Customer Reviews for

Alaska: Saga of a Bold Land

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    If you love wilderness, exploration, and history, give this book a chance. I new nothing of Alaska, and now feel as if I was there. This book starts with the first humans to arrive, through the battles of survival, fur trade, gold and copper rush, roads and railways, mountain climbing, fishing and farming, battles of two World Wars, and much more. Has to be the most exciting state I've ever red about. Can't wait to visit!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Sparkstar

    Why is that Southernstar?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Our first trip to Alaska - August 2013. Luckily, I happened to

    Our first trip to Alaska - August 2013. Luckily, I happened to find this book in a little bookstore in the town of Haines. I have finished the first two chapters and have learned this is a book you don't want to put down. I love the style of writing. The author is a great story teller. I am loving this history and I recommend it highly. If you read just one history of Alaska, make it this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    To below

    I love it! Recomendations: he goes to the twoleg home and falls in love with a pretty shect named Leiah. Then they have babies, and he takes a stroll in the forest with her, and he runs into his old clan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Fishtail and the Twolegs (part 2)

    Fishtail was tensed and ready to jump off the Thunderpath when he reminded himself that he was dieing and that there was no point in living. So he stayed there, right in the middle of the Thunderpath. The monster saw him and screamed out a strange beeping noise. It hurt his ears and he was about to change his mind. But he didnt. The monster got closer. Its honking noises got so loud that there was a ringing in his ears. It was about to hit him and take his usless life away, when its ginormous black, rounded paws skidded across the wet Thunderpath. It was a mouse- length away when it stopped. Then its mouth swung open and a twoleg hopped out. He walked in a strange twoleg waddle. He was very plump. Fishtail felt like running, but it seemed like the rai had seeped all the energy out of him. He lay there. He did try and get up, but his leg was badly broken. The twoleg spoke in his foreign tounge. Fishtail had no idea what he was saying. Then he picked me up. He mewed at the top of his lungs, hoping that his Clan would hear him. No one answered exept the twolegs's sharp voice. Then he placed him inside of the monsters belly. He braced himself for death, for the monster to digest him. But it never hapened. He was bleeding so rapudly that he fell un-contious as the hail pattered the roof of the monster. He woke up in a bright white room. At first, he thought he had decended into StarClan. Then he saw a Twoleg lean over him- not the twoleg that almost hit him with his monster, but a different one. This one was tall, skinny, and wore bright white clothing. He had white rubber gloves on and something around his neck, too. The other twoleg was standing in the corner of the room while the white one worked on his wounds. He usee differend things to heal Fishtails wounds. This must be the twolegs' medicine cat, thought Fishtail. Then the white twoleg put something around his neck. It, too, was white, and it stretched a little further then the edge of his face. He had seen other kittypets wear them. They said that it was if they had an injury. They said it was called a cone. He growled wuth fury. Now he was healed, he will excape. A plan was already forming in his mind. (Post recomendations and comments fir part 2! Thx for reading!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    To the one under me..

    Alaska is exiting. I live here. But its very cold right now its like-40 below. But come on up

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1