Customer Reviews for

The Ale Boy's Feast

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    It was good

    The Ale Boy's Feast is a very well written book that is full of description and a subtle sense of mystery. I like the smooth story line. there was a strong sense of analogy in the "Prodigal Mage" being Jesus. My favorite attribute is the bit-by-bit release of information to keep the interest of the reader throughout the book.
    though i have not read the other three i enjoyed this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Review for "The Ale Boy's Feast" by Jeffrey Overstreet

    "The Ale Boy's feast" is the latest (and last) book in Jeffrey Overstreet's 'Auralia's Thread' series. I must admit, off the bat, that I have not read any of the other three books. However, reading this one made me want to read the others. Mr. Overstreet writes with lyrical and vibrant prose, eliciting descriptions as vivid as Auralia's colors, yet he doesn't let his poetic gift keep him from telling an exciting story.

    The story follows the ale boy, the mage Sharr ben Fray and King Cal-Raven through entertwining story lines as they struggle to bring their friends, families and loved ones through darkness and danger into the final light and safety. Along the way he deals with such big ideas as faith, beauty, truth, honesty, faithfulness, humility, redemption and transformation, and all with understanding and compassion. And unlike some Christian authors he is not afraid to deal honestly with the darkness and sin within all of us, never losing hope along the way.

    All in all I am glad to have made some new friends, and look forward to spending more time with them as I read the first three books.

    Note: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Overstreet writes beautifully

    The characters from book three, Cyndere's Midnight, continue along their way. We follow many different groups of characters, most importantly: Cal-raven and the ale boy. King Cal-raven, having escaped Cent Regus, eventually meets up with some companions and sets off to find the New Abascar. The ale boy attempts to lead a group of former captives toward a safe location. Deathweed and visorclaws are growing throughout the land and killing many.

    Mr. Overstreet writes beautifully. I tend to favor books that follow one or two main characters, and his book follows many, though they are all wonderful, deep, realistic, fun, yet flawed characters. It took me a while to remember who everyone was and where they were and why. If I had read these books one after another, this wouldn't have been an issue. But it had been a while, so I had a hard time following so many characters and caring about what happened to them all.

    The storyworld is amazing and creative and beautiful. I love it. And I like the questions Overstreet posed about creation and a creator, though I admit I was painfully seeking out the Christian allegory the whole time. Turn out this isn't that kind of series.

    A Jeffrey Overstreet book is not one to read through in a day. It is one to read slowly and thoughtfully. It is not a fast-paced adventure but a literary journey. I was happy to discover some very interesting answers in this final volume, some of which I guessed, some of which totally surprised me. But as to the ending. I'm a happy ending girl. And while this ending wasn't necessarily unhappy, if was murky. I couldn't quite tell what happened. So I went back and re-read the last few chapters again, thinking I somehow missed something major. Alas, no. So I had to take my best guess as to what happened. And it left me feeling slightly disgruntled, like I couldn't understand what the author was trying to say. So I would have liked a little more resolution. Even if one minor character said, "Well, I guess this is what happened," I would have felt better. My two cents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Good

    Summary: In the land of the Expanse there were four great kingdoms. These kingdoms hailed their ancestry from one ancient group of refugees from the land of the curse, which was beyond the forbidding wall. Now, the kingdoms are being destroyed by various enemies and their citizens are once again becoming refugees. Under Abascar's King, Calraven, a group of refugees begin to search for the lost city of Inius Throan, and with the help of the Ale boy and a girl with magical powers they hope to defeat their enemies and give hope to the peoples of the Expanse.

    This is the last chapter in Jeffrey Overstreet's series, "Auralia Thread." Since I had not read any of the previous books I was wondering if I would be able to enjoy the story. Well, I did enjoy the story. It was exciting, adventurous, and left me wondering, "what's next" most of the time.

    However, the story was not all that it could have been, so here is a short list of some dissatisfying flaws:

    1. The end. Overstreet concludes the story quickly, too quickly, I think. Conclusions should not be stretched out, but they should also draw out enough detail to give the reader the opportunity to savor the end of the story. The ending does not give us much to savor. In fact, I felt somewhat cheated by the ending, because it was not enough. Not all loose ends tied up, which is fine as long as some of them are (or if none of them are, then there needs to be good reason).

