Customer Reviews for

Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 613 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(493)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This book is AWESOME!!

Oh my gosh...this book is one of the best books i've read! I used to hate books, but then i read this one...I think it's the combination of adventure, a little bit of a romance, and a girl just trying to find herself that makes it great. I can relate to Alanna so much. ...
Oh my gosh...this book is one of the best books i've read! I used to hate books, but then i read this one...I think it's the combination of adventure, a little bit of a romance, and a girl just trying to find herself that makes it great. I can relate to Alanna so much. The characters are so real, too, that it's hard to forget that they really aren't real. I had been reading another book when my friend let me borrow this and it was so good that i have never finished the book i was reading...i had to finish the series. If you haven't read this...you need to...it is so worth your time and money!

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Strong Heroine - caution for very young readers

Strong Heroine that fights for her dream in a man's world - being a knight. Enjoyed the story. Written for a very young audience (4th-6th) and the simplistic style reflects that. Starts slow but has a lot of action in the middle. That pattern occurs throughout th...
Strong Heroine that fights for her dream in a man's world - being a knight. Enjoyed the story. Written for a very young audience (4th-6th) and the simplistic style reflects that. Starts slow but has a lot of action in the middle. That pattern occurs throughout the series with long segments that are slow followed by a short segment of high action. One note of caution for very young readers is that there are several seemingly forced segments where the heroine considers whether to have sex. In every case she decides that it is ok as long as she likes the fella and has her charm against pregnancy. I thought it was a very mature topic handled in an immature manner by an immature character. It was not explicit in any way, however. Some young readers may be uncomfortable with the chapter on the young woman coming of age (learning how to deal with her period).

posted by clearwatersflowafter on June 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 613 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    This book is AWESOME!!

    Oh my gosh...this book is one of the best books i've read! I used to hate books, but then i read this one...I think it's the combination of adventure, a little bit of a romance, and a girl just trying to find herself that makes it great. I can relate to Alanna so much. The characters are so real, too, that it's hard to forget that they really aren't real. I had been reading another book when my friend let me borrow this and it was so good that i have never finished the book i was reading...i had to finish the series. If you haven't read this...you need to...it is so worth your time and money!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Strong Heroine - caution for very young readers

    Strong Heroine that fights for her dream in a man's world - being a knight. Enjoyed the story. Written for a very young audience (4th-6th) and the simplistic style reflects that. Starts slow but has a lot of action in the middle. That pattern occurs throughout the series with long segments that are slow followed by a short segment of high action. One note of caution for very young readers is that there are several seemingly forced segments where the heroine considers whether to have sex. In every case she decides that it is ok as long as she likes the fella and has her charm against pregnancy. I thought it was a very mature topic handled in an immature manner by an immature character. It was not explicit in any way, however. Some young readers may be uncomfortable with the chapter on the young woman coming of age (learning how to deal with her period).

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book made me love reading. After reading this in 7th grade

    This book made me love reading. After reading this in 7th grade I became the biggest bookworm I know!! I suggest every girl should read this book to find a heroine to connect to. Since then I've read (and own) almost all of Tamora Pierce's books, and have loved all of them. Even now in my 20's I re-read her books and love them. Whenever I feel the need to read a book I love I always start up here with this series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Amazing

    All of the books Tamira writes are full of adventure, a bit of suspense and humor. This, the first book in the Alanna series and in fact the rest of the books are no exception. The main character is a young girl who knows what she wants and goes for it. As an added bonus as the main character grows older and more mature so does the content of the books. It's an amazing book and I would, and in fact do, recommend it to everyone looking for an amazing adventure book, or really any book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    anonymou

    This book was amazing! I love how strong Alana is, and how she does what she wants in life, no matter the consequences. I think that she is extremelt smart while handling tough situations, and I find myself constantly admiring her. The book itself was terrific. It has a perfect story line, matching characters, with a little romance and comedy. I really enjoy reading this book, and I recommend it to everybody.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book got me in to reading

    I got this book when I was maybe 12, and have been a huge fan of Tamora Pierce ever since. I have re-read all of her books so many times, and they never get old.

