Customer Reviews for

The Agony of Alice

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    Haha i put 1 star to get your attention i am nine and i am in love with this book. I think you should read it if you know what the back and front cover mean. I mean if you are six years old you wouldn't understand at all. If you were 12 or 13 then you probably would understand. I would reccomend this book from 9-16.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Reading Competition

    I think this book is pretty good. I am 11 years old, and I'm in the reafing competition at my school. This book was on the list, so I thought I would read it. I think I would recomend this book. It is a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Creepeh....

    Seriously. I imagine Ratchet as that field medic 0-0 but niiiiiiice!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Nightbird's Ghost Stories

    I walked down a corridore on my right, blinking back my tears. My walking slowed, i thought i heard wheezy breatheing. I stopped in my tracks, my spark stopping glowing, then turned back on, stopped, then turned back on. It's what i do when im scared, or am in deep trouble. I slowly turned around, only to see....*drum roll*....NOTHIIING!!! Shrug, shaking, then turn around, opening the door to my office. The lights were off, and my door squeaked. It never squeaked, and i NEVER shut the lights off. Something was going on. Something...strange...something...paranormal. i turned on the lights, only to find our field medic, on the floor, dead, energon spilling out of his mouth. I ran over to him, my hands trembling....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Scavenger hunt

    Go to lovingly alice

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Alice is a great character

    In the world of children's literature (and in recent years also YA), one name is mentioned above all others: Alice. To be specific, Alice McKinley--the intrepid heroine of Phyllis Reynolds Naylor's long running children's/YA series.

    "The Agony of Alice" is the debut novel of this series, originally published in 1985 and now out in a variety of reprints with myriad versions of cover art. Personally, I'd be more willing to consider Naylor's prequel novel "Starting With Alice" (from 2002) to be the actual beginning of this series, but having read both either seems appropriate as an introduction to Alice's world.

    When this story begins, Alice is preparing to move with her father and older brother, NAME. As the family packs up, Alice remembers all of the embarrassing things she did in the years leading up to the move and also wishes that, just maybe, some people like Donald Sheavers and the milk man might disappear or suddenly develop amnesia to save Alice some of her embarrassment.

    Of course, life doesn't work that way, so instead Alice just has to keep moving forward in her new town as she tries to make new friends, find a new mother (Alice's mother died when she was a young child), and earn a place on the coveted street patrol. Meanwhile, Alice has to decide whether she's growing up properly or backwards, cope with the worst teacher in the entire grade, and figure out how to buy a pair of jeans. Sixth grade is going to be nothing if not exciting for Alice!

    This is the kind of book where not many "major" things happen, it's more like opening a window into Alice's life. Happily that works. Alice is likable and entertaining. Naylor does a great job creating an authentic and readable voice in her first person narration. On a more minor note, it's kind of fun to read the early books in the series that are set in the 1980s just to get little touches like the cassette tapes thrown in to make the setting authentic.

    When I started "The Agony of Alice" I must admit that the book seemed a bit slow (as slow as such a short book can seem). That might have more to do with my usually reading crazy, action-packed fantasy novels. It might also have to do with my resistance to starting this series. Having done my time with sweeping series--the ones that go on for years and require a continued commitment to follow--I was hesitant to start another. Then I found out that the series would be ending when Alice turned eighteen and realized the end was in sight (Alice was already a high school junior in the latest installment). Plus, the book got more interesting the more I read which made me rethink my initial doubts.

    Finally, Alice is a great character. Certainly Alice has her stumbles along the way, but she always gets up and dusts herself off. It's a hard lesson to learn, so it's nice to see a character in a children's book who is already getting the hang of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    10-22-09

    I love this book so much and i love how she ends up meeting Patrick but i wish they would have staid together in junior high

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    Phyllis Reynolds Naylor takes us inside the mind of Alice in THE AGONY OF ALICE, and shares all the crazy adventures and thoughts that we never thought a pre-teen would have. <BR/><BR/>Alice McKinley is moving into a new house and entering the sixth grade. Almost a teenager, Alice just wants a little help getting used to all of those crazy issues that girls experience. And only having a father and brother, neither of whom know that girls do not wear jeans on the guy's side of The Gap, Alice could definitely use a little less male influence and a lot more of a female role model. <BR/><BR/>Things aren't working out so great, especially when the McKinley's new neighbors just so happen to bring them dinner, even though Alice's father promised that they would go out to eat. And Alice doesn't get Miss Cole, the gorgeous teacher that all of the girls want to be like, but instead is assigned to Mrs. Plotkin's class, the not-so-beautiful teacher. And then there is her brother, who knows nothing about being a teenage girl, and can only complain about the way Alice chews with her mouth open. <BR/><BR/>It seems like Alice needs someone to show her the ropes on being a girl --and quick! <BR/><BR/>Alice McKinley is just so innocent that you can't help but fall in love with her. THE AGONY OF ALICE is perfect for any pre-teen who isn't quite sure of what lies ahead for them and the obstacles that they just might have to face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    a reviewer

