BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Airel (The Discovering) (The Airel Saga Book 2: Parts 2-4)(for fans of Veronica Roth, Suzanne Collins, Cassandra Clare and James Dashner)

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!!

Ok I have read a lot of fallen angel stories, but....none like this. So where to start?

Well first I just have to say the cover is breathtaking, absolutely amazing! I know that you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover, and all that blah blah blah....but I mean come o...
Ok I have read a lot of fallen angel stories, but....none like this. So where to start?

Well first I just have to say the cover is breathtaking, absolutely amazing! I know that you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover, and all that blah blah blah....but I mean come on!! You have to admit it calls to you. lolz

But whats waiting behind that cover? Well lets continue on shall we?

Airel is just an average highschool girl. Living an average life. Trying to stay out of the limelight of popularity at school. At times feeling ackward, and confused as most teenage girls do. Although I do have to say she is less niave than most girls her age. She knows that falling for a boy, and becoming hopelessly in love will only hurt her in the end. She's smart in that way, and I heart her for it. In the end though, no matter how hard you try, no matter how old you are, love knows no boundaries. Love conqures all. It makes you fall first, and ask questions later. She was supposed to just be a job for Micheal....is it possible Airel isn't the only one who is gonna feel the fall-out from loves wrath? When the battle wages, and loves sinks it's teeth into you, the question is are you willing to die for it?

We must all die, before we can live.....if only we really understood how true that is.

This book takes you through a journey. I love how you not only get the present day story of Airel, but you also get the story behind the story. The flashbacks, and different points of view make this all the more interesting. At first everything seems kinda detached. Like story A, doesn't quite line up with story B, but them BAM all the pieces fall into place, your heart starts to pull from your chest, and the ending....OMG the ending. There is the YA stories of young love, we've all read them. We've all even fallin for them. We've sat on the edge of of seat, white knuckle gripping the book, while the lovers fight side by side. We have cried for them. This book left me to stunned to cry. It went beyond that. What if I told you not only does love have no boundaries, but it was so strong it could cross the enemy line of a war that as been raging since the great fall? Can a love really be the tie that binds the side of GOD with the side of Evil?

Or will mortal enemies remain mortally damaged.....

Nope, nope I've already said to much. Now go run along a grab yourself a copy!

posted by Darkfallen on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing But Upsetting....So BEWARE!

This book was absolutely amazing. It had a perfect combination of teen romance, action, and super natural beings. I loved the story, the details, and of course the characters. The catch is they make you fall in love with this book and of course the next isnt even availa...
This book was absolutely amazing. It had a perfect combination of teen romance, action, and super natural beings. I loved the story, the details, and of course the characters. The catch is they make you fall in love with this book and of course the next isnt even available!! That really made me mad because my local library didnt even have it! The only way to get it is order it online from amazon and pay $15!! I love this book but beware finishing the series will not be easy.

posted by 6856620 on December 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Great Read!!

    Ok I have read a lot of fallen angel stories, but....none like this. So where to start?

    Well first I just have to say the cover is breathtaking, absolutely amazing! I know that you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover, and all that blah blah blah....but I mean come on!! You have to admit it calls to you. lolz

    But whats waiting behind that cover? Well lets continue on shall we?

    Airel is just an average highschool girl. Living an average life. Trying to stay out of the limelight of popularity at school. At times feeling ackward, and confused as most teenage girls do. Although I do have to say she is less niave than most girls her age. She knows that falling for a boy, and becoming hopelessly in love will only hurt her in the end. She's smart in that way, and I heart her for it. In the end though, no matter how hard you try, no matter how old you are, love knows no boundaries. Love conqures all. It makes you fall first, and ask questions later. She was supposed to just be a job for Micheal....is it possible Airel isn't the only one who is gonna feel the fall-out from loves wrath? When the battle wages, and loves sinks it's teeth into you, the question is are you willing to die for it?

    We must all die, before we can live.....if only we really understood how true that is.

