Customer Reviews for

Against the Tide

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Really liked it.

    I really liked this story. It was well developed and multi-dimensional. A good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    Lydia Pallas grew up surrounded with instability, but she is fin

    Lydia Pallas grew up surrounded with instability, but she is finally content with her comforting home and rewarding job as a translator for the U. S. Navy. She meticulously organizes her surroundings so that, for the first time in her life, she feels she's in control of her life. However, her landlords are now threatening to throw her out of the only stable home she's ever had. She needs to raise several hundred dollars to buy her home by December. Seemingly fortuitously, Alexander Banebridge (Bane), a friend of her boss, offers to pay her a lot of money for some free-lance translation work. Even though Lydia begins to question the odd requests of Bane, she finds herself attracted to his cleverness, charm, and sense of humor. Soon, she is swept up into a dangerous world of opium smuggling. 




    I have a lot of good things to say about this book. I loved the late 1800's Boston setting - it's a time which lends itself easily to romance. Although there were a few moments that I wondered if the language was historically accurate, I felt Camden did an excellent job with her research into opium trade. Despite (or possibly because of) Lydia's OCD quirks, she was very lovable. I really found myself empathizing with her pain - losing her family, the stress of raising money to buy the only home she's ever felt safe in, and her feelings for Bane. On the other hand, I inwardly groaned at her devotion to Bane and his cause. I totally understood WHY she was in love, but cringed at the foolishness of loving a man who claims he has no interest in marriage, but doesn't mind a bit of flirting. But love is foolish, often, isn't it?  I was sort of torn - I empathized with her frustrations with Bane, but I also wished she would find herself a nice dedicated man. This is a similar conundrum I felt while reading Jane Eyre - I wanted her to live happily ever after with the man she loved, but I thought she was risking too much by loving him. I guess that makes it more romantic, in some ways?




    The other thing that I really appreciated about this book (though my attention was only drawn to it because I'm about to lead a book discussion): the questions that Camden provided at the end of the book were really deep! I didn't realize how many sticky philosophical and spiritual questions were brought up in the story until I read the discussion questions. And they're not spiritual questions that have an obvious "right-if-you're-REALLY-a-Christian" answer, which is what a lot of end-of-book discussion questions in Christian Fiction seem to be. Personally, I don't see the world in black and white, so I love the opportunity to discuss grey. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Another Great Read

    Adventure, love, faith..... need I say more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Strong story even without the romance

    I debated giving this a 4 or 5 star rating because this turned into a christian romance which is not a style that I read. However the religion was slight and easy for me to pass. The story was rich and full and still holds value today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Great engaging story

    The author did a great job with plot and character development. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    This book had a lot of good qualities, unique storyline, engagin

    This book had a lot of good qualities, unique storyline, engaging characters, historical accuracy, and a decent romance. I wanted to love it but it somehow fell short. Perhaps it was the negative portrayal of pharmacists that turned me off? Rationally, it would be unfair to judge the merits of the novel on that but an emotional response to a book is rarely rational. This novel does illustrate the dangers of drug addiction and how terrible a problem opium was before the government instituted control over patent medicines and began making some substances controlled. Historically there were children addicted to opium before they could walk because it was found in high concentrations in tonics marketed to soothe babies. Unfortunately, opioid addiction is still present in children when they are born to mothers who took controlled substances while pregnant. But at least you can't go in and purchase these highly addictive narcotics over the counter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Great book!

    I LOVED this book! Although I don't recommend it for younger kids...its great for teens and up! I really liked the first book in this series a lot...but I was very excited on learning of what happend to Alexander Banebridge! (Bane, or Alex) it's very exciting! Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Excellent book that is hard to put down.

