BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Age of Spiritual Machines: When Computers Exceed Human Intelligence

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed this book a lot. Really was complimentary to my other

I enjoyed this book a lot. Really was complimentary to my other latest reads along this line: Kaczynski's Manifesto (very negative for technology) and Bill Joy's article in Wired magazine (mixed opinion). If you want a pretty thorough discussion on this topic (this au...
I enjoyed this book a lot. Really was complimentary to my other latest reads along this line: Kaczynski's Manifesto (very negative for technology) and Bill Joy's article in Wired magazine (mixed opinion). If you want a pretty thorough discussion on this topic (this author is very positive for technology), these are the 3 I would suggest. Personally, I find appeal in both Kaczynski's views and Kurzweil's so I suspect the reality that bares out will resemble something along Joy's take on the subject.

Though for sure not everything Kurzweil predicts in the book will come to pass quite how he envisions or on precisely the calendar he postulates, 10 years after he wrote it a fair amount of what he predicted for today is either a reality or pretty close to it.

The neatest thing I learned from this book was the concept of a neural net. Once you learn the concept of that you realize not only how it might be possible for computers to become (seemingly or in actuality) a whole lot more intelligent (at some future point), you also realize an important attribute in raising that little 2 year old running under your feet: constant exposure to multiple new life-experiences (yes, yes, I know that should be common sense... the point is, you'll understand the WHY of it). Pretty cool stuff.

Makes a good, thoughtful read I think. To say that, unequivocally, computers will never become self-aware, makes one sound a bit (to me, anyway) like the people who said, unequivocally, that humans could never fly or go to the moon. Never say never, history has shown that what seems impossible today will tomorrow be common place.

posted by Bane73 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Get Real!!!

Computers will never do anything more than what they are programmed to do. It is silly to even contemplate a self aware machine with a conscience ability

posted by WilsonKierstead on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    I enjoyed this book a lot. Really was complimentary to my other

    I enjoyed this book a lot. Really was complimentary to my other latest reads along this line: Kaczynski's Manifesto (very negative for technology) and Bill Joy's article in Wired magazine (mixed opinion). If you want a pretty thorough discussion on this topic (this author is very positive for technology), these are the 3 I would suggest. Personally, I find appeal in both Kaczynski's views and Kurzweil's so I suspect the reality that bares out will resemble something along Joy's take on the subject.

    Though for sure not everything Kurzweil predicts in the book will come to pass quite how he envisions or on precisely the calendar he postulates, 10 years after he wrote it a fair amount of what he predicted for today is either a reality or pretty close to it.

    The neatest thing I learned from this book was the concept of a neural net. Once you learn the concept of that you realize not only how it might be possible for computers to become (seemingly or in actuality) a whole lot more intelligent (at some future point), you also realize an important attribute in raising that little 2 year old running under your feet: constant exposure to multiple new life-experiences (yes, yes, I know that should be common sense... the point is, you'll understand the WHY of it). Pretty cool stuff.

    Makes a good, thoughtful read I think. To say that, unequivocally, computers will never become self-aware, makes one sound a bit (to me, anyway) like the people who said, unequivocally, that humans could never fly or go to the moon. Never say never, history has shown that what seems impossible today will tomorrow be common place.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    Forget about Star Trek

    This is flat-out the most intelligent and provocative look I¿ve seen describing the development and direction of artificial intelligence. Ray Kurzweil is a true believer in AI, and he makes a convincing case for the emergence of a superior intelligence. And he¿s talking this century, folks, maybe within the next four or five decades. These are the key points of his thesis, as I see them: ¿Computational power is growing exponentially and will continue doing so for the foreseeable future. By 2020, the computational power of a $1,000 computer will be about equal to that of the human brain. After that, computers leave us in the dust. ¿Biological evolution is slow and has taken us about as far as it can. It¿s already being replaced by technological evolution, the enhancement (or replacement) of slow, biological processes by engineered processes (e.g. neural networks). ¿The mind is just a complex machine. Issues such as consciousness, free will and the soul can be endlessly debated, but fundamentally, we are just a complex machine, currently the most complex one on the planet. But that will change. ¿Our bodies, also a complex machine, can also be re-engineered or replaced. Great strides are being made to simulate or replace our senses. ¿Technological innovation proceeds inexorably during the next few decades, rapidly transforming our objects and ourselves. By the end of the century, there will be virtually no distinction between human and artificial intelligence. This is a fascinating thesis, a real mind-blower. Forget about a Star Trek or Star Wars future; that¿s not where we¿re going. Well, maybe Star Trek. Consider the Borg with personality and a sense of humor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    If you could, would you want to live forever?

