Customer Reviews for

Al Capone Does My Shirts (Tales from Alcatraz Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 319 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This is the greatest book you could ever read.I don't know why you wouldn't read it. This book was exciting and fun.

posted by Anonymous on May 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Book review by the status seter

Extrenely confusing! But..... if you must, i guess it gits a three, but remember, i am being nice.(ok maybe its a little good)

posted by 16350486 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 325 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is the greatest book you could ever read.I don't know why you wouldn't read it. This book was exciting and fun.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    To should i read it

    Yes you schould. This is a great book! I first read it in 5th grade for the Battle of Books, now I am in 7th grade now. I have now read the second book also. My favorite is still the first!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Great book

    I just read the first few chapters and was hooked!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a really good book.you should read it=]

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Al Capone Does My Shirt by Gennifer Choldenko
    Title of review: A Very Good Book
    Number of stars (1 to 5): four

    Introduction
    A twelve year old boy named Moose Flanagan and his family lived on the island named Alcatraz. Moose is a bit mischief, not only because he lives on Alcatraz, but because he can't play baseball after school with his friends. His mom is making him stay at home and watch his little sister named Natalie. Natalie has autism that is your have to be constantly doing something.

    Description and summary of main points
    Moose met a new girl today at school and her name was Theresa. She was a nice little girl. Moose wanted to find this baseball for his friend named piper.
    Evaluation
    Moose gets stuck in some different situations. Some of the situations are that Natalie has to be playing with something all of the time.

    Conclusion
    Moose went and found a baseball and he found on. But Natalie was sitting there on a big rock playing with little rocks and there was a Alcatraz prisoner that came up too her. The Alcatraz prisoner's number was 105 and that's all that Natalie talked about after that time.

    Your final review
    This book is an awesome book. I would highly recommend you to read this book because it is a good book. If I could rate it I would rate it to be five stars. You would have an awesome time sitting down reading it. It is enjoying book.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Book review by the status seter

    Extrenely confusing! But..... if you must, i guess it gits a three, but remember, i am being nice.(ok maybe its a little good)

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Adicting

    Cant put it down and i HATE TO READ tells u some thing

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great

    Im reading this in class and this is great im hoping to get this to read the rest

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    My kids loved this book!

    A must read if your kids tour Alcatrez! Both my daughter and son enjoyed both Al Capone books very much and finished them quickly.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Your Average Al Capone Book

    This is a great historical novel for children. It deals with the political, social and economic issues of the time along with issues that every preteen has to face- friendship, family, romance. On top of all the good lessons that can be learned from the book, it's also very funny and has engaging characters. Strongly recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I bet this book made a lot of cha-ching ($) !!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Hunter

    This is very good

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    I dont really like jj I don I dont like it that much

    Its not that instering

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    Al Capone Does My Shirts by Genifer Choldenko

    This book teaches you about being there when somebody needs you with them and how even though they may not be perfect, you will always need a good friend.

    Moose and his family move to Alcatraz Island. While they are there, they face many problems with his sister because she suffers from autism. She has to go to a new school, but can't seem to fit in because of her autism. Moose has to help her through the hardships that come with starting a new school, moving, and not fitting in, along with dealing with problems of his own. Moose is a caring brother but gets aggravated with his sister very often because she can embarrass him at times.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    Wow, a great adventure!

    Al Capone Does my Shirts is so funny in parts, serious in others, and sad, too. Moose and his family move to Alcatraz so his father can be a prison guard and his sister can go to a special school. Moose is a loving brother and has a strong heart, but he always seems to find himself in trouble when around his new friend Piper. I don't want to tell you everything so you'll ahve to read this great book for yourself to find out all the inbetween details.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    .

    Ok, but not the best. You should try 'No passengers beyond this point.' It is by the same author, can be sad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    B double o t y tone and the cheifrocca

    This book is great but it is a little boring in the beginning but overall a good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Natalie nice

    Natalie like buttons

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Good book

    Very good book to read even thouh i never read it

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Sample

    Dont get the sample its 2 stupid pages long

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Should i read it?

    Should i read it?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 325 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17