Customer Reviews for

Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 612 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(492)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This book is AWESOME!!

Oh my gosh...this book is one of the best books i've read! I used to hate books, but then i read this one...I think it's the combination of adventure, a little bit of a romance, and a girl just trying to find herself that makes it great. I can relate to Alanna so much. ...
Oh my gosh...this book is one of the best books i've read! I used to hate books, but then i read this one...I think it's the combination of adventure, a little bit of a romance, and a girl just trying to find herself that makes it great. I can relate to Alanna so much. The characters are so real, too, that it's hard to forget that they really aren't real. I had been reading another book when my friend let me borrow this and it was so good that i have never finished the book i was reading...i had to finish the series. If you haven't read this...you need to...it is so worth your time and money!

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Strong Heroine - caution for very young readers

Strong Heroine that fights for her dream in a man's world - being a knight. Enjoyed the story. Written for a very young audience (4th-6th) and the simplistic style reflects that. Starts slow but has a lot of action in the middle. That pattern occurs throughout th...
Strong Heroine that fights for her dream in a man's world - being a knight. Enjoyed the story. Written for a very young audience (4th-6th) and the simplistic style reflects that. Starts slow but has a lot of action in the middle. That pattern occurs throughout the series with long segments that are slow followed by a short segment of high action. One note of caution for very young readers is that there are several seemingly forced segments where the heroine considers whether to have sex. In every case she decides that it is ok as long as she likes the fella and has her charm against pregnancy. I thought it was a very mature topic handled in an immature manner by an immature character. It was not explicit in any way, however. Some young readers may be uncomfortable with the chapter on the young woman coming of age (learning how to deal with her period).

posted by clearwatersflowafter on June 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Alanna

    I'm not quite sure how, but somewhere along the way in my fantasy reading I totally missed out on the perfectness that is Tamora Pierce. Most likely this omission is due to my not reading teen books while a teenager. That said, I've had several people recommend I start with Pierce's Alanna series and I am happy to report these books are as wonderful as everyone told me they were. Surprise, surprise.

    Neither Alanna nor her twin brother Thom want to be what their father (and the rest of the world) want them to be. Thom has always preferred books and sorcery to outdoor pursuits while Alanna isn't happy unless she's out riding, hunting, or in general behaving like a boy. Both Alanna and Thom are more than disappointed when their bookish father decides to send them away - Thom to the castle to learn to be a Knight and Alanna to a local convent to study. Desperate to be spared their fates, Alanna chops off her hair and forges letters from their father sending Alanna as a boy to the castle and Thom to the convent to learn sorcery. Upon arriving at the castle, no one guesses Alanna's secret and she is free to train as a page. Though small, the other boys and adults are impressed with the spunky 'Alan' as she is now known and through hard work earns the respect of everyone around her.

    Alanna is wonderful - she never understands her true worth or why those around her love her so much but it's immediately obvious to the reader. She works much harder than anyone else to become the best, especially since she much smaller than the other boys. I also loved Tamora Pierce's frank narrative style that seems to follow Alanna's mental development as well as her physical. Her world building is also a standout - a whole pantheon of gods and intriguing political relationships that continue to lend more maturity to the books as Alanna develops. This series was truly a revelation to me and I can't believe I have waited so long to read them. You can be sure I'll be finishing them in a hurry.
    http://seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome for MG and YA Readers!

    I first came across Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness Book 1) when I was fourteen. I saw it again at the library the last time I was there and, since I'd forgotten a lot of the book, decided to pick it up.

    How could I have forgotten the brilliance of Tamora Pierce? I read this series years ago, and still enjoyed it immensely today. Granted, the book is a little elementary for my age (19), but I still loved it. It provided a very quick, satisfying read.

    As a young girl, Alanna is destined to be sent off to study magic and learn to be a noblewoman. But this stubborn, vivacious girl has other ideas: she wants to be a knight! Her twin brother, Thom, wants to be a sorcerer, so Alanna cuts her hair and the two switch places. Alanna trains as a page at the palace, making new friends (including Prince Jonathan, the heir to the throne), and increasing her control of the Gift, the magical powers she was born with. As Alanna continues her studies and adventures, she begins to realize that her Gift is much more powerful than she originally thought it to be. The Gift, along with her newly acquired skills and friends, helps her along her way to prove herself as a worthy warrior, despite the (mostly unknown) fact that she is a girl.

