Customer Reviews for

Against the Tide

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    I was very eager to dive into this book, given my appreciation f

    I was very eager to dive into this book, given my appreciation for Bane's characterization from The Lady of Bolton Hill. Elizabeth lets enough time pass that his character is solidified in a believable way you never once question. Clearly, though, Bane is still haunted by the crimes of his past (namely helping to smuggle opium unto the country), which threatens to interfere with his future happiness, and the happiness of Lydia.

    Lydia has enough quirks of her own to make her real. In fact, I know someone just like her at work, and I like to "mess" around with things on her desk the same way Bane does with Lydia....just to throw her Type-A, slightly OCD-self off. Lydia's cravings of control and order and security are well-motivated, given her loss of family at such a young age. It makes her the perfect romantic interest for a man who can never settle down for fear of his nemesis using anyone he loves for ill.

    Perhaps the aspect of Elizabeth's novel that I was most impressed with was her extensive research into opium and the resulting symptoms of dependence and withdrawal. This is an area that I am most familiar with, being a licensed mental health professional, and Elizabeth's portrayal of this very real problem many face today was very true to life.

    I think I read this book in about 6 hours, give or take. I took a Saturday and just lollygagged, and this book was a most worthy companion to invest time in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    After her life is turned upside down as a child, Lydia Pallas ba

    After her life is turned upside down as a child, Lydia Pallas battled back and used her incredible intelligence to create a new life for herself. Having gained a position as a translator for the Navy, she focuses on creating stability in her life. All of that will be changed with the acceptance of an offer from Alexander Banebridge.

    During his childhood, Alexander Banebridge, or Bane as he chooses to be called, was delivered into a life of control and imprisonment by the Professor. The Professor had spent years creating a very elaborate criminal system, dealing specifically in the trade of opium. After escaping the control of the Professor through freedom in Christ, Bane has made it his life's work to destroy the opium trade.

    In order to find the information he needs, Bane enlists Lydia's help to translate documents. This is the only way that Bane will be able to gain the upper hand in his quest and stop the Professor for good. What follows is a journey through intrigue and political roadblocks, with a little love thrown in for good measure.

    When I started the novel, I am not really sure what I was expecting. As the city of Boston is one of my great loves, I picked this book up based on the setting for the novel. Since Camden focuses mainly on story and not scenery, it's important to note that there are not a great deal of long descriptive passages in the novel. There is also very little in the way of history of the characters. You get glimpses into their pasts, but it is just enough to keep you from wondering why they have ended up as they have. Camden explains their tales in a very straightforward way and focuses on the present tense.

    That’s the only small quibble I have with the novel. I am a reader driven by the history and the motivation of characters. I like for this to remain a bit hidden, to be revealed through actions and climatic points in the novel. If you are a reader who likes the information to be given up front and without preamble, then this novel will work well for you.

    That being said, I also allow work to stand on its own merit outside of my personal likes as a reader. Camden’s story has enough tension to keep you reading, and the story is fast-paced. There was no point in my reading where I had a desire to skip pages because of dragging story line. Her focus is primarily on driving forward, which is a great aspect to her writing.

    Another high point for Camden is that she has created a strong female character in Lydia Pallas. There are few things that will turn me away from a book faster than a female character who withers in the face of adversity. Lydia faces adversity at every turn and refuses to back down from any challenge that Camden creates for her. From childhood through the end of the novel, Lydia has to overcome seemingly insurmountable odds in order to come out on top at the end.

    And in the end: she does.