    This is an excellent book about the use of opium in medications, and especially in children's medications, in the late 1800's. This story will keep your attention right to the end. The plot contains a wide range of emotional issues including heartache, struggles, crime, mystery, murder, bravery and love. I highly recommend this book. Elizabeth Camden has done an outstanding job in writing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Bella

    Looks: long golden wavy hair and bright big blue eyes. Athletic body shape. Usually wears a skirt, boots, a blouse, and my hair up in a braid
    Likes: i love the outdoors
    Dislikes: liars and heart abusers(lol)
    Age: 15

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Camden

    Ya

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Really enjoyable historical romance

    This was a great read. I wasn't expecting to enjoy it as much as I did. I really enjoyed learning about the opium trade and drug rehab back in the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Kentucky41

    Thought provocing. Also a nice love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    WOW

    I LOVED this book! It was hard to put down as I was instantly drawn to the characters. I liked so many things about this book. I liked to at it showed a poor immigrant working to rise above her circumstances, I liked the relationships in the book, and I liked that it addressed the opium problems of the early 1900's and addiction. It was a well written story that began with day to day events and changed into an adventure of kidnapping, rescue and exposure. You will love this great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Pisces

    Well this bombed

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Enjoyable!

    I found the book to be an enjoyable read, with a happy ending. (301 pages).Lydia's was a little weak re: Bane. Bane not being there for Lydia, after Lydia's helps Bane, was a little disappointing. But Bane's being there for Lydia when it really counted made up for the previous disappoinmment. The part towards the end involving Admiral Fountaine's, I was loving it all the way. Confused, read he book. Its a bit winded in some areas but overall a good book.vrnb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    GOOD READ

    VERY PREDICABLE, BUT STILL KEPT MY ATTENTION. A GOOD READ FOR A SNOWY DAY OF RAINY DAY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Against the Tide

    This book was rather predictable. Even after finishing this book I couldn't shake the feeling that i had read this plot line somewhere else. I think it is the authors style that seemed so familiar as I have read two of her other books. The book is good for a quick one night read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    I was lost in this book for days, a must read.

    A girl is orphaned and raised in an orphanage. She becomes a strong woman working for the navy as a translater and supports herself in an age where women normally depend on men for income. She meets a man and embarks on mission to rid the world of a children's syrup laced with opium. She falls in love with a man who fears he can never love anyone to save them from any harm that may come to them because of his mission.

    I was engrossed in this book for days and to find out a good part of it was actual history amazed me.

    Great read! Must read! Does not disappoint! You find in these pages a growing, deep love between two people which seems just out of reach for them. Will love conquer all?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    What a ride! Child kidnapping, the opium trade, ancient manuscri

    What a ride! Child kidnapping, the opium trade, ancient manuscripts, an insane professor, an impossibly handsome man, a woman desperate for order that is brilliant at languages, the U.S. Navy, Boston Harbor, a near fortress in Vermont, and a bottle of Mrs. Winslow's Soothing Syrup. All of these together make for a fast paced adventure set in the 1890's.

    I had wanted to read Against The Tide when I first heard about it but it took my wonderful local Library to get a copy into my anxious hands.

    Against The Tide is not your usual light dance through a historical period. There are no merry parties, fancy dresses, long walks in the moonlight. This books deals with drugs, addiction, people who will stop at nothing including murder to keep the illegal import of opium going, a man who also will stop at nothing to end the opium trade, kidnappings, manipulations etc.

    It was darker than many historical novels but there really were dark periods in history; not everything was tea and cakes. This book was a bit of an eye opener. I honestly had no clue that orphanages in the 1800's actually drugged children with opium to keep them quiet and compliant. So often the view of the opium trade is that described in the Sherlock Holmes stories, dark, dirty, foul places full of people smoking and lying in a drug addled stupor. Against The Tide shows how even children and a young woman can become addicted without them even knowing it.

    All of that said, don't let it stop you from reading this book. This book deals with hard subjects but it is still entertaining and well worth the time spent reading. The descriptions of locales were excellent! My little movie-in-my-brain that runs while a read had a lot to work with. The cover is gorgeous! The almost-ending is a little difficult but the end is happy.