    2. Unnecessary deaths. I think too many of the interesting characters were killed off. Maybe I'm short-sighted here, I don't know. Authors should be ready to kill their characters, but for the right reasons. There need to be compelling reasons for the deaths of good characters. They must move the story forward and/or add something important to the story. I'm not sure all the deaths were warranted.

    3. Writing characteristics. I enjoyed the detailed descriptions in the writing. Overstreet uses many good words and creates pictures and sounds and smells and etc. This was good. But he used repetition and alliteration too often. These devices are usually better left to poetry or used only when there is compelling reason to do so in narrative story-telling. I'm not quite sure why this is so, but it is so. Maybe it's because the use of repetition, alliteration, and other similar literary tools, can cause the reader to bounce out of the story; certain literary tools can jostle a reader out of his imagination. Maybe?

    4. Predictable. At times the author made it far too easy for me to see what was coming. This was not done too often, but when it was it did hurt the story.

    The story was good and compelling, but it could have been better, is the argument of this reviewer.

    I received this book free from the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Cleverly Woven Thread

    The King is Missing.
    His people are trapped as the woods turn deadly.
    Underground, the boy called Rescue has found an escape.

    So says the back cover of Jeffrey Overstreet's the Ale Boy's Feast, out from WaterBrook Press just this year.

    The once-beautiful forests of the Expanse have turned bloodthirsty under the Curse. The survivors of House Abascar risk their lives on a journey to find the lost city of a legend. The king's helper, the Ale Boy, fell through a crack in the earth while attempting to help the slaves. With the help of a reformed beastman and escaping foreigners, he leads desperate survivors toward hope underground. A wandering mage with a dry sense of humor sets out to unlock the secrets of Abascar his own way. And always there is talk of the mysterious girl Auralia, who gave her colors to the people and then... disappeared.

    These are just some of the stories that unfold in the final book of the Auralia Thread, The Ale Boy's Feast.

    I should have known better than to dive into a series on the last book. It took me a while to get the hang of Overstreet's world, especially since it is written from a different point of view in every chapter. That made reading a little confusing at times.

    It also seemed like the story went slowly until about the second half of the book, although it turned out that all the seemingly pointless references to long-lost creatures, random escapades in the woods, and endless cast of characters were actually setting the stage for the fast-paced action toward the end. The entire tale is tied together by a series of stories, not just the story of a single hero. Everyone plays some part in discovering Auralia's Colors. O

    nce I got caught up in the lives of so many people (beastmen, dragons, etc...) it seemed impossible to get untangled from the thread. If the first part of the book discourages you, don't stop! There is so much more to come.

    My rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
    {Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.}

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great book to read but read the series from the beginning first!

    Sometimes the best thing about getting to book number 4 is that you don't have to wait long before picking up a great series and reading it through from beginning to end. That's just where The Ale's Boy's Feast comes into play from author Jeffrey Overstreet. This is the final book in the Auralia's Color's series and you won't want to miss how each book links to the previous one through each characters developments and how they arrived at where they are in this one.

    Here is the summary just in case you have already read the previous three or want to see what direction this one goes:

    The king is missing.
    His people are trapped as the woods turn deadly.
    Underground, the boy called Rescue has found an escape.

    Hopes are failing across The Expanse. The forests, once beautiful, are now haunted and bloodthirsty. House Abascar's persecuted people risk their lives to journey through those predatory trees. They seek a mythic city - Abascar's last, best hope for refuge - where they might find the source of Auralia's colors.

    They journey without their king. During a calamitous attempt to rescue some of his subjects from slavery, Cal-raven vanished.

    But his helper, the ale boy, falling through a crack in the earth, has discovered a slender thread of hope in the dark. He will dare to lead a desperate company up the secret river.

    Meanwhile, with a dragon's help, the wandering mage Scharr ben Fray is uncovering history's biggest lie - a deception that only a miracle can repair.