    Once again, Phyllis Reynolds Naylor takes us inside the mind of Alice in THE AGONY OF ALICE, and shares all the crazy adventures and thoughts that we never thought a pre-teen would have. Alice McKinley is moving into a new house and entering the sixth grade. Almost a teenager, Alice just wants a little help getting used to all of those crazy issues that girls experience. And only having a father and brother, neither of whom know that girls do not wear jeans on the guy's side of The Gap, Alice could definitely use a little less male influence and a lot more of a female role model. Things aren¿t working out so great, especially when the McKinley¿s new neighbors just so happen to bring them dinner, even though Alice¿s father promised that they would go out to eat. And Alice doesn¿t get Miss Cole, the gorgeous teacher that all of the girls want to be like, but instead is assigned to Mrs. Plotkin¿s class, the not-so-beautiful teacher. And then there is her brother, who knows nothing about being a teenage girl, and can only complain about the way Alice chews with her mouth open. It seems like Alice needs someone to show her the ropes on being a girl -- and quick! Alice McKinley is just so innocent that you can¿t help but fall in love with her. THE AGONY OF ALICE is perfect for any pre-teen who isn¿t quite sure of what lies ahead for them and the obstacles that they just might have to face. **Reviewed by: Randstostipher 'tallnlankyrn' Nguyen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    fine book

    it was like i were alice whene reading the book!could not put it down!i wish i was alice and i wish that my library would get more books from alice! it changed my life because now i feel after i finished the book that i will be like her. i was sad when the book was over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    what a wonderful book

    I never thought I would be intersted in this type of book.When i began reading the book i constantly keep going back and back into the book I was adicted to the book and i will be able to say to a lot of girls ages 9-16 might really really enjoy this book because it was a book that was excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    LOVE THESE BOOKS!

    Alice is an unforgetable character who teaches her readers a lot about the world. She is very curious and everytime she learned something new about life, I learned something new, as well. This book, the first official book of the series, is great. Alice enters the 6th grade at a new elementary school, and finds that growing up and becoming a teenager without a mother is a lot tougher than she had EVER imagined. I think that any girl over the age of 9 or 10 should read this book and all of the other books in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    So Funny

    I was at the library, and was just browsing, and I saw the Alice books. I read a few of the inside covers, and picked the first 4 books that were in a row, but CMSU doesn't put thier books in numerable order, they put them in alabetical order, so I read most out of order. But I loved this book. I was just reading alone, and then something happened, and I could hardly hold back my laugh's, it was a great book. I could really relate to her cause I'm forever making a fool out of myself, so I could just see me doing all the things Alice did!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    The Alice books are great!

    The alice books are a wonderful delight! I could always relate to Alice.The books are great for teenage gilrs. I don't know anybody thats read one that doesn't like it. Alice books are always a hit at my library.I've always grew up reading Alice. I read one and couldn't stop myself. I couldn't wait to turn the page. Alice boks have made me cry and laugh at the same time. I really think that Phyllis reynolds Naylor should return to writing the Alice books. It would be really great to return to reading the Alice books. It seems I have read all of them now and I have no more to read. I find myself reading them over agian. Alice books are definelty my Favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    All Alice!

    This is the very first Alice book, and it is definitely one of the best! Alice goes through some really tough stuff, but she also has a ton of hilarious embarrassing moments! I have read all of the Alice books and they just keep getting better! Start with this one and read your way through! Warning: You may become addicted!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    Totally cool book

    This is the first book in the Alice series and also the first Alice book i've ever read. At first, i thought it wouldn't be nice but then i totally fell in love with it! So now i'm crazily looking for the rest of the series. So far i've read The Agony of Alice, Alice in Rapture,sort of, All but Alice and Alice in April!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2003

    i love it!

    Iam 13 and love these books i really injoy it. My friends love em too. i cant get my eyes of of them i have only read 2 and i can tell there all going to be great!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    a reviewer

    This is a great book about what any 13 year old goes through. I wish it would have had a little bit more romance with Patrick but overall a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    great book for teens

    this book was awesome and is something that teens (girls) can kinda relate to. i really enjoyed it .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2002

    Ashley Bryant 15 yrs. From Oneonta,Al Sept. 20,02

    The book was great!!! I couldn't put it down. I wish the book didn't end be it did but, any way the book is like a best friend you get so caught up in the act that you think your in it. But any ways the but is GREAT!!! I highly recommended it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2