BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ageless: The Naked Truth about Bioidentical Hormones

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The Sexy Years: A Gynecologist's Perspective

I have been prescribing bio-identical hormone replacement therapy to my patients for the past seven years with great success. These hormones,which Suzanne Sommers very nicely has brought back to the public since the Women's Health Initiative Study of 2002 showed that sy...
I have been prescribing bio-identical hormone replacement therapy to my patients for the past seven years with great success. These hormones,which Suzanne Sommers very nicely has brought back to the public since the Women's Health Initiative Study of 2002 showed that synthetic hormone therapy is more harmful than good, have been studied for over twenty years. Although I agree with Ms. Sommers that women can regain their vitality, sex drive and youth with bio-identical hormone replacement therapy, she does not stress the contraindications to bio-identical hrt, namely a recent history of breast cancer (rumors have it that Ms. Sommer's breast cancer has recurred in recent months), stroke, heart disease and a strong family history of a blood clotting disorder. I have also found that the bio-identical hrt that Dr. Willey prescribes to Ms. Sommers is way too high of a dose, particularly because she has a history of breast cancer. Similarly, Ms. Sommers claims that women should reinstate their menstrual cycles on bio-identical hrt. This is absolutely incorrect! Any woman who bleeds on hormone replacement therapy needs a work-up for endometrial hyperplasia (overgrowth of the uterine lining) or worse, endometrial cancer. Kudos to Ms. Sommers for allowing women to restart the hormone therapy which they were told to abruptly discontinue in 2002. She is helping millions of women feel better about their menopausal years.

posted by Anonymous on December 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What a role model (insert sarcasm here)

Has anyone taken a good look at Suzanne Somers' face recently?? No, scratch that, all it takes is a quick glance. The woman is a freak! Why am I going to take beauty advice from someone who deformed herself with plastic surgery?? She was beautiful even as recently as 5 ...
Has anyone taken a good look at Suzanne Somers' face recently?? No, scratch that, all it takes is a quick glance. The woman is a freak! Why am I going to take beauty advice from someone who deformed herself with plastic surgery?? She was beautiful even as recently as 5 years ago, but now all I see is another washed-up celebrity trying to regain her glory years through cosmetic procedures. It's a shame, really.

posted by Anonymous on October 16, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    The Sexy Years: A Gynecologist's Perspective

    I have been prescribing bio-identical hormone replacement therapy to my patients for the past seven years with great success. These hormones,which Suzanne Sommers very nicely has brought back to the public since the Women's Health Initiative Study of 2002 showed that synthetic hormone therapy is more harmful than good, have been studied for over twenty years. Although I agree with Ms. Sommers that women can regain their vitality, sex drive and youth with bio-identical hormone replacement therapy, she does not stress the contraindications to bio-identical hrt, namely a recent history of breast cancer (rumors have it that Ms. Sommer's breast cancer has recurred in recent months), stroke, heart disease and a strong family history of a blood clotting disorder. I have also found that the bio-identical hrt that Dr. Willey prescribes to Ms. Sommers is way too high of a dose, particularly because she has a history of breast cancer. Similarly, Ms. Sommers claims that women should reinstate their menstrual cycles on bio-identical hrt. This is absolutely incorrect! Any woman who bleeds on hormone replacement therapy needs a work-up for endometrial hyperplasia (overgrowth of the uterine lining) or worse, endometrial cancer. Kudos to Ms. Sommers for allowing women to restart the hormone therapy which they were told to abruptly discontinue in 2002. She is helping millions of women feel better about their menopausal years.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    What a role model (insert sarcasm here)

    Has anyone taken a good look at Suzanne Somers' face recently?? No, scratch that, all it takes is a quick glance. The woman is a freak! Why am I going to take beauty advice from someone who deformed herself with plastic surgery?? She was beautiful even as recently as 5 years ago, but now all I see is another washed-up celebrity trying to regain her glory years through cosmetic procedures. It's a shame, really.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    You CANNOT practice medicine without a license!!

