Customer Reviews for

Agnes and the Hitman

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Gotta Read This!

    This was funny, well written, and the twists were unexpected. This is one of a few that I will read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    PB/Fiction: I had the paperback, but a friend lent me the unabri

    PB/Fiction: I had the paperback, but a friend lent me the unabridged audio. After listening to the first disc, I really didn't like the narration. There is a lot of "thinking" and I had to rewind, rewind, turn it up and rewind it again. So I tried the paperback and gave the audio back. This is a book you need to read. It is a really good book that you root for the good guys, root for the bad guys, and hate on the really bad, bad guys.
    I really liked Agnes. She is spunky, too trusting, and has a temper of a redhead. Our hero is Shane, the mysterious hitman who comes into her life. There is a wedding to be catered, pink flamingos. car bombs, evil in-laws, a bad boss, rickety bridge, angry sex, pancakes, and murder. The best part is that this is a oner; no sequels!
    I was expecting the more Crusie banter, but I am definitely recommending it. It is quirky and fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Agnes and the Hitman By Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer Cranky Ag

    Agnes and the Hitman
    By Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer

    Cranky Agnes is a successful food writer and when a gun toting guy comes into her home after her dog her first call is Joey a former mobster and one of her best friends. Joey calls in his nephew, Shane who is a hitman, to come and protect Agnes afraid that the dognapper is only the beginning. Agnes not only has to contend with a dognapper but if she cannot pull off an upcoming wedding without a hitch she will lose her home and everything she thought she ever wanted. Agnes and Shane work together to pull off the wedding, stop the assassins who keep coming for Agnes and inevitably begin to have feelings for each other that will change their lives forever.

    Agnes is not your ordinary damsel in distress, not only is she good with a frying pan in the kitchen but it seems to be her weapon of choice, making her truly an interesting character and when you add in Shane the hitman and a variety of eccentric side characters you have one heck of a funny and captivating novel. I have read several of Jennifer Crusie’s novels and I truly enjoy her writing and the stories she creates, they are light, fun and full of the warm and fuzzies, when you add in Bob Mayer to the equation, a former Green Beret and West Point graduate it adds a different perspective to the male character making him more realistic yet still a heartthrob. This is truly a fun book from two talented authors; if you are into contemporary romance I would recommend you give these two a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    I have thoroughly enjoyed this funny, over the top book of mobst

    I have thoroughly enjoyed this funny, over the top book of mobsters coking, wedding, and flamingos. The story gets from bad to worse, to over the top worst, you think you just figured out yet there is another curve ball. There's no bloody, or gory violence but enough of dry killing and frying pan wacking to satisfy a murder mystery readers.

    Very good interesting writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Simply great

    This book was a fast read that kept me laughing throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great Reading

    Fast moving, great reading. Love both Agnes and the Hitman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Loved It

    This was my first book by this author that i read and it was really good! I couldnt put it down...so many twists, kept me interested!! Love love loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    One of my favorite books!

    Very funny and worth the cost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    A Very Fun Story

    I wish this book was turned into a movie. When I finished reading it, I read it again! It is a perefect blend of action and comedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Twists and turns, galore!

    This book was a fun read that i couldn't put down. It started off a bit slow and i wasn't sure what i was in for. But! In the end i was so happy I kept reading!! The story line had murder, mayhem and even a romantic story line. great story of the mob life and their families without boring you to tears. I love Jennifer Crusie and this book of hers does not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Love this book - SOOOO Funny!!

    I just love this book. I've read it three times. It is witty and charming and I love the characters (FYI - Shane is MINE!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Very funny book- this is a read!!!

    this is a funny book that had me laughing out loud. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Wonderful!

    My new favorite book!! Love, love, love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious!

    I loved this book!! It was hilarious from beginning to end! You will fall in love with Agnes, Joey, Shane and Rhett! This was my first time reading a book by either author and I loved it! I'll be looking for others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    BAD COPY! DON'T BUY!!!

    Improper pagination; buy a used paperback; other errors are very annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    HILARIOUS - guaranteed to make you laugh out loud

    This book is overflowing with outrageous, outlandish, humorous moments. Pink flamingos, cooking utensils, and Agnes herself provide hilarity throughout the story, which also features the mob, scheming southern belles, and hitmen - of the good and bad variety. Amongst the good is hitman Shane, who is mysterious and ultimately, good hearted. This book will make you laugh and cry and is a great, easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This was fun!

    When I first started reading this book I wasn't sure I'd get through the first few pages. The concept of a murder mystery/romance/hitman just didn't seem to jive for me. But, I have to say I really enjoyed this book. It was light, flirty, and it was fun. A perfect book to read between heavier readings.

    Apparently we have acceptable levels of murder herein. I loved Agnes. Her character was just as I like women to be - independent, saucy, head strung, and funny.

    This is a great summer read. Take the storyline with a grain of salt and you will laugh out loud by the antics of many of the characters. One of my favorites was the handyman "Doyle" - when he is riled up he can launch a stream of profanity that is impossibly funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny, Thrilling, and yes, Scrumptious

    This is one of those books that grabs you from the beginning and doesn't let go. Between the mob ties, a wedding appearing to be doomed planning, Anges' veritable kitchen weapons, and the salivatingly-perfect food descriptions (WARNING: Do not read this book if you are hungry - your stomach will soon be grumbling), you're swept up into the chaos of a small Northern Carolina town and will never want to leave.
    I don't think that I have enjoyed a book this much in a while. I can't count the amount of times I laughed while reading, and when I wasn't laughing I was riveted, clamoring for more of Agnes' crazy life.

    The genius dialogue and narrative that Crusie and Mayer create is witty, satirical without being over done, and easy to follow, without making the reader feeling like it's been dumbed down for a larger audience. I mean, one of the most memorable moments for me happens near the middle of the book with an extremely humorous scene with Anges making a perfect breakfast for the whole brood that's descended on her house - including a kid who the night before assaulted her to get her dog.

    The connection between Shane and Agnes is just an added bonus and doesn't dilute the story line at all. In fact it fits in perfectly like that last stroke or dab of a masterpiece. Surely it's the type of book destined to be on your bookshelf and be read many times over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    Read this a 2nd time and you'll like it even better!

    I love this book! I missed a lot of the subtle humor the first time I read it. Do yourself a favor and read this one a 2nd time, and I bet you'll find it even funnier then. I did! Bob Mayer and Jennifer Crusie collaborate very well. Crusie's zany humor comes through, but so does Mayer's dry humor. Together, the one-liners make me giggle at the oddest moments, even when I'm not reading the book. If you liked this one, you will probably also like Don't Look Down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    great one

    one if the best i've read in a long time! couldn't put it down-lost some sleep over this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10