Customer Reviews for

Against The Wall

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

First, let me say that ¿Against the Wall¿ exceeded my already hi

First, let me say that ‘Against the Wall’ exceeded my already high expectations from one of my most favored authors! AND….it is so appropriately named! But that is all I am going to say about it! ***SMILE***

Being a PNR, Sci-Fi, Fantasy type of gal, there are but a han...
First, let me say that ‘Against the Wall’ exceeded my already high expectations from one of my most favored authors! AND….it is so appropriately named! But that is all I am going to say about it! ***SMILE***

Being a PNR, Sci-Fi, Fantasy type of gal, there are but a handful of Contemporary Romance authors who I will endeavor to read, and Rebecca Zanetti has been given a place of honor on it! Being a real fan of her “Dark Protectors” series featuring incredibly sexy vampires, I really did not know what to expect from her first book in the “Maverick, Montana” collection about… cowboys. Well, it just goes to show that when a gifted author can truly create well written, engrossing tales with captivating characters, it really doesn’t matter what genre they write in, their stories just shine. Rebecca Zanetti is one such author.

In this first book in the series, Jake Lodge, a true, honest to goodness, knock-your-socks-off-smoldering-hot-sexy-cowboy, sweeps beautiful, Miss Independent-smart-strong-willed Sophie Smith – right off her feet. Literally! These two are drawn to each other from the get go and there is no containing the cowboy once he sets his sights on her and decides he is going to ‘keep’ her. Jake is all male, primal, dominant, and when he pursues Sophie with the clear intent to make love to her, your heart beats faster, your breath catches. He’s just so luscious.

Sophie is in Maverick to sell the locals on her company’s proposal to build a golf course, which she has designed, and to try and convince the Kooskia not to oppose it. As she prepares to present her drawings to the Tribal Elders, she is caught off guard by Jake as he proceeds to inform her that she will be meeting with him first as he is the Tribal Lawyer. From this point on, all bets are off as Sophie and Jake try their best to convince the other to see things their way, while fighting an attraction that is igniting flames that will both draw them in and consume them.

‘Against the Wall’ really has it all. It is a romance that has at its core, two very different people from backgrounds that are nothing alike, but both searching for that certain ‘something’ without realizing it. The storyline is great, the secondary characters leave you wanting more, and when you finish the book you take a deep breath and let out a low “Wow, I gotta get me a Cowboy!”

Thank you, Rebecca, for bringing your imagination to life for us to enjoy!!!

posted by Paranormal-Lover-1 on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

0 stars were it possible.

You often hear how difficult it is to get published, yet when I read a book such as this one I find that incredibly hard to believe. I found myself frequently asking how in the world this book ever go published, it's that bad! The book has a great deal of potential an...
You often hear how difficult it is to get published, yet when I read a book such as this one I find that incredibly hard to believe. I found myself frequently asking how in the world this book ever go published, it's that bad! The book has a great deal of potential and Jake is certainly the type of alpha you want to read about, but sadly this book is lacking. The characters aren't developed enough, the romance feels ridiculously rushed, the heroine most definitely falls into the TSTL category & is the biggest doormat ever and the dialogue borders on the absurd. I so wanted to like this book, but it was impossible. Save your money and your time, and pass on this one.

posted by blueyedirishgrl on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    First, let me say that ¿Against the Wall¿ exceeded my already hi

    First, let me say that ‘Against the Wall’ exceeded my already high expectations from one of my most favored authors! AND….it is so appropriately named! But that is all I am going to say about it! ***SMILE***

    Being a PNR, Sci-Fi, Fantasy type of gal, there are but a handful of Contemporary Romance authors who I will endeavor to read, and Rebecca Zanetti has been given a place of honor on it! Being a real fan of her “Dark Protectors” series featuring incredibly sexy vampires, I really did not know what to expect from her first book in the “Maverick, Montana” collection about… cowboys. Well, it just goes to show that when a gifted author can truly create well written, engrossing tales with captivating characters, it really doesn’t matter what genre they write in, their stories just shine. Rebecca Zanetti is one such author.

    In this first book in the series, Jake Lodge, a true, honest to goodness, knock-your-socks-off-smoldering-hot-sexy-cowboy, sweeps beautiful, Miss Independent-smart-strong-willed Sophie Smith – right off her feet. Literally! These two are drawn to each other from the get go and there is no containing the cowboy once he sets his sights on her and decides he is going to ‘keep’ her. Jake is all male, primal, dominant, and when he pursues Sophie with the clear intent to make love to her, your heart beats faster, your breath catches. He’s just so luscious.

    Sophie is in Maverick to sell the locals on her company’s proposal to build a golf course, which she has designed, and to try and convince the Kooskia not to oppose it. As she prepares to present her drawings to the Tribal Elders, she is caught off guard by Jake as he proceeds to inform her that she will be meeting with him first as he is the Tribal Lawyer. From this point on, all bets are off as Sophie and Jake try their best to convince the other to see things their way, while fighting an attraction that is igniting flames that will both draw them in and consume them.