    Simply stunning! Kurzweil starts with the basics, and paints an incredible picture of the future. He covers every aspect of the progression from the human dominated world of today to a human inspired but technology centric world of tomorrow. This isn¿t a no holds barred ¿gee whiz let¿s look at what¿s possible¿ book. It¿s a scientific and explanatory treatment of the subject matter that explains as it goes. From Moore¿s law, to what scientists and the great philosophers said about what defines consciousness, the soul and death. Strap yourself in and read this book if you are curious about how far technology might take us in our lifetime. It¿s exiting, and it¿s scary. You may also want to loose that weight and take your vitamins. Over the course of the next 50 years we will quite possibly reach the first time in human history where individuals may have to choose whether they want to live forever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Get Real!!!

    Computers will never do anything more than what they are programmed to do. It is silly to even contemplate a self aware machine with a conscience ability

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Mixed results

    There's no denying it--the book is interesting; so interesting, in fact, that I read it in one sitting. That's not to say, however, that I didn't find it unsettling, even disturbing, at times. In its almost rapturous portrayal of the future, it fails to address several very important issues; for example, if I copy my brains onto a computer, what exactly is "I"? Am I the original person or the computer? Unless the "I" somehow encompasses both (in which case my existence would not come to an end with the death of one of the two elements), it is not something I would want to do--if I'm dead, I doubt that I'd take solace in knowing that a copy of myself exists somewhere. The author does mention these issues, but he either avoids them entirely or addresses them briefly and unwillingly, and therein lays the main flaw of the book. Still, it is informative, entertaining, and worth a read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2001

    Proof That God Bestows Talents Unequally

    The existence of Ray Kurzweil is proof that God bestows talents unequally on his children. Ray has a gift for making extremely hard subjects easy and fun to read. He delights in proving the unbelievable by rebuilding, from a new foundation, the way that we perceive reality. Yet Mr. Kurzweil¿s authoring skills go almost unnoticed when compared to his reputation as inventor. Kurzweil is the father of advanced speech recognition, the Kurzweil synthesizer, the Kurzweil Reading Machine, and some of the most groundbreaking technologies of our age. Yet most people that know him do not think of him primarily as an author or an inventor. Most people consider Ray a prophet. In his 1990 book, The Age of Intelligent Machines, Ray foretold the technology gains of the nineties. Most of his predictions seemed outrageous at the time ¿ predictions such as a global computer network tying most every PC together or an economic boon realized by the start of the information age. Now that these prophecies have come true, even his most adamant critics are hailing the accuracy of his vision. In his newest book, The Age of Spiritual Machines, Ray tells us what will happen in the next twenty years, and he gives us a glimpse of life beyond. Our current lives have no reference to the predictions that he makes. To take his prophecies out of the context of the book is to make them unbelievable. Yet by the time you finish his publication, the preposterous will become logical. Reading The Age of Spiritual Machines is akin to having a close encounter with an alien spacecraft. After your experience, you will know the truth. Yet you will be unable to share the truth with your friends for fear that they will think you are nuts. This book has inspired some of the greatest fiction on the Internet. Among the the best is the story 'Michael Evolves' in the authorslounge dot com.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2000

    A Potentially Flawed Premise Still Offers Amazing Insight

    This book is simply amazing! Its portrait of the computing world to come (as well as the developing one of today) is both facinating and horrifying. From nanobots to quantum computers, Kurzweil explains in understandable and engaging prose what the future will bring. While I disagree with his 'LAW of Accelerating Returns,'--perhaps 'trend' would be better--it makes no difference. Whether or not the developments he discusses happen in 20 or 40 years isn't very important in my opinion; the simple fact that they will EVENTUALLY occur make the book more than worthwile.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2000

    The Dark Side

    Anyone who doesn't see the dark side of these predictions simply isn't paying attention. I found this book profoundly disturbing, particularly because many of the predictions seem plausible based on today's information. While computers can be used in a number of positive ways, the implications for merging computers with humans can only diminish the human sole. To suggest, as the author does, that this is the next step in human evolution may be a reasonable conclusion, but also one that is frightening. The battle between machines and humans in 'The Terminator' may not be so far fetched. This book is thought-provoking at other levels, as well. There are real implications for investing in computer-related companies, for example. All in all, this is a brain teaser and highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    WOW... I love MyDeals247 model - they create competition among t

