Customer Reviews for

Alex Cross, Run (Alex Cross Series #20)

Average Rating 4
( 541 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(296)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

Recently some of jp novels have been below par,but this the old James we know and love.Please keep this quality going. For you chatters This Site is For Reviews !! If you want to CHAT USE FACEBOOK

posted by 2644922 on February 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Alex Cross, Run the 20th book in the Alex Cross series by James

Alex Cross, Run the 20th book in the Alex Cross series by James Patterson. Detective Alex Cross arrests Dr. Elijah Creem, one of DC's in-demand plastic surgeons, and Josh Bergman, owner of a modeling agency, for illegal activity with underage girls. Now that Creem is ou...
Alex Cross, Run the 20th book in the Alex Cross series by James Patterson. Detective Alex Cross arrests Dr. Elijah Creem, one of DC's in-demand plastic surgeons, and Josh Bergman, owner of a modeling agency, for illegal activity with underage girls. Now that Creem is out of jail, he reinvents himself with a new life...and a new face.

In less than a week, three dead bodies are discovered around DC's least violent neighborhoods. Alex Cross is so preoccupied with the three investigations that he doesn't notice someone has been watching him and won't stop until Alex Cross is killed.

Is Alex Cross, Run the most sensational thriller? Hmmm, no. Putting my bitterness over the movie casting aside, the book had a weak plot. The action fell flat and the detective is clearly slipping on his investigation skills. I hold James Patterson, as well as Alex Cross, to a high standard. Both have been around for years and should act more experienced.

Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

posted by Literary_Marie on February 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 541 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Excellent read

    Recently some of jp novels have been below par,but this the old James we know and love.Please keep this quality going. For you chatters This Site is For Reviews !! If you want to CHAT USE FACEBOOK

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Hi!!

    Really good book iv read all of them oh and does anyone want to chat?please

    22 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Alex Cross, Run the 20th book in the Alex Cross series by James

    Alex Cross, Run the 20th book in the Alex Cross series by James Patterson. Detective Alex Cross arrests Dr. Elijah Creem, one of DC's in-demand plastic surgeons, and Josh Bergman, owner of a modeling agency, for illegal activity with underage girls. Now that Creem is out of jail, he reinvents himself with a new life...and a new face.

    In less than a week, three dead bodies are discovered around DC's least violent neighborhoods. Alex Cross is so preoccupied with the three investigations that he doesn't notice someone has been watching him and won't stop until Alex Cross is killed.

    Is Alex Cross, Run the most sensational thriller? Hmmm, no. Putting my bitterness over the movie casting aside, the book had a weak plot. The action fell flat and the detective is clearly slipping on his investigation skills. I hold James Patterson, as well as Alex Cross, to a high standard. Both have been around for years and should act more experienced.

    Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Aawe Best book ever

    Awesome book wow

    19 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    I was getting disappointed in James Patterson and thought he los

    I was getting disappointed in James Patterson and thought he lost sight of the tenacious detective Alex Cross in his last few books. But I must say, this one is right on the mark as far as detective Cross is concerned.


    Alex Cross, Run is entertaining and easy to read. It's what I had hoped Patterson would bring back. Plus I love the back story about Alex's brother. Nice touch!


    Overall, this book still reads much like his last few books (which I didn’t really care for): different crimes being played out simultaneously, but what makes this one better is the fact that Alex Cross is getting back his MOJO. Alex doesn't have his wife Bree, a fellow cop showing up at a crime scenes on Christmas Eve expressing her disappointment in Alex. He also is NOT moaning through the whole book about how tired he is and how he should just put his family first. He's back trying to solve crimes, as only Alex can do.


    My problem with this book: I believe James Patterson is churning out mediocre books and inventing numerous storylines so he doesn't have to dig deep and invest in the characters. He's writing one- dimensional stories and characters while hoping the audience buys into it just enough to purchase another book. Stop it Mr. Patterson! Don't make me scream at the top of my lungs. Alex Cross is multi-dimensional so please invest time in his opponents and make them worthy of having him called out to the scene. Casanova and the Gentlemen Caller from Kiss the Girls, Gary Soneji from Along Came A Spider, and the Mastermind from Violets are Blue, Double Cross and Cross Fire all characters with depth.


    Although I didn’t buy into Ron Guidice’s character and his bigger-than-life grudge against Alex, I did enjoy the storyline involving Ava. I would have preferred the reappearance of Kyle Craig using Ava as a pawn instead of another silly character with no emotional depth.


