Customer Reviews for

The Akhenaten Adventure (Children of the Lamp Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wish there was an ebook version like the others, 5 on or somethi

    Wish there was an ebook version like the others, 5 on or something like that, but regardless still a good series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    An amazing book

    Good story that is exciting and humorous. Good for readers of young adult fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Neat idea, but I didn't like its execution

    This was a rather neat idea, but I really didn't like the characters or the dialog much. It all seemed a bit cliche. Sometimes in children's novels the main characters (when children) have almost no personality at all, and it seemed John and Philippa did not really have moods or characteristics unique to them. And the evil characters did not seem driven by a motive or anything. They simply just chose the Bad side. It made them seem not as evil in a way.

    I can see how many young readers would like this, but it really didn't hold my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Please Check Out!

    You will be enchanted from page one! Trust me and pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Adventure of Twin Genie

    What an adventure! John and Phillipa are twins and grow up in a normal family. Their father is a lawyer and their mother a typical mother. The children are normal until one day they get their wisdom teeth and that changes everything for them. Their mother and father are all set to send them to a summer school - when they dream about an uncle they have never met while they are having their wisdom teeth removed. The same dream for both of them during surgery is odd enough, so off they head to England to visit their uncle Nimrod and be trained on how to use their new found power. They have quite an adventure as they travel to London and then on to Egypt. Enjoyable read. Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    Children of the Lamp

    This book, Children of the Lamp by P. B. Kerr, is a fiction book that is filled with a lot of mystery, action, and humor. The book starts off with Hussein (a historical artifacts collector) with his son, Baksheesh, and their dog, Effendi. In which they discovered the last reminding piece (that were found out later the clue to solving the thousands of year mystery). The main characters are of course the twins; both are twelve-year-old twins. John, born ten minutes before, favorite color is black, tall, and isn't afraid to give his opinions. Like when he was playing with the doctor and said "No, sir, I'm not worried at all, as a matter of fact I was kind of hoping it would be Ketamine, it's supposed to be the best for giving the patient a near death experience" Philippa, were smaller, favorite color is pink, and smarter, She also doesn't hesitate to speak what she like to, like when she said " Can we get started, I already missed breakfast, I don't want to miss lunch as well." In the end, both of them are impatient, but their also brave and intelligent. The setting in this story mainly take place at Cairo, its important because, it shows why that place were the place they all could use magic at its best, rather then North Pole. If they were to use a different setting for this, it wouldn't work, because there aren't the right resources. This book is filled with suspense, like the time when they first find out that strange things were happening, such as the hole in John's room wall, how they grew one inch taller under a day, and the missing couple that *wish* to be back in their town really get what they wished for. It's also filled with slowing and fast-forwarding of time, like how they can go into lamps, bottles, etc. They could live inside there for years, but if they put their mind to it, time outside will either move very slow, or very fast. The author used a third point of view in this story, I believe this was the best to use, because we could tell what the characters were thinking, and what they don't know, but we do, also it adds humor to the story. There were, however, things that disappointed me in this story, I believe some parts didn't really need to be put in there. Like how they flew to their uncle house just to be told they were going to go to another location the next day, or how one day, all they did was watch TV and read. Also another thing, the ending weren't too real, the whole book talks about how Akhenaten were all mighty and evil, then they when too fast with the ending and just simply told us how they capture and stop him just like that without further details. Overall I recommend this book to anyone that like fantasies and humorous books, but if you're looking for a more realistic book, this isn't for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book!

    Fun book and flows well by this writer. Good book for a classroom study. Have fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Great book, yeah!!

    Books like this series and Harry Potter and Charlie Bone should be written more often to keep kids reading - and more movies should be made of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    Great Book!

    I cant believe I actually read a big book! It was awesome and its great for all ages and especially for people who love books about magical things. I espeacially recommend it for teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    In the book, The Children of the Lamp, two twins named John and Philippa had their wisdom teeth pulled. When the anesthetics kick in, Uncle Nimrod tells them through a dream that both John and Philippa are Djinn. They travel to England to meet their uncle, and Mr. Rakshasas, but the whole gang heads to Egypt. Iblis, a very evil and cunning djinn, is stirring up trouble. The lost djinn of Akhenaten are one step closer to being found, and Iblis is on their tail. Nimrod begins to teach the twins about and how to use their amazing new powers. After transforming into camels and hiding inside bottles the twins and Nimrod set up a trap to catch Iblis. After a near death experience on John and Philippa¿s part, Nimrod captures Iblis and releases the twins from the bottle Iblis trapped them in. Another problem occurs when after finding the lost djinn, both Nimrod and Akhenaten are trapped-in the same bottle. John and Philippa go to the cold city of Moscow, to slow Akhenaten down. Nimrod escapes alone and the twins head home. I loved this book because of its strange plot and it¿s dialog. Its plot always had a twist and rarely was the same. For, example when John and Philippa were supposed to go to summer camp, suddenly the twins find out it was a summer school. Also when Iblis was captured, I thought all troubles were over, but Akhenaten later proved to be a threat. Secondly, The Children of the Lamp¿s dialog was great. There was lots of humorous parts and was full of sarcasm. The main conflict was not so thrilling to me, yet the books plot and dialog still held it together. It never occurred to me that find 70 djinn would ruin the balance of good and evil. All of the characters were very realistic. Their dialog was fantastic and the twins acted like two kids would act if attacked by a scorpion or transformed into a camel. They got scared or disgusted just when any kid would be. This particular author has a very creative and humorous attitude in their writing. They express their ideas in a creative way. For example, Philippa is a little selfish because when John and Philippa were the youngest people to have their wisdom teeth pulled Philippa took the credit. She explained she was slightly older and was really the youngest. This author doesn¿t use as much of wide vocabulary, but uses words I know. That way I understand parts of the story better. This author isn¿t a very descriptive author and they don¿t spend paragraph after paragraph describing. I can still paint a picture, so that adds to the greatness of this book. Finally I would recommend this book to anyone who likes reading fantasy novels. Also I would recommend this book to people who don¿t like too much description. I would rate is a four out of five because of the slight errors I mentioned. In conclusion I read The Children of the Lamp and I overall thought this was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    A fantastic novel!