    This book will always hold a special place in my heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    LOVE

    Tamora Pierce is such a wonderful author! I couldn't put it down! All her books are fantastic, especially the Protector of the Small quartet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Got me into reading

    As a girl who hated reading, this book and the rest of the series made me enjoy reading for the first time ever. I read this series a second time eight years later and I still enjoyed this easy read. It has all the aspects that make a good story. The series has a girl who was told she couldn't do something by the society of the time, situations that are hard for the main character but she comes out on top, magic, fighting, codes of honor, and (for every girl) a litte romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I love these books

    No matterhow many times I have read these books since I was 11 years old.. I have loved them. It is a good clean story for those girls who just dont want another fairy princess

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Love it

    I have read this book a million times, it never gets old.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Graet as always

    Tamoria Pierce is the best. This is another of her seemingly endless amount of perfect books. This new story adds new elements to the world of Tortall. I especially like how George, who is a decendant of Beka Cooper plays a role in this amazing novel and I can not wait to read the next instalement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    One of my favorites

    This book is awesome. One of my all time favorites. Tamora Pierce is a legend of a writer!

    I have this book at home as well as the rest of the series and then some. Just thought I'd add my rating here.

    Fantastic YA novel that can be read by the young and the young at heart. The adventure draws you in and who couldn't love a tough young and determined female main characther!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    highly recommended

    Alanna the first adventure: song of the lioness series by Tamora pierce it is in the fantasy genre it was published December 8, 2009 this book is about a young girl named alanna who wants to be knight but her father insists she goes to school to learn about her magic and become a mage. But her twin brother Thom also has magic and doesn't want to go be a knight. So the make a plan and switch places. Alanna takes her brothers place and Thom goes to the temple to learn sorcery.

    I think this is a really good book it is the book that got me hooked on reading, and now I can't stop reading Tamora pierce's books she is a very descriptive writer and i would definitely recommend it to anyone. It is very descriptive and adventurous.

    alanna is a very likable and easy to relate to character, she wants something that wasn't even thought of in that time period, and throughout the story she fights for what she wants and doesn't care what anyone else says. She goes through many trials to hide her true identity. A number of things can happen to her if she gets caught and she meets new people many are fellow pages but some are of the lower city, thieves and robbers, who help her get through training.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favotites

    I loved this book. I have read some of her other books but nothing compaires to this thriller. I feel in love with all of the characters and i only hope she will end up with George. I am half way through the second one and i cant wait for her to decide. I recomend this book to anyone who likes a great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just amazing! So glad I rediscovered this treasure!

    I was never really interested in reading, and my mother had bought me this entire series when I was young (about 10) as well as Pierce's 'The Immortals' series. I had started reading it then, but for whatever reason never finished. Twelve years later, cleaning out my old room in my parents house I found these books. I figured 'why not?' and started reading them again. What a wonderful surprise!! I couldn't believe how difficult it was for me to put these down!

    Tamora Pierce has a way of writing that will really draws you right in along side the characters, who have amazingly lively personalities and live in a wonderfully diverse and 'alive' world. This book was filled with action, adventure, magic, a little bit of romance, and wonderful heart felt moments that made me laugh and cry.

    If you have a hard time picking up books, but want to try a fantasy/adventure novel, these are great starters, as the four books in the Lioness Series (of which this book is #1) are all around 200 pages. I would also HIGHLY recommend 'The Immortals' as it aids to continue on Alanna's story a little bit, and adds some new wonderfully enjoyable characters.


