Customer Reviews for

Al Capone Does My Shirts (Tales from Alcatraz Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 325 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This is the greatest book you could ever read.I don't know why you wouldn't read it. This book was exciting and fun.

posted by Anonymous on May 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Book review by the status seter

Extrenely confusing! But..... if you must, i guess it gits a three, but remember, i am being nice.(ok maybe its a little good)

posted by 16350486 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 185 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is the greatest book you could ever read.I don't know why you wouldn't read it. This book was exciting and fun.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    To should i read it

    Yes you schould. This is a great book! I first read it in 5th grade for the Battle of Books, now I am in 7th grade now. I have now read the second book also. My favorite is still the first!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Great book

    I just read the first few chapters and was hooked!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Adicting

    Cant put it down and i HATE TO READ tells u some thing

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great

    Im reading this in class and this is great im hoping to get this to read the rest

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    My kids loved this book!

    A must read if your kids tour Alcatrez! Both my daughter and son enjoyed both Al Capone books very much and finished them quickly.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I bet this book made a lot of cha-ching ($) !!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    Al Capone Does My Shirts by Genifer Choldenko

    This book teaches you about being there when somebody needs you with them and how even though they may not be perfect, you will always need a good friend.

    Moose and his family move to Alcatraz Island. While they are there, they face many problems with his sister because she suffers from autism. She has to go to a new school, but can't seem to fit in because of her autism. Moose has to help her through the hardships that come with starting a new school, moving, and not fitting in, along with dealing with problems of his own. Moose is a caring brother but gets aggravated with his sister very often because she can embarrass him at times.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Natalie nice

    Natalie like buttons

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Sample

    Dont get the sample its 2 stupid pages long

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Al Capone at its finest

    A dramatic, touching, and great book on an average boy named Moose and his not very average sister Natalie move to Alcatraz island and have a few problems. Piper, the warden's daughter, is trying to get the notorious Al Capone to do the laundry service, and that means Moose might get into trouble. Also, Nat is trying to get around her problems, as well as her parents, and everything about her just is not quite what it seems... but if you want to see how everyone makes it through, you'll have to read the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Want a awsome book :) I do not like to read alot This is a book that is awsome:) I do not read a lot

    This book is filled with amizing words that will make you want to read the nexts. Moose is a 12 year old boy that has no friends and lives on a island that is also a PRISON. His sister is sick with altism and needs to get in to a school to get well. Moose loves to play baseball and is good at it. When he moves to the island he makes a few friends and starts going to a new school. This a book that will make you keep on reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    BEST HISTORICAL FICTOON BOOK EVER!!!!!!

    Amazing...thats all i have to say

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    A reviewer

    Moose Flanagan left his home, his school and his baseball team behind when his dad was hired as a guard on Alcatraz Island in 1935, prompting a move for the whole family. Moose¿s older sister, Natalie, is severely autistic, and his dad took the job to put them all closer to a program that claims to be able to ¿cure¿ her. Now Moose is working to make new friends, including the warden¿s daughter who has a knack for getting into trouble, and find his place in his family while coming to terms with his sister¿s illness. Al Capone Does My Shirts takes us through the difficulty of being 12 and trying to fit into a new life while giving us a great glimpse of Alcatraz in the 1930s when infamous criminals like Al Capone and Machine Gun Kelly were residents on ¿The Rock.¿ Moose¿s authentic voice is delightful to follow as he weaves his story and comes to terms with his new situation.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2015

    Awesome!

    I have been to Alactraz and reading it was awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2015

    Luke

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    Anna

    Keeps sucking. And holds ur balls, massg
    aging them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Great! (says Grandma)

    This is one of those special books that appeals to all ages. Although it's a book about a teen-aged boy and his autistic sister and is supposedly written for middle school kids, I found it to be a very engaging story and look forward to reading the sequels. The Alcatraz setting in the 1930's is very unique and interesting too, and prompted me to look up the history of this famous prison and Al Capone as well. Read it! You won' t be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    I loved it are you kidding me. Now where are the free watermelon?

    :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Cool

    Cool

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 185 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10