Customer Reviews for

Agincourt

Average Rating 4.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

If you love historical fiction...

For me, this book started a little slow at first, as the author establishes the characters and sets up the history of each. But as the story continues and then reaches it's climactic battles, the story really picks up and it involves you, it puts you in the middle of t...
For me, this book started a little slow at first, as the author establishes the characters and sets up the history of each. But as the story continues and then reaches it's climactic battles, the story really picks up and it involves you, it puts you in the middle of the fight! The author has well researched this era and time, with the fine descriptions of the weapons, the characters, the places, even the clothing! He literally puts you right next to the main character (Hook) and allows you to experience as he experiences his part of the 100 year war. He describes Henry V not as Shakespeare did but as a man, with shortcomings and talents that all men have. You can hear, smell, see the battle and the massacre to come. Great book, Highly recommended!

posted by texasdocRM on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Agincourt

This is the first book I've read by Mr. Cornwell. I've felt the writing was ok, nothing spectacular. The main character for me was a little underwhelming side and I didn't get that, can't put it down feeling, that I have had reading historical novels written by other wr...
This is the first book I've read by Mr. Cornwell. I've felt the writing was ok, nothing spectacular. The main character for me was a little underwhelming side and I didn't get that, can't put it down feeling, that I have had reading historical novels written by other writers.
Don't misunderstand, I did like the book and it was a good read and believable but I didn't find myself able to get as "involved" as I have with others of a similar vein.

posted by stdon on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you love historical fiction...

    For me, this book started a little slow at first, as the author establishes the characters and sets up the history of each. But as the story continues and then reaches it's climactic battles, the story really picks up and it involves you, it puts you in the middle of the fight! The author has well researched this era and time, with the fine descriptions of the weapons, the characters, the places, even the clothing! He literally puts you right next to the main character (Hook) and allows you to experience as he experiences his part of the 100 year war. He describes Henry V not as Shakespeare did but as a man, with shortcomings and talents that all men have. You can hear, smell, see the battle and the massacre to come. Great book, Highly recommended!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    I have read most of the books written by Cornwell. This is a great companion to the archer series. One of his very best!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good, but not great

    Let me say straight off that I believe Cornwell is a talented author. His writing flows and moves the reader along at a brisk pace. Agincourt takes us back to one of the most famous battles in English history, one that many readers know nothing about outside of Shakespeare. The one downfall (to me) is that the characters in the story are fairly cookie cutter. Let's see, we have the bluff man of the cloth with a heart of gold, the corrupt priest, the hard fighting commanding officer, the usual assortment of soldier/buddies, a brother who is so good that he is almost saintly, and a couple of one note enemies after the hero. Yep- all there. But to his credit, Cornwell manages to breathe life into each of these characters.The story moves rapidly for a 400+ page book, but it could have been about 50 pages tighter. After the 7th or 8th time of telling us how much the encampment stinks because of dysentary and the 4th or 5th poor soul who gets blown away "in a red mist" by a cannon shot- we get the point. Some tighter editing would have reduced the redundancies and made for an even more thrilling last 100 pages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    Agincourt

    This is the first book I've read by Mr. Cornwell. I've felt the writing was ok, nothing spectacular. The main character for me was a little underwhelming side and I didn't get that, can't put it down feeling, that I have had reading historical novels written by other writers.
    Don't misunderstand, I did like the book and it was a good read and believable but I didn't find myself able to get as "involved" as I have with others of a similar vein.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bernard Cornwell fans will not be disappointed!

    This story follows the real life events of King Henry V at the battle of Agincourt most well known from the Shakespeare play, Henry V. The story is told from the point of view of an archer in Henry's army. It is very well written with excellent characters and as usual for Cornwell, meticulously researched. If you like Bernard Cornwell's books, or if you like historical fiction, this is a must.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    Another great tale by Bernard Cornwell

    I only been a Cronwell fan for a few years, but I can't get enough of his books. They are dramatic, they have great charactors and I feel like I'm learning a little quite a bit about medieval times. I would highly recommend this book for any fan of European-based historical fiction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This was the first Bernard Cornwell book that I read and will not be the last. I was an easy read that I could not put down. Great book if you like this part of history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    Compelling characters and fascinating story

    I bought the CD version of the book (unabridged) to pass the time while driving, and soon found myself looking for excuses to drive the car just to listen, as the story and characters were so fascinating. Even though there is some debate as to the strict accuracy of the events of that time in recorded history, you soon find yourself completely immersed in the circumstances as narrated in this novel, and feeling the joys, heartaches, successes, failures, pain and suffering, trials and tribulations, and enumerable other emotions experienced by the characters within this book. They became such living, breathing people that you could not wait to rejoin them in their daily struggles for survival and ultimate success. An excellent read well worth the time and money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    Engrossing!

