Customer Reviews for

Airman

Average Rating 4.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Yearning to Read Review

Eoin Colfer is the renowned author of several novels for young readers, including the Artemis Fowl series. While I've never read any of his other books, his newest novel, Airman, stood out to me when I walked passed it in Barnes and Noble three months ago. The cover, wi...
Eoin Colfer is the renowned author of several novels for young readers, including the Artemis Fowl series. While I've never read any of his other books, his newest novel, Airman, stood out to me when I walked passed it in Barnes and Noble three months ago. The cover, with its daring, winged man, caught my eye. Just reading the back was fascinating, and I was convinced I would read it soon.

I requested Airman at the library and started it the day it came in. Within a few pages, I was hooked. This is one of those stories that is crafted either horribly or excellently - and from the beginning I was convinced it was the latter. It starts with the beginning of Conor Broekhart's life - his amazing birth in a hot-air balloon. From then on, he is respected and beloved by all around him. He lives a perfect life on Great Saltee, one of the two Saltee islands just off the southeastern coast of Ireland. After saving the life of the Saltee Island's princess and the throne's only heir, he is given professional training. His mentor is Frenchman Victor Vigny, a master of the physical arts, such as karate, as well as swordplay. Victor is also very learned in aeronautics. He and Conor both wish more than anything to build a machine that would allow man to fly.

However, they are never given the chance to live out this dream. Through a sudden turn of events, Conor's world, as well as that of his family's and the royal family's, is thrown into mayhem, danger, and bitter loss. Through the story, Colfer weaves an amazing change in Conor as his life changes. We see him grow from baby to man, all in 400 pages.

If I could describe this book in one word, it would be emotional. In the best of all ways. I felt a number of emotions: anger, frustration, love, heartache, and amazement. I was inspired by Conor's story. I loved (and hated) the characters. I wanted to fly.

This is a very culturized book. While none of the events in the book ever happened, and King Nicholas Trudeau of the Saltee Islands never actually lived, it feels so real that I completely believed in everything Colfer wrote about. However, after doing research, I discovered that Great Saltee and Little Saltee were privately owned by man named Michael Neale. After his death his son, Prince Michael Neale the Second took his place.

Colfer's writing stood out to me as well. His sentences were well-formed and his word choices were beautiful. I look forward to reading more of Colfer's work, and to continue to be inspired by his fascinating writing and characters.

posted by yearningtoread on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An okay read

I feel like this story had way more potential than it actually achieved. For the most part, I enjoyed it, but it was definitely lacking. Especially in the writing. Colfer really likes to tell the emotions and backstory immediately after meeting a character, and he sh...
I feel like this story had way more potential than it actually achieved. For the most part, I enjoyed it, but it was definitely lacking. Especially in the writing. Colfer really likes to tell the emotions and backstory immediately after meeting a character, and he shoves characterization down the readers' throats instead of letting them experience the changes and the characters themselves. When a character hesitated, he would explain the hesitation by plunging into backstory and then justifying the character's decision and it all really isn't needed. Also, adverbs littered the pages and became very distracting.

But the STORY was very nice, even though character relationships were rushed and motives were muddy and just told to the readers. It's an okay read overall, if cumbersome.

posted by PlumPudding on December 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was really entertaining from start to finish. I have never read a book from this time period, so it was a new experience for me and my book group. Conor's story is very exciting and leaves all readers wishing they could fly. I highly recommend this book for anyone that likes adventure, suspense, and a little bit of science. Colfer's plot keeps you on the edge of your seat, waiting for the next page.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Yearning to Read Review

    Eoin Colfer is the renowned author of several novels for young readers, including the Artemis Fowl series. While I've never read any of his other books, his newest novel, Airman, stood out to me when I walked passed it in Barnes and Noble three months ago. The cover, with its daring, winged man, caught my eye. Just reading the back was fascinating, and I was convinced I would read it soon.

    I requested Airman at the library and started it the day it came in. Within a few pages, I was hooked. This is one of those stories that is crafted either horribly or excellently - and from the beginning I was convinced it was the latter. It starts with the beginning of Conor Broekhart's life - his amazing birth in a hot-air balloon. From then on, he is respected and beloved by all around him. He lives a perfect life on Great Saltee, one of the two Saltee islands just off the southeastern coast of Ireland. After saving the life of the Saltee Island's princess and the throne's only heir, he is given professional training. His mentor is Frenchman Victor Vigny, a master of the physical arts, such as karate, as well as swordplay. Victor is also very learned in aeronautics. He and Conor both wish more than anything to build a machine that would allow man to fly.

    However, they are never given the chance to live out this dream. Through a sudden turn of events, Conor's world, as well as that of his family's and the royal family's, is thrown into mayhem, danger, and bitter loss. Through the story, Colfer weaves an amazing change in Conor as his life changes. We see him grow from baby to man, all in 400 pages.