    WOW... I love MyDeals247 model - they create competition among the sellers real-time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    i've been reading ray kurzweil's the age of spiritual machines. my first introduction to this piece came from our lady peace's fourth album, a concept album based on the book. now i must be perfectly honest. even though our lady peace is one of my favorite bands and the concept of the concept itself seemed rather nifty . . . concept albums are rather . . . cheesy at best, so for that reason alone i did not investigate kurzweil's book. however, the other day i was at the bookstore and was browsing the math and science sections. a title caught my eye: the singularity is near. this is kurzweil's most recent book. so the rule of not reading things too out of order insisted that i get the shiny covered age of spiritual machines . . . not gonna lie, i do dig the book. it's out there, but the guy has been right about *some* of his predictions he had for 1999 (made in the late 80s) and a few of his ideas were right about the late single digits of this century. his concise explanations of what computer can do now (or in 1998, rather) were the most effective method kurzeil has to tell his story, and it's the story that's central to the book, of where we're headed. he's the first futurist i've encountered whose projections of the near and distant future all tend toward the self rather than outward and upward - to space and beyond and all the rest. usually there is talk of colonizing other planets (soon) before we destroy ours, but kurzweil remains fixated upon the notion of intelligence and the line that he imagines to fade away in the near future between that which is originally human and originally machine. his interjected conversations that close each chapter half added a 'human' plot line, and half broke up the otherwise intriguing text. toward the end of the book, they make the author come off as more creepy than informative, but that may have been part of the deal, especially in this 2099 that sounds nothing that's within any of our comfort zones. in closing, i must rescind my initial dismissal based on expected pretension and say that while the age of spiritual machines wasn't exactly life changing, it was a neat picture of one of mankind's possible trajectories [glimpsual futurism.] to paraphrase another reviewer from the san fran chronical, it would seem an awful lot like science fiction if he hadn't been right about other phenomenon already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    The Age of Kurzweil Inc.

    I started the book quite excited and sympathetic to Kurzweil¿s position, I came away feeling sceptical and that I had been ripped off by a philosophical lightweight. I have long been interested in AI and more recently reading about an idea called the 'singularity' on the Internet: the idea that technology, specifically computing power, is improving so rapidly that were will soon live in a world of superintelligent AI. The average 2004 computer may have the equivalent intellectual capacity of a mouse, but by 2020 (or 2030 or 2010) a computer will have the processing power of a human brain, with capacities way beyond the human brain shortly thereafter. The manifesto of 'accelerating returns' reaches its most detailed expression in 'The Age of Spiritual Machines' by Ray Kurzweil. Most of the book is philosophy of mind, something I am familiar with having taken philosophy of mind to Masters level. The basis with which Kurzweil argues is called 'physicalism': the belief that all processes are ultimately physical processes. Thus all states in humans are due to the states of their cells, specifically neurons (hormones are not mentioned: perhaps because they are too messy). The brain is thus a kind of computer. I was surprised he did not cite the bible of neural physicalism, Churchlands' 'Neurophilosophy' (a much better book by the way). There is a branch of AI that seeks to model computational processes after neurons called 'neural networking' or 'connectionism'. Software has been developed in attempt to have computers function in ways analogous to a human brain. Experiments in this area have proven fruitious, it is possible to teach neural networks to recognise patterns and learn in remarkably human way. Kurzweil has examples of computer generated poetry and even painting that defy judgement that it is machine made. I found this section of the book interesting. Since computers are able to do so much that we previously though to be exclusively human, Kurzweil argues, we can extrapolate this trend into the future to find there will be (virtually) nothing a human can do that can't be done by a machine. If a machine has as much processing power as a human, can do all a human can, its spiritual status is something like that of a human. It will have a mind because 'mind', according to physicalism-connectionism, is a by-product of complex computational ability. This is a well known position in philosophy of mind called 'epiphenomenalism'. Although Kurzweil doesn¿t use the term, his entire book is based around it. I was astonished to find that the basis for Kurzweil¿s position was a citing of all the things computers can do that are considered 'intelligent' in humans. While this may be a basis for an argument that machines could be considered intelligent, it says nothing on the possibility of machine consciousness or spirituality. It is just assumed they will follow. Now I'm not saying they will not follow, it could happen IF physicalism AND connectionism AND epiphenomenalism were true. But Kurzweil never enters into any arguments about this, instead he spends much of the book providing screeds of evidence for the ongoing increasing processing power of computers. Yes, Ray, carbon nanotube computing will provide the power of the worlds current fastest computer, the NEC Earth Simulator, in a cubic millimetre. Great! But so what? Kurzweil uses the time honoured method of developing an argument ignoring the strongest objections whilst deftly demolishing the 'straw men', or minor ones. I found this book remarkably lacking in any sense of spirituality. Ray's trinity appears to be cybersex, self-promotion and money. His vision of the future is mainly through an imaginary dialogue with an imaginary female who has billions of dollars (but doesn¿t feel that rich - what else is new!) and some form of nanoholodeck or other, which she uses for sex (presumably with Ray). Ultimately it feels like a big promo for R

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2001

    Kenny (megaken2@yahoo.com) A young veteran and future AI or Alife Professional

    This book was fantastic. It awakened my whole desire to continue to strive towards AI. When I was a child I wanted to talk about the things he does in his book (some of them anyway), but life has a way of making you forget your dreams and becoming jaded. Anyway, this book kickstarted the whole desire in me again! It was entirely well written, very factual and extremely entertaining for anyone who has even the slightest interest in what our future may hold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1