BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ain't She Sweet?

Average Rating 4.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what i was expecting....

    Before I started this book I had read some mixed reviews, so I wasn't expecting much from it. I read somewhere that you don't get attached to the characters and that they are hard to like. Whoever said this was completely wrong. I was surprised to find that "Ain't She Sweet?" is one of the best, if not the best romance novel I have ever read (and there have been a lot). I fell in love with the characters, especially Colin. I was sorry when this book ended and I can't seem to stop picking it up and just reading random parts. It's truly amazing and I have recommended it to all of my friends! It's definitely worth the read!
    =)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    First romance novel, definately not my last!!!

    This book is amazing. You feel for each of the charcters as they develop from high school kids to adults. Suger Beth was such a mean spirited girl, but life paid her back. So much so you begin to understand her evil ways, and have compasion when things go bad for her. In the end you will be pleasantly surprized how everything ties in together. I would recommend this book to anyone who has ever been truly in love.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ain't She Sweet

    I would have to say, I was a bit skeptical when I first started reading Ain't She Sweet? by Susan Elizabeth Phillips. I had never read anything by the author before and from reading the back cover it sounded like a typical romance I might have read before... but was I ever wrong!

    I truly enjoyed this book very much. I most identified with Winnie Davis the girl in high school that was made fun of, was perhaps a little too smart and didn't have a lot of confidence in herself. Her secret crush on the high school football team's star. Her struggles with friendships. She was a very endearing character. But, Sugar Beth really does take center stage.

    This book was about growing up and becoming the person you didn't really think you were going to be. About how your choices in life shape your future, but they can't change your past. It was about not running away from who you were, but embracing it and showing who you've become.

    I really liked the book. The characters were very well developed and the story is one that will resonant with a lot of women and young girls who are defining or redefining themselves.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The fun begins...

    The reader finds out from the get-go that Sugar Beth Carey ain't so sweet. She is a lying, snobbish brat who made life hell for the less-than-beautiful, not-so-rich nerdy girls at school. She made fun of them and destroyed them. And they haven't forgotten! The fun begins.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    Excellent has everything you want in a good book!

    I found this book very hard to put down but it did take me a few chapters to get into it. It has everything even some sad parts to what makes her who she is but it is also funny and a good love story! You have to hang in to see which one has the strongest will to get what they want! Eddie Rob

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    another keeper

    Ain¿t She Sweet by Susan Elizabeth Phillips introduces us to Sugar Beth Carey. When Sugar Beth left Parrish, Miss 15 years ago she was the pampered princess of the town. She doesn¿t come home that way at all. Former friends and enemies are dying to give her, her comeuppance. Leading the pack wanting to get even is a former teacher Colin Byrne. Sugar Beth ruined the start of his teaching career and that has Colin wanting payback. But Colin wasn¿t planning on the changed life had dealt to Sugar Beth or his growing feelings for her. Ain¿t She Sweet is a sensational story, its funny, sexy and will touch your heart.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Love It

    This was the first book I read twice in one week. Its a great book, it has all the things I look for in a "unwind" book. It makes you laugh, and also makes you get a little teary eyed. Sugar Beth and Colin make a odd but oh so great couple and I absolutely loved it. I agree with another reviewer though about Sugar Beth's niece Gigi, it really wasn't necessary to involve her in so much, because without it, the outcome would've been the same. But GREAT book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    engaging relationship drama

    In high school, Sugar Beth Carey and her Seawillows dominated the local scene treating everyone else with contempt. Among her victims was a young British teacher Colin Byrne, whose career she ruined. Years later Sugar Beth returns home having accomplished little in her life except regrets. She hopes to sell her deceased aunt¿s valuable painting done by renowned local artist Ceredon Ash. Sugar Beth is shocked at how well everyone has made it since she dumped her sweetheart Ryan when she left for U of Mississippi for a football star who is now her ex-husband. When she sees Colin she is sorry for what she did to him and is very attracted to him, but he does not trust her though he finds he desires her. Winnie Davis is running scared that her spouse Ryan still loves Sugar Beth. However, that does not matter to Sugar Beth as she now believes you can never go home as nothing remains the same. She wants Colin permanently in her life, but believes he could never forgive her though she hopes he lovingly deem her his forever honey. <P>AIN¿T SHE SWEET is an engaging relationship drama that focuses on whether a former teen pack leader can ever go home especially as a failure. The story line is character driven as the audience understands what makes key players tick, especially the fear that motivates the lead couple, the former Seawillows, and the Davis duo. Though not much action occurs, to fans of tales that go deep inside the soul of its stars Susan Elizabeth Phillips provides a delightful read. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Ain't She Sweet?

