BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ain't Misbehaving

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book by a new author!

    Marla Jean is determined to move on with her life after her husband ditches her for the town librarian- a woman 20 years older. She goes out and decides she is going to have fun with local Lothario Donnie Joe, only to have her hot and heavy make out session interrupted by her childhood crush, Jake. Jake is also her brother Linc's best friend and has committed to keeping Marla Jean safe while Linc is away. Both Marla Jean and Jake fight their obvious attraction through most of the book with occasional sexy lapses.

    Being a librarian of a certain age, I have to admit I was intrigued by the premise of the book but disturbed by the way it seemed that the whole town had just forgiven the two cheaters and left Marla Jean with virtually nothing- both financially and in terms of her self respect. The issue does get addressed later in the story in a way that is satisfactory for the reader. Jake is in a double bind having feelings for Marla Jean and being the nephew of the librarian. It was interesting to read a book where you had some sympathy for the other woman because you saw her through her family's eyes.

    Jake is a genuinely nice guy who takes his friendship with Marla Jean seriously and Marla Jean is a sweetie who has had a rough time and deserves someone sexy like Jake to make her see that there is still a life out there for her.

    I especially enjoyed some of Marla Jean’s creative cursing. How often do you hear a character say “ poop faced son of a dodo bird”. This was a fun read with a nice romance and a happy ending all the way around.
    Watch for the next book in April 2013.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Cute Story

    Cute Story of a vulnerable woman who gets taken advantage of but pulls through strong. Some laugh out loud parts. Enjoyed reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Great lighthearted read. From the first page this book is unpre

    Great lighthearted read. From the first page this book is unpredictable and just plain fun. Molly Cannon is a wonderful storyteller!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Sassy, fun, Great entertainment for a quick read! Great Story !

    This is an excellent book for anyone wanting a quick, easy read that's really entertaining! I enjoyed the characters, the story line, was given a few laugh out loud moments, and was thrilled to know there was a follow up story which I also promptly bought and read. Can't wait for number three!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    nice read

    This was a good book. I would recommend it to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    This book was easy and fun! The main character is flawed, sweet,

    This book was easy and fun! The main character is flawed, sweet, and likeable. The people in the town are hilarious and overbearing, the author did a great job. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a fun and entertaining summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Marla Jean

    Well, I have to admit, this is the first time I bought a book due to the main character's name. Her name is Marla Jean and so is mine. I got a giggle every time her name was written out, which was often. It is not a usual name. It was a fun easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Sweet read, I just wish there were a 2nd one to follow this one.

    This was a sweet read, I just wish there were more of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Ain't Misbehaving

    Oh by the way, three stars is the most I ever give an easy little romance.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book and look forward to the next one due

    I really enjoyed this book and look forward to the next one due out in 2013.  I like a book that has some humor in it and this one definitely did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review: "Ain't Misbehaving" by Molly Cannon was a go

    Review:


    "Ain't Misbehaving" by Molly Cannon was a good exciting wonderful contemporary read. I found "Ain't Misbehaving" a very believable plot, with very realistic characters. This novel presented a well written story of a small town charm romance that was sexy with a sense of humor. I was left laughing out loud while cheering for Marla Jean and Jake. I found this novel one I could not put down. "They were a fun couple even if they were pretty stubborn about the ability for their romance to survive." Well, this is where I say you must pick up "Ain't Misbehaving" to see just what all is going on in this good read that is "about love, second chances, forgiveness and definitely moving on."


    "Ain't Misbehaving" was one fun read that was a wonderful light hearted read with a happy ending...oops I am probably telling too much and YES, I would recommend this novel as a excellent novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Not to Miss Read

    Witty and fun! Ms. Cannon creates likable and memorable characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Great story

    Cute story, funny, easy, read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    there must be something in the air in this lil town. seems almos

    there must be something in the air in this lil town. seems almost every other page someone needs to close one eye (wink). altho donny joe captured my interest and the lil exerpt from the back was hilarious, i doubt i will buy it. this book just didnt seem all that intriguing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Great book!

    This book is one of the best I have read! I didn't put it down until I finished it. It will make you laugh,tear up, and cause your toes to curl! A great romantic story, I can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just a fun, entertaining read!

    My Review:

    Marla Jean is tired of staying home and feeling sorry for herself after her high school sweetheart and husband of 6 years suddenly fell in love with the 50 something town librarian. In this small town, it's hard to escape that humiliation, but Marla Jean is determined. That and she wants to have sex again. She's not looking for anything deep. She had deep and look at what that got her. At this point, she just wants to have a good time.

    But standing in her way is Jake, her brother's best friend and the guy that he left in charge to "watch over her". Unfortunately, he's taking that job way to seriously which is making waves with her renewed possibility of a sex life. Plus, as the one guy who's always been the object of her teenage crush, he's making unwanted waves with her heart too.

    For Jake, he never plans to be "that guy" for any girl, although if anyone could tempt him, it would be Marla Jean. His parents had a really awful marriage and he knows how badly his mother was hurt because of that. He never wants to subject another woman to that type of pain. As a result, he's resolved himself to a life of meaningless affairs.

    This was a thoroughly enjoyable small town contemporary romance. I'd highly recommend you add it to your summer reading if you enjoy contemporary reading. There are lots of small-town quirks in this one and a slew of fun characters. I really liked both Jake and Marla Jean. They were a fun couple even if they were pretty stubborn about the ability for their romance to survive.

    I definitely will be reading more of Molly's books and cannot wait for Donny Joe's book, Pillow Talk.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2