    ‘Against the Wall’ really has it all. It is a romance that has at its core, two very different people from backgrounds that are nothing alike, but both searching for that certain ‘something’ without realizing it. The storyline is great, the secondary characters leave you wanting more, and when you finish the book you take a deep breath and let out a low “Wow, I gotta get me a Cowboy!”

    Thank you, Rebecca, for bringing your imagination to life for us to enjoy!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    4.75* I loved this book. The only reason for the 4.75 rating is

    4.75*
    I loved this book. The only reason for the 4.75 rating is because I thought the book started a little shaky. A couple chapters in and I was hooked. Jake was smokin hot and the chemistry between him and Sophie was fabulous. *sigh* 
    I truly enjoyed the other characters and I can't wait to read about Colton, Quinn and Dawns HEA. You will fall in love with Leila.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Hot!

    Amazing read can't wait for more, the chemistry was off the charts!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Rebecca is here to stay. She has already mastered the paranormal

    Rebecca is here to stay. She has already mastered the paranormal genre and with this latest release she proves that she can write anything.

    Whether it’s vamps or cowboys her books can stand with the best of them.

    Rebecca is just an all around incredible writer and I look forward to reading everything she writes.

    It takes a talented author to weave together a tale with passion, love, action, mystery, emotion and sizzling sex and blend them all together perfectly. Rebecca does it with ease.

    This book is the start of an epic series of cowboys and their loves.

    Jake is a gorgeous lawyer. His family and tribe come first and he will do what it takes to keep them safe.

    Sophie is from the big city, coming to a small town for work. She is a beauty with amazing artistic talents. She uses those talents for work.

    Jake and Sophie meet and the connection is instant. The passion is there and they cannot deny it.

    This book is amazing and will stay with me for a long time to come. Its one of those books that you can read over and over..

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    When Jack rides into Sophie's life...sparks fly!!! If you love

    When Jack rides into Sophie's life...sparks fly!!! If you love Rebecca's Dark Protectors series or if you just love cowboys... this is the book for you! I Loved it!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Rebecca has a knack for writing the ultimate alpha male char





    Rebecca has a knack for writing the ultimate alpha male characters, they dominate the page and not only do they capture your attention but they hold on to you & refuse to let you go right until the very end, and that's when you're left desperate for more.

    When Jack Lodge rode onto my page in his full Native American Cowboy glory I was hooked instantantly, he exudes masculinity yet he somehow manages to be tender when needed. He is the type of man you not only fall in love with but he's also the one you want to father your children.

    Sophie Smith is a city girl who is used to living her life to make other people happy, she has been tasked with undertaking a job that needs to come to fruition or people she love could be in trouble. Everything she believes in gets turned upside down when Jack rides into her life, nothing is as she expected it. Jack becomes important to her but with them being on opposite sides can she trust him?

    When Jack sets his sights on Sophie you just know she won't be able to resist for long. When he makes his mind up about something he gives 120% and Sophie stood no chance.

    The passion between Jack and Sophie is only a small part of the story, the other characters where just as engaging and I trully can't wait to read about them more, it's a close knit community and I can see the potential for some of them to become important later in the series. Jack's family gave me a few giggles and I can't wait to find out more about his brother's although Hawk has captured my interest.

    This was another fantastic read from Rebecca, bring on the next one!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Surprisingly good

    I was expecting an easy, no fuss book for a Sunday afternoon, and was surprised by a solid romantic story, good writing and good character development. Really, great romance, hot, steamy and with relatable characters. There is some suspense throughout, not much but enough to add that something else. The secondary characters also picked my interest and I would love to see this book into a series about Jakes's brothers and friend. And I must say that although I am not into cowboys, I would make an exception for this one. Yum!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I was introduced to Rebecca Zanetti¿s writing with The Dark Prot

    I was introduced to Rebecca Zanetti’s writing with The Dark Protectors, so when I read she was starting another project my interest was piqued. I started seeing teasers for Against the Wall and saw it was a cowboy type story. I wasn’t really into that genre never have been. Then I saw something on FB wanting review readers to sign up. I did knowing I would never be selected because I’m not a blogger or a writer. I just read. Well I was selected to my surprise, received the review copy and started reading it the next evening. OMG from the first paragraph in the first chapter this book started off with an adrenaline rush. You are introduced to most of the main characters in the first couple of pages and holy cow how you are introduced is a mental picture of amazing. Against the wall is a true love story from the start. There’s romance, emotional conflict, and danger and of course sex. Now I know where the title came from “impaled her against the wall.”

