Customer Reviews for

Airborn

Average Rating 4.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

This is a must read book.

"Airborn" is a great book for young adults who like adventure stories. This book has a little bit of romance and a lot of adventure. I'd say "Airborn" is 5 out of 5. I was sad when I got close to the end of the book because I didn't want it to over, I wanted to keep rea...
"Airborn" is a great book for young adults who like adventure stories. This book has a little bit of romance and a lot of adventure. I'd say "Airborn" is 5 out of 5. I was sad when I got close to the end of the book because I didn't want it to over, I wanted to keep reading. In "Airborn" Matt Cruse, a cabin boy among a passenger airliner meets a girl who is hot on the trail her grandfather set for to see what he saw. "Beautiful creatures". The lady's name is Kate de Vries. Kate and Matt become friends and Matt takes an interest in Kate's creatures and helps her on the quest of finding them.Kate had set up a camera hoping to catch a photograph of the creatures. But something happen in her favor. The crew and passengers are all in distress except for Kate de Vries.

posted by MaddogMR on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Listen to this

Its about a boy who loves sailing a blimp and how he gets mixed up in kate and her graandfathers stories. They land on an island and find the cloud cat that kates grandfather is always blambling about. Then pirates attack, kate and matt kiss, and they rescue the blimp a...
Its about a boy who loves sailing a blimp and how he gets mixed up in kate and her graandfathers stories. They land on an island and find the cloud cat that kates grandfather is always blambling about. Then pirates attack, kate and matt kiss, and they rescue the blimp and passengers. Its an okay read alittle boring. The parts were matt is flyinng with his dead father in his dreams (matts 15) is really weird. And how he freaks out wheen he is on land.... not neccesary. But okay i guess. Not one of oppels best books. Not worth paying for it. Better go to the library!!! : ) hope that helped!!!

posted by Pickledalex on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Captivating

    I was required to read this book when I was in 6th grade, and I surprised myself by enjoying it as much as I did. I am now in 7th grade and need a book to read (if you knew me, you would know thar I am a total bookworm). I decided to reread this captivating book. Kenneth Opel entices the reader with unexpected turns in the plot and beatifully brings the characters to life with real personalities. This is the type of book that will make any good girl a naughy one by making her stay up reading under the covers with a flashligh. My advice; read it over the weekend or just don't get caught.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Marvelous adventure!!

    What an adventure!! And what storytelling. :)

    Kenneth Oppel has a wonderful way with words--it is so easy to lose myself in this book. The imagery is stunning and all the actions and dialogue happen so smoothly and naturally.

    The characters were fresh and marvelous -- who can resist Matt? :3

    All in all, I'm so glad I have finally found my way into this trilogy. It seems like it will be such a fun read. I can't wait to pick up the next one! :D

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    fabulous, imaginative, compelling adventure!

    This was a really really REALLY good book!!! The kind that you enjoy so much that you can't wait to get back to reading it and you think about it when you're not reading it. I was sad to finish it, but luckily, there's two more in the series. I'm now reading the sequel, Skybreaker, and yes, it is even better than Airborn!! Kenneth Oppel makes me wish I could fly on his wonderful airships, and his writing is so good that I can actually see and imagine them in my mind - the best kind of writing.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    There r sequels

    They 2nd book is skylander (i think) and the 3rd is starclimber. This series is fantastic! His style of writing transports you to the one who was born in the skies. :) hope this helps.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    My Favorite Book

    Amazing,hope they make a movie.Kate Is amazing

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Best. Book. Ever.

    Airborn is the most creative book I have ever read! Just the right balance of adventure, mystery, and romance; Airborn and its sequels are sure to enspire hours of daydreaming filled with wonders of the mysterious sky.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    To the writer of "Should I"

    YES YOU SHOULD!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    Awesome

    This book is amazing! I read more then half the book within 3 hours,over the summer.I was so hooked and this book turned me to adventure novels. I recommend this to anyone who has read any type of adventure or is even just getting used to it,because this book will change your reading habits!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Anonymous

    Vivid writing and bold characters make this book a masterpiece. The lovable, realistic protagonist, matt cruse, is a cabin boy on a luxury airship. He was literally 'airborn'(you will understand what i mean when you read it). When he meets passenger kate de vries, a plucky girl determined to set her eyes on the beautiful creatures her dead grandfather wrote about, he gets involved in her quest. The two soon find themselves on a action-packed, swashbuckling adventure.
    Airborn is the first in a trilogy. The second book is Skybreaker and the third Starclimber. This trilogy is an alternate history of the early 1900s, in which matt goes on many adventures in the sky.
    I would recommend this fresh, fascinating read, and the entire series, to lovers of fantasy, action, historical fiction, science fiction, and mystery. As you can see, Oppels incorparates many different genres!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MUST READ FOR ANY TEEN

    After reading the first chapter i was hooked. There was excitment after every turn of the page. You feel like your right there throughout the entire adventure, right along with the action, love, and triumph. I believe this is movie material.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    For Those Who Wish to Taste the Sky

    You know that awesome feeling you get when you stand on the peak of a mountain or on the highest floor of a skyscraper and you can see the land below for miles? That's what you feel when reading this book.

    I came across this book while listening to instrumentals based on flight. The artist claimed the music was based on Airborn by Kenneth Oppel—a soundtrack, if you will, to the book. So, I sought out this book and fell in love with it immediately.

    While the book is action-filled and gets the reader's attention, the mentalities of the main character, Mr. Matt Cruise, and his love, The Wilful Ms. Kate de Vries, are the ideas that really hooked me. The way Oppel decribes Mr. Cruise's love of the sky and Ms. de Vries's curious mind and passion for science is truly beautiful. I relate quite a bit to these characters, given my love for the two subjects, also. Both characters are also hard-working, no matter how disadvantaged they are to society, and their ultimate goal is to attend some form of college. Therefore, this book sends a good message to young readers.

    The settings are also breath-taking. I mean, who wouldn't want to live in the sky, flying over the seas? The descriptions of the foreign lands and desert islands create a surreal feeling—like you are flying, too.

    Overall, this book is beautiful. That's all I can really describe it as. Beautiful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Grest Grest Great book!

    I loved this book. I thought it was written excellently.

    P.S. It is very sad the number one review has the worst spelling I have ever seen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Anonomous

    This book is very good in content and details. Tap yes if my revew was helpful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    This was an awesome book that i really enjoyed :) . I was real

    This was an awesome book that i really enjoyed :) . I was really excited when i found out it was a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Loved it

    I enjoyed it. The syle of writing made me never want to put it down. The love story is one that i couldnt stand. Not in a bad way when she would flirt with other guys i closed my book in the middle of class and was mad the rest of the day i advice you to keep reading the seriers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Airborne

    This is the best book i have ever read worth the 269 pages. I loved the ending and hated it because i didnt want it too end. I hope they make a second book. 1 book down 2 more to go in 3 days till school. : )



    Best book everr!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FTW gl me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    love this alt. history, jules verne type adverture! fantastic!

    love this alt. history, jules verne type adverture! fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Tyler

    *A male bat flies in.* Hello! I saw your post that you needed a mate. Ill be your mate...-tyler-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    This book is epic!

    This is one the best books ive ever read! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Hhss

    Awsome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7