Customer Reviews for

The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1386 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(855)

4 Star

(292)

3 Star

(140)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Just the tip of the Iceberg

My girlfriend knew I was a HUGE Harry Potter fan and she saw these books online. She decided to buy the three books that were out for me. I began to read The Alchemyst and must admit, at first I was a little turned off and not sure I wanted to finish the book. It was...
My girlfriend knew I was a HUGE Harry Potter fan and she saw these books online. She decided to buy the three books that were out for me. I began to read The Alchemyst and must admit, at first I was a little turned off and not sure I wanted to finish the book. It was dwelling a lot on pop culture like the new batman movies and cell phone and lap tops. Knowing my girlfriend would be disappointed should I not read all the books, I pressed on. Once the story started unfolding I got more and more into it and realized the pop culture references began to symbolize the link to the real world and became pretty important. The book became fast paced and really interesting. Scott does a great job connecting all sorts of real mythology and legends from around the world and brings them in as this connected universe. I spent a ton of time looking up characters, monsters and locations online just to see if the things they mentioned were real (well... really myths and legends).

The Alchemyst is probably the least enjoyable in the series, but thats not bad, it just leads into some even more fast paced and epic stories that are the sequels. Scott's stories(just like JK Rowling did with the HP series) become more and more complex and well written, they just get better and better. I can't wait to read the remaining books as well as see the upcoming film adaptations.

posted by Double0Kevin on November 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

Decent but inconsistent

The book was good, but certain parts were very frustrating to read. I'm not exactly the target audience (28) but I kept focusing on inconsistencies that made this difficult to push through.

There was a lot of extraneous detail provided that just didn't really s...
The book was good, but certain parts were very frustrating to read. I'm not exactly the target audience (28) but I kept focusing on inconsistencies that made this difficult to push through.

There was a lot of extraneous detail provided that just didn't really seem pertinent to certain situations. It seems like the author talked about laptops/cell phones way too much, like he was trying too hard to connect with the younger generation. Pacing is thrown way off periodically, with long discussions or people doing stupid things when they should be frantically running for their lives etc. Josh says a LOT of really stupid, lame jokes at the wrong times. Somehow, when they are "grabbing their things" Josh is able to take the time to pull out his computer and do a bunch of internet searches. And Altavista? No one uses that anymore.

The brother/sister thing is creepy. They touch each other WAY too much. It's just gross. They're always holding hands and touching shoulders... it just seems a little too much. Maybe some kids are like that, but wow. Also, Josh is a football jock who is also a video gamer / computer expert? Seems like he's a little too specialized in too many areas to be realistic.

There are inconsistencies that I would think an editor who read the book ONCE would catch. Scathach tells the kids to not go outside, because dangerous things are out there. Stay in your room. Well, the kids go outside and then "realize that there were dangerous things out there", Umm, it just hurts my head sometimes.

I'm still trying to push through the book. It seems to get better as it goes on (I'm 3/5 through or so), like the editor skipped over the first half. I guess sometimes successful authors just need to push material out and the quality isn't checked enough.

Again, I'm not quite the right target audience, so some may not notice the same things I do. However, certain components of the story seem quite juvenile while other seems quite adult, so I'm not really sure where to place this.

posted by OlderGuy on December 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 855 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 43
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    This book is awesome!!!

    When i first read some of the reviews i was sceptical. But i read the books, and MOST OF THE BAD REVIEWS WERE PROBBALLY WRITEN BY COMPEDITORS OR STUPID PEOPLE!!! The book is really goog and well written. It ties historical facts with fantasy and the modern world. I just read ( and loved) the heroes of olympus books and these were similar except this author conveys his thoughts better. If you are still deciding wethor or not to buy it buy the first codex package now instead of buying all of them individually. You save so much money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Great read - Fast paced and fun!

    My daughter loaned me her copy of The Alchemyst to take on a trip. Luckily I had brought my Nook with me and was able to order the rest of the series to read while traveling. These books grab you right away. There is hardly any time to catch your breath. A lot of action, with enough humor to keep it fun. Interesting characters that put a new twist on established myths. I hope you enjoy this as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Easy read! Action right off the bat!

    I finished this book in approx. 24 hours (taking breaks throughout the day, of course)! A very easy read!

    Right off the bat, action is thrown in your face. Although the writing style is slightly juvenile for me, there is just enough detail to keep you hooked. I considered giving this book 4 stars, until the group arrived at the shop of the Witch of Endor. The events of then on made me change my mind and give it a five.

    Although this is a young adult book, I would recommend it to older fantasy readers who also like history, as many of the characters in this book were indeed real!

