Customer Reviews for

Agenda 21

Average Rating 4
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Must read!

Backers of Agenda 21 will crawl out of the woodwork to discredit this book. They want everyone to stay asleep so there is no backlash to their agenda. Agenda 21 should be read and passed around to everyone you know. If it is allowed to go unchallenged, Agenda 21 will de...
Backers of Agenda 21 will crawl out of the woodwork to discredit this book. They want everyone to stay asleep so there is no backlash to their agenda. Agenda 21 should be read and passed around to everyone you know. If it is allowed to go unchallenged, Agenda 21 will destroy the entire world.

posted by 8444981 on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Glenn Beck is masterful. He can take a work of fiction written

Glenn Beck is masterful. He can take a work of fiction written by someone else, slap his name on it, and sell, sell sell. I applaud his use of the fiction genre, as his entire career, at least dating back to his pot-smoking top-40 radio days, has been one long, drawn-...
Glenn Beck is masterful. He can take a work of fiction written by someone else, slap his name on it, and sell, sell sell. I applaud his use of the fiction genre, as his entire career, at least dating back to his pot-smoking top-40 radio days, has been one long, drawn-out study in personal mythology. Let's say your mother died accidentally when you were 15. That's just not interesting enough to include in your own re-writing of history; let's make the death a suicide, and let's back it up two years so it becomes more useful for the story. History, both recent and decades old, is to be created, on-air, so that listeners can feel like they're a part of the great "inner circle," those entrusted with the "secrets" and "conspiracies" that Beck creates, out of whole cloth.

Reading this book was very easy. There are no difficult words. The concepts are mindlessly simple. The conclusions are as obvious as an oncoming freight train. Formulaic. And that's being generous. Will people read it? Sure, with Beck's name on it. With the author's name? Probably not. It is sadly out-dated, not artfully constructed, nor at the end even interesting. (Previous reviewer's "heart-stopping" reading of this book was perhaps a mis-statement. I think the description they were reaching for was "sleep-inducing."

That's not the reason that this book should be ignored. The real reason? It is a shameless attempt to take a very real attempt to address global issues and make it into a sinister, underground plot to undermine the United States of America. For those who prefer to think for themselves, a reading of the actual, non-binding United Nations document would be helpful. Pretty tame, and written... wait for it... in 1992. Talk about striking while the irony's hot!

posted by DukDukGuus on November 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Must read!

    Backers of Agenda 21 will crawl out of the woodwork to discredit this book. They want everyone to stay asleep so there is no backlash to their agenda. Agenda 21 should be read and passed around to everyone you know. If it is allowed to go unchallenged, Agenda 21 will destroy the entire world.

    52 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fictional story based on a very real threat, Agenda 21

    This is a fictional story based on a very real threat, Agenda 21. You can read about Agenda 21 on the U.N. website. Anyone who has given a low numeric rating review with no verbiage isn't worth considering and the person who slanders the content and author is afraid that you will learn the truth.

    It's a very good book, it reads fast and even though it is a work of fiction, the story is quite plausible. Literarily speaking, the writing is a little choppy at times with a slight documentary feel. Still, the story is powerful and you will find yourself breezing through chapter after chapter. It's difficult to put down once you start reading.

    Get the book. You won't regret it. Loan it to others to read and they will thank you and ignore the shills who call this a "paranoid fantasy"

    48 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    great

    good book a must read!!

    44 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The majority of reviews I've seen for this book fall in one of t

    The majority of reviews I've seen for this book fall in one of the following categories: "I hate Glenn Beck", "Glenn Beck stole this book from the author" or "The ideas in this book could never happen". I don't care about any of that as this is a BOOK review and I thought it was one of the best books I've read this year.

    This was a fast paced easy read and that would probably be my only mark down on this book as I wanted more of it when I got to the end. I'm holding out hope that Harriet Parke follows this up with another to continue the story. While this does deal with the extremes of actual documented ideas presented by the United Nations Agenda 21, I could easily see how this could come about. A few changes to laws here, a few more changes there and before you know it, all the power has been given away. And I can easily see people going along with an idea that is presented to them that they won't have to worry about making ends meet or getting ahead as long as they feel comfortable that their needs will be met and they won't have to work as hard as they currently do. I'm sure a large number would go right along with it before they realized what they'd done. As the book states, the ideas presented are at the extreme ends of what could happen, but who wants to read a book where things are only mildly messed up? How entertaining would that have been? A great novel that would make a great series that also holds the potential of educating the public on a potentially dangerous idea held within the United Nations, presented in an entertaining way. I highly recommend you read it.

    35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    I had read the original Agenda 21 documents from the UN, and the

    I had read the original Agenda 21 documents from the UN, and the Brundtland Report, so I was intrigued how someone could use fiction to show the consequences. Parke and Beck seem to have done a good job creating a post-constitutional society. It was interesting to see reviews for this book before it was even released. I do not believe they received advanced copies as their reviews were no where near the target. They seemed to focus on supporting the principles of Agenda 21 and not actually reviewing the work in question.

