Customer Reviews for

Alcoholics Anonymous-Big Book

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A life changer

    Within a few minutes of reading this book, I knew that I was an alcoholic. I can relate to most of the personnel in this book. It is never to late to stop drinking. I recommend this great piece of literature to anyone serious about giving up alcohol.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    Read it

    Very simple, read it. If you have a problem with alcohol, there is no better book. Read the book, follow the suggestions. It will help and life will get better. I cannot believe it was written so long ago and still has legs to it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    A must have! This book is a must have for anyone hoping to recov

    A must have! This book is a must have for anyone hoping to recover from Alcoholism. This book, along with the program of Alcoholics Anonymous, has made my life peaceful and free of anxiety...finally. Get this book..but most importantly... get a sponsor and start working the steps.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Alcoholics Anonymous the big bood

    This was for my work which is runnning an aftercare recovery support group of adults who are in recovery from their alcoholism or drug addiction. All were excited to be given the soft cover book which is easy to carry with them or place in the home for easy access. Service was excellent at the store where I ordered them and the delivery was outstanding. Thanks.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Alcoholics Anonymous was an inspiring piece of literature. The m

    Alcoholics Anonymous was an inspiring piece of literature. The main point of this book is to help people who are addicted to alcohol and give them something to reference and help them through the process of withdrawal. What I liked about this book was that it was a self help book technically, but it didn’t scream self help. The book was more about the author’s point of view and their stories, rather than them just saying “You can get through it, I know you can!” The book did say that, but it said it as an underlying message, rather than out loud in the text. The reason I liked that the book didn’t perceive itself as a Self Help book is because I read it to hear the stories of what the authors went through rather than hearing a motivational speech throughout the whole book.
    Honestly, I think that anyone would find this book a good read, I don’t think only specific people should read it, because people can learn so much from it, even if you’re not an alcoholic. I personally am not an alcoholic, I don’t even drink, I am a high school student that read this book for a project, and I learned so much from it. It was a great read.
    I don’t really have any dislikes of this book, I mean, I didn’t really enjoy how long it was, but I understood why it was so long and why they had to give the amount of detail that they gave. That’s really my only dislike though. I think that more people should read this book and experience what it has to offer. I definitely give it a 5 out of 5 stars.


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    A LIFE CHANGER,INDEED! This is "the bible" for people

    A LIFE CHANGER,INDEED! This is "the bible" for people who want to achieve and maintain sobriety. It has worked for millions over its decades in readers hands. It is also the framework upon which almost, if not all other 12 Step Addiction Recovery Programs
    are built upon. Such as Narcotics Anonymous,etc. Any AA member, past or present; would attest to its amazingly powerful content and message.

    Please note: (and main reason for posting my review): The Big Book available here is the 4th edition. Earlier editions carry the same message about the AA program;and later editions do not contradict or challenge any of content of those editions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Where is the fourth edition?

    This book cant even be used in meetings because it isnt the current editiin the personal stories were updated

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    Alcoholics Anonymous saved my life! I tried all kinds of methods

    Alcoholics Anonymous saved my life! I tried all kinds of methods to stop drinking on my own including several trips to treatment facilities. Nothing worked until I decided to get completely honest within my heart and conceded to my innermost self I am an alcoholic. At that point alcohol had beat me into a state of reasonableness and I become willing, open minded and completely honest within myself. That was all it took for me to successfully work through the 12 steps of the AA program of action as outlined in this book. The gift this book and program has given me is far beyond anything I could have imagined. I now have a design for living life on life's terms like nothing I have experienced before in my life. I learned that alcohol was not my only problem, yes I had become physically addicted, however I used alcohol as my solution to all my problems. I was in a verbally and mentally abusive marriage and didn't know how to get out so turned to alcohol to numb the pain. As a result, over time I crossed the line into full blown addiction and had to accept that I am an alcoholic and can no longer safely use alcohol ever again. This book taught me about the disease concept of alcoholism and how to overcome it through the 12 steps and I refer to this book on a regular basis as when I faced with a difficult situation I can always find an answer on what I should do to help me resolve my problem. For anyone who seriously thinks they might be an alcoholic I highly recommend this book and going to AA meetings, getting a sponsor who will take you through this book the way they had been taught so you may be able to receive the amazing gift of recovery!. I will note that AA is not the only way to recover from alcoholism but I can attest from my own personal experience it worked for me. And the text of this book (the first 164 pages) hasn't changed, not one word since it went to print back around 1935. This book has helped millions recover from alcoholism for the past 75 years and it is an option to consider for yourself if you seriously believe you have a problem and need help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    A new life

    This book and its contents saved my life. Without it, I could not have discovered my way out from under the lash of alcoholism and all its ramifications. My life is forever changed. For that, I am eternally grateful to the men and women who contributed so freely their experience, strength, and hope that I might live.
    Love and Peace to all who journey here. May you find happiness, joy, and freedom.
    Blessed in Recovery,
    Susan T.
    Boynton Beach, Fl. USA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Lani

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1