    ~~Semi Spolier!!!~~
    Unfortunately I was a little disappointed with the 'Trickster's Queen' series about Alanna's daughter. It was very long, and not much action magic to hold my interest at all. While there were some funny parts, and some fights, it was mostly a mystery novel, with a little bit of magic, and politics thrown in the mix. I'm having quite a bit of trouble wanting to sit down and finish the book, despite being only about 100 pages away.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Alanna

    I'm not quite sure how, but somewhere along the way in my fantasy reading I totally missed out on the perfectness that is Tamora Pierce. Most likely this omission is due to my not reading teen books while a teenager. That said, I've had several people recommend I start with Pierce's Alanna series and I am happy to report these books are as wonderful as everyone told me they were. Surprise, surprise.

    Neither Alanna nor her twin brother Thom want to be what their father (and the rest of the world) want them to be. Thom has always preferred books and sorcery to outdoor pursuits while Alanna isn't happy unless she's out riding, hunting, or in general behaving like a boy. Both Alanna and Thom are more than disappointed when their bookish father decides to send them away - Thom to the castle to learn to be a Knight and Alanna to a local convent to study. Desperate to be spared their fates, Alanna chops off her hair and forges letters from their father sending Alanna as a boy to the castle and Thom to the convent to learn sorcery. Upon arriving at the castle, no one guesses Alanna's secret and she is free to train as a page. Though small, the other boys and adults are impressed with the spunky 'Alan' as she is now known and through hard work earns the respect of everyone around her.

    Alanna is wonderful - she never understands her true worth or why those around her love her so much but it's immediately obvious to the reader. She works much harder than anyone else to become the best, especially since she much smaller than the other boys. I also loved Tamora Pierce's frank narrative style that seems to follow Alanna's mental development as well as her physical. Her world building is also a standout - a whole pantheon of gods and intriguing political relationships that continue to lend more maturity to the books as Alanna develops. This series was truly a revelation to me and I can't believe I have waited so long to read them. You can be sure I'll be finishing them in a hurry.
    http://seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2001

    Pierce has out done herself this time.

    As an avid reader, I was able to find this book and the rest of it's quartet outstanding. In 'Protector of the Small' Pierce's charecters seem life less with the exception of the main one. This book actually allows you to meet all the charecters, from Alanna herself, to the Prince, and down the stefan the Stable Manager. These charecters jump to life from the first chapter. Not only is it not just a gateway for the other three books in it's serise, but I would reccomed it to both girls and Guys, avid reader or not it will shake the reading blues right out of your system.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2000

    Great Opener!!!!

    This book had me from the first page to the last. I pick it up and read parts over now and then. George and Jon are really cool, and Roger is a perfect enemy. Alanna is really brave, braver than I would have been, and shows her sprit in the Black City. You have to read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    MagiKK

    Thank you so, so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    Way Too Over You - An Original by Song Girl

    Careless mistakes that were always weighing on me <br>
    Why did you turn away? <br>
    I thought we were supposed to be forever <br>
    But you turned me down <br>
    I guess it's just the way life goes <br>
    People come and people go <p>
    [Chorus]
    I thought you were everything to me <br>
    But now I see the truth <br>
    You only wanted to use me, and I'm here to tell you <br>
    I'm not doing this anymore <br>
    Because I'm so over this <br>
    And I'm way too over you <p>
    The endless nights I spent shedding tears over you <br>
    I should have just seen it for what it really was <br>
    Toying with me, just so you can knock me down <br>
    But guess what, I'm not that easily fooled <br>
    And now that you're gone I see it all so true <br>
    I was nothing to you, and now you're nothing to me <p>
    [Chorus] <p>
    Everyday got harder to stay away <br>
    Sometimes I couldn't feel anything <br>
    And you're the one to blame <br>
    I could say I ha<3>te you <br>
    But there's no point in that <br>
    You just made me realize <br>
    That I'm lucky to have what's true <br>
    And it's not you <p>
    [Chorus] x2 <p>
    This song is dedicated to Magikk :) I hope you liked it, I tried to make it more upbeat, and let you realize that you're better off without this girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 613 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31