    I was surprised by how much I still enjoyed this book, even though its age range is for middle to high school readers. Author Tamora Pierce has a magical (yes I know that's a cliche) way with words, and is able to create a beautiful fantasy world full of intriguing ideas that still appeals to me today. For those of you who enjoy fantasy and are looking for a quick (I read it in two hours) but enjoyable read, I would recommend checking this book out. I'm off to go reserve the sequels and check out other books by Tamora Pierce. I know that she does write books for older audiences as well, so I'll see what I find!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    Fantastic

    I just finished reading this book for the 3rd time and it still excites me to go on to the next one. I love the way Pierce writes her novels, but in this particular book, she might have skipped a lot of character traits I'd have liked to see throughout the story. She also speeds 3 years of Allana's life into a couple hundred pages, which is a little disappointing. A little more detail wouldn't hurt in this book, but overall, I still enjoyed it. That said, I am happy that along with Alanna, these books mature significantly in language. I can't wait to reread the next three!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Loved this book!!!!

    I really enjoyed this book. In fact, I was so engrossed in the character, I gobbled up the first book and then ordered the rest in the series. This is definitely a "girl power" kind of book. I love books that show a girl surviving in a man's world because that's basically what we all do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    One of the best series!

    This book is soooo good!! It has action, romance, , nd chivalry!! I loved this book!!! Its a great book to start a great series!!! This book is NOT a waste of money!!!! IT ROCKS!! Allana is a great character!! She is a role , even though she isn't real!!! Its a great book, like i said, you should defiantly read it!!! You wont regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought it was a really good book and suggest you read it. It was really suprisingly believable the only unbelievable thing about it was that she had 'violet'eyes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    Lame title for very entertaning book

    The title turned me off. I've read some of this author's hilarious work, and forced myself to read one of her first books. I saw the title, and thought to myself 'Is this for six-year-olds?' It wasn't. In fact, Alanna is quite entertaining, and while I HAVE found some of Tamora Pierce's other work better, Alanna was quite good, and certainly worth the read. The humor in this author's books is just wonderful, no other author has made me laugh so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    pretty good

    I thought this book was great! it was really exciting and has a great ending! i haven't read any of the other boooks but i want to and will! its a gr8 read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    This book is wonderful!

    Alanna is a great character with alot of determination. It's a fast read, I read it in one night. I read the whole series and its one of my favorites. The series has just the right amount of everything for anyone. Adventure, romance, action, fantasy, humor, history, drama, you name it. Something for every one! A very good girl read. I've never met a guy whose read them. Definetly read the other ones by Tamora Pierce it you like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    Recommended!

    very good. I enjoyed it. Alanna is a cool and spunky girl who is trying her best to be a page (a beginner knight)she learns that knighthood isn't as easy as it looks, but with good friends and commitment she is doing A-ok!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    AWESOME!

    I absolutely loved this series!!! It's so awesome and totally woman powered!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    Adrienne, fantasy lover

    I loved this book! It's great and what's more is it proves a point. It proves women can do anything men can. I cannot wait to read the other three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2003

    What A Book!

    This book is the beggining of a wonderful adventure, with love, friendship, heros and heroines, gods, mystery, magic, and much more. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    The Lioness roars

    Alanna (despite her fiery temper) has been an idol of mine. She always stands up to her foes, as tiny as she seemed, and never hesitated to speak her mind. Her courage was incredible. Tamora ensnared me with this first book, and I've been drinking up her novels of Tortall and its fabulous creatures and characters ever since. She creates an entire world, full of culture and history, so when you read her books, you really do fall into another place. I adore this book and all the ones that follow it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    The Mysterious book, you will love

    I don't want to give away too much of the story, but the story is about a girl named Alanna who wants to become a knight, but since she is a girl has to hide her true self. The story it self, is about her adventures becoming a knight, and what obstacles she has to over come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2002

    great heroine

    I loved this series it was full of great heros and heroines. do not read just one it is SO much better as the 4 books together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2001

    Alanna:the first adventure

    A book by Tamora Pierce;about a girl,and her efforts to become a knight. She disguises herself as a boy, and goes to her king's palace to train.She is accepted by the people in the palace.At the end, Crown Prince Jonathan discovers her gender in a battle against some demons

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    Wonderful!

    I really enjoyed reading this book; after finsishing the first I finished the rest of the series in a week! This book was probably my favorite in the series, particularily because of Jonothan and Alanna' interest in each other in the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2000

    The Start of a Legacy

    Alanna The first adveture was a great start to the series I've grown to love, and the first book I've read by the great Tamora Pierce!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5