Customer Reviews for

Against the Edge

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This entire series is great. I was excited that a new installment came out. The characters are well developed and old friends from previous installments are there too. You'll get more out of this if you have met the other characters before, but you'll enjoy it even if you haven't. there's a good mystery, lots of alpha tough male, and it's just steamy enough!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    new Kat Martin fan

    Love this series!!! They have everything I love in a book: suspense, romance, adventure, strong characters. A great read for escaping the everyday humdrum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Kat Martin is fantastic

    This is right up there with the rest of her books.good story content, description, drama,romance and tastefully done. She also has some great thoughts about life too share

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Hot

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Once Again Kat Martin keeps my attention

    Kat Martin's books are always full of romance and exciting suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Wow!! Loved It!!

    Loved it!! My favorite in this Series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Kat does it again!

    Another thrilling book in the series. Just when I thought I had it figured out Kat throw in a shocking twist. Wonderful series. I can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ben Slocum is a very popular lady¿s man.  He¿s good-looking and

    Ben Slocum is a very popular lady’s man.  He’s good-looking and women are automatically attracted to him, but he’s of the “love ‘em and leave ‘em” variety.  Except now he’s in for the shock of his life when a Social Worker, Claire Chastain, shows up at his door and informs him he has a son, Sam.  Ben’s in shock and even more so as he can’t figure out why his ex-girlfriend never told him about Sam but he can’t spend too much time right now as he also finds out that Sam has been kidnapped by the ex-boyfriend of an ex-girlfriend. Confusing, right?  Ben’s shock is immediately transformed to determination to find his son.  The hunt begins!
    Laura Thompson, his ex-girlfriend, actually his fiancé, cheated on Ben; this is the reason Ben is a one-night stand man with the ladies now.  So he initially has very little attraction to Claire, but that will change throughout the story. Even more worrisome is the question they both worry about, how the kidnapper was so hateful as to make a child suffer because he obviously wanted revenge on someone who rejected him.
    The story is a simple one, yet the conversations between Ben and Claire, the added tension coming from Troy Bridger’s goon friends who are more inclined to attack rather than help.  It’s time for Ben and Claire to let go of past hurts, for Ben a huge, wounding betrayal, and consider the possibility of a very different future.  
    Add to that the fact that Sam’s not getting preferential treatment, not the kind to make him feel hopeful about a new home anyway!  He basically believes he has no one to help him and so has to accept the abuse that would drive away any kid in a similar circumstance!
    Against the Edge is a quick read with a pretty predictable ending but that doesn’t take away the “edge” that holds true throughout the entire story!  Nice mystery/ thriller, Ms. Martin!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Really good read!

    Kat Martin continues to deliver with this series. Can't wait until Ty's story is released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Excellent!

    Loved Kat Martin's Against the Edge! Another hit...enjoyed the Ben and Claire; along with Sam. It was great how Ms. Martin incorporated past characters. Can't wait for the next one.

    JR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Against the Edge (The Raines of Wind Canyon, #8) I have read 4

    Against the Edge (The Raines of Wind Canyon, #8)

    I have read 4 out of the 8 books in the Raines of Wind Canyon series. This one does not disappoint in drama, suspense, action and likeable characters. It is also steamy. I admit to skipping over the sex scenes. Good plot, lots of different characters.

    Claire is a social worker and she wanted to get custody of her friends son Sam after she dies but judge said no. Then Sam disappeared from his foster family home. Who did not report him missing for 2 days. Claire feels she let Sam down.

    Sam is 9 years old and still grieving for his mom when he goes missing. The police think he is a runaway. The foster family believes that too. Sam thinks no one cares about him anymore. That even Claire has forgotten him. He does have a friend now a dog.

    Claire disagrees with them. She thinks it is a old boyfriend of Sam's mom Laura. Who was mad that Laura left him and blames Claire for it. Claire goes to Sam's father Ben and lets him know he is a father to nine year old Sam and he is missing.

    Ben is a ex-seal and now does security work with a team. They are like a family to him. Are willing to help when they can. Ben doesn't trust women after Laura let him down years ago. He only has one night stands. Now he finds out he is a father and wants to find him. Ben and Claire get close and sleep together. They agree its only for the one night. That does not last for too long.

    Lots of drama and action that keeps you wanting to read. When you think it has calmed down some something else happens.
    It brings back a lot of characters from previous books and lets you know how it is going for them now. Which I enjoy.

    I was given this ebook to read and asked to give honest review of it by Netgalley.
    Expected publication: April 30th 2013 by Harlequin MIRA 400 pages ISBN 9780778314431

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1