    Suzanne Somers is at it yet again, touting something that does not have the proper data from clinical trials to back it up. What's more, she isn't certified to do anything, and yet she, by using interviews with some doctors, takes it upon herself to make clinical recommendations to women who prefer not to use Wyeth's class of hormone drugs, Premarin and Prempro. Most of the trials on HRT have indeed involved Premarin and Prempro, and the results have been disappointing, even alarming. Prempro failed to prevent heart attacks in women who'd already had them and it increased the risks of heart attack, stroke, breast cancer, and dementia in healthy women. Premarin also failed to prevent heart disease in healthy women and it too increased the risks of stroke and dementia/mild cognitive impairment. Clearly, these drugs aren't the anti-aging elixirs they were once believed to be. However, many feel that HRT, as a concept, is still correct and that women need extra hormones after menopause to guarantee health and wellness into old age. So they have turned to bioidenticals. However, the very oldest observational data supporting HRT's benefits utilized Premarin, so the current belief that bioidenticals are better doesn't even have observational data to back it up. One thing needs to be made clear: just because something 'seems' better doesn't mean it is. Bioidentical estrogen, whether in pill or patch form, has already proved disappointing in some trials, most particularly, it increased the risk of fatal stroke in women who'd already had one and in the Papworth trial, it showed an early trend toward more heart attacks and blood clots in women with established coronary heart disease. Also, a woman's personal risk for breast cancer is due largely to her own hormonal profile the longer the duration of estrogen exposure, the higher the risk. And you certainly don't get much more 'bioidentical' than ovarian estrogen. Also, this idea that the ovaries don't serve a postmenopausal women is fallacious - the ovaries do continue to produce small amounts of testosterone and androstenedione, which the body, through the aromatase enzyme, converts to estrogen, giving women roughly 10%-15% of their former estrogen level. Menopause is NOT a disease and estrogen LOSS does not cause diseases to the contrary, there is a lot of reliable data showing that excessively high levels of estrogen throughout life are bad for your health. Obesity, which correlates with high estrogen and androgen, is a prominent risk factor for heart disease, stroke, diabetes, colon and reproductive cancers, and probably dementia. And while hysterectomy with ovary removal is probably a whole different ballgame in terms of women's health, there is no good reason to take hormones for more than a few years to deal with symptoms. Estrogen is estrogen and there probably isn't much difference between 'brands'. The hormone is not a cosmeceutical and has not been proven to combat the aging of skin or thinning hair. While we do have freedom of speech in this country, Suzanne Somers is completely out of line to be espousing non-synthetic estrogens because 1. she is not a doctor and 2. there is just no reliable data from longterm, prospective randomized trials to prove that they are safe and efficacious. Some believe she is a pioneer I think she's being reckless and irresponsible.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    Would you read the book if she looked her age?

    Exercise, don't smoke, eat fresh food, have an annual exam and wear sunscreen. Mother nature will reward you. Same advice our grandmother's gave us. It's really quite simple.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    Great information!

    The information concerning bioidentical hormones if not easily found elsewhere. Most doctors are not versed in this type of medicine, but they should be. You may not need the prescriptions on top of prescriptions if you find you're suffering from a slight hormone imbalance of any type. Well worth looking into.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    This is an excellent book. I would highly recommend it for both men and women.

    Anyone interested in the subject of Bioidentical Hormones should read this book. I have read other books on the subject by medical doctors and her book is very easy to read and understand the subject. She is not just writing about it, she has lived it. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    she looks incredible for her age (61 this year) and is living proof that if you're dedicated enough, you can help yourself age gracefully and slowly. You can see my complete review on my non-fiction book review website. Yahoo! search using keyword PettProjects.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Very Good Advice...but are you listening Susanne?

    I just read this book and thought, wow! What a lot of good advice. It was inspiring and after reading it I felt that maybe modern medicine could help me too. Then, last night, watching tv, who do I see but Susanne Somers (looking about 20 years old) talking about how she has some kind of 'work' done on her every now and then. What!? What about bio medicine? If YOU need plastic surgery after all that what hope is there for the rest of us? This seems kind of hypocritical to me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Food for thought.