    I gave this book four stars because I did enjoy reading it. There were good parts to the book that showed the same Alex Cross from early books. Additionally, once I started reading I didn't want to put it down. I think this is a good read for novice Patterson fans. Anyone invested in Mr. Patterson might still feel a twinge of disappointment

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    For the idiot (Sucks Butt Hole) who wrote that the author is a f

    For the idiot (Sucks Butt Hole) who wrote that the author is a fat Bit**. Its a man dumb ass. Patterson, is one of the best authors of his time.
    Maybe if you read more, you would understand his writing style and appreciate his books. Stay off the site if you are going to be ignorant. Not every book could score a 10, but let me tell you. I have read every book he has ever written and most are very high up on the scale.

    12 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    This is Patterson's best Alex Cross novel. I have read them all

    This is Patterson's best Alex Cross novel. I have read them all and this one is by far the best. The writing was fast paced and kept me hooked.I could not put this book down. The plot is the most interesting and well developed. Can't wait to read the next Alex Cross.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Back to his old self

    This was a great book had me hooked from the first chapter. It was a book i couldent put down thats why i finished it in a day lol. But a really good read

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK love fallen angel by genie ems too !

    GREAT BOOK love fallen angel by genie ems too !

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Another excellent Alex Cross read from James Patterson

    This was another Alex Cross book that you can't put down. I started it one afternoon and finished it the next morning. James Patterson's books have short chapters and once you finish one you know that you must go to the next chapter just to see what is going to happen. He makes you feel like you know Alex Cross and his family. My husband and I can't wait for the next adventure of Alex Cross.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Great book

    Could not put it down

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Alex Cross, Run

    This book inspired my whole life.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Haven't even gotten to Chapter 5

    Book catches you from the beginning, classic Patterson Break neck pace

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    amazing book ever red

    Best book loved it so much

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Excellent

    Excellent

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Is a great book I am realy enjoying it, but have not finished it yet.

    I have enjoyed every one of his books that I have read, and would give them all a high rateing. He is with out a doubt my favorite writer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Prime example why snot nose kids should not be permited to have

    Prime example why snot nose kids should not be permited to have free reign on a computer.

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    James Patterson is known as much for his fast paced, escapist th

    James Patterson is known as much for his fast paced, escapist thrillers as he is for his prolific output and controversial use of co-authors. The Alex Cross series, perhaps Patterson's most popular creation, is notable in that it is the only series that Patterson continues to author on his own. With Alex Cross, Run, the twentieth entry in the series, Patterson continues to give readers everything they have come to expect from this fantastic character.
    Plastic surgeon Elijah Creem's life is in a downward spiral. It began when detective Alex Cross busted him in an underage sex scheme. In an instant, he lost his career, wife, and children. Now he is determined to escape. He turns to an old college friend for help. Together they begin to revive a game that they played years ago. Using his expertise of the human body and ability to disguise his looks, Creem's game soon takes a deadly turn, leaving bodies across D.C for Cross to discover.
    But Alex has more pressing matters to deal with. Readers of the series will recall the way Patterson uses Cross's family as a means to manipulate his emotions and distract him from his job. He does this again, this time using the Cross Family's newest edition, Ava. Ava is a foster child who lost her mother the previous year. Despite her cautious personality, she seems to be adapting to her new family well. All of this changes when she does not make it into the prestigious private school that Jannie, Alex's daughter, is accepted to. Soon she becomes withdrawn and the Cross family fears she is using drugs. Unfortunate circumstances surrounding Alex's job soon force the state to remove Ava from the Cross home. Now Alex must try to solve the gruesome murders while dealing with an increasingly stressful personal life.
    Recently I've noticed a shift in focus within this series. Before, it seemed that Patterson's main intent was providing the most thrilling and original mysteries that he could. Recently, probably beginning with, Cross, he has shifted his focus to his main character, Alex Cross. Originally I praised this decision, as it brought a fresh perspective and much needed depth to the series. This is the first time, however, that I feel this focus on character development has actually made the mystery suffer. I'd be lying if I said that I didn't enjoy the book, but I feel that the crimes, and there were a lot of them, took a backseat to Alex's personal problems. Hopefully the next installment with get back to the kind of unique mystery that made me fall in love with this series from the first book. Still, this is a fine continuation of Alex Cross's story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Gfgfghbdjfjdndbehdndejsuajaabvsgavahshsysdvfddndndbashhstwwtsgdteegegdgwvwgqgwvegsgdgagavahdhqegdgwbdhdhdhshxbhdbehfvsheghkhihhkihgdgxgdgfhfhwshvcsiafqdrskajtjajfsfhhedadhfhndbbdjjdjhsjkbdfbshsnshxhxvgdfsrafwgwswhywwgeehhehhhdjgwgzhzydhdyxhhi biydmws

    Awesome

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Alex cross ron

    Just as good as ever

    Keep them coming mr patterson

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 541 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28