    This is a must read book from 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Lydia was born in Europe, to a Greek father and a Turkish mom; t

    Lydia was born in Europe, to a Greek father and a Turkish mom; the family’s “home” was a boat that constantly traveled to different places around the Mediterranean, in order to look for jobs and make a living. This extraordinary experience allowed the brilliant, little Lydia to learn several languages. At one point, the family comes to Boston, and when Lydia grows up, her linguistic ability allows her to get a prestigious job as a Translator for the Navy and a rudimentary, yet comfortable life when most women had very limited labor opportunities.

    Although she has all the essentials, the building where Lydia lives is sold and, in order to keep her apartment, she has to come up with a lot of money in a pretty short time. Her boss, Admiral LaFontaine, knows about her predicament recommends Lydia to Bane, who has done some special jobs for the Admiral and is now in need of some translations for an investigation he is doing. Little by little, they start feeling for each other, but Bane’s past has a powerful restraint on him; he won’t allow himself to get involved with anyone, afraid of exposing them to danger.

    When Bane asks Lydia to go beyond her limits, he will jeopardize everything Lydia has fought for and even stay absent when she desperately requires his assistance. However, Lydia sympathizes with his cause, and finds in herself a strength she didn’t know she had when her services are needed once more by Bane, whose investigation takes a turn for the worse, involving the Admiral’s family, and making Bane’s worst fears an awful truth.

    Bane’s investigation and past has to do with the opium trade in Boston. While I won’t give details spoiling the story, I must say that Mrs. Camden takes time to end the story with an example of how an awful addiction to narcotics will affect lives at so many levels. In this note, I really appreciate the fact that the author ends the story with the same intensity present in the rest of the book; the conclusion is not rushed, and even leaves room open for further possibilities.

    It took me a little to realize this was the continuation of “The Lady of Bolton Hill.” Because of this, the story became more enjoyable and gripping for me. Although “Against the Tide” can be followed as a story of its own, Bane’s character has a sort of double personality; he is sweet and cares for others, but the experiences he went through when he was younger and how he got away from it (included in the first book), make him cocky, belligerent and even rude sometimes. This rougher side of him is a result of his coping with the past, feeling responsible for his mistakes and wanting to make things right; he gets so focused on this goal that he forgets his present actions also affect the people around him. If someone reading “Against the Tide” has not read “The Lady of Bolton Hill,” this dichotomy might be confusing and his character might be taken as an unpleasant person.

    Another fact that I enjoyed about this book is that Mrs. Camden is continuously reminding the reader that God is always present in our lives, whether it doesn’t seem like it, or we aren’t aware of it. Some of the characters she portrays are constantly learning about faith and growing in their relationship with Christ. For instance, someone (I won’t mention the character because I don’t want to give a lot of information about the story) mentions: “I learned that salvation is possible, even for a nasty sinner like me. I learned I had the freedom to make a choice about what sort of person I wanted to be. (page 98).” Even though this is a fictional story, it is refreshing to remember that God is a transformer of lives, as long as we allow Him to.

    Something common to Elizabeth Camden’s books is that, at the end, she includes questions that invite the reader to ponder about the character, decisions, morals, habits and other situations described in the book. Even if these were not included, the story is so deep that it will be easy to be used in study groups, or even self-study. Moreover, the language is clean, and although there is a deep attraction between the main characters, the author does not use excessive descriptions that distract from the plot and focus on feelings.

    Also, this is the second book by Elizabeth Camden that I’ve read. It is always a delight to read her. Her books are outstanding in that they are historically descriptive in a very realistic way. I would assume that most authors do their homework and research the context within which they are setting the story; Elizabeth Camden does it in such a way that History becomes alive and it actually taps something in the readers, making them wanting to know more about the period or situation described in the book. Few books awake that curiosity in me; Against the Tide is a highly recommendable book.

    I can’t wait to read Mrs. Camden’s next one!

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. In no way has this influenced my opinion on the book or on the author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3