    This book takes you through a journey. I love how you not only get the present day story of Airel, but you also get the story behind the story. The flashbacks, and different points of view make this all the more interesting. At first everything seems kinda detached. Like story A, doesn't quite line up with story B, but them BAM all the pieces fall into place, your heart starts to pull from your chest, and the ending....OMG the ending. There is the YA stories of young love, we've all read them. We've all even fallin for them. We've sat on the edge of of seat, white knuckle gripping the book, while the lovers fight side by side. We have cried for them. This book left me to stunned to cry. It went beyond that. What if I told you not only does love have no boundaries, but it was so strong it could cross the enemy line of a war that as been raging since the great fall? Can a love really be the tie that binds the side of GOD with the side of Evil?

    Or will mortal enemies remain mortally damaged.....

    Nope, nope I've already said to much. Now go run along a grab yourself a copy!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Stunning ending... still hitting me days later

    Airel weaves together two stories that at first seem completely unrelated. One story is told from the first person point of view of the title character, a modern-day teenager. The other, written in a style more reminiscent of epic fantasy than typical current YA novels, describes a mythological world. The juxtaposition feels somewhat bewildering for much of Part 1, but your patience is rewarded as the book progresses and the two stories begin to converge. Many chapters, especially in Parts 3 and 4, are really beautifully written. This book builds slowly at first, but gains such momentum that the final pages are gripping, and the ending is truly stunning. It was still hitting me days after I finished reading it. [Note about my rating: I reserve 5 stars for books that have 5-star quality in all these ways: originality, writing style, execution, and impact (what can I say, my standards are high). The authors of AIREL nailed at least a couple of those, which is more than I can say for any other YA book I've read in the past couple of years, with the exception of The Hunger Games.]

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Amazing But Upsetting....So BEWARE!

    This book was absolutely amazing. It had a perfect combination of teen romance, action, and super natural beings. I loved the story, the details, and of course the characters. The catch is they make you fall in love with this book and of course the next isnt even available!! That really made me mad because my local library didnt even have it! The only way to get it is order it online from amazon and pay $15!! I love this book but beware finishing the series will not be easy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lack of originality Brought to you by OBS reviewer Annabell As

    Lack of originality

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Annabell

    As an avid lover of things angel related, I very my much looked forward to reading Airel. I had been drawn by both the description of the book and the lovely cover. But sadly, the statement, “don’t judge a book by its cover” could not be any truer.

    It’s very difficult to point out anything I liked about the novel. One of the only aspects I partially enjoyed reading was the story behind Kreios. His story was better developed than Airel and was better plotted but even Kreios’s tale was weak.

    Airel’s story is told from the perspective of Airel. She is in high school and has a pretty humdrum life-that is until one day a new boy comes to town and Airel falls for him from the moment he deems her worthy enough to breathe on her. Michael is the typical stud jock, who can do no wrong and is constantly stalked by a swarm of lust filled girls but the only one he has eyes for is Airel.

    The biggest problem with Airel–and there were quite a few—was the lack of originality in the both the plot and the characters. I completely understand the fact that there is only so much an author can do with plots but there’s a difference between using a basic plot line as a platform for your own plot and using a basic plot as the sole bases of your story. Airel offered nothing noteworthy or refreshing to a tale that has been told countless times before: girl is bored with her life and dreams of excitement—new boy comes to town and offers her exactly what she wants—girl falls for boy the moment they meet and doesn’t bother asking any important questions—girl suddenly learns she has gifts she never knew about—boy turns out to have big dark secret but has a change of heart because of how he feels for the girl. Underneath that should have been thrown in the voice of the author, or in this case, authors, but there seemed to be no real stand out element to the story.

    The characterization was far too generic and plagued with clichés I could hardly muster up the strength to continue reading. The only character I felt a connection with was Kreios. His story was told with heartfelt moments and a sense of intrigue but his story suffered as well because it was constantly dragged out and could only evoke lack luster suspense. Airel, the main character and the so called heroine, was the second worse character of the book. Michael takes first place. Where Airel’s character was written as a vapid and angst ridden teenage girl who complained far too more than doing anything worthy enough to cast her in the light of heroism, Michael had no actual personality. At least Airel was snippy and moody but Michael was just plain boring! I would have accepted him acting as a typical jerk of a jock, at least then he would have had a semblance of a personality, but the whole mysterious bad boy went way too far because I literally can’t remember anything about his character.

