Customer Reviews for

Against the Day

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    Masterpiece for some, incomprehensible for others

    There are a lot of people who will have trouble with this book. Like previous Pynchon, Against the Day is an epic, with a large cast, covering a significant amount of time, and including a lot of background information. For people who want a 'good' read, i.e. emotional involvement, easy to follow plot, normal characters, etc. this book would not be the right choice. However, if you want an intellectual challenge, if you want to read artistic prose and like clever word usage, if you want to engage in an exploration of writing and enjoy uncovering numerous allusions and references, this book will not disappoint. Pynchon does not write for everyone and Sunday readers will not enjoy his work. Oprah won't choose it for her bookclub because house moms and semi-literate executives won't know what to do with it. It is elitist. It is intellectual. It is literary. If you don't like that, don't buy it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    A GREAT BOOK

    This book is absolutely mind-blowing. There isn't one author living right now who comes close to the level of prose mastery that Pynchon commands. If you want character studies or fast plots, look elsewhere - but this novel makes you feel like you're five years old and learning about the solar system for the first time. Pynchon is a such an original, and so in a class of his own, that nobody ever knows what to say about him - but this is an awe-inspiring re-invention of the novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Great book, loved it. Recommended.

    Great book, loved it. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    great

    great reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    Approaching Pynchon

    It took me a while to remember, since I read Gravity's Rainbow long ago in my 20's, that the best approach to Pynchon is to accept that there are too many episodes and characters to hold in your head while you read his books and it is ok. What you need to know, you get through osmosis, and everything comes together in the end. What I like best about Pynchon is his humor. The two page exposition that results in a pun that would be missed if one weren't a physical chemist, or physicist, or whatever. No one can get them all, but when the aha moment arises, it is special. As others have said, Pynchon is not easy, but I find his work to be wonderful. Against the Day is a truly worthy precursor for Gravity's Rainbow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2008

    Have read other Pynchon titles, but

    I just haven't been able to bring myself to finish this one. Maybe I'm missing something, but it just isn't holding my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    I want my money back!

    Every night for the past week I¿ve been reading this book for as long as I can¿and I just made it to page 33. It puts me to sleep faster than 307 horse tranquilizers. One site called Pynchon one of the 4 most important authors of modern day. If that is true, then society has truly come to an end. Pynchon has a penchant for composing elegantly designed structures of wordplay, using outdated, that is to say antiquely quaint sentences conjoined by commas 'made popular by the late Abernathy Tinklyfeather and his assistant, the esteemed, though oft ridiculed Finian O¿Shaunesy-Deluctible', that being punctuation of a persuasion not entirely foreign to those of the mid to late eighteenth century, a curiously inviting time, steeped in wonderful perusals of literature, medicinal studies, and other arts du jour, in which many men who peruse such novels and novellas will soon realize they just read an unbelievably long paragraph that said absolutely NOTHING! See! I can write just like Pynchon. He spends more time making up funny names than creating a plot. He uses big words and long sentences to put his reader into a mind numbing coma. He is incorporating certain historical events that I am interested in, including Tesla, the Tunguska event, and others, but I will never know what he was going to say about them, because I can¿t read more than 2 pages per night without falling asleep, which means it would take me 2,160 days to finish. Mr. Pynchon, give me my money back. I can't believe anyone would let you put something like this on the shelves.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    All the ingredients!

    Pynchon is certainly not for everyone...the same can be said of Champagne, First Class travel - and Flashman. If any of these rate in your book then this book might be just the thing! A Homerun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    Bloated Gasbag

    Where was his editor? This would have made a good 400-page book. The only reason I read the whole thing is that my mother gave it to me. Don't waste your time like I wasted mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    What does a recluse know about people?

    Pynchon is supposedly one of our greatest writers. He certainly has a mastery of language and a vivid imagination. Yet, I have never been able to complete any of his books. Now I realize why. Pynchon does not know how to do people. It has been said that literature is character-driven and popular fiction is plot-driven. Pynchon's work is neither. His characters are as flat as paper cut-outs. Eventually you stop reading because you simply do not care what happens on the next page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1