    Time is running out for all those entangled in The Auralia Thread. But hope and miracles flicker wherever Auralia's colors are found.

    The characters are brilliantly well written and you find that they themselves have the same character flaws as we do but have the ability to summon up heroic abilities when they need to.

    In this conclusion to the series we have the answers we have been searching for since book one. The mystery between Deathweed and the Essence is finally revealed, love between some of our favorite characters are finalized, and in the end justice is dispensed and redemption comes at a cost. The books in the series are Auralia's Colors (1), Cyndere's Midnight (2), and Raven's Ladder (3).

    I received this book compliments of Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy Blog Tours in conjunction with Jeffrey Overstreet for my honest review. I am looking forward to reading this series from beginning to end to see how the story lines develop and how each characters journey changes from beginning to end. Picking this one up strictly by itself would be like picking up the final book in the Lord of the Rings trilogy and trying to make sense of it. Yet if you love mythical novels along the lines of Tolkien and C.S. Lewis, then this is a great series to pick up. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars. This book is available in paperback and eReader formats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A series well-worth reading.

    As in the previous Auralia books, Overstreet's prose reads like poetry, though Cyndere's Midnight is the finest example of this, IMO. The Ale Boy's Feast is complex and exciting, and the characters deep and well-developed. It's pretty much more of the same as the rest of the Auralia Thread. (And by "the same," I mean more fantastic-ness steeped in awesomeness.) With one small difference... Here's the real question for this book: Was Overstreet successful in wrapping up the story in this, the final installment of the series? I say mostly. I don't at all mind the mystery that still surrounds several elements of the story world Overstreet has created. But there were important characters whose fates were complete mysteries, even after the very last page. That drove me a little crazy and is the only reason I subtracted one star. I would have liked a bit more closure for the characters if not the story itself. That being said, I still heartily recommend this series to fantasy fans. It's cerebral and makes you think, so don't expect a light, easy read. Also, I DO NOT recommend starting with this book. It's the 4th in the series and you will be confused. Another note: Though this is published by Waterbrook, a Christian imprint, don't expect "typical" Christian fiction. By that, I don't mean anything derogatory (I write Christian fiction...). I just mean that we're not dealing in straight allegory here. Don't drive yourself crazy looking for a "Jesus character" or the salvation message. Overstreet paints with broader strokes: How do we see the character of God reflected in beauty and art? Exploring the tension between reason and faith - can they exist together? This is more akin to what you'll find in the Auralia Thread. Bottom Line: Go buy it. Now. But buy the series, starting with Auralia's Colors. Cyndere's Midnight is next, and then Raven's Ladder. Finish it all off with The Ale Boy's Feast. Lather, rinse, repeat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    An Exceptional Read

    This book was both exciting and new to read, it kept me wanting to read more, and was not boring in the least; I definitely recommend this book to someone who enjoys a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Unique Work of Art

    I've just finished reading 'The Ale Boy's Feast', which is the fourth installment in the Auralia Series and I have to say, the book was quite interesting.The book is loaded with magical creatures, moon-worshipping Seers and non-stop adventures for the characters in this story. Although at times, I found this book to be quite 'confusing', with the unique use of dialogue and the endless jumping around between the many different traveling groups such as the Bel Amicans, Abascar's citizens, the Beastmen, the Seers, Scharr Ben Frey (a traveling stonemaster) and Queen Theresa's followers - yet, the author, Jeffrey Overstreet, has an astonishing way of keeping the reader enthralled with the story throughout the pages of the book through the beautiful details of scenery and emotion, which cause the imagination to become overwhelmed with vivid color and absolute creativity. Overstreet then lets the action unfold with only sparse detail. His dialogue throughout the story requires careful reading (I've had to re-read certain lines in the book to make sure I've read it properly) as Overstreet rarely gets into the meaning behind the words, preferring to let the reader make what they will of what the character is trying to say. He has a way of not explaining, but merely tells, asking the reader to put their mind in motion and solve the riddles of what the character is trying to say or accomplish. The book requires the reader to put themselves in the characters' shoes, in order to understand what is going on in the minds of the characters themselves.
    The story begins with a slow, dying world. The Seers of Bel Amica have taken over and are poisoning the world with addicting potions and terrifying Deathweed, which consumes the land. The Ale Boy, also known as "Rescue," helps the survivors of the House of Abascar upstream through dangerous areas and predicaments, in order to find shelter, in hopes of restoring the throne to a new House of Abascar and the beginning of a fresh, peaceful life. The plot is beautiful, taking the reader throughout journeys which mold and create the characters' new lives, through troubles and life-changing dilemmas for each and every one of them. At the end of the book, Overstreet even adds "A Guide to the Characters," naming all of the different characters that took place in the story and even what role they played.
    This book was truly a work of art, although a tad bit confusing. I suggest that anyone who attempts to read this book, take their time and read it carefully for, if you skim through the book, you may miss details that will leave you confused in the end. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A thought provoking culmination to enthralling fantasy saga

