Customer Reviews for

Airframe

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Airframe; 'Riveting' Tale, another hit for Michael Crichton

Michael Crichton has yert produced antoher great book, yet not of his best. The plot is great and okay to follow, but isn't the techno-thriller sci-fi you would expect. FFor someone looking for techincal excitment this is a great buy. For those looking for a page-turner...
Michael Crichton has yert produced antoher great book, yet not of his best. The plot is great and okay to follow, but isn't the techno-thriller sci-fi you would expect. FFor someone looking for techincal excitment this is a great buy. For those looking for a page-turner and captavating thriller, not so much.

posted by petersnoopy on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not One of His Better Books

I was looking for a book to read that held me from start to finish. A book that makes you want to forget about going to bed until you read the last word on the last page. This book didn't hold my interest. I found it dull and hard to continue reading. This story could h...
I was looking for a book to read that held me from start to finish. A book that makes you want to forget about going to bed until you read the last word on the last page. This book didn't hold my interest. I found it dull and hard to continue reading. This story could have been told in less than 150 pages. I'm not sure if I'll buy another Crichton book again.

posted by Capt_TomUp on March 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    The plane of death?

    Three passengers dead and fifty injured. Norton Aircraft has a problem on their hands. When a norton aircraft pilot reports a so called turbulence, Norton's future is put in jeopardy. If the china sale doesn't go through because of this incident, Norton aircraft is history. The company leaves the investigation in the hands of main character, Casey Singleton. Michael Crichton leads you through and exciting, fulfilling adventure as Casey gets to the bottom of the investigation in his book Airframe. <BR/><BR/> The story takes place in Los Angeles, California, where the plane made its emergency landing. Once the plane lands, Norton takes it in for investigation. Immediately there is frantic checking of circuits and breakers. Everyone knows that there jobs are at risk if they don't figure it out soon. Casey gathers the others inputs and goes on to interview injured passengers. After getting the same reports of what sounds like an accidental slats deployment, Casey is worried it was the planes error. There would be no way of telling what happened until technicians could re-simulate the flight.<BR/><BR/> When a counterfeit part is discovered in the slats, things get interesting. Casey has Norton members search for other counterfeited parts. Meanwhile, a reporter at CNN hears of the incident and tries to discredit Casey. Does Casey prove that it wasn't norton's fault and save the China deal? Crichton keeps you interested during the whole book and leaves you wondering until the very end. <BR/> <BR/> I recommend this book to adventure readers and Michael Crichton fans. Airframe does a great job of leading you through a twisting and turning investigation that keeps you guessing until the very end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    Impossible To Put Down

    Was a great book. Very Suspensful and hard to figure out....kept you guessing until the very end, a real page turner. Allow yourself time to read this book, as once you start you won't want to stop. Gives you a great insight to the behind the scenes in an industry we all rely on to get from here to there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Wait, shouldn't this be non-fiction?

    You know, I always say that Crichton writes his books like essays. You're actually probably sick of hearing me say it. Just like I constantly talk about Stephen King being a master of the craft. But boy if this isn't the epitome of that statement. I literally put the book down a couple of times and considered researching it to see if it had actually happened. I didn't know where to look though. It's not a bad story at all. In fact, just the opposite. I just had trouble believing it was fiction. I guess that's a writer's wet dream though. I also always say make the fiction believable by whatever means necessary. If that means creating a science to support it, so be it. But don't just throw a story on me expecting me to believe its plausibility. I accept that we have to embrace the fiction as if it were true. But don't feed me hogwash like magic carpets or fairies. There's no science that can support that crap. A hoverboard or a speeder bike? Yeah. Tell me it has a gyro-kinetic anti-gravity magnet and get on with the story. I'm a believer! This story doesn't involve enough fictional-sounding pseudo-science to make me believe it's not real. It's the exact opposite scenario than trying to talk someone into believing it could really happen. I'm quite sure the story played by the characters in this book has happened many, many times. He's only told it with different characters. A plane almost crashes. Some people are injured. There may have been a death in there too. But the plane didn't actually crash. So there's an investigation into why it happened. Is that hard to believe? Yeah, I didn't think so either. Just wait 'til you find out why it almost crashed. It's about the most believable plot you've ever imagined. Very well done on this one, Michael. Because despite the fact that it's all almost too true to believe, it's not boring, and it doesn't suffer action or energy at all. Ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    AWESOME

    You can't give this book a bad review. I loved it when I read it in 2 days. It makes me want more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    A big surpriser

    I love Michael Crichton books because they have interesting concepts behind them and also go at a very fast pace. Initially, I thought Airframe would be an exception to this since reviewers described it only as plane crash investigation. However, it was surprisingly good considering there was not very much science involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    i wouldnt reccomend this

    Ok. I didn't mind reading the book even though it took me like 2 months to get into it. Reading it was fine but now i have to write a report for school. The book itself was alright but I don't think they realize how much there is to write and how hard this is. I would much rather be sleeping on the beach than reading and writing about Airframe. Basically it ruined my summer.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    Good, but not up to his standards