    The plot was barely developed. The scenes just dragged on and on. I skipped whole chapters and there was still the same scene happening. The narration and dialogue made getting through the book extremely difficult.

    I can appreciate and respect the hard work the authors invested into their novel. It’s darn hard to put so much work into something and release it out to the world to be judged. But with that said, they could have used a better editor (if in fact they even hired one). The intermingled story with Kreios should have been its own book because that’s really the only part of the book that worked.

    If you decide to give Airel a try, please do so with much caution and no expectations. The book has potential but in my very humble opinion, Airel’s story can use a touch from a skillful editor to give her world the punch that it needs to be great.

    I wish these authors the best of luck in the future with the next upcoming books in Airel’s tale.

    For the full review and more~ openbooksociety dot com

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Loved this book! Could not put it down. Can't wait to read Micha

    Loved this book! Could not put it down. Can't wait to read Michael!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Anonymous

    She leaves her heart empty for him
    She has stories written in her heart she'll never explain.
    She has scars on her body she'll never show.
    She has secrets locked awaythat she'll never reveal.
    She has a past she never wanted to have.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    I loved this book especially the way they would go back and fort

    I loved this book especially the way they would go back and forth between times. Once I started reading it I could not put it down until I was done.

    I can not wait for part 2 to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    This book was AWESOME!!! I can't get enough of the entire thing.

    This book was AWESOME!!! I can't get enough of the entire thing. I felt everything the characters were going through and I cried like a baby on the dramtic emotional parts. The movie was playing throughout my mind as I read this. I hope they make this book into a movie and dont screw with the story line. Epic book. Great writer. Look foward to more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2014

    I did enjoy this book. As far as the technical aspects of this

    I did enjoy this book. As far as the technical aspects of this story go, there were very little errors (a couple of punctuation things here and there, but nothing that would detract from the story) and there were a few times throughout that the story would change from third person to first person and then back again with the next chapter. That itself can be a little irritating, but it’s still the same story; we just get “I” instead of “she”.

    Throughout the book we are actually following two storylines. That of Airel and that of Kreios. Airel is a 17-year-old high school student who says she wants to be “normal” but really it seems that she is bucking the system to be an individual. I honestly wasn’t able to get a strong grasp on her character. She wasn’t poorly written and, truthfully, teenagers themselves are hard to understand. So having a teenage character that really doesn’t fit into one mold isn’t too far-fetched. There were times when I felt she was witty and truly an individual and then there were times where she came across ditzy and unaware of things. As for her immediate obsession with Michael, I am hoping that as the series continues we will understand why it is she is so strongly drawn to him. To me it seemed there was something more lurking along the edges of this story that we just weren’t being told.




    Kreios is a fallen angel. He gave up everything to be with the mortal woman that he fell in love with. That carefully crafted life is shattered when his wife dies in child-birth. The story we follow is him trying to get his daughter to the safety of a hidden city. There is The Brotherhood (they are demons who I am going to guess hunt fallen angels – we aren’t given a lot to go on). Now, based on the information given I know that the stories of Kreios and Airel are intertwined and after reading this book you can safely guess how it is they are intertwined, but the story doesn’t tell you outright.

    Personally my favorite character was Kim. She reminded me of so many friends I had in high school. She’s bubbly, over-enthusiastic, probably couldn’t keep a secret to save her life, and but she is probably the most loyal friend you will ever have.

    I think this was a good beginning to the series. Not fantastic, but definitely not horrible. I felt like a lot of time was spent on things that weren’t important and less time was spent on things that were vitally important. Perhaps this was just a teaser. The authors give you just enough information to make you want more. There’s a fine line to be walked there though. If you don’t give the reader enough information they are going to be frustrated and just give up on the whole idea. In my opinion we could have been given just a little more. But, I will be checking out the rest of the books in this series, but the amount of information I was given was just enough to make me curious.

