one of my favorites so I was really happy to see she wrote a story about the teachers at Carver High. I had remembered the teachers in the series but didn't really really remember them until I read Against the Wall and I must say I loved getting to know them better.

    The story is about Shel, an English teacher at Carver High, who has just had her heart broken by not only her high school sweetheart and fiancé, but by her co-worker. Dealing with seeing Chase every day is harder and harder now that he is dating another teacher at the school. With the help of her bestie Mel and hot teacher and friend Matty Shel finds that what she thought was true love may have been nothing close to it and love may be right in plain sight.

    Honestly I loved watching the friendship of Shel and Matty grow and expand as it progressed. He was the best friend she could have and exactly what she needed. He didn't push her or press for something she wasn't ready for. He was supportive and just their for her. Basically every girls dream. :-)

    Prestsater has managed to mix fun and emotion and laughter into this wonderful stories about teachers outside of the classroom. I can't wait to read more about Mel in the next installment.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    This one was good

    This one was good. I guess I just thought the push and pull of the two main characters was too long and the ending wrapped up too quickly. Still a good read though

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    good read

    good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2014

    I loved this book. It was a fun read, a lot of laugh out loud mo

    I loved this book. It was a fun read, a lot of laugh out loud moments and the characters were beyond real. Shelly and Mel reminded me of two of my friends. A few spots that seemed wordy, but that is my only complaint. Countless tease moments everywhere, Have fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Great Read Enjoyed it.

    Great Read Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Highly recommend

    I really enjoyed reading this story. The story was written well. I really enjoyed reading about the characters and getting to know them as the book went along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Still makes me smile

    Although i felt the begining to b quiet...rushed... towards the 4th chapter and on i was very much into the story ..it make me laugh at times , smile in others, and i even felt giddy in some of the sceenes... i would of wanted the end ,b4 the wedding, to have been extended or simply more detailed ...im not a big fan of rushed beginings and endings ...all in all its one book i'll probably be rereading wen i want a feel good moment :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Sweet romance

    Cute story will probly read next in series



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Very entertaining

    A nice, light, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Great book

    Easy, quick read. Fun and cute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book! Can't wait to read the next book

    I really enjoyed this book! Can't wait to read the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Nice, light read

    I loved the relationship between the main characters. Well crafted read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Funny

    The sarcastic humor won me over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    AA + A+ eas A+ Easy read

    The waiting was horrible but well worth it in the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    The cover Sucks

    Fuge chaclate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Up Against The Wall

    This book was adorable. Maybe more for young adukts. Cussing is frequent, but it fits. I like the way the story flows. And in the end, this book literally had me up against the wall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    ANONYMOUS

    O.K. Read.djc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    good

    nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    AMAZING

    An amazing book! I just could not put it down. I ended up reading through the night. Fast paced but not too fast. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4