Customer Reviews for

The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1371 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(845)

4 Star

(288)

3 Star

(139)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Just the tip of the Iceberg

My girlfriend knew I was a HUGE Harry Potter fan and she saw these books online. She decided to buy the three books that were out for me. I began to read The Alchemyst and must admit, at first I was a little turned off and not sure I wanted to finish the book. It was...
My girlfriend knew I was a HUGE Harry Potter fan and she saw these books online. She decided to buy the three books that were out for me. I began to read The Alchemyst and must admit, at first I was a little turned off and not sure I wanted to finish the book. It was dwelling a lot on pop culture like the new batman movies and cell phone and lap tops. Knowing my girlfriend would be disappointed should I not read all the books, I pressed on. Once the story started unfolding I got more and more into it and realized the pop culture references began to symbolize the link to the real world and became pretty important. The book became fast paced and really interesting. Scott does a great job connecting all sorts of real mythology and legends from around the world and brings them in as this connected universe. I spent a ton of time looking up characters, monsters and locations online just to see if the things they mentioned were real (well... really myths and legends).

The Alchemyst is probably the least enjoyable in the series, but thats not bad, it just leads into some even more fast paced and epic stories that are the sequels. Scott's stories(just like JK Rowling did with the HP series) become more and more complex and well written, they just get better and better. I can't wait to read the remaining books as well as see the upcoming film adaptations.

posted by Double0Kevin on November 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Decent but inconsistent

The book was good, but certain parts were very frustrating to read. I'm not exactly the target audience (28) but I kept focusing on inconsistencies that made this difficult to push through.

There was a lot of extraneous detail provided that just didn't really s...
The book was good, but certain parts were very frustrating to read. I'm not exactly the target audience (28) but I kept focusing on inconsistencies that made this difficult to push through.

There was a lot of extraneous detail provided that just didn't really seem pertinent to certain situations. It seems like the author talked about laptops/cell phones way too much, like he was trying too hard to connect with the younger generation. Pacing is thrown way off periodically, with long discussions or people doing stupid things when they should be frantically running for their lives etc. Josh says a LOT of really stupid, lame jokes at the wrong times. Somehow, when they are "grabbing their things" Josh is able to take the time to pull out his computer and do a bunch of internet searches. And Altavista? No one uses that anymore.

The brother/sister thing is creepy. They touch each other WAY too much. It's just gross. They're always holding hands and touching shoulders... it just seems a little too much. Maybe some kids are like that, but wow. Also, Josh is a football jock who is also a video gamer / computer expert? Seems like he's a little too specialized in too many areas to be realistic.

There are inconsistencies that I would think an editor who read the book ONCE would catch. Scathach tells the kids to not go outside, because dangerous things are out there. Stay in your room. Well, the kids go outside and then "realize that there were dangerous things out there", Umm, it just hurts my head sometimes.

I'm still trying to push through the book. It seems to get better as it goes on (I'm 3/5 through or so), like the editor skipped over the first half. I guess sometimes successful authors just need to push material out and the quality isn't checked enough.

Again, I'm not quite the right target audience, so some may not notice the same things I do. However, certain components of the story seem quite juvenile while other seems quite adult, so I'm not really sure where to place this.

posted by OlderGuy on December 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 845 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 43
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just the tip of the Iceberg

    My girlfriend knew I was a HUGE Harry Potter fan and she saw these books online. She decided to buy the three books that were out for me. I began to read The Alchemyst and must admit, at first I was a little turned off and not sure I wanted to finish the book. It was dwelling a lot on pop culture like the new batman movies and cell phone and lap tops. Knowing my girlfriend would be disappointed should I not read all the books, I pressed on. Once the story started unfolding I got more and more into it and realized the pop culture references began to symbolize the link to the real world and became pretty important. The book became fast paced and really interesting. Scott does a great job connecting all sorts of real mythology and legends from around the world and brings them in as this connected universe. I spent a ton of time looking up characters, monsters and locations online just to see if the things they mentioned were real (well... really myths and legends).

    The Alchemyst is probably the least enjoyable in the series, but thats not bad, it just leads into some even more fast paced and epic stories that are the sequels. Scott's stories(just like JK Rowling did with the HP series) become more and more complex and well written, they just get better and better. I can't wait to read the remaining books as well as see the upcoming film adaptations.

    35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Dan, a nonstop reader

    I never thought that any book could ever be as nail-biting as this one. The Alchemyst is a little bit boring in the beginning, but it drags you in deep. Once you pick up this book, you can't stop reading. I have always admired fantasies, like Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings, this book beats all of them put together. I hope all you read this love it as much as I did. And check out the sequel The Magician!