    While it's a bit sad to see such an enthralling saga come to its conclusion at least for the present, it is always a treat to find one of Overstreet's fantasies in my hands. These are one of the few books that always earn top billing in the TBR since I can't stand to have them just sitting there waiting. This fourth and "final" chapter of the Auralia thread may have tied up a few of the proverbial loose ends and satisfied my reader's need for a "resolution" but as with the earlier volumes in this series Jeffrey's story sparks more curiosity and questions than it resolves. The characters explore their past, present and future as they are searching for their purpose and a place to belong in an unfamiliar "new world" when all they ever knew has crumbled down to the foundations both physically and spiritually. Myths and legends of their history may finally be revealed for the fabrications they are but if the only "truth" a person ever knew is suddenly revealed as nothing more than a pleasant bedtime tale how can life continue without much greater upheaval and confusion in redetermining where the path must start over in the wilderness. The Ale Boy's story maintains the picturesque narrative and rich descriptions native to Overstreet's novels and this fantasy world he has built for the story and characters though it has a unique tone belonging only to his story. In so many ways this book truly culminates the saga as it finally weaves together bits and pieces left unclear in the previous individual viewpoints from other focus characters. Purposes and details from other perspectives are finally united to bring a wholeness to pertinent events that were intertwined by their creator just as our Creator (God) intertwines events and people in our lives for His purpose. Many times we may not see just how it all works until things "fall into place" and we can look back at the completed journey recognizing the things along the way that helped it all work together in the way God intended them to. Overstreet has masterfully combined this tapestry of lives in much the same way God does for our personal stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Reaed this series on order

    The Ale Boy's Feast is actually part of a series. Knowing this I feel readers would benefit from starting at the beginning with Auralia's Colors. Many references are made which I am sure I would have understood had I read the first books in this series.

    With that being said, was it well written? Yes. Did it keep me interested? It did, but I found myself reading pages over and over again due to the lack of fluidity in the writing. The parts that were fluid were mastered beautifully and took me away to another place entirely.

    Basically, read this series and order and you will find it much more enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    A Feast for the Eyes Indeed

    Book 4 (the White Strand) of the Auralia Thread series is brilliantly written by Jeffrey Overstreet and a satisfying read.
    The depth and breadth of the world that's been created approaches those created by more well known writers.
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will be reading the first three novels soon.
    I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group in return for publishing a review (good or bad) on the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    A New Favorite

    The Ale Boy's Feast by Jeffrey Overstreet is the fourth book in the Auralia Thread fantasy series. When I first noticed this, I wondered if I would understand what was going on, but I found that wasn't the case.
    There is a lot going on in this book (which was slightly confusing for the first few chapters). There's the ale boy, called Rescue, who falls through a crack in the earth, and finds himself leading a party of people from both Bel Amica and Abascar, along with a beastman named Jordam. There's the king of House Abascar, Cal-Raven, who has gone missing. There's the mage, Scharr ben Fray, who uncovers the lie so many had believed. Auralia, who many are searching for because of the color she brought into their world. And that's just the beginning of the many characters involved.
    I was thrilled to find such a great book, and fantasy at that. The author tells a wonderful story, showing skill in weaving so many characters together. As an aspiring writer, I really appreciated how there are so many new things in this book that are different from the world we live in (vawns, Deathweed, mawrn, beastmen). The Ale Boy's Feast was excellent, and one of the few books that I would read many times over, and recommend to other fans of the fantasy genre.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Read the beginning of the series first.

