Customer Reviews for

The Alchemist's Daughter: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    Awesome, Fast Read

    If you love historical fiction, this book is for you. I do not understand previous reviewer's negative statements about this book. The descriptions of scenery and characters are BEAUTIFULLY written, and I couldn't put the book down!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    Wonderful

    This was one of my favorite books of the year, and I love historical novels of this time period. I enjoyed reading a historical novel that used the period as a backdrop, rather than beating me over the head with sterotypes. I agree, Emelie was a strong character, going through a period in her life that many readers will associate with. A wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Trashy romance novel disguised as historical fiction!

    This book was highly disappointing and predictable. The heroine of the novel is detestable and clueless. There are literally no redeeming qualities to this book. I would have stopped reading halfway through but I have to finish a book once I start it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An interesting story from the 1700's

    A scientists performs and experiement that has effects that he never took into account. In this book, his daughter, while well educated lacks the ability to communicate and interact with people at least in observation. The writing style occurrs in the 1700's and some accounts in the book are shown as brutal that time in history was as well. Its quite and enlighting book demonstrating simple basic human emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    If you like historical fiction...

    The Alchemist's Daughter gets off to a fairly slow start, but about 20 pages into the book, it becomes un-put-downable. Against a background of weird science and a creepy house it depicts a young woman's search for her dead mother's identity, and yearning for her alchemist father's love and affection. An unexpected visitor to the estate changes her life and takes her out into the wider world. Alas, while she loves him passionately, there is enough about him to suspect that he's not who he says he is. The heroine is not to be denied her quest, so in spite of him, she searches tirelessly for the answers she needs. This search is both her downfall and, finally, her salvation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Butterfly

    More a coming of age story than a bodice ripper or genre romance, The Alchemist's Daughter tells of the early experiences of a sheltered young woman with a remarkable education. Emily is an expert in the science of alchemy, the study of the forces of nature, but knows next to nothing about living her life or human nature. This novel follows her as she leaves her father's home for the first time as the starry eyed wife of an unscrupulous fortune hunter, about to learn the hard way about love, morality, and trust. Author McMahon plays out Emily's story against a vivid background of London society and backwater village. By the end of the novel, Emily's metamorphosis is underway. Could a sequel be in the offing?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    historically rich, provocative, and a great read

    The first thing I want to point out is how intelligent the book is, as a Chemistry major I found the alchemy to be fascinating without sounding like one of my usual lectures. Also, the writing was flawless, fluid, beautiful, and completely perfect for the point of view. The historical detail was rich and fantastic, but it wasn't too overwhelming. This is a perfect example of historical fiction, and it was very interesting, and it was NOT a slow read whatsoever. I read this on a stormy day where all my lectures ended up being canceled in the library, and I could not have spent my time any better.
    This isn't a soapy, unintelligent read for affection starved older women.

    If you enjoy a great read, with a strong and multidimensional, defiant, main character (with human folly like the rest of us) and great historical fiction, then this book is definitely for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    A book to read by the fireplace!

    This is a great book. Love how the author is so descriptive of the settings. The main character is a detailed observer and the author is able to rightly capture this characteristic. The book seems to get a bit lenghtly toward the end but all the building of anticipation at the beginning makes finishing the book worth every word. <BR/><BR/>I am not much for chemistry, or alchemy for that matter, but I did not mind all the 'science talk' throughout the book. It gives the reader a greater appreciation for the depth of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am disappoined to say I didn't enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. The thorough explanations of alchemical experiments thwarted me, if I wanted to hear about chemicals and hoity toity experimenting I would have cracked open my Chemistry textbook. I also had a problem with the sexual scenes, they weren't descriptive at all. For an author who has thrown in sex scene after sex scene, she could have just spanned them out and made them excruciatingly sensual. Not just a breif meeting between lovers. This is an adult book, not a teenage romance! Though, I love the author's writing and her plotlines are just perfection, I believe she could have elaborated on the story further more. There were also times when I thought the characters where manic depressive, they were constantly changing from a well developed character to somebody you barely recognize, I wasn't sure if this was intentional or a minor faux pas. Aside from those tidbits, I believe this was a wonderful and page turning read. Even if it doesn't all end up the way you want it to... The author provides exceptionally gripping hooks and turns that is sure to entice any reader. ughah. xxx Vampyr

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Not at all impressed!

    This is my first time reading a book by this author and I was not impressed at all. The characters are very weakly developed, the plot is circuitous, and the ending leaves much to be desired. To her credit, the book began interestingly enough but then began its very fast descent to incomprehensibility and ridiculousness. I would have gave it a 1, but the cover art was a saving grace...so there you have it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    A little faster than a snail's pace

    The story has promise and could have really been a great read. But the author seems to drag things along. After the opening 50 pages, I found myself scanning text and jumping 40 pages ahead beause things were moving too slowly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Alchemist's Daughter

    This is a great book for anybody who likes historcal fiction. I did not think I would like this book as much as I did, but the story and its characters enchanted me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    Alchemist's Daughter

    At first I thought the Alchemist's Daughter would be very bland, very boring. As I read this book I was proved wrong. Even though the book is set in eighteenth century London, England, it is very vivid and accurate. Emelie is one of the strongest heroines I've read about in a long time. This a poweful novel with strong characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2