Customer Reviews for

Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 615 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(494)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This book is AWESOME!!

Oh my gosh...this book is one of the best books i've read! I used to hate books, but then i read this one...I think it's the combination of adventure, a little bit of a romance, and a girl just trying to find herself that makes it great. I can relate to Alanna so much. ...
Oh my gosh...this book is one of the best books i've read! I used to hate books, but then i read this one...I think it's the combination of adventure, a little bit of a romance, and a girl just trying to find herself that makes it great. I can relate to Alanna so much. The characters are so real, too, that it's hard to forget that they really aren't real. I had been reading another book when my friend let me borrow this and it was so good that i have never finished the book i was reading...i had to finish the series. If you haven't read this...you need to...it is so worth your time and money!

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Strong Heroine - caution for very young readers

Strong Heroine that fights for her dream in a man's world - being a knight. Enjoyed the story. Written for a very young audience (4th-6th) and the simplistic style reflects that. Starts slow but has a lot of action in the middle. That pattern occurs throughout th...
Strong Heroine that fights for her dream in a man's world - being a knight. Enjoyed the story. Written for a very young audience (4th-6th) and the simplistic style reflects that. Starts slow but has a lot of action in the middle. That pattern occurs throughout the series with long segments that are slow followed by a short segment of high action. One note of caution for very young readers is that there are several seemingly forced segments where the heroine considers whether to have sex. In every case she decides that it is ok as long as she likes the fella and has her charm against pregnancy. I thought it was a very mature topic handled in an immature manner by an immature character. It was not explicit in any way, however. Some young readers may be uncomfortable with the chapter on the young woman coming of age (learning how to deal with her period).

posted by clearwatersflowafter on June 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 494 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    This is an amazing book. I never discovered Tamora Pierce until

    This is an amazing book. I never discovered Tamora Pierce until my aunt introduced me to the Song of the Lioness Quartet when I was around 13, so seven years ago. I immediately bought all her books that were available and anxiously awaited the new ones. BTW, a new book comes out in September 2013!!!  Even now at 20 I reread these books so many times they are falling apart, literally. A strong female heroine in a genre usually dominated by male characters is an inspiring breath of fresh air, and makes all of Tamora Pierces books MUST READS!!!!! I don't think I will ever grow out of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    <3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Amazing

    Its kind of cool to be a girl knight and it is kind of kidish but im a kid so aaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwweeeeeeeeeeeesssssssoooooooommmmmmmeeeeeeeeee in my opinion
    GIRL POWER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Grea Excelent book

    I really enjoyed this book and i think its great for anyone who loves adventure fantasy and just a little romance. The next books have more romance in them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    The Alanna series,BEST SERIES EVER MADE!

    Tis a book that should be remembered forever.I'm 9 and I love the series.But it could be a little better without the romantic parts.Everything else is fine.The Lioness calls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    Read this book in 7th grade and I'm STILL obsessed with it! (I'm

    Read this book in 7th grade and I'm STILL obsessed with it! (I'm a freshman in college now) :B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    STOP HATING, HATERS!

    P.s. I'm sorry if you went to read this and discovered nothing was there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Favorite book in high school

    Still a great comming of age book about a strong female lead

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    Good for young readers

    So I picked this book up in my school library when I was about 9 and I loved it! I bought a copy of the series a few years ago and re-read it about every year or so, though this book and the rest in the series are for young readers. You can tell that this is Ms. Pierce's first series and she is still developing her writing style, especially if you go on to read her most recent novels which have more depth in the story lines and are less jumpy with the plot lines. It was this author who introduced me into fiction and probably the reason I am still a reader to this day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    TO HELP

    You can read it I read it when I was nine or eight it was greay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Enjoyable read...

    If you enjoy books about women who can take care of themselves, this is one to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Love it

    Love it girls can do thing boys can do never underestimte a girl boys cant wait to read the next book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Lioness180038

    For all those out there who love girl power, this is your book. The series is very exciting, with some mature topics. I would not recommend to age 10 and under. This is a great story of finding your own way in the world, and living your dreams. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Great!!!

    I like how i can relate to alannas longing(and doing!!) for/or things deemed only men were capable of.(in her world,training to be a knight,in ours,well,im sure u probaly can think up a few things)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    The Song of the Lioness

    This is a wonderful series! It's perfect for young girls to read as their first series and rediscover when they're older. I just wish the series wasn't so expensive. Definitely a favorite and it really should be a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Awesome

    I loved it! It's my favorite series! They should make a movie out of this! You have to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    This book shows that a girl can do just as much as a boy-maybe evn better than a boy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Amazing!!! :)

    Growing up this book gave me hope, that I could be anything I wanted to be. The day I started reading this series was the day I began to find myself. I would recomend this book to anyone but especially to any young girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Alanna

    I love this series i really a good i high reccamand the series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 494 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 25