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Two twins can change the world, but little do they realize their whole lives are about to change when Dr. Dee walks into the bookstore where Josh works. Sophie, who works across the street, senses something suspicious after watching the strange man. <BR/><BR/>After a magical fight that involves both siblings, they discover Josh's boss isn't exactly who he's claiming to be. <BR/><BR/>He is in fact the famous Nicolas Flamel, whose tomb lies empty. He and his wife have been on the run to escape Dr. Dee's clutches and hide a magical book, which holds more secrets than anyone imagines. When Dr Dee captures Nicholas's wife and part of the book, Nicholas reacts quickly. Since the twins have already been exposed, he allows them to accompany him as he sets forth to recover both Perry and the book. <BR/><BR/>Michael Scott pens the first novel in a new series with action-packed adventure and fantasy. Harry Potter fans will, of course, recognize the name Nicholas Flamel, but that's where the similarities between the two stories end. THE ALCHEMYST delivers a fresh spin on magic that is sure to please.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My All-Time Fave

    I read the review here. Then I started reading the first few chapters at the store before I bought it because I am quite a picky reader. It is very well written. Best of all, it drew me in right away. I got the book and finished reading in 3 days. <BR/><BR/>The author managed to tie historical events, both historical and mythical figures, and real places in a creative way around the fictional teenage characters, Sophia and Josh. In addition to the rich characters, the places mentioned in the book allow my imagination to go wild with a sense of realism. The author writes well without too wordy but yet managed to include all the necessary details and vivid descriptions - which is difficult to achieve in any good fictional writing.<BR/><BR/>In terms of the richness of the characters and the fictional settings, I'd placed this book (this series) between Harry Potter and LOTR. <BR/><BR/>I finished the 2nd book in the series, "The Magician" in 2 weeks (part time reading). I can't wait for the next book and the subsequent ones to be released.<BR/><BR/>- A 30-Yr-Old-Grown-Up who Likes Good Fictions + All-Time Michael Crichton's + Some Amy Tan's

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Book lover

    I love this book. but I have to admit that the first few chapters were boring but later on in the story, I got hooked to it and got so addicted. Trust me, once you start reading on to the book, you will get so hooked, that you wont be able to put the book down.So if you haven't read this book yet, go out there and buy it. also, when you finish the book, I assure you that you will be begging for the next book in the series. If you are wondering the next book in the series is The Magician. I haven't read The Magician yet, but I cant wait to buy it, read it, then see if it is as good as the first book. The Alchemist is the best book I have ever read in my entire life (so far).

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    THIS IS A GREAT BOOK TO READ!!

    When I started to read these books I bought it at the airport thinking that it would keep me till I landed and it did!! I do have to say it just doesn't ease it's way in to the climax like most other books that I have read. THIS BOOK just threw me into the mix. It took mythology and other things I already knew about and put it into a great story, I was stuck on the series and kept reading up till two in the morning seeing what would happen next. The book brings a lot of mythology and other things into the story and that is what makes it very exciting.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This book enticed me to read the series and I am on edge just like with the Harry Potter series I strongly suggest you read this book!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Amazingly super amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Look ive read a lot and i mean A TON ive read the whole percy jackson series in a week. I read this book in a day its so good. Its an AMAZING book

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Awesome!!

    Only 5 pages and you're already hooked within seconds! It's a must!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great 1st Book in Trilogy

    This book is much more sophisticated than Harry Potter. The story is great and delves into mythology, horror and science fiction. The author does an excellent job of describing the shadow relms and mythical creatures and relating them to the present. Read or listen to this book (the audio version is amazing) and you will want to read the next 2 books to see how it all works out for Sophie and Josh.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Great

    The plot was exciting as well as th fantasy in this. It has gods from every culture like mars

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Awesome!

    Really great book couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Alchemyst is a pretty good book.

    I loved this book, it was well thought out and was really adventurous.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    An amazing book

    I though this book was amazing. it was really fast paced and you never got bored. This book is really good if you like a fast paced action sdventure or if you like aceint gods/ goddeses. it seemed this book just keep getting more interesting and didnt even slow down on the last page.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Where to begin. At first I wasn't sure if I would like this book

    Where to begin. At first I wasn't sure if I would like this book. I don't think I have ever loved a book so much!
    I saw, felt, heard, smelt, and even tasted everything the characters did. At the end of the book I was actually crying
    because I didn't have the next book at my side, like I normally do when i'm close to finishing a book. Anyone who
    loves a good action, adventure, and suspenseful book, will love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Great book

    Great book! I read the entire series and loved how all of the details came together

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Luv this book Luv this book.. Luv this book ..

    Read peter and the staar catchers it is a thousand times beter

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Luv it

    I totally reccomend this book. I have it at home. Its wonderful. I luv it. At the library booksale i wasnt sure but then i couldnt keep my nose out of it and you wont be able to either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Good book

    Its the best book ever that talks about magic and myths (rick riodion and micheal scott are neck and neck now)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Great adventure for teens and adults!

    This series brings magic, myth and history to life, literally, in the new tradition of Rowling, Riordan amd company, in a fresh way that keeps you reading from book one to six!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 845 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 43