    If I could describe this book in one word, it would be emotional. In the best of all ways. I felt a number of emotions: anger, frustration, love, heartache, and amazement. I was inspired by Conor's story. I loved (and hated) the characters. I wanted to fly.

    This is a very culturized book. While none of the events in the book ever happened, and King Nicholas Trudeau of the Saltee Islands never actually lived, it feels so real that I completely believed in everything Colfer wrote about. However, after doing research, I discovered that Great Saltee and Little Saltee were privately owned by man named Michael Neale. After his death his son, Prince Michael Neale the Second took his place.

    Colfer's writing stood out to me as well. His sentences were well-formed and his word choices were beautiful. I look forward to reading more of Colfer's work, and to continue to be inspired by his fascinating writing and characters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Awesome.

    A very unique book. Connor is a compelling main character, and the storyline is amazing. Dark, yet not unpleasantly so. And it comes with a satisfying ending to boot. This is one of my favorite books of all time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    The way the wind blows in this book is full of emotional sorrows

    The way the wind blows in this book is full of emotional sorrows and fantastical adventures with a nice romantic seen every once in a while. It’s almost as if the characters may just seep out of the pages and be a part of our world we know it. The book is about a young boy who goes by the name of Connor Broekheart that was the first to ever be born in the air, or more specifically a hot air balloon. He later makes an acquaintance and friend, Isabella, where he lives on a tiny island that is called the Saltee Islands. Isabella and Connor later make-believe many quests being pirates and many other things, but I don’t want to give away anything so you’re just going to have to read it yourself! Overall this book was four and a half stars for the smooth blend of genres adding a great plotline and a wretched villain just makes it better! The only part I don’t like about it is that I can’t visit and look at the amazing castles and towers that they speak of in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Good

    Good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An okay read

    I feel like this story had way more potential than it actually achieved. For the most part, I enjoyed it, but it was definitely lacking. Especially in the writing. Colfer really likes to tell the emotions and backstory immediately after meeting a character, and he shoves characterization down the readers' throats instead of letting them experience the changes and the characters themselves. When a character hesitated, he would explain the hesitation by plunging into backstory and then justifying the character's decision and it all really isn't needed. Also, adverbs littered the pages and became very distracting.

    But the STORY was very nice, even though character relationships were rushed and motives were muddy and just told to the readers. It's an okay read overall, if cumbersome.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Colfer crafts a delightful story, delicately bearing the semblance of a fantasy while retaining the warmth and slight roughness of a nonfiction account.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Amazing story Beautifully written

    Colfer writes anoter amazing novel with twists and adventure on every page The story is clever and very well written One of my favorite boks and authors

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Good

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Sorry

    I did not get it I think. I mean I got it and didn't write back if you know what I mean.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    I listened to this as an audio book and enjoyed the narrator. Th

    I listened to this as an audio book and enjoyed the narrator. This is classified as a kids book and I guess it is... But I like kids book like this especially in audio as the excitement and adventure packed into them remind me of what helped build my love for reading as a youngster.
    As an adult some unfolding events are predictable, but the way they play out is quite enjoyable.
    Young Connor is brave and smart which ends up getting him into trouble. He lands in a slave prison and spends 2 years planning his escape and return to his family and position. His love of flying, (beginning with his birth in a hydrogen balloon) helps him on his way.
    I really liked the story and you can't help but root for Connor and his friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    A Great Read with a Good theme

    From the author of Artemis Fowl comes a classic novel;Set off the Irish coast in a alternate history where the Saltees were lived on,this novel has a frequent theme of visionaries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Conor Broekhart has grown up as the best friend of the princess

    Conor Broekhart has grown up as the best friend of the princess of the Saltee kingdom (an imaginary kingdom off of Ireland). But when he discovers a conspiracy to kill the king, the real traitor captures him and sends him to a prison camp to mine diamonds in obscurity. Conor must use his genius for flight to escape the prison and rescue the princess. Conor is much like a 19th century steampunk Artemis Fowl. Colfer delivers his usual book - fun, delightful, and humorous. Definitely a treat for fans of non-dystopia non-paranormal-romance YA. (YAY! for something different!) I'd say this book is appropriate for 5th - 8th graders. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    To revie#28

    Uhhh its not erin huntrr. Erin huntrr wrote the Warriors series .
    Eion colfer wrote this .. ur reeellllllyyy mixed up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Airman fan

    An exceptional read. I think that anyone looking for action should read this. Also, all Artrmis Fowl fans should definitely try this. Cheers (once again) to Eoin Colfer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Anyoumous

    Is there a sequal to this? Because i read this and i LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Shut up

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    EION COLFER

    HSSVFCEFCRRXEXRZXGNMVIVNJITYHYDCJENFVJFIDOJ FURBJJGTUBGNTGFFTGITGJCNIUCUNJBDSK

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Penis is a dickhead

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7