    **This book was provided as a review copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    When I saw the description of this book, I wanted to read it. I

    When I saw the description of this book, I wanted to read it. I am from Connecticut, and have been to Boston, where this story takes place. The Boston Harbor. The Boston Tea Party.... What New Englander would not want to read about Lydia, the heroine in this book, who works for the U.S. Navy in Boston Harbor? She is a translator by day, and her job brings her into contact with Bane. Bane's life is consumed with shutting down the opium trade. There is no room in his heart for Lydia, nor is there room in his life.
    Lydia's translating skills are soon needed by Bane, and as she works for him their hearts slowly become intertwined. They both know the lack of room for romance, but that does not stop them from falling in love with each other!
    I really liked this book, because it had history and romance, an I could relate to the setting of the book. It was well written and easy to follow. It was also a fast read for me, that I could not easily put down. There was a lot of action and and I did not know what was going to happen, until it happened. There was also a bad guy in the book that I wanted to lose everything, and that made me fight for Bane and Lydia even more. Lydia and Bane also have a past that shapes who they are. There are a lot of obstacles that Bane and Lydia must face, some together and some apart, but they will need to have each others back to succeed. Constantly being together and in love, may make Lydia and Bane double guess their no relationship rule.
    I was given this book to do this review from Bethany House but all opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Lydia Pallas is alone. Her parents died when she was young, and

    Lydia Pallas is alone. Her parents died when she was young, and she’s had to fend for herself ever since. Her ability as a translator lands her a job with the United States Navy, a position generally held by men in 1891. Lydia is thankful; this post offers her a slightly better lifestyle than Boston’s female working class.

    At the Naval office, Lydia and her co-workers see Alexander Banebridge as an enigma. He visits their supervisor, Admiral Eric Fontaine, on occasion, but no one knows why. Cloaked in mystery and importance, Banebridge floats in and out, seldom exchanging a word with the office staff. He too, is alone in the world, having been separated from his family under unusual circumstances when he was a boy.

    Banebridge asks Lydia to help him with several translating projects. She agrees, as she is saving to buy her apartment. At first, Banebridge gets on her nerves. He seems too perfect, in looks, demeanor, and values. She warms to him, despite efforts to keep her distance.

    Bane’s project eventually puts Lydia in danger, not because he wishes her harm, but because he needs someone he can trust. His philosophy demands that he keep people at arm’s length. However, many things change, much to their mutual surprise, throughout this deceptive and dangerous journey.

    Since I haven’t read any of Ms. Camden’s books, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Against the Tide offered engaging characters and one of those edge-of-your-seat plots that makes you want to keep reading. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and am impressed by Camden’s rich story telling ability. She creates realistic and relatable characters, the kind that readers care about. I look forward to checking out Ms. Camden’s other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    With its intriguing prologue set in 1876 Boston 'Against the Tid

    With its intriguing prologue set in 1876 Boston 'Against the Tide' captivates any reader and by the time you finished Chapter 1!
    Elizabeth Camden's name is now added to my list of favorite writers! Richly woven against the highest of the Opium trade!
    Lydia Pallas is first introduced as a young orphan left on the shores of Boston's wharves. She survives 15 years in an orphanage and after two years search found a small advertizing for a translator position in the US Navy offices. Greek, Turkish and Croatian were her first and subsequent languages. To English she added Russian, Italian and Albanian making her a perfect candidate for the job required by the struggling navy after the Civil War and the Army's expansion to the West. Lydia loves her new life and staunchly keeps to herself. She first encounter Alexander Bainbridge in the office as he sweeps by, leaving her in no doubt he wants something from her. It soon appears her linguistic talents is more required by the man she calls 'The Adonis' than her female attributes. Despite her misgivings she finds herself drawn to him. Together they become a team to find the source of the opium shipments to Boston.The subsequent events described by Elizabeth Camden leaves you in no doubt this is an intricate plot written by a master of storytelling! Part history, part drama with just enough bittersweet romance to please this romantic soul, this is none the less a recount of the gritty and addictive story of the opium reach amidst the 1800's in daily lives. You might find yourself quite shocked to read the implications of this dreadful addiction and how long it took to remove its hold on the market!
    P.s. a special thanks to Bethany House for sending me this book for free as part of their book reviewing program!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    The Summary: Against the Tide was written by Elizabeth Camden, a

