Customer Reviews for

Alex Cross's Trial (Alex Cross Series #15)

Average Rating 3.5
( 486 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(70)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Timeless Topic

I made a point of reading all of the first 14 chapters available on the B & N preview before I bought the book as Patterson's last few books have been erratic.

This book was historically accurate and about a topic - lynching in Mississippi in 1906 where the ravages o...
I made a point of reading all of the first 14 chapters available on the B & N preview before I bought the book as Patterson's last few books have been erratic.

This book was historically accurate and about a topic - lynching in Mississippi in 1906 where the ravages of the Civil War are still present in the black community. Two separate communities, one black and one white, have lives that intertwine. And yet, fear is still the biggest obstacle to overcome as the country moves into the 20th century.

If you like historical novels, you will like this look into racial issues in the Deep South!

posted by Granny_book_lover on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

WHO'S TRIAL???

I am sorry to say that the story is anything but original. James Patterson and his co-author Richard Dilallo have taken Harper Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird", both John Grisham's "A Painted House" and "A Time to Kill" and combined them all together into a simplistic nove...
I am sorry to say that the story is anything but original. James Patterson and his co-author Richard Dilallo have taken Harper Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird", both John Grisham's "A Painted House" and "A Time to Kill" and combined them all together into a simplistic novel about the south in the early 1900's, a lynching, segregation, and the Ku Klux Clan. I would really like it if Patterson would give over some of his ideas completely to his co-authors and let them run with it, while he concentrates on what made him so famous in the first place - ALEX CROSS. The few times he has chosen to use past history that needs reseach the results always seem to fall short and bring down the overall value of the novels. Read this one if you like most of Patterson's books, but be warned it is not great, merely good.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I wasted my B & N gift certificate, I do not need to be remined or care what the klan did to the " black men" 100 years ago or when ever. This book was A BIG DISSAPOINTMENT to me. I thought it was an Alex,story this threw me for a loop.

    I will not finish it. Sorry Paterson fans but thats it. I don't really care if the San Juan Hill president wanted to know about the lynchings, and neither does anyone needed to be reminded of those horrible times.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    This is NOT an Alex Cross book! I was very disappointed. I wish

    This is NOT an Alex Cross book! I was very disappointed. I wish that I had previewed the book before purchasing it. I read the first few chapters and quit. I expect to pickup again in the series with #16, but I will preview it first.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    too long of a book

    I sat down in a book store and read first 20 pages it has a interesting story and i mean that in a bad way. I would have to say that a book with 128 cahpters is just way too long for a normal csual reader. But a hard core reader would have a better time reading through it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    NOT an Alex Cross book...

    I'm a big fan of Patterson's Alex Cross (and Women's Murder Club) series of books... But... This is a book written about Alex Cross writing a book??? It's not a bad story, albeit one I would not normally have chosen to read, so I feel more than a little mislead that this published under the Alex Cross series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Disappointed

    I am a James Patterson fan however I am extremely disappointed with this book. I had to skim over some chapters because it was boring. It had nothing to do with Alex Cross AT ALL. Makes me want my $ back for purchasing the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    An ignorant insult to the heroes of civil rights

    Before I get to substance, which contains a few spoilers, let me discuss the story as a story. The plot is disconnected and loaded with loose threads. The bad guys are so evil you'd think the town was populated by zombies. The good guys are too good to be human. The book itself is thickened up by having each of the 140 (!) chapters start on a new page. As to substance, I'm surprised that Mr. Patterson didn't have his draft checked by a real trial lawyer. The prosecutor simply can't appeal a jury verdict of not guilty. That would be unconstitutional double jeopardy. Even a biased judge will not make outrageous rulings from the bench, especially when the verdict is already certain, and more especially when the national press is reporting every word. The white southerners did care about their image. The number of lynchings in one unincorporated community was ridiculous. Even a southern governor would have sent in the state police to put a stop to it. The idea of numerous permanent lynching sites, one with bleachers, is as silly as the suggestion that Jews were regularly lynched. Leo Frank was one case. But the worst plot twist is the triumphant armed repulse of white night-riders by the united black community. That was tried a few times, but it always ended in a massacre. This was rewriting history, Inglourious Basterds-style. Martin Luther King found the solution to southern injustice, and it did not involve guns, just incredible faith and courage. Mr. Patterson should read up on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Somewhat interesting but somewhat disappointing for a Patterson book. It was short and not up to par as far as his writing level.

    Not as good as it could have been. Too short. With large print and small chapters it was a very quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Not Up To Alex Cross Standards

    Patterson seems to have written this merely to crank out another Alex Cross novel. It's okay, and the unusual approach to the story is fine, but overall it's more of Patterson pushing books out the door just to make up numbers.

    Alex Cross novel for his children, about his great-uncle Abraham, fighting the Klan in early 1900's. Washington lawyer Ben Corbett is sent to Mississippi to investigate by Teddy Roosevelt, his former military commander. He finds his hometown and judge father have changed, and with Cross fights the Klan in person and in court.

    It's a good illustration of the South at that time. Writing is not particularly good, and mixing in Roosevelt is awkward at best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    Looking for James Patterson

    Sorry to say, this may well be my last James Patterson purchase. I did not hear his voice in this book. I found it to be thin and transparent. I think if he would get back to writing without co-authors I might be tempted to read him again, but for now, I'm off to other "non-Patterson" adventures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Mis-led

    Even though the reality of that time period was accurate, and Patterson's writing was very descrpitive, (I felt one part was a pretty unbelievable coincidence). Overall, I was disappointed, because, the title was mis-leading. I thought it was about a trial for Alex Cross, which it obviously wasn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Old subject, new viewpoint, misleading title

    James Patterson's latest book is nothing like I was expecting. Calling this book Alex Cross's trial leads readers to believe that Alex Cross will be a central figure in the book but this is hardly that case. Alex Cross gets a mention in the foreword and not again. I pre-ordered this book expecting another thrilling adventure with Alex Cross chasing villains but was instead catapulted back about 130 years to a subject that has grown tired. How many times do we need to bring up mistakes of the past that shouldn't be forgotten, but also don't need to be brought up time and again. Not a book I'd remotely recommend for anyone looking for the latest in the Alex Cross's adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well, it was a quick read....

    Without being rude? It was weak. He has done much better. I did like the story line and expected so much more. But alas, in this day of rush rush rush, why not write your stories that way? lol....let's fire up the printing press...WoooooWoooooo....MG

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Alex Cross's Trial

    This book was anything,but about Alex Cross. It was written for a junior
    high school level student. Be sure before reading a James Patterson book,that he wrote it himself--I am very much looking forward to the book coming out on Nov.16

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4