BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Alex (Commandant Camille Verhoeven Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    A serial killer, deviant sexual behavior and hungry rats. What

    A serial killer, deviant sexual behavior and hungry rats. What a story! I was a huge fan of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo books and this book really reminded me of those. The heroine (?) is complicated and Commandant Verhoeven is such an original and interesting character.
    I really can't wait to read the next in the series!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Wow

    A thrill ride that never stops. Creepy. Methodical. Unforgettable characters. One of the BEST mystery/suspense books I have ever read. A must read NOW!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Great read

    This book had my interest all though each and every chapter. I recommend Alex highly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A very twisted tale. This book takes you on a wild ride with uni

    A very twisted tale. This book takes you on a wild ride with unique characters and storyline. Very reminiscent of Steig's three stories, but it is also quite different. At first, you think Alex is a victim of a horrible abduction. The police, especially Commandant Verhoeven (who is duped into heading up this investigation by his superior) and his staff, undertake an investigation to find a woman who has not been reported missing with no leads whatsoever. Slowly the case evolves and the details and ensuing violence make this book extremely fascinating. The author has written more books but this is the first book to be translated in English. I hope more of the books are translated into English.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    An outstanding book in every regard. The characters were intere

    An outstanding book in every regard. The characters were interesting, the writing was both foreign and concise and the mystery was well off the beaten path. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    A twisted police procedural

    Like all of the reviews I have read you can not discuss this book without giving it away so let me tell you like this. The book is broke into three parts, in the first Alex of the title gets kidnapped like the cover flap says with the police not even knowing her name. Yet by the end of section one you get a twist. Section 2 begins and by its end again you think you know what is happened and you will be wrong. With section 3 you really have no clue what will happen and get a very dark resolution with you wanting more. The main characters Alex and Camille and his partners a amazingly complex and I can not wait to see more of them. Though I can not read French, I believe it is a great translation and gives you a good feel for this French setting. I will say that if you are squeamish at all this may not be the book for you, however if you liked Stigg Larson's books, or any of the other books from Scandinavian detectives like me then this book ay be for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Great Read

    This book is deserving of its accolades. The twists and turns keep you wanting to read more. I am interested in reading more translations by him.
    Thanks Pierre!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story, Lots of Twist, This is one you don't want to miss.

    The story starts with Alex getting kidnapped and locked in a small crate. The man doesn’t say much beyond the fact that he wants to watch her die. At the same time, Camille Verhoeven has been given this case. It is hard for him since it is so close to what happened with his own wife. Camille is in a race against time to save Alex, a girl he knows nothing about. But things take a strange twist and Camille is on board unwillingly to find Alex and figure out what is really going on.

    It is so hard to review this book without giving away too many details. You have to discover them along the way. I have a love and hate relationship with Alex. You feel sorry for her, hate her actions, and then want to cry. Camille is very wrapped up in his own past and seems distracted with this case, but he does keep working to find out what really happened to Alex.

    This is a great story! There are great twists and turns, wonderful characters, and a horrifying ending. Be warned, the ending is a bit graphic, it works well for the book but it wraps everything up nicely.

    This is one book that you don’t want to miss. Now I want to read the other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    Fiesty

    Idiot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    Well Done with Surprising Twists

    Although not for the squeamish, this is a book that will keep you interested and surprise you at the end of each of its three sections. I thought the first section was the strongest and the most original, but it held my interest to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1