    I'm going to start this review by saying the cover of the book states "a novel" which I took to mean that this is a book that can stand alone, be read by itself without any other books having to be read before or after it to get a complete story. This isn't true, this is apparently the second or third book of this story and I didn't know this when I started reading it, so my review is incomplete because the story is incomplete. My overall impression of this book is that I'm coming in on the final chapter of a story, that I'm missing something, I dont understand why these characters are where they are or why they are doing what they are doing, but I should understand this because I should have read the beginning of the story in some other book. Had I read the beginning of the story I might have appreciated the ending a bit more. As it stands I enjoyed reading the book, some of the characters are more enjoyable than others to follow their story, and see how things come together. Some of the characters are a little hard to understand (again maybe not so much if I knew the beginning of the story) but there are some beautiful insights and things that stuck with me. " looking around a greenhouse one character says to another" "Here you'll find the greatest freedom. Know what it is?" "solitude?" "Humility. Morton put a finger to his temple "surround yourself with things that amaze you and you'll forget about comparing yourself to others. The marketplace is a world of masks. Everyone hides themselves for shame. Better to lose yourself in a passion. Whats yours?"" This book follows the journey of several groups of people escaping the fall of their kingdoms as they run from magic that is working to take over their world to a place that will be their own new beginning and is also the beginning of their past, the launching place and home of their ancestors. I saw many parallels to our journey in life with our struggle to seek and find the deep river of pure water that is the best of what God has in store for us and how our descisions can affect our outcomes. How our own petty worries can corrupt the beauty and order in the world that was created for us. Near the end of the book is another passage that stuck with me. " "All of us learn to see shapes among the stars, to connect the dots with lines and name them. It is how our minds work, to impose stories over the chaos so we can live with it. And we always will. Best to choose a good story. Otherwise you end up desparing."... "You may find nothing at all, Or else a tyrant who takes away your freedom." "And I may find the freedom to choose what is best and go on choosing it. All the time. Free of disappointment. Like kites that fly for their master for the joy of it. Without strings." "It saddens me that you cannot imagine a life without someone to serve." " It saddens me, that you think joy comes any other way"" I did enjoy reading this book, but I think i have to go find a copy of the beginning of the story and I'll have to read it so I can get the full picture of what this author intended this story to be. I would highly suggest you wait to read this book until you've read the first book or books in the story. "I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Great book for Teen!

    I enjoyed "The Ale Boy's Feast", although I was at a bit of a disadvantage--I had not realized that this was the final book in a trilogy called The Auralia Thread. If I had read the first two books, I think this read would have been much more meaningful for me.

    If you have a teen or young adult or loves fantasy, this would be a good read for them. The story line between good and evil, the giving of second chances, the holding on to hope are all represented well. I especially liked the giving people a second chance story line, and how difficult that can be when you know no-one else feels that person is deserving.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Ale Boy"s Feast

    The Ale Boy's Feast by Jeffrey Overstreet, is a fantasy fiction novel- the fourth novel in "The Auralia Thread" series. Although this story can be enjoyed independently, it would have been helpful to identify this as book #4 of a series somewhere on the front cover. This book is best appreciated when read as part of the series, nevertheless.

    This detailed 375 page novel brings to life an entire new world of fantasy for the reader. Rich in detail with well developed characters and scenes, any reader who enjoys the fantasy genre will be sure to enjoy this book as well. In true fantasy fashion, this book comes complete with a well detailed map, called "The Expanse", as well a background chapter and character guide. The typical cast of characters and are included as well: the royalty- a king, queen,magicians, musicians, and other commonly recognised midevil characters. The mission and moral completes this fantasy genre novel. This book takes some time to read- with its characters, sub plots and scenes- in order to follow along with the storyline this is not a fiction work that can be skimmed in two hours. For those readers not into fantasy novels, or perhaps new to the fantasy genre- getting through this book will be a challange or perhaps a chore. As a blogger for Water Brook, I recieved a copy of this book for the purpose of writing a review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The fourth and final Aurelia's Thread epic fantasy is a great finish to a strong allegorical journey

    Although the Cent Regus Beastmen hace been defeated, the Seers of Bel Amica continue to destroy the beauty of the realm especially with the poisonous Deathweed. Jordam the Beastman tries to bring back the comatose near dead remains of House Abascar especially Rescue the firewalker ale boy as only he can lead them to salvation in the former hidden city of Inius Throan.

