Customer Reviews for

Agnes and the Hitman

Average Rating 4.5
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    That book that's so good you forget your oven is on.....

    I never quite understood the concept of a "favorite book" that you read AT LEAST once a year or your life isn't worth living. Until, that is, I found this little slice of indulgence. Best five bucks I ever spent on a book!

    This is one of those books with a sense of humor and a vibrant personality. It is by turns hilarious, sassy, obnoxious, crude, sweet and sinfully vindictive with a side of butter. And forget trying to cook dinner and read this book at the same time, multi-tasking is near-impossible with this book in your hand. You'll devour the pages like a pint of Caramel Pecan Perfection high-fat ice cream and read it through the fire alarm and the scent of charred something; dinner be damned.

    You know you want take-out and wine anyway.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    A funny, can't put down read

    I loved this book so much! I read it in a day because I couldn't put it down. There were times when I would laugh out loud and end up reading that part over again because I thought it was so funny. I love Jennifer's quick wit and humor, her one liners are the best!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Crusie Does It Again!!!!!

    I absolutely love all of Jennifer Crusie's books. However, I like some of the other reviewers, wasn't that impressed with Jennifer/Bob's last book 'Don't Look Down' 'it wasn't bad...it just lacked some of the feminism and great dialogue of her other books.' So I bought this book and then left it sitting for several weeks. I finally sat down and read it and it was fabulous!!!! I loved everything from the storyline, the characters, the dialogue, even the book cover with the flamingos, red checkerboard look of a Betty Crocker Cookbook and the gunshot holes. Great marketing....Hope the next go round is just as fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Much better second time around

    I almost didn't pick this up because I didn't enjoy Don't Look Down, but I am glad I did. This was really exciting, edge of my seat page turning with a insane heroine that you just HAVE to root for. The hitman's not bad either.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    I love this book!!

    Smart, sassy, fast paced. Agnes is the hard gooey center on a roller coaster ride to happiness. This is a go-to book for me whenever I need a pick me up. Gotta love a woman that can multipurpose a cast iron skillet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Like most other reviewers, I wasn't completely enamored with &qu

    Like most other reviewers, I wasn't completely enamored with "Don't Look Down" but AATH was absolutely wonderful! I re-read this book at least once a year and laugh every time I do. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Why?

    I have read almost all of Jennifer Crusie's books and really enjoyed her writing style. This is the second book I've read where she co-wrote with Bob Mayer. The first book I read from this collaboration took all I could do to finish the book. I will have to say I did like this one, but wish that J.C wrote it alone.

    I really liked the main characters in this story. The plot has many twists and turns that make it difficult for you to guess what's coming next. Ultimately, you know what will happen in the end, but the road to get there is full of surprises. Normally, I would really love a book like this, but J.C. has always had great dialogue in her books. In the collaborative books, the dialogue is replace with a little more action and what dialogue there is is FULL of f-bombs and other course language. I expect it from other writers, but not J.C. This left me with a little bit of a "bad taste" in my mouth when I finished.

    Overall, if you're looking for a good read on a rainy day or at the beach, this will keep your interest. If you've never read Jennifer Crusie, you might love this book. If you're picking it up because you've enjoyed J.C.'s other books, beware! I hope to see more of J.C's independent work in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Wow...what a story line

    Looking for some easy summer reading, how could I pass over a book entitled 'agnes and the hitman' about food and sexy guys? This book grabs you from the moment you start reading and is one of those you can't put down...but have to put down because you don't want it to end. Very enjoyable reading. I highly recommend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    I'm not finished with the book just yet but hate that I have to put it down to do anything. I'm dying to leave work and get back to it. These authors have done a great job.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Crusie's back big time!

    Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer made it work this time and work it did. After the disappointing Don't Look Down, I was reluctant to buy this book, but I'm glad I did. The story flowed seamlessly without apprearing to be done by two different authors. The characters were believeable, if slightly eccentric, and the humor was pure Crusie. This was a great read and will keep me looking forward to the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Agnes Crandall is comfortable ensconced in her new home which she and her fiancée bought from her friend Brenda when a male teen-ager with a gun comes barreling in wanting her dog Rhet. She hits him on the head with a frying pan. He is knocked through a door hidden by wall paper and falls to the basement and breaks his neck. Its clearly self-defense but Agnes has knocked out other men who hurt her with a skilled even though none pressed charges.------------------ Shane (like in the western hero ¿ one name only) is sent to Agnes¿s hometown to kill a hit man who was hired to kill somebody at the wedding Agnes is catering at her home for the daughter whose mother is her best friend. Shane¿s uncle and Agnes¿s friend knows something about the hidden room that hides a bunker that supposedly contains five million dollars from a robbery is locked behind the stainless steal locked door of the bunker. Shane and Agnes are instantly attracted to one another as they deal with a homicidal Brenda who wants her house back, an ex-fiancé who is trying to drive Agnes out of her home, a missing mobster, a monster that doesn¿t want the money, the bride and groom and an assassination attempt that has to be stopped.------------- Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer make an excellent writing team because only they could write a jocular tale about a killer for hire. Readers will enjoy Agnes¿ antics although they probably should not although Shane as a hit man falling in love steals the show. Together he and Agnes make a perfect team in this amusing graveyard action filled plot loaded with shocking surprises that the audience never sees coming.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Read and re-read again and again

    This is one of my favorite books. It had me laughing from begining to end! Love the strong female characters and crazy ones, plus the male charecters are funny too! This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    LOVED

    If you are looking for a funny, romantic read....THIS IS IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Zolo to silence

    Go to res three

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Great read

    Definately one of my favorite books by Jennifer Crusie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Love it!

    I love to read and when I hit college age I needed to find more types of books to read. This is when I came by Jennifer Crusie. I instantly fell in love with the characters in her books and this is my absolute favorite. I did not think that I would ever find a book that made me love reading more than I do. This book surpassed all other books I had read. Her characters are so easy to all in love with and this story line will make you laugh until your sides hurt. Of all the books I have read, this is the one I can reread anytime. I also think this book would make a great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Bob & Jennifer make a great team!

    I love the balance between these two writers, i've read all they have co-written that I know of and would definitely keep an eye out for another co-authored release for them. LOVED it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Cute book, easy read

    I needed a cute book to read and this was it. Not the best book I've ever read, but entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    :)

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Gotta Read This!

    This was funny, well written, and the twists were unexpected. This is one of a few that I will read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10