BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Al Capone Shines My Shoes

Average Rating 4.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

If you thought Al Capone does my shirts was good then you
then you will abosolutly love Al Capone shines my shoes. I am only in the first few chapters of the book but I can tell you that the author made me keep me turning the pages even if it is 10:30 at night. Please b...
If you thought Al Capone does my shirts was good then you
then you will abosolutly love Al Capone shines my shoes. I am only in the first few chapters of the book but I can tell you that the author made me keep me turning the pages even if it is 10:30 at night. Please buy this amazingly fantastic book

posted by 6338748 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good historic fiction!

Moose and his friends will show you a window to what was like to live in Alcatraz displaying the love of baseball, the strength in the bonds of friendship and family, and the power of forgiveness. I would recommend this book to Middle Schoolers.

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Fantastic

    If you thought Al Capone does my shirts was good then you
    then you will abosolutly love Al Capone shines my shoes. I am only in the first few chapters of the book but I can tell you that the author made me keep me turning the pages even if it is 10:30 at night. Please buy this amazingly fantastic book

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Awsome

    If you liked al capone does my shirts you will definetly like this.i am in 5th grade and i loved this book.It kept me turning the pages.Great book.


    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Awesome!

    One word...................................AWESOME

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Awesome!

    I love this book and so does my class.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Courtesy of Mother-Daughter Book Club.com

    It's 1935 on Alcatraz Island. Al Capone is The Rock's most famous prisoner among a number of notorious criminals. He's also a constant fascination for the families of the guards, who live in houses on the island next door to the cellblock.

    Moose Flanagan is the son of one of those guards. He's adjusting to life without his autistic sister Natalie, who has just been accepted into the Esther P. Marinoff School, a place her parents believe will help her learn how to function better in society. Moose is sure Al Capone pulled strings to get Natalie in after Moose wrote a letter asking for his help. When Moose gets a note in his laundry, he knows Capone is asking for a favor back. But how can he fulfill the request without getting his dad fired and the whole family exiled off the island?

    Al Capone Shines My Shoes by Gennifer Choldenko is a charming follow-up to her Newbery Honor winner, Al Capone Does My Shirts. You'll fall right back into Moose's story and life on Alcatraz, with its strict regulations for prisoners, guards and civilians alike. This time Moose is trying to navigate his conflicted feelings for Piper, the warden's daughter, and keep all his friends happy. He also has to determine where to draw the line with the cons who perform maintenance jobs in the homes: can he trust these men who for the most part seem like regular people, or should he keep their past crimes in mind when he interacts with them? I highly recommend this book for mother-daughter book clubs with girls aged 9 to 12.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Great Book!

    My 12 year old daughter and I love this sequel to Al Capone Does My Shirts. It takes from history and adds the fictional element to make the story engaging. The children in this book are very funny and bright. Please make sure to read the authors notes at the end of the book where she explains the 'facts' vs. the 'fiction'. A great read that inspired us to learn more about Alcatraz.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Al capone shines my shoes

    Best book ever! Very exciting at the end.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    I wish there were more!

    My mom introduced me to Al Capone does my shirts first and told me about this one. When i finished reading al capone does my shirts i immediately bought it. I just finished it last night and i wish there were more for me to read! ; )

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Anonymous

    Had to read two books for 6th grade and then do a book report on them. Al capone shines my shoes was a Really good choice.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    You a republician or democrat?

    I say Obama and it might be not a good idea to post political inputs on our reviews!!! He will MOST DEFINITIVELY beat Mitt in the campaign!!!

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Al capone does my shirts and darns my dang shoes.

    I had to read Al Capone does my shirts for one of my Summer reading books and I fell in love with it. It was sooo good. So, when I returned back to school ( from the Summer) I turned in my report for Al Capone and my teacher announced, " Class, we might read Al Capone shines my shoes since ya'll enjoyed Al Capone does my shirts soooo much". I was sooo exited. Only like, two people didn't enjoy Al Capone but, maybe they just weren't into it, unlike me. I would reccomed this book to anyone of any age.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    D

    Situation: dating way too early.

    That is waaaaaay to early for dating, but ill give you advice anyway. Your BFF would understand, if she is your true BFF. And if your going to ask out a boy, BE SUTTLE!!!! And if he says no shrug it off and walk away. Continue being his friend, or else he'll think you care to much.

    Best wishes,

    _carley

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Cool

    Cool

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Amazinh Amazing

    Read it! Amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Reviews please?

    Oh my gosh can u people please write an actual review? Not something saying GREAT!!!!! Say how it was great. Come on. Dont be stupid. WRITE A REVIEW!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Yo wassup in da house bro mans..... how r u hippies a doin to a day . Eh. Wanna have us some s.e.x

    Sweetness

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Kept my 10 year old engaged!

    My 10 year old loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Very good

    Well writen

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    Good historic fiction!

    Moose and his friends will show you a window to what was like to live in Alcatraz displaying the love of baseball, the strength in the bonds of friendship and family, and the power of forgiveness. I would recommend this book to Middle Schoolers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    To love doctor

    There is this girl that i really like but she moved away. Any tips to finding a new girl?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8