    Milora leads others from tattered Abascar to the Promised Land Inius Throan. Also heading there is Abascar King Cal-raven who has lost his belief in the Keeper. The monarch's former tutor Scharr Ben Fray the stonemaster mage tries to keep the true Expanse history from being overwhelmed by revisionists fabricating threads while hoping to see a New Abascar rise from the ruins of the old order. None can make it to the ancient city yet all can make it to the ancient city.

    The fourth and final Aurelia's Thread epic fantasy (see Raven's Ladder, Auralia's Colors and Cyndere's Midnight) is a great finish to a strong allegorical journey. The Ale Boy's Feast contains several rotating subplots that Jeffery Overstreet intertwines into a powerful tapestry as the key cast struggles with doubts while praying for a new start. Complicated and convoluted, this is a fitting climax to a fabulous multifaceted saga.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "The Ale Boy's Feast" by Jeffrey Overstreet :: Auralia Thread

    Jeffrey Overstreet's fourth novel in a series. Whoops. Failed to mention that on the cover. :D I dove into this novel expecting exactly what I got: A feast. Brain food, no matter how confusing it was to jump in in the middle. *** Stories twine together. That of the Ale Boy, striving to save the survivors of a terror that grows in the ground. Milora, who awoke in the wild grasses of the river, wiped clean of any memories. Cal-Raven, the missing King. All of these fall together in an accumulative picture of a beautiful story. Vivid colors paint a wide canvas with mysteries of life-bringing water, men like beasts, and vicious branches that aim to kill. (Believe me, in this story, branches are scary.) With two peoples made into one, a doubting king, and an advisor who may not be doing as much good as he seems, things are going wrong left and right. But can Cal-Raven consolodate his subjects so that they may survive the horrors of the Deathweed? The Viscorclaws? One can only hope. *** As I said at the top, even reading the fourth book without reading the others, this book was worth my time. I immediately fell in love with the mental imagery, and imagine (imagine. Heh.) that I will miss it when I begin on my next read. Save for a few unsavory moral issues, the book was fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Very good!

    This book was well-paced and the characters seemed pretty developed. The plot moved along a bit faster than I was expecting, though, but it kept me reading. An interesting thing I noticed-parts of it are written in third person present tense, which I'd never read before. I think the author did very well with that. Another thing I thought was interesting was how some things are told from the point of view of characters that I wasn't expecting.There were a ton of twists I didn't see coming (and one that I did! I won't spoil it though). Having read only the book before this one, Raven's Ladder, I'd say there are still a few things I'd missed, but overall it made sense. But if you haven't at least read that one, then The Ale Boy's Feast might be confusing. I don't have much to say negatively about the book, other than the ending seemed a little rushed. The epilogue was a little confusing since it was more of a vague summarization to me, but then again that could just be me. I'm still deciding on how much I liked the ending (not bad, just rushed to me), but overall, I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes to read fantasy.

    This book was provided by Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Great Book

    I've wanted to read Auralia's Colors for, like, years, but never got the book to read it. It was very confusing starting the series off by reading the fourth book, but pieces clicked together as I read further (I would recommend starting at book one!). I actually didn't know this book was a sequel to Auralia's Colors until I got it in the mail...surprise!

    It was a great read for fantasy fans and the story was awesome and very descriptive. I loved all the names of the characters, who were, by the way, delightful and very real. The whole book definitely had a other-world feel to it.

    Like I said, it was confusing and I didn't get into it as much because I hadn't read the three previous books, but I liked it. A great read for ages 12 and up!

    I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2