    I thought this was a terrific book! I've read it twice, and will continue to read it many times over. The plot, though a little predictable, was wonderful to follow. It's a great book for young and old readers alike!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    Read this book!!!

    I LOVE this book! It's one of my all time fav. books.Read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Couldn't Put it Down!

    As you can see in the first five reviews, nobody have enough to say about this great book... i read it a while ago so you'll have to find out what its about from another review, but it really is such a great book. I can remember how much i loved reading it, i can remember howi never wanted to put it down cuz its kind of suspesful, and i can remember how i was really sad when i was done with it. And even if you dont like the whole genies and magic thing, you should read it anyway cuz theres so much other stuff to the story that makes it great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    A gerat adventure

    John and Phillipa aren't your average twins. John is tall and skiny and Phillipa is short and stocky. Magical things happen to this twins. This book ia great book for people who read fantasy books. the setting is constantly changing making it interesting. It's humerous and suspensful at the same time, which is always keeping you on your toes. This book just makes you want to read it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    super-fantastic!

    i think this book is an adventure-packed journey to egypt and is just amazing! i cant wait to read the sequal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Review

    Ordinarily, books about magic are not what one would call `advanced reading¿, or even surprising. They are also mostly stereotypical: a man/woman/boy/girl finds a lamp, rubs it, and out swoops a genie to grant him/her three wishes. Well, The Akhenaten Adventure was an extraordinary exception. It was tremendous fun to read, but also blew away all of the usual ideas about genies and wishes. Anyone who reads this masterpiece by Philip Kerr will look forward to the next with anticipation. Like The Arabian Nights, this book takes you on an adventure to foreign places, in this case Egypt, and is filled with magical, mystical, incredibly clever, and some very funny moments. John and Phillipa Gaunt are twelve year old twins, with a remarkably beautiful and talented mother, and a very rich but not very handsome father, who live a life of luxury in Manhattan. One day, their wisdom teeth appear simultaneously, and they begin the adventure of a lifetime, thanks to some djinn (like genie) genes, a wise but eccentric old uncle named Nimrod, his one-armed butler, and an agoraphobic ancient djinni who really loves keeping himself bottled up. From New York to London to Egypt and back, the twins' adventures are filled with excitement as they undergo training in the use of their newly discovered magical powers, but are also full of danger, as they battle the evil tribes of djinn to preserve the balance between good and evil in the world. When their explorations finally lead them to unleash the spirit of the evil pharaoh Akhenaten, they have to travel all the way to the North Pole to escape him. Throughout the book, John and Philippa show remarkable gumption and strength, even in the face of fearsome curses and their casters. I wondered at first why they accepted their `djinness¿ so readily. I found that they felt that it was their turn to be special and to stand out. I believe that another reason might be that they have the perfect life. This might make them eager to run pell-mell off to Egypt. This is a wonderful book, and a story, that keeps the reader waiting for more. It is well written and has insights both new and surprising on the topic of genies (or should I say¿ djinn). Even for the doubtful ones, The Akhenaten Adventure is so perfectly filled with facts and knowledge about magical things that you cannot help but want to believe that it all might just be possible. Because even if there is no magic in the world, and least reading about it is an adventure on its own. I was delighted with The Akhenaten Adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    The BEST book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVED this book! I could not put it down for a minute. The best characters are the twins, Nimrod, Creemy, and Groanin'! If you are interested in reading this book, I totally recommend it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    Extroadinary book!

    The Akhenaten Adventure is an extroadinary book that keeps you awake all night wanting to read more. I found myself done with this book in TWO days, when usually it takes me a week or so to finish a hundred page book! I would suggest it for anyone interested in majic and such.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    Children of the Lamp

    A great book for 11-14 year olds. It never gets boring. I would find myself awake past midnight reading this book in my bed. It is a must read book for fantisy lovers. I can't wait to get the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    if you think Arabian nights stories are fun...

    having read all the stories of 1000 and one nights as a child, it being of my heritage, I thought this book had a very nice, fun, and contemproary approach to the 'Alladin' stigma which the Disney channel gave to our children living in the US... I highly recommend this story and hopefully there will be more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3