    The main character Emmeline, too young to remember the constitutional government of the United States, was dependent on her mother's teachings. She leads a very sad life as all the "citizens" do with few freedoms, little more than human machines to be maintained to keep the energy flowing for the Authorities. No religion, no real "marriage", and everything equal and fair. Not to ruin for those that have not read, the clues left for her about their family were very intriguing. I shared her anger, as her family history was taken from her.

    The novel was very well done, and I believe accurate if Agenda 21 taken to it's ultimate ends simply by taking the designers at their own words.

    23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Heart stopping

    I got about halfway through this book and had to put it down because my heart was pounding. Then I had to pick it right back up to finish it because I was so enthralled. Obviously, if Agenda 21 is implamented it wont be EXACTLY like this...but it will still be too close to this. I wish I could loan this to every one of my friends and family.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I thought this was good and interesting. I love reading about th

    I thought this was good and interesting. I love reading about this stuff.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Wow

    Wow. Thats all i can say. It was very eye opening. Scary. Very scary that the world could end end up like this. Will very likely end up like this. And very soon too. I wish more people would read stuff like this and really understood what was happening these days. Its just crazy. By the way, whatever happened to freedom?

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    I bought this yesterday and read it in one evening. It is a well

    I bought this yesterday and read it in one evening. It is a well written dystopian future novel. Marketed as adult fiction but more in the vein of recent teen fiction with a teenage female protagonist. Certainly suitable for teenagers. As to whether or not it is an accurate representation of the intentions behind Agenda 21, all I can say is if the ideas presented in Agenda 21 and similar proposals were taken to their logical conclusions, the world would look much like what is depicted in Agenda 21. A self-contained story but definitely leaves the door open for a sequel.

    Although Glenn Beck's name is first on the cover, he really functioned more as an "editor" for the story. This is not the first time that he has paired with little-known authors and put his name on the cover. I'm really not crazy about that but, let's face it, Glen Beck's name "sells" books. I hope that once he gets series (like this one could be) established that he turns the marque over to the primary authors. He recently renamed his network "The Blaze TV" and said that it was because it wasn't about him, that there were a lot of people going into making The Blaze TV work.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Agenda 21

    Not bad, easy read, finished in a couple of hours. Interesting story line, but maybe just a bit over the top. But would recommend this book.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    It was a fantastic book. It made me think of the things that are

    It was a fantastic book. It made me think of the things that are happening today that could cause this type of life in the future. I already see things like building condo in the city - walk to everything, don't drive your car. Oh, I could go on and on.... I read the book in one day, couldn't put it down.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    I could not put this book down. Read it in one sitting. Great

    I could not put this book down. Read it in one sitting. Great read!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Chilling!

    This book will "scare the bejesus" out of you! A must read!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    Glenn Beck is masterful. He can take a work of fiction written

    Glenn Beck is masterful. He can take a work of fiction written by someone else, slap his name on it, and sell, sell sell. I applaud his use of the fiction genre, as his entire career, at least dating back to his pot-smoking top-40 radio days, has been one long, drawn-out study in personal mythology. Let's say your mother died accidentally when you were 15. That's just not interesting enough to include in your own re-writing of history; let's make the death a suicide, and let's back it up two years so it becomes more useful for the story. History, both recent and decades old, is to be created, on-air, so that listeners can feel like they're a part of the great "inner circle," those entrusted with the "secrets" and "conspiracies" that Beck creates, out of whole cloth.

    Reading this book was very easy. There are no difficult words. The concepts are mindlessly simple. The conclusions are as obvious as an oncoming freight train. Formulaic. And that's being generous. Will people read it? Sure, with Beck's name on it. With the author's name? Probably not. It is sadly out-dated, not artfully constructed, nor at the end even interesting. (Previous reviewer's "heart-stopping" reading of this book was perhaps a mis-statement. I think the description they were reaching for was "sleep-inducing."

    That's not the reason that this book should be ignored. The real reason? It is a shameless attempt to take a very real attempt to address global issues and make it into a sinister, underground plot to undermine the United States of America. For those who prefer to think for themselves, a reading of the actual, non-binding United Nations document would be helpful. Pretty tame, and written... wait for it... in 1992. Talk about striking while the irony's hot!

    9 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    Far fetched? Maybe. I prefer to be informed and not blinded b

    Far fetched? Maybe. I prefer to be informed and not blinded by what the media would have us believe.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Great Read!

    Great Read!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Just bad

    Do not waste your money.

    7 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    The only thing I would recommend this book for is toilet paper w

    The only thing I would recommend this book for is toilet paper when you are camping. As for reading if you want to read the rantings of a complete ego-maniac read "Mein Kampf" because at least Hitler you can understand.

    5 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Chilling...

    Being a fan of 1984, Brave New World, Atlas Shrugged, etc., I loved this book!

    A fictionalized portrayal of Agenda 21 taken to an extreme. But totally possible. For example, there is a pledge of allegiance to the planet Earth that already exists, so even the bizarre earth/nature pledges in the book aren't too far fetched.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Very Sad.

    What a poor excuse for a plot, and terrible writing style.
    This book is a collection of paranoid delusions, with boring characters that I could not even begin to like.

    4 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9