    I read Michael Crichton's PREY this summer and thought it was great, and then I read AIRFRAME and thought it was pretty good too. But then I had to write about it for school and I've decided that it was an okay read, but there is nothing really to write about it an airplane crashed. they try to figure out why. there are over exaggerated turns, and then they figure it out. It's rather slow compared to other novels he's written. Although AIRFRAME is better compared to a documentary then a novel. It was interesting to read for the knowledge and facts, but a bore if you're in it for the suspense. I would reccomend it if you are an airplanebuf, but certainly not if you have to write about it for a report.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    A book that kept me interested enough to finish

    To me this book was a mixed bag. Air Frame is about a woman (Casey Singleton) who is sent to investigate a near crash of an air plane for the company that she works for. The thing about that is the fact that the way the plane crashed made no sense. When the crew looks at the nearly destroyed plane, they're suprised to see that no evidence points to why the plane crashed why it did. Add that with the fact that the flight crew was acting very weird and the media is getting all over it and it turns out being a very good book, but this book wasnt perfect. There are a few points that werent very entertaining to read, but it never takes too long for something to happen and pick up the suspense of the book. For me, what turned out to be what i thought was a boring read at first, in the end turned out to be a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    If your lookind for an action packed book, this ist the one for you

    This book takes allot of patience to read.When you think that something exiting is about to happen, you are up for a dissapointment. If you are looking for a book you can pick up and read once a month, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    In My Opinion Crichton┬┐s Best

    I just finished rereading this novel and, even though I knew the ending, it was as good or better the second time around. The story deals with a female executive named Casey Singleton who works at an airframe manufacturer in Los Angeles. Think Hughes Aircraft or Boeing. She¿s in Quality Assurance and is assigned to a team of engineers who have to determine what caused an incident that killed three and injured fifty on one of the company¿s planes. To make matters tense, the incident happened on a Chinese airline and if it is shown in the wrong light it could kill the company¿s multibillion dollar deal with the Chinese. One of the major networks is also planning an expose on the plane after footage of the incident is shown on CNN. Casey is assigned the task of dealing with the media. The novel was written in Crichton¿s prime, shortly after he peaked with Jurassic Park and a few years before he started writing real stinkers like Timeline and Prey. The thing I like best about his writing is how he can take complicated topics like aeronautics or network news production and make them understandable with an economy of words. I particularly liked his interpretation of prime time news programming and found his characterizations of engineers to be right on the mark. This rank up there with A Cases of Need and Disclosure as Crichton¿s best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    GOOD

    awesome book and you could feel the emotion. The atc was not realistic at the end but still it is a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Gripping eye-opening book

    This is a gripping, eye-opening book, with great research into the aircraft industry and a timely warning about the power of the media to destroy honest, productive businesses. It reminded me of Ayn Rand's 'Atlas Shrugged', although the plot is completely different. In the story, Casey Singleton, Vice President for Quality Assurance at Norton Aircraft, is under pressure to get to the bottom of an accident in mid-flight with one of the company's aircraft, its important N-22, a wide body passenger jet. The accident has killed three and injured many passengers, and is unexplained. The aircraft manufacturing company is under severe media pressure, because it looks like the accident was caused by a problem with the wing slats that has happened many times previously, and the sensation-seeking media is about to trash the plane as a deathtrap. As a result, a large N-22 order from China is at risk, and the survivability of the company is in jeopardy too. There are also subplots involving factions within the company. All in all, it adds up to a superb, riveting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    A little confusing

    Airframe was a really good book, but it got a little to technical at times. I loved the end. If you can sit through the rest, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    The Impatient Beware - Crichton leaves Sci-Fi

    Airframe is one of the best books I have ever read. While it is truly different from his normal Sci-Fi novels, its use of airplane tech and reporters makes it unique. For those who did not understand its technical information, read it again. I read it and understood everything the first time. You don't need to become an expert; you just need to understand the importance of the information to the rest of the book. Read it, enjoy it. And quite your sad display of inadequacy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Airframe is great!

    I read it in about 4 days, a page turner that I couldn¿t put down. If you like aviation this is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    Too Technical

    michael crichton is an excellent writer, but i really didn't like this book. crichton does a lot of research so his books have depth, which is normally a good thing, but airframe was way too technical. normal people have a hard time following all the flight lingo and the plot was kind of stupid. there is all this research being done on faulty parts, counterfeit parts, and they throw in some random plane crash, but it turns out to be human error. this book was boring and not one of crichton's best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    Learning and excitement in one book!

    In almost every book of Crichton's, not just this one, do you learn about the subject he's talking about. I learned about airplanes and how they work and few books I know can do that. Even if you aren't interested in the first place, you will be afterwards. I highly recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    One Sitting?

    I started reading Crichton over the summer with The Andromeda Strain, and I have continued to read his sci-fi since. I am in the middle of reading Timeline, which is now a major motion picture. This is a good book, but it's not the greatest one I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    A book of 'High Flying Suspense'

    'WARNING TO ALL READERS WHO MAY BE READING THIS BOOK IN AN AIRPLANE... BEWARE!' This is a book that will have you contemplating flying on an airplane to your next bussness meeting. Is anything else needed to say?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    You need to read this!

    I enjoy reading M. Crichton, adn when I saw this one, I had to get it. I loved the book, but, it just got boring sometimes, and it took a while for a lot to happen. If he had just put more into what actually happened and had more of a story instead of a textbook, it would've been better. Anyone who likes airplanes, you must read this one, you'll really like it. I also liked how he told about the media. My favorite part of the book was near the end when he introdueced Jennifer. That was my favorite part of the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9