    This audio book is very well done with the narrator Charles Keating,doing a spectacular job performing the different characters. It is an engrossing historical story which makes one want to get back into the car to continue on (or wherever you are listening). It was a violent time which is experienced and seen by the main character Nick Hook. Agincourt" makes history real, having characters portray their personal feelings and attitudes about what is happening at the time and the author very cleverly uses the significance of the battle date in his storyline. A story of survival and an excellent reflection back into time making the reader realize we face the same human conditions both good and bad no matter what the era.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    Shakespeare's Henry V has interested me for many years. This book is superb background for his play. The day after I finished Agincourt, I saw the Kenneth Branagh film of Henry V. A great deal of Branagh's film, especially the settings, matched the book. The dialogue matched Shakespeare's play, with few exceptions. They complemented each other very well, making both the book and the film more enjoyable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    Excellent Read

    Bernard Cornwell is a brilliant author, and an exceptional storyteller. The plot of the book is fast-paced and the characters well-developed. I highly recommend it for fans of historical fiction, particularly those who enjoy medieval tales. Highly enjoyable, and a compelling story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    An interesting insight into a time most of us know little about.

    This was an engaging tour of adventure, intrigue and personal inter-relationships. It also unveiled some history of a time that is pretty murky for most of us. The book not only opened doors into an arcane period of our history, it gave some interesting insights into how people lived, the relationships between ordinary people and those in charge and included a good picture of the intriques that took place as various would-be leaders jockeyed for power and position. It also delineated the willingness of many, who held land and also the fate of those who lived under their rule in their hands, to follow the shifting winds of power. I would recommend this book to anyone who wanted to escape into another time and yet be entertained with a heart-catching story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Fast paced. Enjoyable.

    I enjoyed Ken Follett's Pillars of the Earth and World Without End so much that I went looking for something similar. Agincourt did not disappoint. I have since went back looking for more by Bernard Cornwell and will be starting another soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    back to the 100 years war

    Cornwell has succeeded admirably in taking on one of the most famous battles in history. His attention to detail brings the era alive in all it's grimness and excitement. Having very much enjoyed his grail quest trilogy, this was a nice trip back to the 100 years war. Another superb effort from the master of historical fiction!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Great!

    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Bloody Exciting!

    This historical fiction novel allows readers to see the 100 Years War through the eyes on Nick Hook, one of Henry V's famed and feared longbowmen. It is exciting, bloody, violent and mesmerizing. You can almost hear the battlecries and the bowstrings as you follow Cornwell's hero through the thick of the fighting. The closest comparison I can think of is the movie BRAVEHEART. I'm not saying the plots or characters are at all similar, but their portrayals of battle are similar, as is the level of excitement. Sometimes Nick's actions are a little fantastic. Things can get gorey and crude. For me, none of those things really detracted from the book. The history was fascinating, the characters were wonderful, and the end left my head spinning. A great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Agincourt by Bernard Cornell

    1414, 100 years war. Nicolas Hook is an English Archer, he survives the sack of Siossons as he helplessly watches his fellow archer's bow fingers cut off, castrated, and eyeballs gouged out. This is the fate of the english archer so hated by all enemies, no ransoms. Great storyline -the finale is the battle of Agincourt in which Nick must face 30,000 frenchmen to the english 6,000.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Historical fiction at its best

    I have read a half dozen Cromwell novels, and they do not disapoint. The Noble warrior Protaganist tend to blend together, but I always come away with a better appreciation of the time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Ok but very graphic

    I enjoyed several of Cornwell's Sharpe series but this one not so much. I enjoy military historical fiction and this was a view into medieval warfare, but this novel could have done with a little less graphic and excruciatingly detailed descriptions of rape, murder, eye-gouging, killing and did I mention rape? Ugh. I expect some of that in this kind of book but this one was over the top. I think I'm done with Cornwell novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Highly recommended if interested in historical fiction!

    This was one of the first historical fiction books I have read. This has gotten me hooked on the genre. (This focuses specifically focuses on the 1415 battle of Agincourt). Because the main character is faced with difficult decisions time and time again, it instantly grabs the reader's attention and forces them to keep flipping the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11