    I will be starting the second book of this series tonight before I head to sleep. I cannot wait to see what is in store next for this amazing group!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Very well written

    The first few chapters are a little slow, but the book picks up pretty quick. I loved the refrences, and am very much looking forward to the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    THIS IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THUS IS THE BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THE WAY EVERYTHING IS ABOUT THIS BOOOK IS THE BEST IT CAN EVER BE YOU GOT TO BUY THIS BOOOK AND READ THIS BOOOK YOU WILLL LOVE IT GARANTEED AND IF YOU DONT ILL GIVE U A REFUND PERSONALLY? THIS BOOK WAS BJUST PURE AWESOMNESS AND NOTHING COULD BEAT THIS BOOOK NOBODY HOW HARD YOU TRY? I PROMISE YOULL LOVE THIS BOOOK SO KUCH THAT YOU JERK OFFFFF IN THE WAYS THAT YOUVE NEVER HEARD OF? THIS BOOK WAS JUST AMAZING ITS THE BEST OF THE BEST IN THE WORLD? I CANT BELEIVE THE AUTHOR COULD JUST MAKE SUVH GOOD BOOKS? I WISH I WAS IMMORTAL OR EVEN BETTER A ELDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS BOOOOOOOKKK IS THE BEST IN THE WORLD AND I DOUBT BY 100% THAT ABY OTHER BOOK CAN MATCH UP TO THIS AWESOMNESS. THIS BOOK IS NOT LIKE ANYTHING YOULL SSEE IN TH REST OF YOUR LIFE PROMISED!!!!!!!! EVERYBODY THAT LOVES THIS BOOK SHOULD CONTINUEBREADING THE SERIES BECAUSE ITS ALMOST DONE. THANK YOU FOR THE BEST BOOK IN THEBWORLD MICHEAL SCOTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite in the Series So Far

    This is one of my favorite books that I have read so far. I like the idea about alchemy behind the plot. The thought of a magic that has almost everything to do with science fascinates me. The plot was very well written and original. There are many battles to keep you interested. There is also much mythology inside of the story. I cannot wait to read the others in the series.

    Reviewed by Kole for Book Sake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    The Series

    I LOVE THESE BOOKS!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Series!

    I love the series! It fascinating the way certain people and events in history are portrayed in a new light! I'm on book 3 now and can't put them down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    New magic for the soul!

    Craving a fascinating adventure. This book is a great new franchise. Promissing to deliver it all. I reccomend it to all ages. A brilliant escape. Reads fast and exciting too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    !

    I really like it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    AWESOME! I like pie

    This book is great! Michael Scott is a good writer. Pie is the awesomest dessert ever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    A really good read.

    This book is full of excitement and adventure. Other readers will probably say the exact same thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Amazing

    Perfectly written. I LOVE it! Cant wait to read the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    The best

    I know I would never be able to put into words how much I truely enjoyed this book. I'm on the third now and flying through it. I can't wait to get to the next and the next and the next!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    To HP

    Fuq you! This book was awesome!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    awsome!

    The best books I've ever read. Action packed and mysterious, a real page turner, and money well spent. Go Scott!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Awesome.If you like this you will love TheH Awesome.If you like thi T Awesome Awesome.If you like this you will love The Hunger Games

    Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Best book you will read in your life. It teaches you what loyalty is!

    This is a fast paced book & it is awesome! If u r looking for a fast paced book with lots of exitement, this is the1. I got attached to the characters very quickly. I liked sophy better than josh, altho i liked scatty most of all.the humour & suspense was great! I am thankful that this bk was written, and if u read it, u will b thankfull that this bk was written 2. It is 1 of the best bks that i have red. Please read it! 1st ps: it has nothing to do with harry potter, that is an awesome book 2, and the srcond ps is: i no that i am spelling things wrong

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER

    I am very interested in fictional books and this book was very suspenseful and exciting. This book is good for people that enjoy reading a good mythical story that is also based of legends. It is a good book for kids and adults too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    The Alchemyst, The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel: ¿¿¿¿

    The Alchemyst, The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel: ¿¿¿¿¿

    Two twins, one with the power to save the world, the other with the power to destroy it. Sophie and Josh Newman fit this description. They are twins, Sophie older by 28 seconds. Sophie and Josh live in San Francisco, working summer jobs across the street from one another. Josh working at a mysterious bookshop owned by Nick Flemming and his wife Perry, Sophie at a coffee shop. Sophie and Josh have a destiny, to become the twins of legend.

    Nicholas Flammel, or Nick Flemming as I should call him, is more than he seems. One day Sophie sees men going into the bookshop, she investigates and suddenly lands herself and her brother in terrible danger, they must be trained in the study of the elements by master’s across the globe, will they survive. Find out.

    This book is an all around amazing fantasy book. I highly recommend it for anybody who likes adventure/fantasy books. For example if you have read the Percy Jackson series then you would like this book. The plot moves fast in this book, keeping things going and never slowing down too much. Michael Scott did a great job describing the characters and the I could paint a picture of the scenery in my head as I was reading.

    My lasting impression was a great fun read for kids in middle school. I really hope you enjoy this book like I did. Thank you for reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 855 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 43