BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Al Capone Does My Shirts (Tales from Alcatraz Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This is the greatest book you could ever read.I don't know why you wouldn't read it. This book was exciting and fun.

posted by Anonymous on May 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Book review by the status seter

Extrenely confusing! But..... if you must, i guess it gits a three, but remember, i am being nice.(ok maybe its a little good)

posted by 16350486 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a really good book.you should read it=]

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Al Capone Does My Shirt by Gennifer Choldenko
    Title of review: A Very Good Book
    Number of stars (1 to 5): four

    Introduction
    A twelve year old boy named Moose Flanagan and his family lived on the island named Alcatraz. Moose is a bit mischief, not only because he lives on Alcatraz, but because he can't play baseball after school with his friends. His mom is making him stay at home and watch his little sister named Natalie. Natalie has autism that is your have to be constantly doing something.

    Description and summary of main points
    Moose met a new girl today at school and her name was Theresa. She was a nice little girl. Moose wanted to find this baseball for his friend named piper.
    Evaluation
    Moose gets stuck in some different situations. Some of the situations are that Natalie has to be playing with something all of the time.

    Conclusion
    Moose went and found a baseball and he found on. But Natalie was sitting there on a big rock playing with little rocks and there was a Alcatraz prisoner that came up too her. The Alcatraz prisoner's number was 105 and that's all that Natalie talked about after that time.

    Your final review
    This book is an awesome book. I would highly recommend you to read this book because it is a good book. If I could rate it I would rate it to be five stars. You would have an awesome time sitting down reading it. It is enjoying book.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Your Average Al Capone Book

    This is a great historical novel for children. It deals with the political, social and economic issues of the time along with issues that every preteen has to face- friendship, family, romance. On top of all the good lessons that can be learned from the book, it's also very funny and has engaging characters. Strongly recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Hunter

    This is very good

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    B double o t y tone and the cheifrocca

    This book is great but it is a little boring in the beginning but overall a good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Good book

    Very good book to read even thouh i never read it

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Was soooo good

    I felt like I wasnt falling behind in reading for once

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Verry entertaining!

    It was a great summer read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Obnoxious creep

    Im an eight year old girl!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Read it in school

    Stupid Piper shes stupie

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Lol

    Lol

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Great book! I would highly recommend it to anyone. In this book

    Great book! I would highly recommend it to anyone. In this book the main character, Moose was forced to move to Alcatraz Island because they needed the money. Mooses dad works at Alcatraz as an electrician and guard. Moose also has a very autistic sister named Natalie. One of the main reasons Moose had to move to Alcatraz was because of her since she has to go to a special school and all. But what school will accept Natalie? At this time nobody had dicovered Autism so many people were often rude, or mean to Natalie because she was different so they thought she was weird.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Pretty good book.

    GOOD BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Reply

    Thats cool ill check it out btw its CADE the BOSS

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    great read

    My grandaughter and I read it on our Nooks. It was a fun, informative book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    This is an exellent book!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Great book!

    I had to read this book for school. There was never nothing to talk about. Me and my three other friends that read it wish to read the second book. We assigned two chapters per night,i always wanted to go on. I loved it : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    Writing page

    The book i have ben reading in class is great its an awsome book an i love it so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Al Capone Typical Book- Must Read!!

    I enjoyed this book very well, I was strongly attached to it and the author Gennifer Choldenko made an extraordinary job writing it. It was worth reading. I recommend this book for everyone it's very interesting, makes you feel what Mathew the main character is feeling. All the characters are very amusing and if you're going through problems this story can help you. The lesson of the story is never give up on yourself or others. You can get through anything if you just believe in yourself. I give it a 10 and props to the author Gennifer Choldenko for writing a very interesting story about a boy who lives in Alcatraz with his family and the world's most wanted criminals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    Actually a good read!

    I read this book before giving it to my kids to read. I liked that it gave some history and was very entertaining. I read it in just a couple nights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4