Customer Reviews for

Al Capone Does My Shirts (Tales from Alcatraz Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 325 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This is the greatest book you could ever read.I don't know why you wouldn't read it. This book was exciting and fun.

posted by Anonymous on May 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Book review by the status seter

Extrenely confusing! But..... if you must, i guess it gits a three, but remember, i am being nice.(ok maybe its a little good)

posted by 16350486 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Book review by the status seter

    Extrenely confusing! But..... if you must, i guess it gits a three, but remember, i am being nice.(ok maybe its a little good)

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    Al Capone Does My Shirts - or Al Capone Comes Up Short?

    The book I read for this review was called Al Capone Does My Shirts, by Gennifer Choldenko, and I rated it with a lucky 3 stars. Why did I choose this middle rating? Well, to be honest, Al Capone Does My Shirts was not the Newberry Winner I expected it to be. I imagined an actually possible story line (which I will explain farther on down in this review.) I also wished for more of Al Capone, quite honestly, to be in this book ¿ most of it was the typical boy-meets-friends, friends work together to solve big mystery/problem. Probable story plot, right? Well, I expected more of a complex storyline for a Newberry Winner. Moose Flannagan has mixed feelings on his new home on Alcatraz Island, once a famous prison, prided on taking the worst of the worst. The time frame is 1935 ¿ and Moose¿s sister Natalie has the unidentified condition of autism. Moose has a love of baseball, and at school, becomes rather like an outcast, for a simple reason ¿ he cannot stay after school to play ball with the guys. Why not? He must tend to tantrum-prone Natalie, whom his mother babies and his father sympathizes for. Moose, however, is the only one who reaches Natalie, and he has very different ideas about how Natalie should be brought up. His mother is desperately trying to get Natalie into a special school for autistic and ¿special¿ children. And she must lie about Natalies age ¿ not just for that, but for everything. (As quoted directly from the text on the paperback edition on page 11) - ¿How old is she?¿ the girl whispers. ¿Ten,¿ I answer. Natalies age is always ten. Every year my mom has a party for her and she turns ten again. My mom (going on to page 12) started counting Nat¿s age this screwy way a long time ago. (End quote.) (I personally feel that this is not even possible ¿ I know this is a fictional book, but in the real world, you cannot lie about your age. Period. This just confused me quite a lot. I think, though this was a crucial plot attribute, that it might¿ve been a little far-fetched.) Natalie attracts many raised eyebrows, especially from Warden Williams (who runs the island) and his gorgeous, partially cruel daughter, Piper. Piper is one of those ¿mean girls¿ ¿ pretty on the outside, devilishly scandalous on the inside. She presumes Natalie to be retarded in the beginning, which really sets off her and Moose¿s relationship ¿ which is not very good, but you can see some attraction for the other lurking beneath the cloudy surface. However, Natalie will not get into this special place of belonging without a little help from Al Capone himself, and a realization by her mother that yes, time does move on. If you liked this story, perhaps you might be interested in Kira-Kira, by Cynthia Kadohata, Chasing Vermeer by Blue Balliett, A Wrinkle In Time by Madeline L¿Engle, Holes by Louis Sachar, and Undercrurrents be Willo Davis Roberta. Just for the record, I¿m a 7th grader who enjoys to dance and cheerlead. This book may interest more of the baseball/basketball type.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2014

    "Al Capone Does My Shirts" by Gennifer Choldenko is a

    "Al Capone Does My Shirts" by Gennifer Choldenko is a great book. In the times where its tough to get a job,
    The father moves to Alcatraz where he gets a job as a guard. He moves there with his wife, son, and daughter.
     The daughter is Natalie and the son is Moose Flanagan. The boy he likes playing baseball and the daughter
    is special,  They stopped counting her age anymore, to them shes 10. Shes very good with numbers, she likes
    to read the index’s of books instead of the actual book. Moose he likes baseball and he gains a connection with
    kids at school. The book deals with political, social and economic issues at the time. This book deals with funny,
    happy and sad times all at once. Moose is a strong loving brother and supports his sister no matter what. At first
     the other girl picks on Natalie cause of how she looks and her brother defends her. I found the book to be very
     interesting as the story went on. This book is a great book to look up too, I just found out there was a second one
    and how great the first one was I might as well read the second book. At the end of the day, The “Al Capone Does
    My Shirts” by Gennifer Choldenko is a great book and I recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Okay

    The beginning was intrresting but started getting slower andt more boring towards the end. But if you want to learn more about alcatraz then its great for that. Truly shows how it was like to live on alcatraz.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Amy

    It was sort of dull and is recomended 6th grad and up. It has a few almost dirty moments along with the second book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Ok

    This book is good but the humor os stupid and dosent make senceel

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    recommended

    This was for my 12 year old son, and he loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Highly Recommend this Book to anyone looking to learn about what life was like on Alcatraz!

    This story is interesting and will keep you reading. The characters are all easy to relate to,except for Natalie who has a severe case of autism in the book. The story tells the tale of how one family, who has more than their fair-share of problems cope with living on a prison island.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Not The Best

    I was disopointed with the plot of tehe story but the characters are great. This iss a wonderful idea for a story but I wish the author had executed her ideas better. I would not highly recomend it but if you like realist fiction it is an ok book but try it. It wasn't five stars but it was ok.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    the book was okay

    The book Al Capone Does My Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko is bout a twelve year old boy named Moose Flanagan who recently moved in to Alcatraz, which is a prison on an island near San Francisco. This prison is where the worst of the worst would go to back in the 1930s. For example there was Roy Gardner, Al Capone and a lot of other really bad criminals. Moose has a little sister named Natalie. Moose¿s little sister Natalie has autism which affects the way her brain system works. During the time of the book, autism was not yet discovered, they did not identified it until 1943 and sense they did not know what it was that she had, Moose wanted to get her in to a school, Esther P. Marinoff, which is a special school in which will help her out. I really liked this book because it was based on a real place, Alcatraz, and a real person, like Al Capone. Though other things like Moose and Natalie are not real, though the character of Natalie was inspired by Gina Johnson, who was the sister of the author of this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    Nice Book

    Al Capone Does My Shirts is a nice novel, but the plot isn't all that great. The characters are wonderful and realistic. However, judging this book by it's cover and title certainly isn't very smart. I had picked up this book, expecting to read an adventure with the kids and cons on Alcatraz, and found that it was about a boy trying to live a fairly normal life with an autistic sister. It could've been more... Adventure-ish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1