    The Summary:
    Against the Tide was written by Elizabeth Camden, and takes place in Boston in the late 1800s.
    The story follows Lydia Pallas, a translator for the US Navy.  Lydia has her life in a neat and orderly pattern-everything the same, day in and day out, and that’s the way she likes it.
    Until Alexander Banebridge enters her life.  He is dashing, adventurous-and needs Lydia’s translation skills.
    The two form a friendship, a mutual admiration, and the relationship begins to turn into something more, but Alexander’s dark past casts a shadow over everything Lydia does, and eventually brings her orderly life crashing down upon her.
    Can Alexander make peace with his past and keep Lydia safe?
    My Thoughts:
    I liked the setting of this book, and enjoyed the story line.  It was well-written, and I really enjoyed the humorous banter between Lydia and Alexander.  I didn’t care for the fact that Alexander was kind of wishy-washy-going back and forth between “I really care for you, and we can never be together” kind of thing, and he continually put her in danger-a little tough to believe someone would do that if they really cared for someone.  Otherwise, I really did enjoy this book, and it made for an interesting read.
    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House for my unbiased review-thank you!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    Lydia Pallas grew up poor and then became an orphan on top of th

    Lydia Pallas grew up poor and then became an orphan on top of that in Boston in the latter part of the 1800s. She has the gift of language in her ability to quickly pick up vocabulary and understand sentence structure. This earns her a coveted career as a translator for the U.S. Navy. To secure such a professional job as a woman during this time is especially impressive. It is through her translator job that she catches the eye of the exceptionally attractive Alexander Banebridge. He is driven to put a stop to the opium trade and has a tormented past because of that trade. His fight with it causes him to deny himself non-secret friends and loved ones, security and a permanent place to call home. When the enemy goes on the offensive, Bane resorts to a ploy he is not proud of. But Lydia is ready to jump in with both feet to help Bane. Can Lydia keep her wits about her? Can she overcome her obstacles? Will Bane maintain the upper hand?

    Camden’s novel gives readers a lot to think about, but in a very engrossing, constantly-moving book. I enjoyed this book immensely from the deepness of the history to the richness of detail with which Camden wrote to the denial of Lydia’s major issue to the internal battles of Bane and to the innocent romance and intensity of danger. I was riveted from the first page.

    -- Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions are expressly my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    Reviewing AGAINST THE TIDE by Elizabeth Camden You are in for a

    Reviewing AGAINST THE TIDE by Elizabeth Camden

    You are in for a ride when the only English word you understand is "okay" and you're fed boiled tongue and pickled onions! YES ... Later, while the heroine is a translator for the Navy, she meets this attractive, dashing and mysterious man who dazzles her with his wit. As a reader, you will find yourself grinning with the intrigue and dialog.

    The author brilliantly shows how we have the freedom of choice about what sort of person we become, regardless of our background. She shows how Christianity affects every aspect of our lives.

    The author does an accurate and complete job of portraying the lies of an addict and the horrific struggles one goes through to be rid of an addiction.

    You will fall in love with the hero, fear for the heroine and suspense will move you to read yet another page.

    You will not be disappointed. Best Christian romance novel in a long time!

    I was given a free copy of this book from Bethany Publishers without any restrictions as to my review. I highly recommend the book.



    BevK

    IBELIEVE2


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really, really enjoyed this book. It was fascinating learning

    I really, really enjoyed this book. It was fascinating learning more about the United States Navy in the post-Civil War era through the eyes of Lydia, a special woman who worked for the Navy. Lydia is a nicely written character- a strong woman who has managed to make it through some terrible circumstances and come out on the other side. I also liked the other main character, Alexander Banebridge, a man who once worked to promote the opium trade (as detailed in an earlier novel, The Lady of Bolton Hill) and now has devoted his life to stamping it out. I wasn't aware of how widespread the use of opium was in the United States in the mid-1800s, and found that true part of the story very interesting as well. This book has a great love story, lots of adventure and dangerous missions and a strong story of the redeeming power of faith in God. I can't wait to read more books by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    Lydia Pallas is one smart, strong, resourceful and likable heroi

    Lydia Pallas is one smart, strong, resourceful and likable heroine! Having grown up an orphan and surviving cruelty, poverty and an unstable lifestyle, Lydia overcomes her fears, meeting all challenges head on. An independent woman, Lydia works as a translator in the office of the U.S. Naval Intelligence Service in Boston. The year is 1891, a time when few women were employed outside of menial positions. Lydia’s early, knock-about life has given her a knowledge of languages, however, which makes her a valuable employee.

