Customer Reviews for

Alabama Smith in Escape from Pompeii

Average Rating 3
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Not amazing, but ok

Pretty sure it was only a dollar.. and therefore no wasted money. Interesting enough story, and the mini-games and hidden object scenes are also fun. The game itself is underdeveloped in terms of user friendliness. Could use the pinch and zoom feature, for sure, as well...
Pretty sure it was only a dollar.. and therefore no wasted money. Interesting enough story, and the mini-games and hidden object scenes are also fun. The game itself is underdeveloped in terms of user friendliness. Could use the pinch and zoom feature, for sure, as well as some indication of what items to look for, though I made my way through just fine without either.

posted by 14542813 on July 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Waste of $$$$$

Pictures and fonts are super tiny - impossible to clearly see. There is no pinch zoom which again makes things unclear. I'm sorry i wasted my money on this game.

posted by 7440142 on July 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Waste of $$$$$

    Pictures and fonts are super tiny - impossible to clearly see. There is no pinch zoom which again makes things unclear. I'm sorry i wasted my money on this game.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Not amazing, but ok

    Pretty sure it was only a dollar.. and therefore no wasted money. Interesting enough story, and the mini-games and hidden object scenes are also fun. The game itself is underdeveloped in terms of user friendliness. Could use the pinch and zoom feature, for sure, as well as some indication of what items to look for, though I made my way through just fine without either.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Very good gameplay, even though its complicated

    This review covers the game called "Alabama Smith in Escape from Pompeii". First: an introduction to key characters.

    You play as "Alabama." He is a serious archaelogy wanna-be. He is over flowing with hope. He feels that perhaps, in time,his Professor will promote him into a full time archaeologist (with some respect). Therefore, if he can recover "the artifact" completely first, then he will inevitably promoted. Of course. Its a little pathetic. But he is very clever.

    Of course, there are at least two other forces, in play. One group wants to steal "the artifact" and use it for its intended purpose (time-travel).

    The Others (a group of neo driuds) want to possess "the artifact" in order to save the world and humaniy from itself. Thusly, it must be sealed away from humanity forever by them.

    The story is pretty long and drawn out. The gameplay is good even when you have to operate in one room during two different times in order to rescue Alabama in the end.

    The running back and forth is ok, because it is pretty well self-contain between to two main rooms at a time.

    My recommendations:
    1. Pay attention to everything.
    2. Look up to find the hidden objects list.
    3. Look bottom right where it tells what the objectives. (Very important to know.)
    4. Look at the Inventory often. (Combine items in new ways that coincide with #3.)
    5. Keep a pen and paper nearby. It is hard to remember the strange codes.

    It was fun and challengimg. But once I got used to the differents forms incoming info. This game doable without cheats or walkthroughs. Instead try pushinh the ?Help? button

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    EXCELLENT!

    On my Color Nook w/o any chips, no problems whatsoever. And, it is pretty challenging in some areas even in the easier mode. And, pretty long! Well worth the money! Now, if you'll excuse me, I am going back in, in the more difficult mode thank you very much!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Great game

    Cant wait to see more of these. Could us some shade adjustment but all in all I loved it

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Very good game

    Great game for the cost!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Great game

    Son and I loved this one. It even helps with his reading and vocabulary skills in addition to critical thinking and just overall great fun. A regular night time ritual for us, so we look forward to playing many more like it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Awaful!!

    I am sorry i wasted my momey.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    OK game

    Game started out fun, but picking the lights in the box are not working.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    I can't seem to get the safe open, have thenumbers, help

    Above and thanks

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Fun game

    Loved this - really enjoyed playing it!
    Was sad when it ended since I wanted to play more

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Fun!

    Love this game. So creative and great puzzles!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Too dark

    It is hard to read the symbols in the clues. Lighting is very dark. Otherwise not a bad game, short in nature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    good game

    fun

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Boring

    Great for hidden object fans, puzzles are boring, boring, boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Would have got a 5

    Game is ok but like several others the safe is not opening. Are we doing something wrong?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Game

    Please help me open the safe i tried everything

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Needs improvement

    Plan to use a magnifying glass as you play . Print is way too small. Also no pinch/zoom feature. Very frustrating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    What's up with the safe?

    Arrrgghhhh!, I was so enjoying this game but cannot get the stupid safe to open! I have mostly same numbers, although I am counting 10 cells. Someone help, I wouldn't mind a skip feature right about now...at least I am not the only one but still.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Don't waste your time

    Terrible game! And everything is so small you need a magnifying glass to play!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3