    Sophie Smith is an artist at heart, and works for her Uncle designing golf courses. She is in Montana to try and persuade the Kooskia Tribe Leaders to allow her client to build the golf course near their reservation. And now the fun begins. I really don’t want to give too much away on the story line. But let’s just say Jake Lodge (Tribal Attorney) becomes an unexpected obstacle for Sohpie in more ways than one, and that the town has a sweet way of manipulating Sophie to do different projects for them so she’ll stay longer (that’s all I’ll say on that subject). Both Jake and Sophie have their fair share of insecurities/apprehensions/fears whatever you want to call it. But what truly good romance/love story doesn’t have their main characters fighting an internal battle to not make the same mistakes twice. I found the characters in this story loveable and so real. The Lodge brothers Jake, Quinn and Colton along with their baby sister Dawn are so unbelievably close. While reading your realize the entire Kooskia reservation is tight knit and like family. Jake is a single dad and his daughter Leila will just warm your heart. She’s such a cutie and has her Uncle’s and everyone else wrapped around her little finger. Jake’s Mom Loni and the Tribal Chief (Jake’s grandfather) are the match makers so to speak, and Leila also has her hand in this. Then you have a dream character “Bob” who pops up every time Sophie sleeps. I just love him. Hmmm I wonder if he’s the land talking, I guess you’ll have to read and form your own opinion. I hope he shows up in the other books LOL. I’m not going to give anything away with this book. IT IS A MUST READ and you truly will not be disappointed.

    Rebecca this is a grand slam in my opinion and I’m giving it 5*. Kudos to you. I absolutely can’t wait for the next installment.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Against the Wall is an amazing read!! The story line flows very

    Against the Wall is an amazing read!! The story line flows very smoothly and kept me hooked from page one, and the characters... Oh my goodness the characters!! There was really not one single character that I did not just instantly fall in love with (well except for a certain group of people, but won't get into that so I do not give anything away). I read this book in one sitting and I have a feeling that once you start this book you will too!! I hope that there will be more to come, as there are other characters that I really want to get to know more about!! I HIGHLY recommend this book!!!! 
    I received an ARC of this book from Entangled Publishing for an honest review.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    I really enjoy reading Rebecca's stories and I know I'm alwa




    I really enjoy reading Rebecca's stories and I know I'm always guaranteed great story. Against the wall had me hooked for the very beginning starting with HOT COWBOYS! This book has me wanting to move to Montana to find my own cowboy. Rebecca has a way with creating the most amazing desirable male characters and the smartest spucky female characters which really makes her books hard to put down once you start reading. Against the wall is a most read for sure.

    Born-and-bred city girl Sophie Smith is a landscape Architect in town to meet with county commissioners to get approval of the designs of a golf course. Jake Lodge is a sexy cowboy and Tribal lawyer, who is against the development. Before Sophie realizes it she is literally be swept off her feet by this sexy cowboy. Though they are from two different worlds the chemistry between them can't be denied.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    I am a big fan of Rebecca's writing.... This book hasn't changed

    I am a big fan of Rebecca's writing.... This book hasn't changed my view on that, only made me want more! Against The Wall was an amazing read. I started and finished in one day. There wasn't a dull page to be read, I was interested from page one. The story has heat and humor. Sophie and Jakes connection is memorable from the start. Jakes character is what romance authors aim to create, and Rebecca certainly got this one right! Rebecca writes stories that make you feel like you are right there experiencing it as well making you want to pack up and move to Montana. There were moments where my heart was pounding, others where I was on the edge of my seat and others that made me *sigh* (in a good way). The story has amazing characters that are well written and I can't wait for the next installment in this series. Well done Rebecca!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Anonymous

    Loved this book! More please?!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this book. I can't wait for the next in the ser

    I really enjoyed this book. I can't wait for the next in the series! All of the characters in the book were really interesting and well written, which is a rarity in a romance novel in my experience. While this novel is definitely romantic and sexy, it is based on true emotions and love and not completely fluffy. I felt like the ending was a bit rushed, but it was still good! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The title says it all...Love Rebecca Zanetti This book is differ

    The title says it all...Love Rebecca Zanetti This book is different from her paranormal series but still a great series.I have read everything Rebecca has written and will continue to do so.Please do not pass up this series.Under Cover is next in line and i can not wait

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Yeeha!!!

    Not usually a country western reader but this isnt your everyday western romance. This was soooo fun and soooo hot! Really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Another great series! While I love a Cowboy, there¿s nothing H

    Another great series!


    While I love a Cowboy, there’s nothing HOTTER than one who can not only rock the chaps, but an Armani suit as well!!!

    I often wonder whether an author who starts out writing PNR (which I love) can then transition to Contemporary and maintain their writing prowess, however Ms Zanetti has not only shown her capability to write varying genres, but has proven that her talent is extraordinary!

    This first story in the Maverick Montana series has guaranteed this author will always be on my MUST read list.

    I am totally hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Loved it

    Great book filled with passion, romance, suspense and great characters. It left me wanting more books about the other characters in the book. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Good

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Omg

    I loved Jake Lodge so much great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Zanetti sure knows how to create alpha males. Her main character

    Zanetti sure knows how to create alpha males. Her main characters are believable and likeable. I was pulled into this story from the beginning, which is unusual because I’m an environmentalist and have a basic dislike for lawyers. Jake and Sophie are absolutely adorable and make this a fun book. Can’t wait for the other sibs stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3