    While working for Admiral Fontaine, Lydia meets Alexander Banebridge. Banebridge hires her to translate documents for him and when Lydia questions him, she is drawn into his life and work by his answers. Banebridge has a self-assigned mission to stop the opium trade. A devout Christian, Banebridge believes his purpose to be serving God and mankind. Lydia agrees to help and they fall in love. Their love is both heightened and threatened by financial circumstances, danger, and the evil of opium and its promoters. Lydia and Bane are drawn into perilous situations that require extraordinary courage and devotion.

    The characters are believable, likable and complex. Readers will cheer for the unflagging efforts of Lydia and Banebridge as they risk life and safety unselfishly for the good of others. Historical details are accurate and well-researched. Although this story is a romance, it is also a very suspenseful adventure. The story is filled with challenges, cruelty and danger and it is in facing these situations that Lydia learns to know, love and trust God. This exhilarating story will keep readers up late and leave them wishing for a sequel.

    I was given a free copy of this book by Bethany House Publishers for the purpose of review. I highly recommend it for adults and teenagers. Fans of historical fiction will want to add this book to their winter reading list and it is an excellent gift book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Elizabeth Camden in her new book, ┬┐Against the Tide┬┐ published b

    Elizabeth Camden in her new book, “Against the Tide” published by Bethany House brings us into the lives of Lydia Pallas and Alexander Banebridge.

    From the back cover: After a childhood rampant with uncertainty, Lydia Pallas has carved out a perfect life for herself. She spends her days within sight of the bustling Boston Harbor, where her skill with languages has landed her an enviable position as a translator for the U.S. Navy.

    Lydia’s talents bring her to the attention of Alexander Banebridge, a mysterious man in need of a translator. Driven by a campaign to end the opium trade, Bane is coolly analytical and relentless in his quest. He cannot afford to fall for Lydia and must fight the bittersweet love growing between them.

    When Bane’s enemies gain the upper hand, he is forced to turn to Lydia for help. Determined to prove her worth, Lydia soon discovers that carrying out Bane’s mission will test her wits and her courage to the very limits.

    When forces conspire against them from without and within, can their love survive?

    Talk about a history lesson, I had no idea there was such a heavy opium drug trade in Boston in the 1800′s. Alexander Banebridge is a product of the drug trade and, due to his background, he is dead set about bringing it to destruction. However, pitted against him, is The Professor who has a past with Banebridge that threatens his future. Into this highly combustible mix comes Lydia Pallas who has skills and information that Alex needs. The opium affects all three of the main characters lives as well as many innocents in Boston and beyond. “Against The Tide” is a thriller as, slowly but surely, The Professor tightens his net over Alex, drawing in Lydia at the same time. Ms. Camden has given us an exciting story filled with espionage, drama and suspense. On top of all this there is a romance. Ms. Camden is an amazing writer and she has given us a work that will have us thinking long after we have finished reading the book. Well done.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Great read!

    No fail camden writes another outstanding book! I read it in a day . It was worth dry eyes lol.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2012

    Intriguing all the way around

    We met our hero, Bane, in The Lady of Bolton Hill, but there is a stark contrast in his actions. His wit and charm are still evident, but he is now on a different quest. He meets our heroine, Lydia, and delights in teasing her, but as he learns more about her intelligence and her dreams, he involves her in some of his schemes. Those escapades carry us along on a fast-paced, often dangerous, journey, as well as the characters. We see changes in the characters through a compelling, believable, story which also has a lesson for us. I don't give 5 stars often, but this book deserves it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3