    I hope that the link between Airel and Kreios is fully revealed and connected at some point soon. Why is she so drawn to Michael? Is there more to him than meets the eye?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent book

    An excellent book Contemporary, Fallen Angels, Young Adult


    Boise, Idaho


    Airel is a 17-year-old that just wants to be normal. Living in the small city of Boise she seems like just any other average teenager. But soon those days are gone as she undergoes a change so drastic that she has to wonder if she didn’t just imagine it happening. Airel soon has to learn to fight for her life as she is being pursued by an ancient enemy. An enemy that will pursue her relentlessly in the deepest darkness. Simply because of her lineage and who she is. Now she will never have what she wanted most of all to be normal.


    This book starts the series off with a bang. The suspense builds throughout the story and draws the reader in until they have to keep reading just to see what is actually happening and why it is happening. As this story doesn’t give all the answers it will have readers wanting to read the next book just to see what happens next. With every piece that is revealed it leads to more questions that make for a book that is a page turner. The characters are very interesting and complex. The story is almost two stories in one as it also gives the story of what has happened in the past while telling the story that is happening in the current time. The two periods are woven together seamlessly so that the reader is never at a lost as to what is happening. If the other books continue like the first this is going to be an explosive series. It does leave a cliffhanger at the end that hopefully picks up in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Uggh

    Did not like it at all

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Airel

    Omg! This is an amazing book it made me cry at the end! Soo anyone know when the second book comes out? :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Re: horendous

    You only dont like it because you havent red the first one yet.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Airel is one of the batter angel and human romance novel!

    Airel is one of the better angel and human romance novels out on book shaves in store. I would say must read for angel and human love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

     HORRENDOUS!!: I don't usually write reviews, but I wanted to sa

     HORRENDOUS!!: I don't usually write reviews, but I wanted to save other readers time.... This book was AWFUL! Probably THE WORST book I have ever read!! Reading the Odyssey without the Cliff Notes was a more pleasurable experience.  At least it is a story of substance! This faux book was just a mess. I feel cheated, I kept on reading hoping and praying that an 800 page e-book would give me SOMETHING, but here I am, page 799, empty... Please if you love any contemporary works, whether regular or paranormal, ex: Twilight, Fifty Shades, Immortal Instruments, Beautiful Disaster, Hush Hush, etc... Don't waste your time with this one, contrary to some reviews, this book could be compared to a B, no C movie at best, lots of fluff, no interesting plot, no real development of the core relationship, omission of important details pertaining to the core of the story!. Even as a paranormal it's still way too unbelievable! I found myself saying "come on, seriously?" more than a handful of times. I don't even want to put details about the book or spoiler alerts because it's not even worth the time. If I could give zero stars I would. Trust me on this one people, do not waste your time.... I wish I could find the words to slam this book further but I need to jump into a book that is actually good before I lose my mind! Goodnight and Goodbye to this series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Amazing!!

    As a parent, I must read the books before my children and I can honestly say that this saga is amazing!!! I might actually be a bigger fan than my children ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Wish you could get the rest of the series

    This book was amazing not an easy read but could not put it down. Only to discover i can not get the second book Michael because it is exclusive to kindle! Extremely disappointed and really wish i would of known this before purchasing a book like this. I fell in love and then had it destroyed because i cant get it on nook!
    #extremelydisappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Wow

    The main reason i got this book is, its my daughters name.(the book is spelled different). This is one of the best books i have read in along time. I am looking for the next book and can not find it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was a great start to a new series. I was engaged from the

    This was a great start to a new series. I was engaged from the
    beginning of the story and even in the flashbacks to learn about the
    family history I didnt get lost or confused or bored. The story is well
    written with good characters and a complex but ease to follow and
    understand history. You have two stories within the book. That of
    Airel and Michael in present day and that of Kreios an ancient warrior
    back thousands of years in the past. Learning about these characters
    and how the two story lines come together is an engrossing read that I
    didnt want to put down. While the book is technically classified as
    YA, it can easily be read and enjoyed by readers of all ages and I am
    looking forward to the sequel Michael to come out to find out what
    happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Uuugggghh

    I have never in my life have not been able to finish a book u till now. The main girl skips around to much, she is thinking about one thing then out of no where talking about another thing. The girl is sooo in love with a guy she has had only talked to like once even when you get half way threw the book. This book just bothers me. I am half way and nothing has really happend .... if you eant a good book to read about angles read hush hush its amazing .... dont read this book just hecause the cover looks prettty!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4