    Take one part Erica Kane, one part Scarlett O'Hara, and a dash of the cast of Designing Women and you have Sugarbeth Carey. Once she reigned as the queen of cool in high school, but she left that world behind until now. She's come back, queen no more. Now she's older, wiser, and humbled but still proud. Though down on her luck, she's not out. It feels that way, though, when her only hope of a job comes from Colin Byrne, her one time English teacher, nemesis, and the man who has the most reason for revenge. Having the girl who ruined his career as his maid is too sweet, but if he thinks Sugarbeth is going to be a docile domestic, this Englishman had best think again. Even when forced to serve those who trample her crown, Sugarbeth is still dignified. Colin soon finds his bitterness turning to admiration and something a bit more carnal. Suddenly his research about the sexual habits of Victorian gentlemen becomes slightly more relevant, especially the chapters about servant girls. There is a problem in the plan, Sugarbeth has given her heart before, and does not agree with the poem about it being better to love and lose than not love. It's better to run away before you get hurt is her thought. ................. ***** 'Ain't She Sweet' snaps with sassy humor and quick wit, but has a serious message that is not so subtly spelled out. Sugarbeth is the best heroine since Ms Phillips' Daisy. Her banter with Colin is sharp and fun. You will laugh and cry and wait for the next one. *****

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Sugar Beth grew

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    Sugar Beth grew up in a small town and when she was in her high school years she was both popular and a mean girl.  She is returning but only to get some things from her inheritance and then leave, but she is confronted by people from her past and she has to choose how she is going to respond.  

    Sugar Beth ends up living in the guest house of her childhood home and I loved how one of the people she persecuted ended up living in her childhood home.  The many times that she is hurt by the people in the past, I loved her many reactions.  Eventually the story gets to the love part and I completely loved it.  The relationship didn't start easy and had some speed bumps, but I loved how Colin treated her and didn't completely forgive her of her past at the beginning.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Ain┬┐t She Sweet is a powerful romance story of redemption. While

    Ain’t She Sweet is a powerful romance story of redemption. While most redemption themes are centered around the hero, Phillips, chooses to center around the heroine, Sugar Beth. And like most characters needing redemption, she is one readers most want to hate: a queen bee in high school, daughter of the town’s most powerful man, and a ruthless wielder of social power. During her reign, she terrorized her illegitimate half-sister, Winnie, and falsely accused a teacher (our hero), Colin of sexual harassment. 
    But now she’s back in town, broke and broken. Fifteen years may have faded her looks, but they haven’t faded the townspeople’s memories of her. 
    This story was also interesting because the heroine had already done most of the redeeming before the book started. Even though her third marriage was to a man much older than her, she seemed to genuinely love him and his step-daughter. Her step-daughter has a cognitive disability, lives in a private institution, and is the motivation for Sugar Beth’s prodigal return. She must find money to support her step-daughter’s long term financial needs. Her love for her step-daughter, Delilah, motivates her to suffer the slings and arrows from the town, yet when she finally does find the money (a.k.a the painting) she’s looking for, the resolution seemed rushed to me. I would have enjoyed a scene between her and her step-daughter. There were a few flashback conversations between the two of them that were poignant and touching. 
    I was a little confused about the ending. It seemed rushed to tie up all the loose ends, but left me frayed by a few plot questions. Towards the end of the book, she tells the hero that an ectopic pregnancy has left her sterile, but then she ends up pregnant. Sugar Beth didn’t seem the type of woman to be ignorant of her body and reproduction, so what gives? Also, the original motivation, Delilah, seemed to be forgotten and replaced by Sugar Beth’s new motivation to stay in town: opening up a children’s book store. 

    I loved the redemption story between Winnie and Ryan so much! But their romance stole the spotlight from Sugar Beth/Colin. All the minor characters stole my heart: Gigi and especially the flatulent basset hound, Gordon. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Ok, this is the very first book that I have read by Susan Elizab

    Ok, this is the very first book that I have read by Susan Elizabeth Phillips and I can promise you it will not be the last.  This is a story of anger and past hurt, of finding your inner strength and power, of finding and giving forgiveness, of being comfortable with your choices and finding happiness and love.




    Sugar Beth was AWFUL to her half sister Winnie.  Reading about the way that Winnie was treated might make you want to hate Sugar Beth, but here is the thing, both women had something that the other wanted.  Winnie had the love a father that would not give Sugar Beth the time of day, and Sugar Beth had a inner strength and power that Winnie never thought that she could ever have.  The dynamic between these two and they way that their story finally ended, made me cheer, made me cry and made me glad that I kept reading.




    The romance between Sugar Beth and Colin was so well done.  It was not an instant ~ just add water~ type of romance, it was a slow gradual romance that allowed them to get past the issues and the hurt of the past and come to understand what they did, why they did it.  It gave them the chance to really truly understand themselves and each other.  I love the ebb and flow of their banter.  Their romance made me sigh.




    Now onto the Seawillows.  I did not care much for them.  I understand that they were needed in this story to help us understand the dynamic with Winnie and Sugar Beth, but I think that they were just petty, spiteful, and all out mean at times.  Truly people loose touch with each other when they move away.  I think that there might have been something else that happened with them, but for them to be so cruel just because Sugar Beth turned her back on them and forgot about them seemed a bit much for me.




    Gordon the dog!  Every story should have a Gordon in it.  He added so much comic relief and added a little levity to a story that could have been heavy.




    I would recommend this book to anyone that wants a real good, feel good, empowerment book about love, life and forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Classic southern love story

    Near and dear to my heart as the characters are so familiar and well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Great

    Phillips has a way of getting things just right. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    One of my favorite SEP books

    I had read this book a couple times before and wanted to buy the eBook version. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Wonderful!

    One of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    BEST ROMANCE I HAVE READ IN A LONG TIME!

    Very well written and funny too. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Great read

    One of her best novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Loved it!

    One if my favorite books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Loved it

    After reading Glitter Baby, I was really hoping for a better SEP book and I found it. I loved everything about this story!!! It was sweet, funny, heartbreaking at times, and well written. Just fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7