Customer Reviews for

Airframe

Average Rating 4
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Airframe; 'Riveting' Tale, another hit for Michael Crichton

Michael Crichton has yert produced antoher great book, yet not of his best. The plot is great and okay to follow, but isn't the techno-thriller sci-fi you would expect. FFor someone looking for techincal excitment this is a great buy. For those looking for a page-turner...
Michael Crichton has yert produced antoher great book, yet not of his best. The plot is great and okay to follow, but isn't the techno-thriller sci-fi you would expect. FFor someone looking for techincal excitment this is a great buy. For those looking for a page-turner and captavating thriller, not so much.

posted by petersnoopy on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not One of His Better Books

I was looking for a book to read that held me from start to finish. A book that makes you want to forget about going to bed until you read the last word on the last page. This book didn't hold my interest. I found it dull and hard to continue reading. This story could h...
I was looking for a book to read that held me from start to finish. A book that makes you want to forget about going to bed until you read the last word on the last page. This book didn't hold my interest. I found it dull and hard to continue reading. This story could have been told in less than 150 pages. I'm not sure if I'll buy another Crichton book again.

posted by Capt_TomUp on March 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Airframe; 'Riveting' Tale, another hit for Michael Crichton

    Michael Crichton has yert produced antoher great book, yet not of his best. The plot is great and okay to follow, but isn't the techno-thriller sci-fi you would expect. FFor someone looking for techincal excitment this is a great buy. For those looking for a page-turner and captavating thriller, not so much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    Crackling and well-sustained suspense

    When a Norton wide-body jet experiences an in-flight emergency that kills three people and injures many more, the manufacturer's Incident Review Team gears up for action. Casey Singleton, a recently promoted business unit manager who's the Quality Assurance representative on that team, knows almost immediately that it wasn't turbulence. The press, though, accepts that explanation as offered by the plane's flight crew. After all, what makes for a more dramatic story than a greedy corporation's attempted coverup of its unsafe aircraft? Casey knows that this is a dangerous time for Norton managers to be poking around the production areas. With a major sale of the company's airframes to an overseas market pending, a labor dispute reaching the boiling point, and a mysterious conflict going on at the topmost management level, anything can happen. But the divorced mother who started her own career with Norton on the production line believes she can keep herself safe - and even if she can't, she's still going to find out what really happened on that flight. AIRFRAME has its slow passages, but it also offers crackling and well-sustained suspense. Its characters are well drawn, and its resolution manages to be surprising, logical, and poignant - all at the same time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not One of His Better Books

    I was looking for a book to read that held me from start to finish. A book that makes you want to forget about going to bed until you read the last word on the last page. This book didn't hold my interest. I found it dull and hard to continue reading. This story could have been told in less than 150 pages. I'm not sure if I'll buy another Crichton book again.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Deep and Interesting

    The book of Airframe is one of Michael Crichtons best novels that I have read. The story is very interesting and if you like mystery novels this is one of them. It will pull you in. You do not find out what the cause of the accident is untill the end. A great book. I hope you enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Amazing book

    Awesome book to read that keeps you coming back for more and also reveals the true nature of the airline industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    What happens at end?

    Why did plane almost crash?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    One of my favorite books!

    One of my favorite books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Thrilling

    A very exciting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Good book

    This book is a good book except for the language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    I love almost every Michael Crichton novel I've ever read. It is

    I love almost every Michael Crichton novel I've ever read. It is my kind of fiction. The reason this one gets four stars instead of five is the lack of a real "story" in an abstract sense. This read more like a case study of an in-flight incident. This book did redeem itself in the end. I would still recommend this book to anyone who likes Crichton's style, but it may take you longer to read. There is plenty of detail, but it is not very exciting. The ending is perfect and plausible, but if you're looking for an edge-of-your-seat Prey/Jurassic Park, try one of his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Fascinating

    He does it again. I read this in two weeks.
    I was very skeptical about this at first, because it obviously sounded more technical than action, and which it was very technical, however, it was so good that I would most definitely recommend this book to, and we'll anyone who likes a good Michael Crichton book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Boring.

    Nothing much happened, just a lot of talking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    one of the best crichtons ever

    not as good as timeline (best book ever) but still more than five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Read on a coast to coast flight

    I enjoyed the engineering aspects of this. The mystery ending was plausible. Reading it at 30k feet added a dimension of excitement for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Fabulous!

    It was a very well-written book, with a plot that is intriging and that questions many aspects of society. Very good right up to the dramatic end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    A fascinating plot idea but delivered awkwardly and without originality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Awesome!!!!

    This book is an intriguing page turner, it will keep you guessing until the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Ugh!!

    Couldn't finish it. Too wordy, or scientific.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    AIRFRAME

    AIRFRAME is an easy read and enjoyable, the theme behind the story is easy to follow and discover what happens.
    The book doesn't take long to read.
    It is easier to read than most Crichton books, in the sense that it is not scientific and therefore more understandable.
    The book follows what goes on inside of making an airplane, I didn't know that some parts of the plane where guaranteed by other sources (such as the engines)
    There are a lot of components in the airplane frame that are inspected by other departments and you get a different appreciation of what it takes to manufacture and to discover problems.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Fascinating study of how planes are built and the whys and wherefors.....

    I can't believe that I just read Airframe and a Continental flying from Rio to Houston has to land in Miami due to extreme turbulence and passenger injuries. I am waiting for the news services to tell me about the flaps!!!! Thanks for a great, informative, and interesting read, JeanTC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9