    No need for a long review here. The main topic of this book is about using bioidentical hormones to replace the one's we lose as we get older. The book is really kind of a collection of interviews from (I guess) notable people in the field. But that's not the entire book. Also included are the author's personal experience on many more anti-aging topics from sleep to using an electrical device on your face to tone up facial muscles to look younger. The bottom line? A lot of readers will probably discover a lot of helpful tips, such as improve your sleeping habits or make sure you deal with emotional issues that create inner turmoil as the author has. However, to my knowledge, there are no long term studies done yet on people using bioidentical hormones over the long run, so, I'm a bit hesitant to jump into things like this just yet.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this book if you want to grow old gracfully.

    Very good read, informative, great references, learned alot, enough for me to be concerned an have my own blood drawn only to find out I was in the low range of all hormones, vit D3 and iodine. So now I'm on BHT. I am noticing changes for the good only after 2 wks. Just reading this book isn't enough, if you have more symtoms than not you need to act on it. Waiting till your 70 is only going to make you ask yourself "Why didn't I do something sooner". Women deserve to feel great about growing old!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    Great Book--What an eye opener

    This is the first book I've read by Suzanne and I truly loved it--what an eye opener, it makes you think about who we are and what we can do to improve our lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Excellent service. My order was delivered very promptly.

    This book is life changing for those who want to go holistic in their approach to healthy aging. Very comprehensive and informative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    It's great! Lots of insight...

    I would recommend this book to anyone with an open mind. I bought 4 copies and gave 3 away I was so impressed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Wake Up Call

    If you've seen Suzanne Sommers in action, we all know she seems a little goofy and a bit of an air head like her TV personality...however with her business sense and private jet - whose laughing now.

    This book is a reflection of her lifestyle and if I do say so myself, at her age or any age the woman looks good. She takes care of herself and she believes in this way of life completely and practices it.

    She has said in an Oprah interview that she knows she takes it a step or two further than most people.
    The book itself is well thought out and backed by doctors who believe in her cause.

    If you can believe the simple concept that we are put on this earth to procreate and once we are no longer able to do so, mother nature steps in to shut us down, then this book makes a lot of sense.

    Sommers provides good information to back her beliefs.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2006

    Antiaging - Staying Healthy

    I have read this book and I am buying 5 more copies for friends and family because I really believe that we have to take our health into our own hands. We know our own bodies. We just need help/guidance from a doctor who specializes in antiaging medicine. IT WILL BE THE MEDICINE OF THE FUTURE. Suzanne Somers writes from experience, but also writes the interviews from other doctors in this field. It is a very informative book with several resource pages. This book is for MEN AND WOMEN. Take responsibility of your own health.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Wouldn't YOU want that?

    A better life, a healthier life, a life of youthful energy comes from embracing natural antiaging remedies. Suzanne and a host of doctors explain and demonstrate why our accepted school of medicine (overly reliant on drugs) is inadequate and outdated. In 'Ageless' she presents a clear case that drugs will not make us better. Look for alternative sources, read good books on keeping yourself healthy. This book is one of them. Another good title is 'Can We Live 150'. The new approach to health presented in these books will give you back your lean body, shining hair, and thick skin, provided you are eating correctly and exercising in moderation. Search the net for more info on that.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Because I'm HAPPY

    :3 Is good. Very poem-y. xD My creativity is gone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Flurry--By Ragnarock

    Endless winter, ever white<p>Swirling through the leafless trees,<br>Whistling through the rigid night,<br>Stirred from sleep, across the seas.<p>Flesh it gnaws through, to the bone.<br>Thus the she-bear, curled with fright<br>doth slumber soundly, all alone.<p>Winds a-humming, winter makes<br>A snapping here, for in it's flight,<br>trees do sway, and an odd branch breaks.<p>"Death! Death!" It seems to sing.<br>for those not warm in blankets tight<br>succumb to freezing, an awful thing.<p>Ever onward winter goes<br>assaulting all with dreadful plight.<br>And with it does a cold wind blow.<p>All across the rigid night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    ertttrvht

    xxxcddc acv xcv. sxv fdgavb bf. wvd d b dg bg fbfwbbfbfrrrrttrrrrrrrrrrtrrrrrr

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Ageless

    This is an excellent book. Not only for women but covers mens issues.
    I couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3