Customer Reviews for

Agnes Hahn: Book One in the Agnes Hahn Series

Average Rating 3.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

What a ride!

An excellent introduction to this authors work. He keeps you guessing and second-guessing from start to finish. For a book that was offered to readers free, I was extemely pleased tp find that I couldn't put my Nook down. And when I finally did, because I was almost cro...
An excellent introduction to this authors work. He keeps you guessing and second-guessing from start to finish. For a book that was offered to readers free, I was extemely pleased tp find that I couldn't put my Nook down. And when I finally did, because I was almost cross-eyed from exhaustion, it was to find it was 3 a.m. and had to go to work in less than 4 hours! However, it was totally worth it!

posted by Anonymous on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Sex

Sex

posted by 5894675 on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    What a ride!

    An excellent introduction to this authors work. He keeps you guessing and second-guessing from start to finish. For a book that was offered to readers free, I was extemely pleased tp find that I couldn't put my Nook down. And when I finally did, because I was almost cross-eyed from exhaustion, it was to find it was 3 a.m. and had to go to work in less than 4 hours! However, it was totally worth it!

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Good Book - Held my attention

    This book was written very well and held me spellbound - coudn't put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent suspense thriller

    Three decades ago when she was four years old, Agnes Hahn moved in with her Great-Aunts Gert and Ella. Now years later, six months after placing Ella in an Alzheimer¿s home and the next day burying Gert, she heads to work at an animal shelter near Mendocino while thinking about the Voice that has always been with her. At the shelter stood Police officers Steve Wilson and Loreen Didier Agnes thinks highly of these two cops and other law enforcement as they go after animal abusers. However this time they handcuff her and read her rights to her the charge is three monstrous murders in the first degree. Detective Bransome drills her, but Agnes insists she was home the nights of the murder as she does not drive in the dark --- Newspaper reporter Jason Powers covers the homicides for the Santa Rosa Press Democrat, but also sees a bestselling true crime book. He makes inquiries into the Hahn family, uncovering a stunner the accused Agnes has an identical twin, Lilin. However, he finds another strange spin, but before he can pursue it with Ella, her brother Eddie murders her only to have someone kill him with the evidence exclusively condemning Agnes. Shocked Jason feels if he can find the answer to the one question that has eluded him, he will have solved the case why did Gert and Ella only raise Agnes? --- Each time Jason and the audience feel they solved the case Richard Satterlie spins it in another direction with a stunning twist. The story line contains investigative and police procedural elements, but is predominantly a psychological thriller. Agnes will hook readers who get inside her head and learn her value system is structured around good and bad people as she perceives them. Although others like psychologist Dr. Leahy, Detective Bransome and reporter Powers are fully developed characters, the insightful discerning glimpse at the title protagonist makes for a strong tale. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Sex

    Sex

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Exceeded expectation

    Good writing, interesting story. Didn't keep me on the edge of my seat, but I did look forward to reading it each day. I found it quite predictable, and was getting annoyed toward the end, but then the author changed gear on me and got my attention once again... looking forward to book two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Plot was a little too predictable.

    Plot was a little too predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    !

    Good story, even if harriet klausner did ruin it by revealing 98% of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good for lovers of police procedurals

    Though the plot centers around her and the book is named for her, Agnes Hahn doesn't have a strong presence in this tale. Agnes lives a very solitary life after her Aunt Ella is placed in a home, suffering from severe Alzheimer's, and her Aunt Gert dies. But all that is shattered when the local police arrest her for a series of gruesome murders.

    Enter Jason, a reporter suffering from a broken heart and under pressure from his editor to deliver a good story or else. Agnes might be the central character, but Jason is the lead, whether he's fighting the local cops for the big exclusive or falling for someone who might be a rare female serial killer.

    While the tension sometimes falters and the characters are largely ordinary people, the mystery of Agnes Hahn is solid, a twisting tale of police procedure and psychology reflective of the genre's forerunner, Thomas Harris.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Keeps you guessing

    Great storyline!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    A good book although somewhat predictable. 

    A good book although somewhat predictable. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Great Read

    This is a great read! I will admit that I did have the end figured out before it finished (not really sure when I figured it out) but that did not deter me from reading the rest of it. I still wanted to know what happened.

    It was well written, well planned out, the characters were well developed and I will be reading the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Amazing thriller!

    I enjoyed this book immensely! A must read if you are into highly suspenseful well written books. Couldn't put it down. Look forward to reading more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Just a reader

    Liked the book, didn't really bore me but the ending I would have liked to be different somehow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Woww

    Great book. A real guessing game. I had 3 different people picked. Enjoyed it very much and recomend it. Had alittle to much sex but it can be overlooked because the story was so good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Recommend

    Enjoyed this story. Well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Really good read

    Really liked the book. Kept me guessing till the very end. Can't wait for more of the same

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Addicting

    Loved this book from the very first word to the last. Can't wait to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Strange

    Very good book with lots of twists and turns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    good.

    I enjoyed it as it kept me totally interested.
    might order the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Don't bother

    I found this book extremely dull and couldn't stay interested in it. The writing is like reading a thesis paper - dry and boring.
    Don't bother with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2