Customer Reviews for

Airborne

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Live To Read

Avery will capture the readers' attention. She is funny, somewhat abrasive, caring, and intelligent. The setting is in Alaska, a very different setting that a reader is not likely to find in many, if any, other books. The setting sets the scene for a pervading sense ...
Avery will capture the readers' attention. She is funny, somewhat abrasive, caring, and intelligent. The setting is in Alaska, a very different setting that a reader is not likely to find in many, if any, other books. The setting sets the scene for a pervading sense of danger, the reader will feel a sense of urgency while reading.



Then there are the harpies. Harpies are creatures, male and female, who are not friendly to humans and are quick to anger. Avery encounters her first harpy, Mason, when she is accosted by him. He demands to know where a special pendant is and threatens her several times. Avery handles it fairly well, considering the situation. The reader will find out that the pendant may actually be part of Avery, making her a prime target for the other Harpies.



The reader will meet many other Harpies much to Avery's chagrin. Each Harpy in the book has a unique quality and/or quirk that will make him/her memorable. Mason, for instance, becomes the potential love interest-a tabboo among his kind. He can be protective, caring, and thoughtful when he isn't flying off the handle at something Avery did or said AGAIN.



This book was very fast-paced, filled with exciting scenes and plenty of action, had a very unusual plot, and provided the reader with the perfect cliff-hanger to make the reader instantly mark "Grounded", the sequel, as a to-read. This book would be terrific for those who enjoy fantasy with a touch of romance and mystery.

posted by Icecream18 on September 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Read.

Avery had no idea what she was getting into on a stroll on a California beach. After she goes back to school, she is forcefully met by a handsome harpie named Mason.

Mason thinks that she has something that other harpies want from her. Hell, he wants if from her. Bu...
Avery had no idea what she was getting into on a stroll on a California beach. After she goes back to school, she is forcefully met by a handsome harpie named Mason.

Mason thinks that she has something that other harpies want from her. Hell, he wants if from her. But in order for him to get it, he has to protect her from the others that are willing to kill her for it.

Neither one of them can fight their attraction to one another no matter how hard it is. However, Mason has a few surprises in store for Avery. Some that she can handle and others that are ready to drive her over the edge.

Avery only has a limited amount of time to give up what they are looking for before it takes over her. Can Mason protect her before it is too late?

Recommended for YA Paranormal lovers.

posted by Regina_Linton on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Live To Read

    Avery will capture the readers' attention. She is funny, somewhat abrasive, caring, and intelligent. The setting is in Alaska, a very different setting that a reader is not likely to find in many, if any, other books. The setting sets the scene for a pervading sense of danger, the reader will feel a sense of urgency while reading.



    Then there are the harpies. Harpies are creatures, male and female, who are not friendly to humans and are quick to anger. Avery encounters her first harpy, Mason, when she is accosted by him. He demands to know where a special pendant is and threatens her several times. Avery handles it fairly well, considering the situation. The reader will find out that the pendant may actually be part of Avery, making her a prime target for the other Harpies.



    The reader will meet many other Harpies much to Avery's chagrin. Each Harpy in the book has a unique quality and/or quirk that will make him/her memorable. Mason, for instance, becomes the potential love interest-a tabboo among his kind. He can be protective, caring, and thoughtful when he isn't flying off the handle at something Avery did or said AGAIN.



    This book was very fast-paced, filled with exciting scenes and plenty of action, had a very unusual plot, and provided the reader with the perfect cliff-hanger to make the reader instantly mark "Grounded", the sequel, as a to-read. This book would be terrific for those who enjoy fantasy with a touch of romance and mystery.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Fast pace, action, romance, harpies, suspense, kick-butt girl heroine, what else could you ask for in one book?


    The overall concept for this book revolves around harpies, which in all my Mythological knowledge, I lacked any understanding of. This turned out to not really matter as my post reading research has turned up with stuff that would have utterly confused me if I had known prior to starting. Let’s just say that Constance Sharper’s version of the harpie world is much better! It was such a creative, distinctly original concept and contributed greatly to my new found love for this series. I will let you know though, that the harpy are the only Mythological concept within this book, there is no venture into other concepts so don’t go into reading thinking you will be immersed in a Mythology setting, cause it’s not.
    I will warn you that Constance Sharper is a self-published author, so editing could use some improvement, but things like that I can look past while reading, because to me, it’s not about grammar and punctuation, it’s about the story. Yes, yes I understand that we are reading works of writing, but when you pick up self-published titles you have to have an equal understanding of forfeiting editing for knock out finds, and this is definitely a knock out!
    Best thing overall ACTION It didn’t stop, there were no lolls in chapters where you are just reading dialog or character thought that drags on. The story keeps going and never lets you sit back in your seat to take a breather. I think part of this stems from excellent character development. To me a huge contributing factor in staying hooked in a book is making sure that each character is fully vested in their initial mannerisms. Now, this doesn’t mean that characters can’t grow as the book and/or series progresses, but it means that you can’t let the character forget their roots; the end of the book needs to reflect characters who may have grown emotionally, but not CHANGE the way they act and talk. Constance Sharper was 100% in line with her characters and never faltered in remembering who they were and how they act. Sharper also managed to do something with the main characters that I have never experienced before. She created a female-lead that meets my high expectations, she created a male-lead-love interest that I never fell for, but still love, and a female-2nd-lead (BF to the lead) that I love to hate – sounds interesting, right? That’s because it is and it is one of the things I fell in love with most with this book.
    Quick overview of characters
    Avery is the type of heroine that I like to read, she’s strong, slightly forward and I just love female leads that aren’t whiney and scared. She’s strong and I definitely fell right in pace with her
    Mason tall, dark, mysterious, slightly aggressive and while most YA authors fight to make you swoon for the male lead, I have to admit, I never fell for Mason. In my mind it worked out well, because it keeps me reading to see the relationship grow and try and understand Avery’s passion. So, maybe it will come, and I will swoon as usual
    Leela well Leela and I have a love hate relationship. I love to hate her. I’m not sure why, I still cannot pin point the exact reason that I have this feeling. And while I love to hate her, I love to read her. Another extremely amazing thing about Constance Sharper’s writing, it is not very frequently that I hate a character, but love to read them. I just think there is something buried under Leela that will come out…I will just have to sit back and wait

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Amazing book about Angels. I absolutely loved Mason's character

    Amazing book about Angels.
    I absolutely loved Mason's character. I liked how he was always moody, but the story then explained his reasons for acting that way. Avery was a wonderful addition to the story. While reading Airborne I kept anticipating the moment when Mason and Avery would kiss each other. Mason's fiancee, Adalyn got on my nerves through out the entire book. At last I am eagerly awaiting to read the sequel to Airborne.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Amazing read

    Such a great, underrated book. The plot was different, not cliche and the romance between Avery and Mason was perfect. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Very enjoyable

    This was an enjoyable and refreshing read. I really liked the story and the interesting harpie mythology the author has weaved into it. It's definitely pretty different from all the usual YA books (and same goes for the romance, even though there's not much). I loved the adventure and action in it, but the romance sort of left me questioning some things between the two main leads (especially the harpie's true feelings for the female protagonist), which I absolutely hope will get cleared up and answered in the second book.

    Overall, this is a light and fun read with a beautiful cover, and I seriously cannot wait to read the next book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Just got done reading the book. Almost read it straight through. Can't wait for the next book to come out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    amazingĀ 

    amazing 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    The best

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2